Diarmuid Connollys greatest individual performance

Diarmuid Connolly was excellent today. His distribution,vision and penetrating runs were top class. D.C.scoring was a joy to watch. It is a great way to win his fourth All-Ireland medal (2 SFC medals and 2 All-Ireland club medals). Is peileadóir den scoth é.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 17/03/2014 20:48:13    1561185

Muck

I'd put it right up there

He was almost faultless

Left foot / right foot / punced goal / goal assist

Now the only thing is that it was a club final

But at that level...

It's easily up there with anyone...

Simple as that... He was magnificent

If it was Cooper for Crokes... well let's be honest

You'd see a very different response

Connolly's performance is certainly the best Ive ever seen live in an All Ireland club final

I was there today...

Again, magnificent isn't too strong a word... a master class of skill, strength, awareness, coolness, precision, intelligence... sublime stuff

He's reached a level that not many have reached

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/03/2014 20:50:26    1561189

And I was on the sideline to watch Maurice in '97, takes some beating for sure!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 17/03/2014 20:51:22    1561191

cuederocket

To be fair gooch was eulogised after last years semi final.i dont think it was nearly as good as connollys today

To be fair, Gooch's performance was at county level against what we all recognise as the greatest team the game has ever seen wheras Connolly's performance was against a Mayo club team. Hardly the same thing.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/03/2014 20:57:44    1561201

DNS1916

Hahaha very good and very true!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/03/2014 21:17:02    1561219

MuckrossHead

cuederocket

To be fair gooch was eulogised after last years semi final.i dont think it was nearly as good as connollys today

To be fair, Gooch's performance was at county level against what we all recognise as the greatest team the game has ever seen wheras Connolly's performance was against a Mayo club team. Hardly the same thing.

----
Yeah but Gooch was playing with great forwards around him. I was there today and DC stood out as a superstar amongst mediocrity. Reminiscent of his demolition of Tyrone in 2011. A truly gifted footballer. If only he could be more consistent.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 17/03/2014 21:26:39    1561227

It's up there but it wasn't Inter County at the end of the day.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/03/2014 21:34:27    1561234

This is why we love (to hate) the Dubs, their inveterate humility and graciousness.

pcworld (Mayo) - Posts: 549 - 17/03/2014 21:42:24    1561240

Its taken this long for Connolly to get the recognition of just how good he is is the only thing that surprises me. He's always been top drawer, maybe even moreso than Bernard.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 18/03/2014 08:05:05    1561261

Superb display, his points and that goal were just sublime, glad he's back for the Dubs. What a game he had.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 18/03/2014 08:19:04    1561265

a special performance for sure but in fairness its still club level, hopefully he learns to behave himself in the future and no doubt the respect for his massive talent will follow

thelads (Kildare) - Posts: 9 - 18/03/2014 09:24:36    1561280

Cant think of a better performance in a club final anyway....maybe something from Colin Corkery a few years back with Nemo...faultless display, don't think he even made one mistake. Dubs now have the best forward line in the game. If they break even in midfield and shore up the defence, the look unbeatable. Up to the rest of the big teams to catch up now.

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 18/03/2014 09:35:23    1561289

Lets be honest here if it was the Gooch that played yedyerday for crokes the way connolly played yesterday well the country would be having multiple orgasms. Connolly is not liked by a sizable portion of non dubs and dubs alike. People judge him for what he has done off the pitch as well as the type of player he is on the pitch. For me, the lad made A mistake, owned up and accepts his punishment. It's laughable how many people think they know him based on one moment of madness. I for one am glad he's from Dublin & could not be more proud of his performance yesterday. Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/03/2014 09:47:26    1561292

Shane O Donnell was unbelievable last year but he was nowhere near as good as Connolly yesterday, not only did he score 2-5 nearly every other score came through him as well he was also catching balls out of the sky the man was just a joy to watch.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/03/2014 09:54:08    1561295

Shane O'donnell played in the back door last year.

The guys name is diarmuid as far as I know.

Great hurler a few years back for Dublin under 21 hurlers if I remember. Won a leinster the time they beat offaly in the final and he was great that day. Pity he gave it all up just to be a great footballer ;-)

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 18/03/2014 10:21:06    1561311

Jackeen:-
Lets be honest here if it was the Gooch that played yedyerday for crokes the way connolly played yesterday well the country would be having multiple orgasms

Well put Jackeen.... :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4266 - 18/03/2014 10:21:20    1561312

His name is Dermot.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/03/2014 10:27:36    1561322

bit of perspective needed.in my opinion the castlebar management are at fault for not putting cunniffe out on connolly.theres no way he would have done as much damage with a decent defender marking him.having said that hes a serious talent who stood up when needed. cunniffe was left marking mossy quinn who was one of the poorest forwards in croke park yesterday.madness!

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 18/03/2014 11:05:44    1561362

Maurice in 1997 against Mayo
-------------------------------------------

Therein lies the mitigating factor!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/03/2014 11:10:03    1561367

Joxer
Yeah but Gooch was playing with great forwards around him. I was there today and DC stood out as a superstar amongst mediocrity. Reminiscent of his demolition of Tyrone in 2011. A truly gifted footballer. If only he could be more consistent.

So what you are saying is that the rest of the dublin team is mediocre then?

It was a hugely impressive performance, no question. But I dont buy into your logic about lesser teams and the gooch. Very often it is easier to be a big fish in a small pond. Take the example of charlie adam while at blackpool and then at liverpool. The team was set up around him, but going to play with other top players and having to fill a role in the team is a tougher job that many 'big-fish in a small pond' struggle with. Richie Feeney at castlebar is similar in this regard. You say he isnt consistent, but I find that self-defeating and I would put it to you that if he was a better player he would be.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/03/2014 11:11:24    1561369