NHL - week 1

Just a note re the added time by James Owens who in my view is a good ref, one of the better ones actually.

Watch the game again Rebel, on the 70 mark we got a 65, 2 minutes were to be added, Dowling had to wait a good 30/40 seconds to get the ball back which never happened and one came in from the line, quite obviously they were trying to ice him. James Owens was well withing his rights to add another minute in truth.

Now re the last free, dear god, not sure but i think it was William Egan, head first, yes, that is what it was, head first into O'Grady and you think it was not a foul, laughable.

Now remember ye were also given a point which there was debate over from the umpires and in that case it should not be given, so thank your lucky stars ye got a draw against a fourteen man Limerick.

I think my points have been well made and gaping holes have been found in everyone of your statements. I will leave it at that.

Well done to Laois yesterday.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 17/02/2014 09:59:41    1547166

Has the Laois victory more to do with offaly being in freefall or genuine progress in laois?
Offaly's best chance of avoiding a relegation play-off v Carlow (probably) would be to beat Antrim. Is that game on in Offaly or Antrim?

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 17/02/2014 10:26:23    1547179

i love this place

people going nuts over the results of the first round of the league,

Personally i was there saturday night and i am not the slightest bit worried about corks progress. Like clare they were slightly behind in the preseason training stakes and you could see them wilt in the latter stages.

Limerick showed more fight than cork who seemed to be stand offish.

How ever they had a good spread of scores blooded a few new players and had a big tally from play.

Personally i think some of the comments in here are a bit over the top for the second week of FEBRUARY

Limerick didnt make that many scoring chances with nearly half their scores coming from dead ball situations. And on a soft pitch in feb cork gave away too many soft frees last one in particular was just stupid. But after watching that game the galways dublin game and the clare kilkenny game over the weekend there hasnt been anything yet to suggest that cork cant be in the mix in august and on a harder pitch with a better radar i think cork would have won by three or four points on saturday night

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 17/02/2014 10:40:28    1547189

Hoover78
County: Limerick

If that's the incident i'm thinking of there was a ball there but a Limerick player pucked it over to the sideline. He must of been unhappy with the ball but they had one ready to use.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 17/02/2014 11:04:09    1547207

Are people for real here? The referee did an excellent job on that game. The free Limerick got at the end was the height of stupidity by the Cork defender. It made the conspiracy theorist in me wonder was there an agreement to draw the game because it means Wexford and Offaly probably need to beat both to get promotion, between these 2 teams it is now a shoot out.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/02/2014 11:05:50    1547211

Pinkie i thought he had a good game and i think he is one of the better refs.

It made the conspiracy theorist in me think was William Egan looking for a staring role as a linebacker with the "Legion Of Boom" Seattle Seahawks defense!!

Fair enough Rebel but there was a long delay at that stage.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 17/02/2014 11:30:58    1547222

jaysus Pinkie,that is right from the jim corr school of conspiracy theories....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/02/2014 11:42:20    1547230

Totally with Pinkie and Hoover on the William Egan incident, At least Wayne Mc attempted but failed to apply a proper tackle where as Egan's 'tackle' was wild and totally unnecessary as Limerick had little chance of scoring if Donal O'Grady had been left alone.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4501 - 17/02/2014 12:04:13    1547244

Was a guard of honour always done at the first league game for the reigning champions or was yesterday the first time does anyone know? Nice touch I thought.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 17/02/2014 12:31:05    1547259

Must of killed them to do it!

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 17/02/2014 12:35:38    1547266

Thats whats makes it so great : )

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 17/02/2014 12:50:06    1547282

Ritchie,

You say if Cork had better radar they would have won by 4 points or so.....If you are going to come out with statements like that please ensure they are better balanced.

If Limerick had better radar they should have had at least 1 goal and 3 points in the first 10 minutes or so. All I am hearing from Cork lads are excuses about refs etc. In fact if I were ye I'd be more concerned about yer teams dismal performance while playing most of the game with an extra man, even in early Feb.

Don't get me wrong, Limerick were no great shakes either and have plenty to work on, but these silly statement you made must be a joke??

BigMack (Cork) - Posts: 182 - 17/02/2014 12:53:48    1547287

The All Ireland champions always get a guard of honour in the first league game of the year. Hopefully Limerick will be getting one next year ...

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 17/02/2014 12:54:09    1547288

The All Ireland champions always get a guard of honour in the first league game of the year. Hopefully Limerick will be getting one next year ...

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 17/02/2014 12:54:10    1547289

Since when? It's only become a tradition in recent years, as far as I'm aware?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 17/02/2014 13:36:54    1547331

RebelCork

Must of killed them to do it!

They've received enough of them....

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/02/2014 14:01:26    1547367

Those guards of honour are around a good while. I distinctly remember being in Ennis in October 73 when Clare gave one for the new All Ireland champs and a whale of a game ensued which LK narrowly won.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4501 - 17/02/2014 14:44:28    1547406

Guards of honour go back generations. I was in Ballinalsoe when Dublin played Galway in league a month or so after the 1983 All Ireland final. Guard of honour was merely prelude to a right flaking match!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 17/02/2014 15:07:46    1547423

Guards of honour go back generations. I was in Ballinalsoe when Dublin played Galway in league a month or so after the 1983 All Ireland final. Guard of honour was merely prelude to a right flaking match!

Dublin were owed a right good flaking after that AI final, three men sent off and John Gough takes the brunt of the abuse.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 17/02/2014 15:11:43    1547429

A guard of honour for the All Ireland champs is nothing new, I remember Offaly doing it for Galway in 1980 & Galway returning the compliment in 81.
Biggest result of the weekend for me was Clare beating the Cats in Ennis. You can be damn sure Cody wanted to lower the banner at the first time of asking but they couldn't do it.
Kudos to Clare.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 17/02/2014 16:00:30    1547478