Croke Park Residents - Brooks Concerts

Locals will complain just to get kickbacks!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 21/02/2014 09:38:46    1549485

Remarkable that this topic whick used to be part of the "Talk to Joe" staple diet died suddenly when Rugby and Soccer games temporarily moved to Croke Park. Bet it wont be mentioned should Rugby WC come to these shores. Media Agenda.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 21/02/2014 10:15:32    1549511

Sorry jimbo, my post got posted there a good while after I wrote it, and before I read your last post. Fair point

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 21/02/2014 10:41:57    1549521

juniorbsub
County: Wexford

1548664 DISPICABLY me arse?They are getting to hear Garth Brooks 5 nights in a row...Its cost me 400 euro for the same pleasure!

brilliant<3

residants need to cop themselves on imo :)

blame it all on my roots<3

monaghanman99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 21/02/2014 12:08:11    1549560

The Master - just wanted to point out that for most of them, they have issues with noise and congestion on the main roads if they happened to need to use them at that time, and that is about it. Are you saying that isnt accurate?

I am not saying this isn't accurate.
As I said previously, I personally love the concerts being on. Better craic in the pubs and a bit of a buzz about the place.
I am no fan of Garth Brooks but the atmosphere around the place will be good.

I just think that basically the GAA inviting an extra 240,000 round to their gaff is much the same as your next door neighbour having a party that lasts for 5 nights with non stop music and drunken disorderly people wandering up and down your street. Without as much as a little warning by popping in the day before to say that there might be a bit of noise.

The point I am trying to make is that the GAA should have consulted with their neighbours before the gigs. Had they done that then I can guarantee there wouldn't be as much of an uproar to get these gigs cancelled.

bobby_shane (Dublin) - Posts: 106 - 21/02/2014 12:34:11    1549576

Crisis averted Garth Gates to play a free concert for the residents.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/02/2014 12:40:38    1549581

Free for the Residents of Guantanemo Bay fourtyfive!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/02/2014 13:14:02    1549605

Why are Dubs so anti Garth Brooks? Apart from Elvis he is the worlds most successful ever solo artist, yet apparently the dubs seem to be taking some weird pride in disliking him.
Hes a very talented musician and Id rather him than one direction or nicki minaj or whoever the hell the sophisticated city folk are into.
As for the residents, if yere that concerned about them, stop going to games.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 22/02/2014 20:39:48    1550113

don't know about the dubs disliking him I'm not a fan either if I was a Dub and half a million culchies landed on my door step with cowboy hats check shirts and bad teeth and singing "If Tomorrow never comes" I wouldn't be to happy !!!! now I'm off to get ready to see Nathan Carter , sucking diesel hay!!!!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 23/02/2014 13:21:13    1550206

some people seem a bit confused
its nothing to do with garth brooks
its nothing to do with social class
or who owns a house and who rents one
its down to the simple fact the gaa made an agreement with these residents
stating only 3 extra events a year
not only have they now made it 9 events in one year
but they did not once make contact with the residents about adding extra dates
the residents around clonliffe road cannot leave there houses for about a 5 hour period on match days as it is
the gaa have also already screwed over the residents over the last couple of years
concerning the local community centre for ballybough at the bottom of clonliffe road
they have shown no respect for the people who live around croke park over the last few years
so you can only take a certain amount of s**t before doing something about it
unfortunatly for the residents they will get nowhere on this
simply because money will talk
the ciy council, the local td's and government
along with the local buisnesses will all have to much sway
reagrding how much better off the economy will be for having these events

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/02/2014 20:50:42    1550456

Tough situation really.
My thoughts are that if there was agreement in place then it should have been held to or atleast the residents should be told of it.

However if as I have heard the resident get there fair share of rewards for the inconvenience (tickets, money or whatever). In this case then that is what they get.

To be fully honest I dont beleive they should have any impact on croke park at all. Sounds harsh but its the biggest stadium in ireland and they give out when it is used. Sure its an annoyance but it is also handy at times, especially if they are given the incentives that I have heard.
I live beside a soccer pitch but I dont complain when im awoken at 11AM on a Sunday morning after a rough night on the beer.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 24/02/2014 09:38:51    1550514

I pity the poor residents. Having to listen to an album from the 1990s on repeat for 5 nights in a row is a severe dose. Not as severe as paying 60 euro for same dose mind!

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 24/02/2014 10:01:20    1550524

The Ballad of the Culchie Musaic Fan

Blame it all on my roots
I showed up in boots
And ruined your pitch for a month
I came from Mayo, I came from Sligo.
And I brought my own bloody lunch

And I saw the surprise
in the security mans eyes
When I whipped out TK red Lemonade
And I toasted him, with a good sip of gin
i had pretended was blue Powerade….

Culchies come from far off places
where the grass is long and the farmer chases
the lads away, from his freshly cut hay,
yeeaah their not big on Urban places
think they'll slip on down to the donkey races
oh they come, from far off places…..

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/02/2014 10:09:27    1550533

Aboy the kid. Funny man Liam, i did laugh :-).

I can't believe it sold out for one night not to mind five.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 24/02/2014 10:35:31    1550548

Sure i am half a culchie meself Hoover
and i loves a glass of red lemonade!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/02/2014 12:52:19    1550621

Very good Liam

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/02/2014 13:30:29    1550633

I went to see Garth Brooks in 1994 in the Point.

I did it only as I was trying to go out with a fine young lady who had little interest in me. After getting her tickets I was hoping to lob the gob at the concert but she shnaked off into the crowd without meeting me. No mobiles back then. Never found her.

I'm not a fan of Garth.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/02/2014 15:56:22    1550723

slayer
County: Limerick

I went to see Garth Brooks in 1994 in the Point.

I did it only as I was trying to go out with a fine young lady who had little interest in me. After getting her tickets I was hoping to lob the gob at the concert but she shnaked off into the crowd without meeting me. No mobiles back then. Never found her.

I'm not a fan of Garth.
_________

Ah GOOD JAYSUS... it doesn't get any lower than that!

That's a feckin horror story...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/02/2014 16:02:11    1550725

SOunds like a bad Debs experience Slayer!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/02/2014 16:13:57    1550733

SOunds like a bad Debs experience Slayer!!!

Her name wasn't Debs :-)

But it was worth a shot. Like marking Shefflin, you try your hardest but you get Bate,

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/02/2014 16:20:17    1550736