Indeed no MesAmis. They are a WATERFORD club, WATERFORD junior champions and are doing their county's decent reputation a lot of harm. Wiser heads within Waterford should have prevailed here and told Ballysaggart to catch themselves on; their county will be totally ridiculed after this. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 20/02/2014 16:04:39 1549220 Link 0 |
Hope this post puts an end to this thread as it's fairly concrete where the rule stands. St. Brigids of Roscommon had a player in their match day squad for last years All-Ireland final in an IDENTICAL situation age wise as these two players. Unless the GAA want to order a replay between Brigids and Ballymun I strongly suggest they throw this misinformed case out.. Case closed square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 20/02/2014 16:07:22 1549222 Link 0 |
If players are ILLEGAL their ILLEGAL. crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 20/02/2014 16:10:16 1549223 Link 0 |
Ulsterman MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 20/02/2014 16:15:51 1549228 Link 0 |
icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 20/02/2014 16:20:16 1549231 Link 0 |
crossfieldball you are spot on. Regardless, the rules are there for a reason and if they are not adhered to, then tough luck to the offending team. They will learn for the next time they are in an All-Ireland final and if nothing else, it sets down a marker to any other team who might do the same. If the GAA did right, they would just throw the club out and not bother with the replay. Why shouldnt they? Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 20/02/2014 16:26:19 1549235 Link 0 |
Good point square ball. Kickhams would have been absolute laughing stock in Dublin and elsewhere had they objected on the grounds that the team who beat them had a young fella who was too young to be playing grown men! Of all the excuses...... hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/02/2014 16:29:25 1549238 Link 0 |
Icehonesty, crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 20/02/2014 16:32:04 1549244 Link 0 |
"The Rules are there for a reason". Yeh, so the so called big counties can flaunt and break them all the time. The past year has shown that the bigger the county the more chance they have of "getting away with it" irrespective of rules or regulations. I have a feeling that because it's Antrim the GAA will wield the big stick and Creggan will suffer. We all know it wouldn't happen to a Cork, Dublin or Tipp side. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 20/02/2014 16:32:46 1549245 Link 0 |
The more I see comments about this the more I'm going with Ballysaggart actually. Initially I felt they'd be better to move on, but now that two players have come into question, and the attitude of "ye lost, get over it", the more I'm going away from Creggan. ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 20/02/2014 17:43:30 1549297 Link 0 |
A young 16 year old, who was correctly kept out of the team during the 2013 season, fires his club to win an All Ireland....the opposition club then go crying to the rule book! I would wager that the players in Ballysaggart are a fine bunch of men to get to this far in the competition. If they were asked I would wager they would prefer to move on and take their beating. Who ever is pushing this on the Ballysaggart side, is doing their club and county a major dis-service. Have some honour and move on! sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 20/02/2014 17:46:10 1549299 Link 0 |
LADS THE PLAYER WAS NOT ILLEGAL square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 20/02/2014 18:04:19 1549308 Link 0 |
After their pie-ball of a coaches rant after the game - I wouldn't hold my breath on a replay. arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 20/02/2014 18:41:54 1549329 Link 0 |
arock - After their pie-ball of a coaches rant after the game - I wouldn't hold my breath on a replay. muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 20/02/2014 19:35:36 1549365 Link 0 |
at this stage with two players believed to be ineligible on the Antrim side I think there definitely should be a replay now. With one player youd be inclined to let it go but with two and two important ones at that there should be fair play for all and a replay. Lets forget about the managers rant at this stage and stop using excuses about all sour grapes and the like, the Antrim team are in the wrong too. Everyone seems to be going on about his rant. Every manager rants now and again. If there was a replay id fully believe Ballysaggart would win this time. preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 804 - 20/02/2014 19:38:59 1549367 Link 0 |
preddan muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 20/02/2014 20:18:05 1549388 Link 0 |
While I agree that Ballysaggart were very sore loosers and the comments about the ref were a disgrace if (and it remains an if)a team went into an All Ireland final with 1 or now maybe 2 illegal players then Creggan really have nobody else to blame except themselves. juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 20/02/2014 20:32:35 1549395 Link 0 |
preddan MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 20/02/2014 20:33:18 1549396 Link 0 |
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/02/2014 20:37:25 1549399 Link 0 |
Are we all sure these two young lads were Illegal??What a carry on :::Does this age rule mean January to December or is it for the duration of the completion?? Something not right about Ballysaggert. SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/02/2014 21:29:44 1549438 Link 0 |