Counties that seem to be allies/get on well

Isn't there a song about Dublin beating Offaly?

That would need to be put into context, Disillusionedfan. The song was written by the Wolfe Tones in the aftermath of the 1979 Leinster Final in which Jimmy Keaveney was sent off. Dublin were five points down with 10 mins to go and won with a last-minute goal. It was one of the last hurrahs for a declining team and was one of the most emotional and memorable days for any Dubs (like myself) old enough to remember it. It turned out to be Keaveney's last championship match for Dublin. The song celebrated a famous victory and was in no way penned as a dig at Offaly.

Tadhgín Tréan (Dublin) - Posts: 26 - 28/02/2014 15:16:32    1552410

Shane Ryan roaring in lads faces....?? Shane Ryan.......???
U defo have the wrong man there!!! Ryaner was/is a gentleman and never went in for that kinda rubbish. Ever.
U've wronged the man in a big way

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/02/2014 15:42:52    1552424

Carlow and Laois get on OK, especially since '95 and Laois giving them a replay.

Heraf (Laois) - Posts: 316 - 28/02/2014 15:45:23    1552426

Liam I'm sorry to say Shane Ryan was guilty of some of that during the Pillar years, I blame Caffrey myself!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 28/02/2014 16:47:41    1552481

I wouldn't agree with that Heraf.

Leix giving us a replay in 95 was a no brainer, it simply had to be done and doing so avoided the prospect of the Leinster Council ordering a replay. Ye didn't give us the replay in Carlow either, which was warranted.

Then the Graiguecullen dispute reared its head again a few years after 95 and for a few weeks the situation was pretty tense around Carlow town so much so that the local Garda Superintentent had to go on local radio and warn that someone was going to be killed if this kept up. Carlow subsequently withdrew the claim for the return of Graiguecullen, albeit pro temps.

The poaching of Barry Brennan et al also left a sour taste, so overall I wouldn't say that relations are good, from our side of the fence (which includes Graiguecullen) that is.

Of course we used to get on very well over the years with our neighbours from Wicklow, up until 2007 that is when they stole from us. Their subsequent failure to make retribution still grates with fair minded people.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1552 - 28/02/2014 19:30:58    1552545

Tadhgin how is it possible to "celebrate a famous victory" without having a dig at those defeated. The answer Im afraid is it is not possible. The fact remains that offaly are a tiny county when compared to Dublin in terms of playing numbers and my own belief is that a lot of this anti Dublin sentiment can be put down to the fact that dubs fans don't allow for that. Its a bit like Goliath hammering David and then gloating about it. I dunno if it means we aren't ruthless enough but when LK played Antrim in 2 AI semis in 90s there wasn't any animosity between the fans simply because we appreciated that we had advantages that Antrim didn't and that if we did brag about our victory we wouldn't have been comparing like with like. Just my own feeling on it as I say Dub fans in particular dub hurling fans are salt of the earth and there shouldn't be as much animosity as there appears to be.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 01/03/2014 09:14:57    1552650

Good post Fintown. A fair and balanced view. There was some embarrassing stuff during the Pillar era. And you are correct about Shane. We played Mearnog in hurling after Dublin footballers had been knocked out and one of our lads who knew Shane Ryan well asked him: "What were you at shouting into your man's face?" Shane looked very embarrassed and told him that he had been told to do this. He never did it again and a nicer man you could not wish to meet.

There were some pure eijits who used turn up in Croker during the Tiger era. And yes, there was goading of losing teams which was disgraceful. Thankfully they are gone now. Gilroy and Gavin are proper Dub GAA people and would not tolerate some of the antics that went before them. But all counties had/have them. And Ulsterman is right about SOME Tipp supporters. My family is originally Tipp but by jaysus there are no better men and women for rubbing your nose in it when they beat you!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/03/2014 12:09:13    1552689