square_ball_69 County: Westmeath Posts: 682
1554783 Perks=Benefits In Kind=Professionalism -------------------------------------- Like its not gone that way already.Everybody knows that managers at club and county level are being paid,the officials are getting expenses covered,the top brass are no doubt getting their perks,so why begrudge some players getting a few perks?
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/03/2014 17:38:19
square_ball_69 County: Westmeath Posts: 682
1554783 Perks=Benefits In Kind=Professionalism
I assume you said the same this year when Renault was announced as the sponsor of Westmeath and they said they would provide team vehicles.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/03/2014 18:21:13
Dublin are putting 2 million towards Blanchardstown. It will be open to all counties. ITs badly needed as most county teams in Dublin have to travel from club to club to get access to training. As regards the cars, I don't think the players will be using them. They will be probably be shared out between each team for transporting gear. A lot of fuss about nothing.
Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 04/03/2014 18:45:23
Well if the Dubs are putting €2 million into this project at Blanch
Then it should be in Dublin. End of.
It'll be open to any county... but again if €2 million is indeed coming from Dub GAA
Then we absolutely deserve to use it whenever the need for such is required
Again, End of.
To be honest... listen certain rural lads... pay attention to the words of your fellow country men/women
There is always someone on top... it's not our fault that it isn't you.
Although with the amount of work that Dublin GAA is putting in... I guess it kind of is in a way
Dublin GAA IMO will only get stronger moving forward
The AIG deal was struck at a time of great economic stress...
I fully expect the next deal to be substantially higher
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/03/2014 19:16:36
the dublin county board got them would people rather they kept them for county board officers instead of doing the decent thing and letting players use them
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/03/2014 19:35:06
square_ball_69 County: Westmeath Posts: 683
1554385 This is professionalism, and is also paying a manager for managing Dublin. Either this deal should be cancelled or Dublin should be thrown out of the championship. Not just a simple case of sponsorship.
---- Absolutely ludicrous. I presume that this is a WUM. If not then thank God not everyone thinks like this these days or we, as a species, would still be running around in our nip, chucking stones at each other and still thinking that the earth is flat. How in God's name is a sponsor dishing out some cars for usage by DCB professionalism? When Tipp received Skodas was that professionalism? When Cork received free mobile phones and telecoms from O2 was that professionalism? When Meath get their free 6 pack of cheese and onion and free tickets to Tayto Park is that professionalism?
This is progress. We bang on about player welfare often enough and it is up to county boards to negotiate sponsorship deals. These sponsors are getting constant national and international coverage to the diaspora. You cannot buy this kind of coverage yet some counties appear to accept a few bob for what they see as a name on a few jersies. Do you seriously think that international companies like Skoda, Vodafone, Allianz, AIG etc would be involved in sponsorship of Gaelic games if they thought that it was not going to generate them priceless publicity? It's up to the counties themselves to extract the best value deal for their players and management end of story. Well done Mossy!
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4747 - 04/03/2014 19:41:50
Its fine guys....... You can thank us Dubs some other time. We will pay for the sports campus......ye can all use it for free. Kinda like Croke Park!
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/03/2014 08:25:34
JayP County: Dublin Posts: 650
1554953 Its fine guys....... You can thank us Dubs some other time. We will pay for the sports campus......ye can all use it for free. Kinda like Croke Park!
In the same way as I'm sure Dubs are never tired of thanking us for for part time jobs as car attendants, in take aways, picking up rubbish in Croke Park, selling programmes, selling hats, flags & rosettes whenever we come to town!! The economty of Dublin would grind to a halt with tumbleweed blowing down Drumcondra only for us country folk giving a hand out!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/03/2014 09:31:02
Lads, it is the same moaners and groaners every time who take every opportunity to have a pop at the DCB finances and sponsorship deals etc. Pathetic really.
They cry about every single thing. If it is not using Croke Park too often, it is the Sponsorship deals, or the use of the new facility to be built in the sports campus etc etc etc.
Chips on shoulders and excessive jealousy are terrible things.
When the next couple of deals are announced by DCB, these posters will be in overdrive on HS believe me....
There are plenty of other counties who could secure lucrative deals. up to them to get on with it, instead of crying when their neighbour has more than them so to speak. Get over it for heavens sake.
Of course there is sympathy for the likes of Leitrim etc but it is up to the GAA to help these lesser counties, but my gripe is whem you have posters from more predominant football counties getting their knickers in a twist all the time. They werent moaning about such things when the Dubs were not winning and their counties were though, were they... Also, somne of their counties ran up huge debts and mismanaged their finances and when they are refused funds from the GAA because of this, their fans then have a pop the DCB successful strategy..
Anyway, it is only Toyota's we got, not MERC's.... disappointed with that myself... :o)
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4388 - 05/03/2014 09:52:45
Are the 16 cars to be divided between the footballers and hurlers. Is this not going to cause problems in deciding who gets them or have the other lads been looked after as well. I know several of the mayo players have sponsored cars but all from individual dealerships.
xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 05/03/2014 10:02:18
to anyone who thinks its just the dubs, read what xxx jusy said about Mayo lads getting cars from individual dealerships and explain how it is in any way different please? Also Skoda and the Tipp players, how is it different? Thank you
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/03/2014 10:22:23
Fionn County: Dublin Posts: 881
1554973 Lads, it is the same moaners and groaners every time who take every opportunity to have a pop at the DCB finances and sponsorship deals etc. Pathetic really.
They cry about every single thing. If it is not using Croke Park too often, it is the Sponsorship deals, or the use of the new facility to be built in the sports campus etc etc etc.
Chips on shoulders and excessive jealousy are terrible things.
When the next couple of deals are announced by DCB, these posters will be in overdrive on HS believe me....
There are plenty of other counties who could secure lucrative deals. up to them to get on with it, instead of crying when their neighbour has more than them so to speak. Get over it for heavens sake.
Of course there is sympathy for the likes of Leitrim etc but it is up to the GAA to help these lesser counties, but my gripe is whem you have posters from more predominant football counties getting their knickers in a twist all the time. They werent moaning about such things when the Dubs were not winning and their counties were though, were they... Also, somne of their counties ran up huge debts and mismanaged their finances and when they are refused funds from the GAA because of this, their fans then have a pop the DCB successful strategy..
Anyway, it is only Toyota's we got, not MERC's.... disappointed with that myself... :o)
So it was a Dublin CB strategy to build a centre of excellence in conjuction with the GAA? Ok I didn't read the strategy but I didn't know that was in it.
All other countys are looking for is a level playing field. You Dubs expect us all to be over the moon about this new National Campus?
Look I don't give two hoots about these Toyotas because thats Dublins business and no one elses. But this is supposed to be a National Campus to serve the whole of the GAA. It seems too convenient that Dublin need a centre of excellence and then suddenly this National Campus is being built in Dublin. This will only benefit Dublin GAA and not the GAA on a national level.
This Campus has nothing to do with begrudgery so don't be playing that card (yes the rubbish about the cars is).
batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 05/03/2014 10:47:41
Lads after Galway won Sam in 1998 13 of the team got sponsored cars. Tomas Mannion was offered a car but said he wanted a jeep for the farm and he got one. galway had lads in college in dublin and tralee so i think the cars were well deserved. also there was lads from the far end of connemara on the squad and they would have at least a two hour commute to training when galway trained in ballinasloe before matches to facilitate the lads in dublin. hard to argue with them lads getting a new car for that amount of driving.
techland (Galway) - Posts: 494 - 05/03/2014 11:06:32
Burger, do u think having the centre in Athlone or Dublin would make more sense? Think about it now, take off the blinkers, thing about roads, travel time etc etc and think, for the general good of the Assoc and accessability for the general public nationwide, which do you think makes more sense?
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/03/2014 11:15:27
Manage Dublin and you get use of a free car. Sounds like professionalism to me. I wasn't allowed reply to an earlier post for some reason but the just of it was, Westmeath got the use of 2 vans to transport gear.
square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 05/03/2014 11:37:39
I think 16 Mercs would have been more appropriate for the Champions!
fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 05/03/2014 11:52:07
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 5336
1554995 to anyone who thinks its just the dubs, read what xxx jusy said about Mayo lads getting cars from individual dealerships and explain how it is in any way different please? Also Skoda and the Tipp players, how is it different? Thank you
Plenty of the Kerry lads get sponsored cars too, Donaghy, Fitzmaurice, Cooper gets a new one every year.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/03/2014 11:54:27
You's Dubs are getting to posh and used to your comforts, next thing we'll is the Dublin subs chewing away on crab claws and sipping Neuve Clicqout.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/03/2014 12:00:50
It's different Liam, as that's individual sponsorship from a car dealer to a player. When the county board acquires 16 cars, and gives a player one, they are just paying them for playing for Dublin. If they quit the panel, another player gets the car
square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 05/03/2014 12:01:45
Exactly it's been going on for years. I remember Offaly players getting cars sponsored in 1994, nothing new in it. Fair play to them for getting it. But in fairness whats 16 cars? All supporters got free ham rolls and tae off our sponsors last year for one national league game! The dubs arent at the races!
tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 609 - 05/03/2014 12:03:51