Counties that seem to be allies/get on well

As a country fella I would have always supported Meath over the Dubs. But I was at the Monaghan hammering of Meath in Division 3 last year and their narrow defeat to Tyrone last year and the Meath fans are the hardest supporters on their owm team I have ever seen. Tbe abuse in both games (one where they were woeful and one where they played well) was horrific from their own fans. Even when a fella would put a ball over the bar he was called useless for not going for goal

fintownsuburbs (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 19/02/2014 19:43:47    1548796

Yep fintown, they're an awful thick bunch alright :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 19/02/2014 19:59:51    1548804

Roscommon would get on fairly well and have links with Kildare.
Never see too much disdain for Galway in the county, unfortunately the same can't be said for Mayo!

There seems to be some regard held for Dublin too (and vice versa), I don't know what the story is with that but Rossies don't hate the Dubs the way other culchies seem to!

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 19/02/2014 20:09:14    1548805

Fintown, maybe a few but not that many, and perhaps you mean other way around as in going for goal when should have taken point?
I will say there is a lot expected of a player in the Meath Jersey. It is in many peoples view the most sacred honour to be picked to wear it. And any lad can have a bad dday and no one should ever give him abuse or any player that plays in that Jersey. You see to Meath people that is the pinnacle. And when its on you , you should sweat blood and guts to do it proud. And if some lad aappears not to then yes I have heard him get told to cop on and have pride in the Jersey butnnothing personal or abusive. The next week its a clean slate. All we ever ask is that they give it their all and leave everything on the field. We will accept been beat by the other team, but never been beat by ourselves. Been a Meath county player is one of the hardest things in the world, along with been the manager. We won't suffer fools easily.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2014 20:19:34    1548811

experience of decky would be similar to mine. unless you are near the galway ros border maybe we like the rossies. mayo not so although they would support other connacht counties from what I have experienced but yet they often rub it in when they are beating you. I have always liked meath although there is an element to a small part of their support. fabourite hurling fans are limerick by a country mile.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 19/02/2014 20:20:45    1548813

oyaldunne

Fintown, maybe a few but not that many, and perhaps you mean other way around as in going for goal when should have taken point?
I will say there is a lot expected of a player in the Meath Jersey. It is in many peoples view the most sacred honour to be picked to wear it. And any lad can have a bad dday and no one should ever give him abuse or any player that plays in that Jersey. You see to Meath people that is the pinnacle. And when its on you , you should sweat blood and guts to do it proud. And if some lad aappears not to then yes I have heard him get told to cop on and have pride in the Jersey butnnothing personal or abusive. The next week its a clean slate. All we ever ask is that they give it their all and leave everything on the field. We will accept been beat by the other team, but never been beat by ourselves. Been a Meath county player is one of the hardest things in the world, along with been the manager. We won't suffer fools easily.

Sounds like the Spartans !!! Alas the dreaded Black Card may drive them over the cliff!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1722 - 20/02/2014 08:20:27    1548890

Dublin/Kerry is a bit of a PUKE love in. Despite battering each other for most of the 70's and 80's and playing some dreadful kick and rush stuff they are convinced in their own heads, and the media, that they are the GAA equivalent of Brazil 1970. Antrim people don't like Tipperary at all.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 20/02/2014 15:51:51    1549208

fintownsuburbs

1548796 As a country fella I would have always supported Meath over the Dubs

Please do elaborate Fin?
I am intrigued?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/02/2014 16:04:01    1549218

I would say that Kerry folk get on well with the Dubs and Galway crowd. Bit of banter with the Rebels of course and never had any trouble with Tyrone supporters in Omagh, Dublin or Killarney.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/02/2014 16:44:40    1549258

Antrim people don't like Tipperary at all.

Anything to do with '89? :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 20/02/2014 16:45:11    1549259

Not the defeat realdub but the condescending arrogance and sheer hurling snobbery that went with it. I recall a Tipp fan getting flung out of a Dublin bar by an Antrim man for one insult too many after the game.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 20/02/2014 16:58:31    1549265

I see Ulsterman, don't worry, the Kilkenny lads will have them back in their box before long :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 20/02/2014 17:26:14    1549289

Liam,
In response I always have had an anti Dublin bias running through me, inheritted from the ould fella. I don't know what his problem was, possibly going back to the 12 apostles (of course it was all Dublin's fault) and the broken Jaw v Mayo in '85. This was fed immeasurably in Pillar's time for the follwoing reasons
1. Mayo in 06 where Vaughan had to almost jump on Whealo to slow his March to Hill 16, Pillars shoulder to back with Morrison etc...
2. The scoreboard pointing vs Laois in the Leinster Final (I now know the Laois defenders refused to pass on water bottles with 2 minutes to go)
3. Shane Ryans conatant roaring in oppostion faces when 10 points up against weaker teams
4. Dublin fans arriving late after a weekly 'Premier League Game of the Season' had finished
5. Constant crowd booing of oppostion players premier league style
6. Player showboating
all would have led to my support of the other team vs the Dubs (smiliar I suppose to any team vs England in the world cup/euros. But then..............Gilroy came along and changed everything.
I believe 31 counties were delighted for Dubs in 2011, all my fellow Tir Chonaill Gaels certainly were. Showboating stopped and the recession squeezed the worst elements of the bandwagon brigade (as a GAA fan I'm delighted to take their money but not when they are absuing everyone around them). A random Leinster Final where the Dubs were 1/4 (4/1 on)in the 00s would attract 82000 nowadays its more like 60000 max. Now Liam my own county had an estimated 50,000 in the final in 2012 and yet 6 months later when we faced the Kingdom in bbofey as champs in a league game there was 7000 with no kerry fans (so we are no better as bandwagon fans) but I have been to numerous Dublin games in the past where the goading of already beaten GAA opposition supporters was horrific. IMO Dublin as a team,supporters and now the understated Gavin (Gilroy minus 2 feet) all add to my enjoyment of the Dubs (long may it last). No abuse please. Hard men around Dublin 12. To finish a friend of mine sat with my ould fella at the final in 2012 and stated he never heard a more baised GAA fan ever....In this case I hope the apple has landed far from the tree

fintownsuburbs (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 20/02/2014 18:26:10    1549318

royaldunne

Gleebo in fairness. I haven't ever talked to a Mayo person event those too young to been at match that doesn't say McDermott should have been sent off with McHale and I don't ever think he has done a interview where he's not complaining about it. Its nearly 20 years ago, get over it, we were by far the better team and with or without McHale we still would have won. Time to accept that and move on.

Even if what you say is true, I don't think what you've described amounts to hatred. And without wanting to rehash 1996, I think your view is a bit partisan. I saw a VT of the replay game not so long ago, and Colm O' Rourke had a very different take on the game, saying that Meath were fortunate. No matter, they won and nothing will change that now.

@Suckvalley Paddy: I always find the Meath-Galway love-in a bit strange. After all, so many Galway people were given land in Rath Cairn due to the establishment of the Gaeltacht there in the 40s and 50s. Mayo people settled there on a similar basis but got a completely different reception from the locals. (And the relationship between Mayo and Kildare people is much friendlier, despite similar migrations). All a bit odd.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/02/2014 19:05:43    1549340

Gleebo. Not been disrespectful to him or you, but that year still irkes with O'Rourke cause he wasn't part of it, only two of O'Rourke's team played that day, coyle and the greatest half back ever (see team of millennium) O'Connell.
I think his views are to be taken with a pinch of salt.
But I do agree with you, everyone should move on from it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2014 19:17:17    1549351

Well done fintownsuburbs, you summed up the typical anti-Dub stance almost to the letter. I'm glad to say the Pillar brigade has left the building, he embarrassed the crap out of me in the pre-match antics and we probably got our commupings, even though that defeat hurt like hell, thankfully we've been able to bury that ghost!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 20/02/2014 19:17:48    1549352

We get on fairly well with all of our Leinster neighbours Offaly,Westmeath,Longford and have good a relationship with Kildare due to the Earleys. So many Dubs have Roscommon connections so we can hardly not like them. Good time for Cavan,Donegal also.

Only the border towns of Ballyhaunis,Glenamaddy etc that causes problems in Connacht however for some reason Leitrim don't like us but we always like to see them doing well. (apart from playing us of course)

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4027 - 20/02/2014 19:33:37    1549361

Enjoy the kerry games and craic , favourite games and rivalry will always be Meath its an age thing and love hate thing ,
Honestly dont have any one county that I dislike or maybe Im spoilt for choice as Ive witnessed first hand many who really hate us , but thats life .
Found kilkenny fans to be a bit up their own ar3e but I suppose they've more reason than most .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/02/2014 19:35:22    1549363

Not one person from Offaly or Laois to comment on that rivalry?

I think it's interesting to consider regions within counties. For example, north Kerry and South/West Kerry I've often found to be very different, with the northerners much more urban and out-looking.
Many counties in the west have big differences between east and west as do some of the main hurling counties.
In terms of how well or easy people get on, I've always got on easiest with north Kerry and East Cork and Cork city people, East Clare, Galway city, urban Ulster people, and urban Meath people, and for some reason with all Tipp people (even though southerners are very different to the north, a little bit like west and east in the counties of the Atlantic side.

Then I've almost always got on WELL with west Cork and west Kerry, west Clare, Galway & most Donegal people. I just like/respect them, I suppose it's the vast gulf in the type of life experience, and environment. With those I get on easiest with it's usually the sense of humour that clicks. The (mostly) friendly slanging with the north Kerry, Cork city, and the urban Ulster & Meath lads is usually guaranteed.
I've also seen good relationships between us and Westmeath and Cavan, and Offaly. I can't say I've seen any major bad will from the most of us to any other county, outside of the usual match day hot blood and alcohol stuff. We went off Meath for a while there after 91 understandably what with the previous few years but things were ok again by 96 even with that surprise defeat.

I'd say at this stage more Meath people probably are getting to the hate stage with us after years of mostly defeats but there haven't been too many really close/ ones as Meath haven't really been All-I contenders.
I've noticed that some Meath people seem to dislike Kildare, and have contempt for Louth and are completely dismissive of Westmeath. I've noticed that alot of Laois people tend to look to Munster and don't have much time for the more urban Leinster counties.

If I was to use my list of lasting acquaintances and times enjoyed from/in outside my own county down the years as a yardstick it would be similar to what I posted above - Kerry, Cork, Tipp, Clare, Galway, Donegal, Derry, Tyrone, Down, Antrim, Monaghan, Westmeath, Meath, Wexford and Wicklow.

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 28/02/2014 11:51:29    1552280

I'm amused when dubs go on about how many hate them. GAA really needs Dublin and Dublin GAA ppl are salt of the earth ppl who have to work hard in face of competition from other sports. I think on any country u go to u will have the capital city v the rest. One thing I find hard to accept though is Dubs bragging bout beating Laois or Westmeath i.e. counties with a fraction of their playing population. Isn't there a song about Dublin beating Offaly? I attended limk v Antrim last Sunday and we would never brag of be Bolshevik bout beating a county with poorer resources. Maybe that could be a pointer to some of the anti Dublin feeling.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 28/02/2014 14:03:59    1552374