NHL - week 1

Fair play to the people who predicted a draw between Limerick and Cork. Good result for wexford probably!
Didn't get to see it, followed it here on HS. Sounded savage. Fair play to limerick.

Tipp v waterford sounded like a great game as well. Real pity for stephen o'keefe.

Any reactions from the people at the games.

Two great games to get the ball rolling.
Looking forward to tomorrow.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 15/02/2014 20:46:00    1546597

Does anyone know the attendance figures from the 2 games tonight?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 15/02/2014 21:34:22    1546635

Tipp Waterford had 4700 at it, was a terrible game of hurling no other way to put it.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 15/02/2014 21:42:38    1546645

Lucky for u realtmo you didn't take me up on my offer.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 15/02/2014 21:49:41    1546653

Limerick match was poor i thought. They had one man inside the 45 for most of the game, Cork did most of the hurling i thought. An extra 20 seconds of 'cork time' was played before Limerick got the free (which i thought was harsh). Saying that Cork got one or two frees that were very soft. Overall Limerick have to be more happy with the result.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 15/02/2014 21:52:17    1546656

Cork did most of the hurling???? What game were you watching. Limerick had to work so hard for everything and they at least had a game plan. I agree that ye did get some soft frees and Limerick look like a far better unit. Aidan Walsh may rethink the hurling after the mullering Wayne Mac gave him. With 14 men and 6 points down we must have been doing the hurling would you not think??

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 15/02/2014 22:00:41    1546663

Marlon_JD
County: Tipperary

1546635 Does anyone know the attendance figures from the 2 games tonight?

Limerick 95 reported seven thousand at Lk/Ck game.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 16/02/2014 08:35:49    1546664

Rebel cork "overall limerick have to be more happy with the result". U think? We were well of the pave took us 15 mins to get up to match speed were 6 points down playing away from home for more than 50 mins with 14 men and we drew. Yours has to be the understatement of the year. No matter what happens today (or poss even rest of league) no performance will too limericks last night. Everyone has written lk off ( on post sayomg an 8 pt defeat) poss cos of our semi display last year. I'm telling ye boys that was just a bad day at the office, only 2 or 3 of our players played on de day and we were still unlucky. Write us off at your peril.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 16/02/2014 08:43:27    1546668

The attendance in cork last night was announced as 7100 odd but this doesn't count any under 16s who were free and from what I saw this extended to under 18s best of luck to them so you could safely add another 2000 to the official figure bringing it close to the 10,000 mark .

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 870 - 16/02/2014 08:54:58    1546673

Df only seeing your other comment about the bet now. Ye seem delighted with the draw last night I see a lot of yer scores came from frees that seems to be the only down side to yer display I was told. Tipp and Waterford was a very poor game, Tipp were terrible and still won I feel a better team would of been out of sight by half time as Waterford hit a massive amount of wides. Tipp backs were very good I felt. For Waterford they had closes enough to championship side out and will struggle now to stay up as they missed a big chance last night to get the two points, it,s a game they could of won.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 16/02/2014 10:56:17    1546703

Lord God, Cork were robbed! The game was in additional time and then Cork got a 'winning' point. But the ref did wouldn't blow up ... and Limerick (the cheek of them! went down and equalised. But the big question here is, is this all part of the grand conspiracy against Nash? Well then, lads, there's only one route to be followed.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 324 - 16/02/2014 11:28:50    1546710

Will division 1B be a shoot-out between Limerick and Cork of who can beat the rest by more?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8897 - 16/02/2014 12:02:31    1546731

Said it here few weeks ago realtmo we won't get carried away by league. However to go down to cork give them a 6 pt head start cos we were well off pace for 15 mins n then draw playong with 14 men for 50 mins shows great heart. We are a lot better than ppl on here give us credit for. Question is are we good enough and we won't know that till Aug at earliest I'd say and second week in sep hopefully.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 16/02/2014 12:26:26    1546747

16/02/2014 12:02:31
legendzxix

Will division 1B be a shoot-out between Limerick and Cork of who can beat the rest by more?

It should be but with respect to Offaly and Wexford they will both give Limerick and Cork plenty to think about.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 16/02/2014 12:57:13    1546762

Tipp were brutal yesterday. Clare are in for a bit of hiding today if they lost so badly to that Tipp team.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/02/2014 12:57:15    1546763

"No matter what happens today (or poss even rest of league) no performance will too limericks last night."

DF I presume you mean top??

You have a tendency to get carried away with yourself lad.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/02/2014 13:00:24    1546764

Here limerick lads nobody has anything against ya. I'll rooting fir ya after our own lads obviously. No it won't be a shoot out between cork and limerick. I think wexford might come good this year

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 16/02/2014 13:01:55    1546765

Draw was the fair result, Cork were very poor and if Limerick had 15 they would have probably ran away with it. We can't have many complaints but the ref should have blown up....

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 16/02/2014 13:06:47    1546769

Limerick weren't off the pace Cork were just playing brilliant for 15-20 mins, if they had played like that for 70 the game would of had a very ugly scoreline no matter what Limerick had done. The wides and the placement of the balls into the forward line were dreadful after that. Limerick looked like the team with the extra man in the second half.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 16/02/2014 13:10:56    1546770

Doylerwex

I admire your optimism for your county but i believe Wexford are not operating at a same level as Cork or Limerick

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/02/2014 13:17:09    1546777