Diarmuid Connollys greatest individual performance

Lets be honest here if it was the Gooch that played yedyerday for crokes the way connolly played yesterday well the country would be having multiple orgasms. Connolly is not liked by a sizable portion of non dubs and dubs alike. People judge him for what he has done off the pitch as well as the type of player he is on the pitch. For me, the lad made A mistake, owned up and accepts his punishment. It's laughable how many people think they know him based on one moment of madness. I for one am glad he's from Dublin & could not be more proud of his performance yesterday. Up the Dubs!!!

God be with the days when I could manage multiple orgasms!!!!!

As for the "lad" aking a "mistake" only his mother could describe his transgression thus.

Mind you he is a great player & his performance yesterday was top drawer.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/03/2014 11:13:34    1561373

Snufalufagus

Maurice in 1997 against Mayo
-------------------------------------------

Therein lies the mitigating factor!!!

Where is Castlebar Snuf?

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 18/03/2014 11:32:07    1561389

Paul Flynn,Alan brogan,Zinedine Connolly,Kevin Mcmenamin,Bernard Brogan,Paddy Andrews.I guess the worse forward lines out there.Heres to a long summer fellow city slickers!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/03/2014 11:32:29    1561391

The Gooch and Maurice Fitz are/were decent men both on and off the field.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 18/03/2014 11:42:32    1561402

with a decent subs bench of Cullen,Rock,O Gara,Costelloe,Mannion.Shame about Kilkenny but the competition for forward places is fierce.Can anybody stop Zinedine Connolly and co?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/03/2014 11:47:04    1561407

Have you never had a moment of madness muck?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/03/2014 12:08:03    1561425

Dont think the zinedine bit is going to stick cuederocket...

Football can be funny. Connolly is flying now, but talk of a great year for him is definately premature. He has had a few long years. A final, a semi-final, another final, a club final and now another championship run. If he carries on then I wouldnt be surprised if come august he is struggling for form. It will be interesting to see how gavin manages the miles on the clock.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/03/2014 12:08:19    1561426

1561426 Dont think the zinedine bit is going to stick cuederocket...

Football can be funny. Connolly is flying now, but talk of a great year for him is definately premature. He has had a few long years. A final, a semi-final, another final, a club final and now another championship run. If he carries on then I wouldnt be surprised if come august he is struggling for form. It will be interesting to see how gavin manages the miles on the clock.

That's a fair point. There is a lot of lads who Gavin will have to decide when to play them .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/03/2014 12:20:08    1561436

Putting a thread like this on the National Forum was a fools errand and a typical hiding to nothing!
If Connolly was a country lad, there wouldnt be half the protests about him or his performance on here!.....Part and parcel of being a Dublin footballer is that you will never be recognised as having the word 'great' attached to you or your performance or whatever! Thats because the default mode of the country person in relation to Dublin footballers is to be less than honest and always find an excuse to scupper them!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/03/2014 12:29:46    1561442

Yeah I agree themaster

How about Zinedine Feeney?

Far more appropriate... when you think about it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/03/2014 12:38:15    1561448

Joxer
Yeah but Gooch was playing with great forwards around him. I was there today and DC stood out as a superstar amongst mediocrity. Reminiscent of his demolition of Tyrone in 2011. A truly gifted footballer. If only he could be more consistent.

So what you are saying is that the rest of the dublin team is mediocre then?

----

No where did I mention the Dublin team at all? Dublin were not playing yesterday. Without DC and Quinn, on his day, the Vinnies forward line is quite ordinary. Bearing in mind that Quinn didn't get going yesterday, it adds extra currency to DC's performance.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 18/03/2014 12:39:53    1561450

Jackeen

Have you never had a moment of madness muck?

It has happened Jackeen, not proud of it but I can't deny it either.

But if the reports of the trial are anywhere near accurate it was quite a serious. Now I stand to be corrected on that & if you know better then fair enough.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/03/2014 12:46:50    1561460

Snufalufagus

1561442 Putting a thread like this on the National Forum was a fools errand and a typical hiding to nothing!
If Connolly was a country lad, there wouldnt be half the protests about him or his performance on here!.....Part and parcel of being a Dublin footballer is that you will never be recognised as having the word 'great' attached to you or your performance or whatever! Thats because the default mode of the country person in relation to Dublin footballers is to be less than honest and always find an excuse to scupper them!

Maybe if he was a more likeable guy then people might change their opinions. Personally I used love the likes of Paul Curran & Barney Rock but it seems if us from the country don't fawn over certain Dublin players then we're anti Dubs.

My advice to you - don't go to rugby games. You'd probably think they're talking about you when theres a scrum.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 18/03/2014 12:59:32    1561473

Muck i'm not sticking up for connolly at all. Anybody can make a mistake. The amount of castigation the lad was getting on twitter yesterday was a joke as if people know him. I just don't think a players private life should be brought into their footballing life.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/03/2014 13:06:39    1561477

its unbelievable to think how people have forgotten how good maurice fitzgerald was. he was the greatest footballer i've ever seen. canavan, brogan, giles, redmond, tompkins, were/are no where near him.

as for best club final performances try joe canning vs newtown- destroyed a great defense including a seriously talented pat mulcahy

colin corkerys performance against crossmolina

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 18/03/2014 13:56:40    1561513

Connolly's was a great performance and once again showcased the skill and potential of this man, but in all fairness it was probably not the greatest given it was a Club final. However I suspect that if the Gooch had turned in such a performance there would be no doubting it was the best on forums such as this!!
BTW one thing I have to get off my chest is the Gooch's performance in last years All Ireland semi final. No arguments about his 1st half performance, it was pure class but he was completely marked out of the game by COS in the 2nd half and I have seen little or no comment on this from our country cousins???

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 18/03/2014 14:00:08    1561519

fingalman

Connolly's was a great performance and once again showcased the skill and potential of this man, but in all fairness it was probably not the greatest given it was a Club final. However I suspect that if the Gooch had turned in such a performance there would be no doubting it was the best on forums such as this!!
BTW one thing I have to get off my chest is the Gooch's performance in last years All Ireland semi final. No arguments about his 1st half performance, it was pure class but he was completely marked out of the game by COS in the 2nd half and I have seen little or no comment on this from our country cousins???

Gooch created all our scores and chances in the second half and we were starved of possession as ye're midfield came more into the game. Connolly was average in the first half and ballooned one ball a mile wide under little or no pressure in the first half. Until he consistently puts in high-level performances at Inter-County level he will never be spoken about in the same lines as Cooper, Canavan, Fitzgerald, Joyce, O'Neill or even ye're own Bernard Brogan. But he has the potential to do it, no doubt.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 18/03/2014 14:26:48    1561537

In all fairness Connolly is a good player a good athlete but wouldn't be what we'd call a natural footballer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/03/2014 14:32:19    1561543

Complete masterclass best ever ive seen in Club-leave the personal off field stuff out of it-Hes a flawed genius

theseasider (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 18/03/2014 14:36:22    1561548

It obviously was the best in an all ireland club final
But your a dub starting the thread about a dublin player
So they are not going to agree with you
The lack of alternative club final performances put forward
Proves that wayno

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/03/2014 14:37:25    1561549