Counties that seem to be allies/get on well

As a Limerick man we get on with Cork as they are a decent enough bunch. Clare are the finest and i respect what they have done in the last 20 years. Always liked Galway and i like the Dubs also.

Would not be a fan of Tipperary and Kerry.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 18/02/2014 14:48:20    1547992

Liamwalkinstown
i am not referring to Tyrone posters on HS just so I clear that up now
I mean fans i have met on match days
Tyrone lads on here in general are sound

Funny, I find the exact opposite is the case as regards dublin. Excluding the hill crew of course. Maybe there is a connection there, you lads dont all go into the hill by any chance do you? In fact the only guy I know for sure that goes into the hill; waynoI, is arguably the fairest dublin poster on the forum, which is again, the inverse of what I have experienced in person. Generally I find them fine, however one observation I would make is that if you beat them they want to talk about the game in honest terms and dont want to hear too much ribbing, but if they win then you have to take all the ribbing they want to send your way. Bit of a 'like to dish it out but not take it back' thing going on there.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2014 14:58:31    1548001

I guess there is a grudgingly type of respect between Meath and Dublin. Again that goes against the general consensus, yeah we hate each other, but at the same time there is a longhistory aand rivalry there.
I would also say Meath and down have a excellent relationship. Perhaps the only ulster county I'd love to see win all ire, even after 91 :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2014 15:00:29    1548003

Disagree with Liam re Tyrone supporters I have to say.

Great craic too be had.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 18/02/2014 15:01:13    1548004

Dickie 10
Good job your not up in Donegal ,what with all the CELTIC tops you would be saying we are very Scottish in our outlook Then again sure aren't CELTIC our club.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 15:01:25    1548005

Liamwalkinstown

1547976 i am not referring to Tyrone posters on HS just so I clear that up now
I mean fans i have met on match days
Tyrone lads on here in general are sound

1 reason Liam, 95, we were cheated

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 18/02/2014 15:14:04    1548014

ok redhand, and as i said, i am not referring to lads on here, but i have seen more triumphalism from Tyrone fans than anyone else anytime they beat us and it got pretty close to the edge with a lot of them too,
there seemed a genuine hatred there that i had never seen from any other county fans
i know people wont like hearing that and i know its not all tyrone fans, but to be honest, it was a fair number all the same.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/02/2014 15:26:12    1548030

Themaster, can you stereotype a tad further please. I go to the hill. What is my type?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/02/2014 15:29:28    1548033

1 reason Liam, 95, we were cheated

Lol, that oul chestnut, beaten by the better team, if that score have of stood it wouldn't have saved ye in the replay, we were poor that day, but still better than ye :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 18/02/2014 15:35:19    1548034

When you have a bad experience with a counties support you tend to generalise, I had a couple of unfortunate incidents with the fans of two counties in particular but I certainly wouldn't paint the rest of their ilk with the same brush!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 18/02/2014 15:41:27    1548036

Liam... as Patrique always said...Tyrone are the culchies of the North

You have to expect a bit of lip off a certain percentage

It's very much a rural v urban thing with them... it's beyond sport.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/02/2014 15:43:29    1548041

MuckrossHead

The more the better man... the more the better.

Always ends up in tears in my limited experience or a nasty little rash!!

______

Hahaha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/02/2014 15:47:02    1548043

WE have an ok relationship with waterford and galway. Wicklow and Carlow have always worn purple and gold in the summer !!! Carlow not so much lately. Dublin hurling people have always been great :) not so great in football though !! huge bandwagon

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3549 - 18/02/2014 16:09:19    1548061

Just to remind Jimbo what the title of the thread is.

Its not, "Tyrone,do we really need them"!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/02/2014 16:15:11    1548065

I've noticed many of the older Dublin fans who would be 50/60+, have a lot of respect for Meath, more so than anyone else in the country and like to see them do well if Dublin aren't up to much. As for the rest of the Dublin supporters, it's a friendly light hearted rivalry more so than anything. In contrast, Mayo and Louth people really detest Meath, which has transcended into a general hatred outside of football in many cases. Cork ain't much better.

I always liked Offaly and would love to see them do well again, and any Meath person I know roots for them whoever they are playing (apart from Meath obviously). Ask any Meath fan over a certain age who is the greatest footballer of all time, and you'll be told in no uncertain terms it was Matt Connor

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4134 - 18/02/2014 16:16:34    1548068

Can categorically say I am not 'fond' of any county least of all Dublin. I hate when Meath fans cosy up to them on this forum, it's just not right!! I don't hate Galway? Can't say I like them either...

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 18/02/2014 16:19:23    1548073

Tipperary get on very well with the following neighbours!!!

Limerick
Cork
Waterford
Clare
Offaly
Laois
Galway
Kilkenny

From a supporters point of view always great craic when we play those counties.

AMBUSHED!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 18/02/2014 16:21:46    1548075

brendtheredhand

Just to remind Jimbo what the title of the thread is.

Its not, "Tyrone,do we really need them"!

Brend.. you know well that I think the very opposite!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/02/2014 16:27:18    1548086

3241. Offaly and Westmeath would be detested in ballinabracky / clonard/ castkejordan areas of Meath though. I mean to a extent where the green and gold of Meath was flown for Kerry in them early 80s finals.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2014 16:37:18    1548092

royaldunne

3241. Offaly and Westmeath would be detested in ballinabracky / clonard/ castkejordan areas of Meath though. I mean to a extent where the green and gold of Meath was flown for Kerry in them early 80s finals.

True, I suppose it depends on what side of the county your from and who it borders with. I wasn't to fond of them in the late 90's/ early 00's mind you, but since they've gone backwards badly I've noticed most people rooting for them whenever they are playing, probably more down to the fact that people would like to see them competitive again

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4134 - 18/02/2014 16:46:23    1548102