16 cars for Dublin GAA.

Where would you suggest it be built batterburger??
Skibereen???

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/03/2014 14:15:29    1554565

Not for our lads the free use of Cars for the year thanks to our sponsor Largo foods they have generously let the boy have the use of a 4 berth Caravan for bonding weekends in Bundoran (Fr Ted) would approve .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 04/03/2014 14:19:32    1554570

This must be great news for the Dublin players and the Dub fans are loving every minute of all this which is fair enough if you are a Jack/Jackeen BUT as some have said it does sail close to the wind of professionalism and leaves the Association wide open to accusations of hypocrisy. How can we have full time paid officials and employees in Croke Park, paid coaches and medical staff, Dublin players receiving cars and still claim as an ethos we are an amateur Association? There is a massive amount of hypocrisy going on here. Furthermore it also vindicates the notion that there is very much a two or three tier Association operating. How can we criticise those club and county managers who are receiving payments (for expenses etc or whatever you want to call them) while the Dubs are getting motors? I know the Dubs bring a lot of finance and attention but they are now at the stage where financially and otherwise they are racing out of sight and that isn't good for the all round greater good of the GAA. Those who are saying people should shut up and get on with it miss the point. Other counties will never have the finance, support and GAA backing that Dublin get to compete and that isn't a level playing field.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 04/03/2014 14:21:36    1554573

Dublin County Board didn't have to work too hard here, companies see Dublin as a blue chip commodity and prostrate themselves willingly at their feet, I've never heard of any county receiving 16 bloody cars before and like it or not it illustrates the continuing difference and approach to Dublin in difference to other counties, my own county today announced their looking for a €1.45 million loan from AIB to finish a centre of excellence, something that will take a while to pay off, and here our neighbours have been handed out 16 shiny new cars and have a €4million plus sponsorship deal and employ a merchandising and marketing dude full time, difference anyone???

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 04/03/2014 14:24:28    1554576

If we continue going this way the genuine gaa person who give their spare time for free at club level will stop . When that happens the Gaa is finished . The problem is that the people who have the power to stop this like the gaa president, the county board secretaries and the men that run croke park are getting paid so they will not say a word . Also all the county managers are getting paid and most of the big clubs in every county is paying there manager or paying a professional trainer to train the team a couple of nights a week . Why do club members not stand up at the AGM and ask for the expenses to be itemized . People are turning a blind eye to this and I do not know where it is going to end.

DmacInny (Kerry) - Posts: 2 - 04/03/2014 14:33:01    1554586

Never mind the free cars and the massive sponsorship from multinationals like AIG and Toyota. They've been sponsored by the Irish taxpayer for amounts in excess of even these massive amounts for years with the Irish Sports Council money that good old Bertie had sent their way and the GAA themselves have even seen fit to build them a centre of excellence in Blanchardstown. Someone said it's a two or three finance tier that the counties are operating in, but there is only one county in the top finance tier and everyone else is not even in the next tier but two or three tiers below that.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 04/03/2014 14:33:24    1554587

Have to say it does feel a bit like the one kid at the party getting all the presents lately,
but sure if that one kid has put their head down and worked very hard while most other kids just squandered their time what can you do, though I would also say the tyrone kid has used his time wisely . Ye reap what ye sow ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/03/2014 14:38:07    1554594

Liamwalkinstown

1554565 Where would you suggest it be built batterburger??
Skibereen???

No need to be so smart about it.

If its claimed to be a National Campus then why not have where its more accessible to all. The middle of the country perhaps? What use is it to those in Kerry or Donegal?

There was rightly a media furore of Kildare GAA getting a dig out from Croke Park a few years ago becuase they were smashed. Dublin are now getting a dig out and theres practically nothing about it. I don't expect you to agree but then again do you expect us mere mortals to be delighted with our new National Campus?

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 04/03/2014 14:40:00    1554596

Ulsterman, you forgot the "i have nothing against the dubs and shout for them when antrim go out" bit...........!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/03/2014 14:40:34    1554597

Hey Keyzer.......boo hoo!!! plenty lemon in your pancakes i bet!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/03/2014 14:41:43    1554599

There was an article in the Irish News last week that mentioned that the Dublin GAA had received about 1 million Euro a year through the GAA and Irish Sports funding for about a 4/5 year period. This more or less guaranteed a full time paid coach for every Dublin club for this period and funny enough a day or two later the GAA announced funding for a few second tier hurling counties. Was this to take the emphasis off the amount Dublin gets? I think it would be in the GAA's interest to state how much funding that Dublin has received over the past 5 years or so compared to other counties.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 04/03/2014 14:44:52    1554603

Cheeseburger, what you and so many others neglect to mention is that what you mean when you say "somewhere easily accesible to everyone" what you actually mean is "somewhere accesible to "insert county here"" in your case, Cork!

Any eejit will tell you, if you want to pick somewhere that is the most accessible to the country AS A WHOLE, its by far and away, Dublin!! All the main roads lead to Dublin, so if you want to build something that is as accessible to everyone as you say, Dublin is actually the place to build it!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/03/2014 14:45:09    1554604

batterburger

No need to be so smart about it.

If its claimed to be a National Campus then why not have where its more accessible to all. The middle of the country perhaps? What use is it to those in Kerry or Donegal?

Fair point. Dublin is possibly the most central location in terms of ease to get to. Regardless of that though, with growing urbanisation, I would have thought that the GAA may have looked at other parts of rural Ireland that may benefit to having something like this on their doorstep.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/03/2014 14:56:53    1554615

Liamwalkinstown

1554604 Cheeseburger, what you and so many others neglect to mention is that what you mean when you say "somewhere easily accesible to everyone" what you actually mean is "somewhere accesible to "insert county here"" in your case, Cork!

Any eejit will tell you, if you want to pick somewhere that is the most accessible to the country AS A WHOLE, its by far and away, Dublin!! All the main roads lead to Dublin, so if you want to build something that is as accessible to everyone as you say, Dublin is actually the place to build it!!!

If you are going to resort to childish name calling then I'd rather not debate with you any longer. Very mature of you.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 04/03/2014 15:03:20    1554622

Benny.........Rural Ireland is so last year dont you know! With its Kepak Meats and its Barrys Tea and its various creameries and all that jazz!
These days Urban is where its at with your AIG's and your O2's and your Chill Insurance!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/03/2014 15:06:06    1554627

batterburger

Aye, they should've put it in Athlone, the heart of Ireland ;)

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 279 - 04/03/2014 15:52:37    1554692

Liamwalkinstown

Private company decide to increase their awareness in the capital city by sponsoring the most popular sports team in the city/county
--------------------------------------------------
Didn't know they were sponsoring Man Utd :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/03/2014 16:46:30    1554750

Goodluck to the Dubs and their new cars.Sure they work as hard as any team,not much perks for GAA players other than things like this and while it is hard to begrudge them I feel for players from the smaller counties whose players might be barely able to buy a decent pair of boots.The county boards in all counties should now work harder to get some perks for their players,try to hit up local businesses for some type of sponsorship etc.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/03/2014 17:07:05    1554768

True for you Seanie boy,I hope the Wexford county board get the finger out and get 16 Zetors for our boys.

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 04/03/2014 17:14:50    1554774

Perks=Benefits In Kind=Professionalism

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 04/03/2014 17:26:04    1554783