16 cars for Dublin GAA.

batterburger

Look I don't give two hoots about these Toyotas because thats Dublins business and no one elses. But this is supposed to be a National Campus to serve the whole of the GAA. It seems too convenient that Dublin need a centre of excellence and then suddenly this National Campus is being built in Dublin. This will only benefit Dublin GAA and not the GAA on a national level.

I guess the point that you are making is why call it a 'National Campus'? If Dublin are putting money towards it and the GAA are helping them out, then call it what it is - a centre of excellence for Dublin GAA. There would be no begrudgery then (from me at least) as other counties have built one (Derry for example and Cork have access to CIT, Mallow etc) as well so I see no problem with Dublin having one. The GAA should help them out. A problem may emerge if, say, Carlow wants to build one and the GAA say, well we have a 'national' one in Blanchardstown.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 05/03/2014 12:29:42    1555081

Dubs are putting in the cash out in Blanch... €2 million

As such

It belongs in Dubln and we will train there

It makes perfect sense for Dublin GAA to invest in this project

Rather than have two GAA centres of excellence in the one county

It'll save the GAA / Dublin CB money

Simple stuff

The outrage is just empty noise...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/03/2014 12:42:14    1555095

FFS, its a few cars, wish someone would give me a new car. We are always giving out at how our players are under-appreciated, badly treated etc. So if a few Dubs get a few cars more power. Hope they have good immobilizers ;)

But Jimbo as for your statement about the Dubs €2m giving ownership to new centre. The centre is expected to cost in excess of €8m, allowing for an avg of 25-30% overrun, you are looking at a total cost of over €10m...slightly less than 20% share is all and best of luck with it. Sure with negative equity still a big player in that area of Dublin maybe €2m will buy it in a few years.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 05/03/2014 13:08:21    1555110

1555095 Dubs are putting in the cash out in Blanch... €2 million

As such

It belongs in Dubln and we will train there

It makes perfect sense for Dublin GAA to invest in this project

Rather than have two GAA centres of excellence in the one county

It'll save the GAA / Dublin CB money

Simple stuff

The outrage is just empty noise...

Empty noise? Really? What I'm feeling is far from empty I tell you.

Like a lot on these pages I'm heavily involved with GAA in my county at a club level. Like some on here I'm coaching kids at a young age in an attempt to make them as good at the game as they possibly can. Like all on here I do it for free. And like all on here I'm very passionate about it. I'll not resort of any name calling (unlike some) because I'm aware that most people on here have that same passion. I'll give them that respect.

However when the association I give my free time to attempts to pass off a de facto Dublin Training Camp as a National Campus then I get a tad angry. Lets call a spade a spade its giving Dublin a leg up on the centre of excellence ladder and no amount of spin from the GAA or anyone on here can change that. As someone alluded to up above why call it a National Campus when its not?

If like some suggest that Dublin are investing 2m in it then if just proves my point. Why are they investing in someone which by all accounts they don't even have first call on? Who do they think they are fooling?

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 05/03/2014 13:17:18    1555115

Fair play to the players that get them. Nice perk to get.
But does anyone know..do the players just get a free car or do they get free fuel also. What happens if they put a sink into it?

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 05/03/2014 13:33:00    1555136

16? Very disappointing, is there not 26 or so on the panel?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 05/03/2014 13:42:31    1555152

why call it a National Campus when its not?

http://www.nscda.ie/

Batterburger. It's called a National Campus because that's exactly what it is. It doesn't just cater for the GAA. With 25% of the countrys population based in the Dublin area where would you have it built?
Where will the 70 million come from for for the redevelopment of P Ui Chaoimh (with the included centre of excellence). Is this not Cork 'getting a leg up the centre of excellence ladder'

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 05/03/2014 15:01:43    1555206

The Indo has a good piece on it

Just type in GAA National Centre of Excellence

It explains Dublins involvement very well

The finer details have to be worked out

Instead of the laughable outrage... go have a read

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/03/2014 15:13:00    1555214

1555214 The Indo has a good piece on it

Just type in GAA National Centre of Excellence

It explains Dublins involvement very well

The finer details have to be worked out

Instead of the laughable outrage... go have a read

I refute your laughable outrage comment. Whats laughable about it? I happen to feel very strongly about it and you find that funny? Before you go off on a begrudgery tangent I'd like it on record that nowhere on this thread have I harangued Dublin about their cars or their sponsorship or anything of the sort becuase thats Dublins business. This is different.

There is nothing in that article we don't know already. Dublin GAA have an investment in our National Campus. It changes nothing. They get a centre of excellence for €2m and will get to use it when they want. They ain't going to invest €2m in anything and not get 'first call'.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 05/03/2014 15:25:11    1555219

realdub

16? Very disappointing, is there not 26 or so on the panel?

Not alone that realdub, but rumour has it that the humble Yaris is going to the vehicle ferrying Dublin's finest around the capital.

Not good.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/03/2014 15:31:14    1555224

Aido69

1555206 why call it a National Campus when its not?

http://www.nscda.ie/

Batterburger. It's called a National Campus because that's exactly what it is. It doesn't just cater for the GAA. With 25% of the countrys population based in the Dublin area where would you have it built?
Where will the 70 million come from for for the redevelopment of P Ui Chaoimh (with the included centre of excellence). Is this not Cork 'getting a leg up the centre of excellence ladder'

A

I would argue that if it was build within an hour of Dublin (M7/M8 direction) then it would be within an hour (maybe slightly more) to close on 50% of the population. Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Waterford and Galway slgihtly more all within just over an hour.

Pairc Ui Chaoimh is not being labelled as anything other than a redevelopment of the stadium and a Cork GAA Centre of Excellence. Its not being hidden behind some National Campus. Its completely transparent. Your point is null and void.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 05/03/2014 15:33:39    1555226

why call it a National Campus when its not?

Dublin GAA have an investment in our National Campus

Not consistent batterburger.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 05/03/2014 15:35:48    1555228

Aido69

1555228 why call it a National Campus when its not?

Dublin GAA have an investment in our National Campus

Not consistent batterburger.

How is that not consistent? Those are the facts.

Answer me this so. Will the National Campus benefit Dublin GAA more or Donegal GAA more?

Tell you what I'll go halves with you on a ride on mower. I can keep it in my shed and you can collect it whenever you need to cut your grass.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 05/03/2014 15:47:14    1555234

Y

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 05/03/2014 15:47:53    1555235

Feckin iPhone, a Yaris you say Muckrosshead? Hardly a chariot befitting champions :(

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 05/03/2014 15:49:43    1555237

Batterburger seems to be in the know as to whats going on between parties so pray show us all the proof that what you THINK is happening is in FACT the case!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/03/2014 15:53:08    1555241

Hard to look all menacing & cool with your knees up around your ears!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/03/2014 15:54:59    1555247

Jackeen

1555241 Batterburger seems to be in the know as to whats going on between parties so pray show us all the proof that what you THINK is happening is in FACT the case!

Fact: GAA National Campus will be built in Blanchardstown.
Fact: Dublin GAA have invested €2m and will have use of National Campus as a centre of excellence.
Fact: Other counties (Meath, Waterford, Kildare) have run up debts to get their centres of excellence up and running which have cost several millions. Dublin get one for €2m.

If the government pulled a stunt like this there would be an enquiry.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 05/03/2014 16:08:26    1555254

Ah now batterburger, both Meath and Kildare had run up debts long before their centres of excellence.... FACT

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4388 - 05/03/2014 16:23:57    1555266

No there wouldn't

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/03/2014 16:24:30    1555267