Objection to Creggan Kickhams

Turfcutter and skillschamps you can keep up the snide remarks against ballysaggart but they have nothing to be ashamed of. Their conscience is clear, they did everything above board.

Unfortunately for creggan they cant say the same. Their victory was tarnished and when the junior champs of 2013/14 appear on the roll of honour there will always be that asterisk after their name. no one to blame but themselves for that at the end of the day

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 09/03/2014 13:22:51    1556840

When the junior champs of 2014 appear on the roll of honour you mean. Thomastown were the 2013 champions.

popemobile (Antrim) - Posts: 102 - 09/03/2014 13:46:54    1556853

Deise, you should try a couple of spoonfuls of sugar to counter all that bitterness you have. Most posters have stated that the losers here are Ballysaggart and Waterford hurling. The CCCC have given their determination and still you can't take it so what do you want now? A judge led inquiry or maybe a United Nations team brought in? Dry your eyes and grow up.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 09/03/2014 15:15:28    1556903

Ulsterman when youre not gracious in victory dont expect your opposites to be gracious in defeat

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 09/03/2014 21:02:41    1557334

deisebhoy
County: Waterford

1557334 Ulsterman when youre not gracious in victory dont expect your opposites to be gracious in defeat

And you certainly have not been gracious deise. I have to say I thought when you first appeared on this thread that you were honest enough and had some valid points, but as it has progressed your veil has most definitely slipped and I feel you have let yourself down. I guess you are very close to Ballysaggart and there is an obvious link there somewhere but your bitterness is really starting to shine through. You have gone from reasoned debate (albeit with the attitude that the creggan boys were guilty until proven innocent) to slating and bad mouthing the creggan team and management (something you berated other posters for doing towards Waterford and ballysaggart), to totally throwing the toys out of the pram. now, Ulsterman has some valid points , but in general over a wide range of threads he is to be taken with a pinch of salt, he very much sticks up for all things ulster even if (in my opinion) he goes over the top sometimes. Yet, you try to tar everyone who believed creggan done no wrong with the same brush which is lazy debating to be perfectly honest.

Now, if as reports are to be believed and saggart have 5/6 under16 just waiting to jump into the starting 15 then they should have a strong team again next year and should push on from this. In that I wish them all the best for the future, both them and Waterford as a whole as they are one county (other than Antrim) whom I would love to see win Liam.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 09/03/2014 21:42:43    1557385

Fair Play to Creggan and fair play to the GAA. Justice was done in the end, the cup was won on the field by Creggan and no amount of sour grapes can change that.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 10/03/2014 08:57:09    1557426

bumpernut

Ach catch yourself on deisebhoy, as i said before ulsterman was the only contributor to question the attitude of Waterford GAA in general and i think he may have since realised he was being hasty when pointing the finger at Waterford GAA. I think he was wrong as prob like most Antrim gaels we have nothing but respect for Waterford. Justin McCarthy had them up playing friendly matches in Antrim when most others counties didnt and still wont consider it. We've also a waterford man currently in charge of the county team. So there is certainly no bad feeling towards Waterford GAA from Antrim gaels and to be truthful Ballysaggart either, more disappointment at the turn of events.
I think that because Creggan exploited this grey area and Ballysaggart didnt is what is really eating away at them. Im sure you'd have a better idea about the quality of the 'u16s' they could have played.

well said bumpernut, but unfortunately he didnt realise his hastyness as he has added more rubbish since his last nonsense comments, it only takes one ejit to stir it, time to build a bridge now and move on. A win like this can only be a great thing for Antrim hurling, and its great for b'saggart too even if they did loose, they can give it another crack next year.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 10/03/2014 10:08:12    1557480

Lads forgive me but i don't have time to go back reading all the posts to catch up so i am just wondering did the appeal fail or has it been heard yet? Cheers

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 10/03/2014 10:13:53    1557485

Frankbhoy for someone who thought I made some valid points at the beginning you certainly didnt act like someone (along with many of your northern comrades) who was willing to listen to any .kind of reason on the matter. I was just an observer for the first 6 or 7 pages here but eventually had to come on to defend ballysaggart after reading the totally ill informed one aided drivel vby people who were just making assumptions. I nade my arguments and even acknowledged that creggan were worthy of their win and were the beter team over the 2 games. But I was met with on the most part by a wall of snide remarks and narrow minded comments. Mostle I hace to say by antrim/ulster posters. So yes for that reason I did 'lower my veil' The only time I have ever with ulster people in gaa terms is when playing antrim at club and county level in hurling and they are the most decent genuine hurling people as you will meet

Im not from a strong football county so dobt have too much dealings with other counties and often wondered why northern supporters have such a bad name. I have got a fair graso of that on here and the type of mentality and im glad im bit from a county that has to deal with it too often. No place for it in the gaa down south.

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 10/03/2014 10:33:22    1557512

deisebhoy
County: Waterford

Frankbhoy for someone who thought I made some valid points at the beginning you certainly didnt act like someone (along with many of your northern comrades) who was willing to listen to any .kind of reason on the matter. I was just an observer for the first 6 or 7 pages here but eventually had to come on to defend ballysaggart after reading the totally ill informed one aided drivel vby people who were just making assumptions. I nade my arguments and even acknowledged that creggan were worthy of their win and were the beter team over the 2 games. But I was met with on the most part by a wall of snide remarks and narrow minded comments. Mostle I hace to say by antrim/ulster posters. So yes for that reason I did 'lower my veil' The only time I have ever with ulster people in gaa terms is when playing antrim at club and county level in hurling and they are the most decent genuine hurling people as you will meet

Im not from a strong football county so dobt have too much dealings with other counties and often wondered why northern supporters have such a bad name. I have got a fair graso of that on here and the type of mentality and im glad im bit from a county that has to deal with it too often. No place for it in the gaa down south.

No place for these attitudes and views in the GAA.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 10/03/2014 10:42:39    1557523

P mus it was thrown out on a technicality that ballysaggart didnt appeal within the correct timeframe

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 10/03/2014 11:00:02    1557541

Deise, you have know idea what I knew or what I was assuming so please do not generalise my comments. I have read back over the pages thus far and it was far from just antrim/ulster posters who were making 'assumptions' on both sides of the debate, but if you want to pigeon hole us like that then fine, it obviously suits your agenda to do so. For my part, I have said my piece, I believe justice was done and am proud to bits of the creggan boys and the management who carried out this wonderful feat for the club. And this will in no way stop me talking to my Waterford colleagues here in work. I would love to tell you what they thought of the whole thing but it would go against your anti-Antrim/Ulster feelings. you have a good day now ;)

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 10/03/2014 11:07:43    1557546

Deisebhoy and frankbhoy if this was a match you would both have been booked by now and likely sent off for all this constant niggle.
HS admin please close this thread before someone says something even more stupid.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 10/03/2014 11:44:16    1557570

'Im not from a strong football county so dobt have too much dealings with other counties and often wondered why northern supporters have such a bad name. I have got a fair graso of that on here and the type of mentality and im glad im bit from a county that has to deal with it too often. No place for it in the gaa down south.'

Ah good man keep the game going down in Ballysaggart youse are doing a grand job!!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 10/03/2014 12:06:42    1557589

suggestion seconded!

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 10/03/2014 12:10:12    1557597

Jesus fellas myself and Deise only playing a bit of verbal tennis, no malice intended from either corner. if you don't like it don't read it .......simple. And again a good day to all out there :)

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 10/03/2014 14:37:58    1557731

Why do some of the so called second tier hurling counties (e.g. those outside Kilkenny, Offaly, Galway, Clare, Waterford, Cork, Limerick, Dublin, Wexford, Tipperary) have such a chip on their shoulder?

Ballysaggart lost the game.

Ballysaggart suspected Creggan Kickhams fielded illegal players so they probed it and found it could be true so they lodged appeal.
Nothing wrong with that.

They lost the appeal.

Thats the story...

Thats no reflection on Waterford hurling at all. If you want to win an All-Ireland everything has to be above board on and off the field. Whats wrong with double checking?

Antrim posters are almost if not slamming the fact Ballysaggart issued an appeal as if they had no right too. Antrim posters almost stating that whether they did or didn't field illegal players they should be let away with it because "its great for hurling". Ok it was proven and ruled Creggan did not use illegal players which is grand but turn the tables if Ballysaggart had won and Creggan suspected illegal players and others around the country shunned Antrim and the club for clinging on and lodging an appeal. Ye'd all accuse the "bigger hurling counties" of yet again screwing the smaller county.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 10/03/2014 15:34:04    1557783

Got a bit passionate but its all good. Line drawn

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 11/03/2014 09:18:33    1558075