Sam 2014

Back to the future type analysis of 2011, 2012 is ridiuculous. It is all about the last season, and how any team, not just donegal can grow from it. 2012 is a brilliant memory, but already, I am noticing players knocking very loudly on starting 15 rolls that didnt figure the same way at all 2 years ago. So 2013 is where we have got to look from.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 19/02/2014 13:50:38    1548542

SamOnErrigal

Muckross you really are going to defend well against :::Dublin scoreless after 60 minutes play. At least I was thinking of a score like Donegal 1-1 Dublin 0-1 at half time. At sixty minutes play it might be Donegal 1-3 Dublin0-5 and all the Dublin scores coming from 45 metre frees kicked by The Dublin goalkeeper. The final would be 1-5Donegal 0-7 Dublin

Great minds think alike Sam, that was more or less the way I saw it, with clondalkin's head exploding as half time entertainment.

In all honesty there is a long way to go, but until we beat Dublin we will never get any credit from some.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/02/2014 13:52:35    1548544

Muckross/Clondalkin Dub
Your right Muckross ,last year has nothing to do with this years championship,this is a completely new year. What happened last year is now irrelevant We beat Mayo in 2012, but loo what happened last August Same in 2009 Donegal hammered by Cork, one of the worst beatings we ever got and fast forward 2012 and with 11 of the 2009 team we beat Cork handy enough. The one sure thing is Dublin will have to hit top form in the summer because there are a few teams that could beat them. The only team I see in Leinster to push Dublin this year are Kildare so WOULD expect them to arrive at the quarter final stage as Leinster champions. Over the last 30 years GOOD teams found it hard to win two or three All Ireland's think Meath (2) 87/88 Cork(89/90 Down(1991/1994 Tyrone got 3over a five year period Galway got two over a five year period .Kerry were the exception. Two teams who I thought should have done better were Armagh2002 and Derry 1993. So it is hard to win two or three AI The question is ::How many will this Dublin team win. I don't think Dublin won 3 in a row ,is that correct ??

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/02/2014 14:06:36    1548551

Half time entertainment Muckross
More like full time entertainment :::Jimmy's winning matches/Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal. Now Clondalkin would have a sore head alright leaving the Hill with that ringing in his ears.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/02/2014 14:21:29    1548562

SamOnErrigal

Muckross/Clondalkin Dub
Your right Muckross ,last year has nothing to do with this years championship,this is a completely new year. What happened last year is now irrelevant We beat Mayo in 2012, but loo what happened last August Same in 2009 Donegal hammered by Cork, one of the worst beatings we ever got and fast forward 2012 and with 11 of the 2009 team we beat Cork handy enough. The one sure thing is Dublin will have to hit top form in the summer because there are a few teams that could beat them. The only team I see in Leinster to push Dublin this year are Kildare so WOULD expect them to arrive at the quarter final stage as Leinster champions. Over the last 30 years GOOD teams found it hard to win two or three All Ireland's think Meath (2) 87/88 Cork(89/90 Down(1991/1994 Tyrone got 3over a five year period Galway got two over a five year period .Kerry were the exception. Two teams who I thought should have done better were Armagh2002 and Derry 1993. So it is hard to win two or three AI The question is ::How many will this Dublin team win. I don't think Dublin won 3 in a row ,is that correct ??

Not in modern times, no!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 19/02/2014 14:22:33    1548564

Dublin's chances could be seriously impacted by so many senior players also playing U-21 this year

It ended up being a big advantage being knocked out early of last years Leinster U-21 Championship

Gave the younger players the one focus and Jim Gavin a lot more options

It reduced burn out and in doing so reduced the risk of serious injury

Thus making the Dublin panel as strong as it was last year... lots of options, lots of cover

I think if the U-21's go on a god run... it will def impact on the senior setup

You need everything in your favour to win back to backs... the above could result in problems for Jim Gavin and co.

But in the long term... that's a different story

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2014 14:33:00    1548570

I dont know how you assess this. If a team like derry won more than 1 all ireland, then they would have had to deny donegal, (who other people would say they underachieved) their all ireland. Similarly, I think the dublin team of the early to mid 90s under achieved, but they would have had to deny either derry, down or donegal their all ireland (who have likewise underachieved?!). So its a bit of a merry go round question. Tyrone in 1995 could have won that day and they deserved an all ireland, yet that would have left that dublin team without an all ireland.

Similarly, armagh in the 00s would have had to deny either tyrone or kerry, probably the greatest 2 teams of the modern era, so i would say that armagh were damn lucky to win an all ireland despite having a cracking team.

If this current dublin team win another all ireland in the next 3 years, which is highly likely, they will have won at least 3 of the last 6. Their legacy will be secure, as it is already as being an historical gaa heavyweight. Should they win 2 of the next 3, they will be legends. Big chance this year, but it like all the other years, will be hard.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 19/02/2014 15:05:53    1548601

Funny one for you lads. My cousin was meeting me in Parnell park for a recent Dublin O'Byrne cup match and on the way in on the 42 bus he was chatting to a fella on the bus who proudly showed a photo on his phone of a tatoo he got on his back in 2011 on his back. As a proud GAA fan he had all the All Irelands that Dublin had won in his lifetime tatooed on his back 74 77 78 83 2011 all in sequence. My cousin asked him was he missing a year by any chance.....Yer man winked at him and says to him not to worry I havent decided where to put 2013 yet? UP THE DUBS.
Donegal to beat Dublin 7 5 in August as Ulster play Leinster in the semi finals !!!

fintownsuburbs (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 19/02/2014 19:10:14    1548776

fintownsuburbs

Funny one for you lads. My cousin was meeting me in Parnell park for a recent Dublin O'Byrne cup match and on the way in on the 42 bus he was chatting to a fella on the bus who proudly showed a photo on his phone of a tatoo he got on his back in 2011 on his back. As a proud GAA fan he had all the All Irelands that Dublin had won in his lifetime tatooed on his back 74 77 78 83 2011 all in sequence. My cousin asked him was he missing a year by any chance.....Yer man winked at him and says to him not to worry I havent decided where to put 2013 yet? UP THE DUBS.
Donegal to beat Dublin 7 5 in August as Ulster play Leinster in the semi finals !!!
--------------------------------------------
lol! I guess he felt Tyrone were robbed that day too!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/02/2014 19:36:19    1548788

Now now seanie_boy :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 19/02/2014 19:39:28    1548791

18/02/2014 21:47:09
TheGateKeeper

hardcore
County: Monaghan
Yeah Sean Cavanagh looked in TOTAL CONTROL as he rugby tackled Conor McManus to the ground.

Yeah Paschal McConnell looked in TOTAL CONTROL as he short kicked out to a Monaghan man only for him to miss a certain goal.

We sat back when we should of pushed up and went for it early in the second half,those two missed goal chances finished our hopes along with playing 2 extra backs.......madness.Again we blew it.

18/02/2014 20:53:51
border Gael
County: Monaghan

Tyrone had 15 men on the field so had we. the match was played for 73mins I think. we had our chances. They were willing to take a red card to win that game. I honestly think that if we had played as a team we would have had a better chance but its over and gone and they won it. its a game of football lets move on,

Yawn... coulda, woulda, shoulda lads!
If Monaghan were good enough they would have won that day,
truth is they played exceptionally well against a tired Donegal,
and once more were found wanting by Tyrone! Its a psychological
thing with you Monaghan lads; the sight of the white and red
strikes the fear of God in yis!
Total Control
Total Faith
Tir Eoghain abu ;)

Total crap Gatekeeper........You's no right well yous got away with it that night.........it wont be posted what i want to say,but all will be put right on June 15th 2014.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 19/02/2014 21:48:06    1548872

Liamwalkinstown

Since the game in 2010 (which Dublin won incidentally) we have added the following players to our team/match day squad

Cooper, McCaffrey, Kilkenny, Mannion, Hudson, Rock, Andrews
I think we can all agree thats a HUGE improvement ?
Have Donegal done likewise lads?
Far as I can tell ye have lost Rory, lost Cassidy, given McHugh junior his go but not much else?

Thoughts?

Not being picky or anything but that game was in 2011 Liam

Look I agree Dublin have better individual players but Donegal have matured over the 2 years and are a better unit now than then

Rory was the assistant manager & has been replaced, Dublin replaced their manager & it hasn't held them back but what really pleases me this year is how fringe players like Martin McElhinney are turning in man of the match performances.

It's a long way to the summer, but we are looking in good shape at the moment & I would love to meet the Dubs at full strength, just to see.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/02/2014 21:51:52    1548876

2 points to take from t his thread.

Donegal v Dublin, which is not all about sam when u factor in the other big big fish.

Monaghan v Tyrone, which I am really looking forward to. It will be an all ireland final in its own right, the same way that derry v donegal will be. There is nothing to compare with ulster football in terms of real competition, these are both first round games.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 20/02/2014 11:54:05    1549008

geoff

I still laugh at people who say Sean Cavanagh only got the better of Darren Hughes last summer because Hughes got a yellow card. Every game over the past 40 years has had cards dished out and in its very rare that a yellow seriously curtails a player in the way that Monaghan fans seem to suggest it did to Hughes. I'm sure there were Tyrone players carded too in that game and I've never heard that used as an excuse for them allowing their opposite number to get the better of them. The simple fact is that Sean Cavanagh when he catches fire is unlikely to be curtailed by Darren Hughes or anybody else.

Sean Cavanagh was the heartbeat of Tyrone last season, running midfield and linking play from defense to the forwards. He is a class act, and has proven very difficult to shutdown, even by the stronger or more successful teams.

Darren Hughes is an excellent midfielder, albeit a very physically dominant midfielder. Monaghan would have felt they were strong enough around the pitch to match Tyrone, but they needed to shutdown Tyrone attacks. Likely having studied Tyrone in great depth, they figured that by limiting Sean Cavanagh sufficiently, they would essentially tip the balance of the game in their favour.

Monaghan were correct in this assessment, however there was a great danger of receiving a booking with heavy marking. A booking so early in the game meant that Darren Hughes would need to be on his best behavior, otherwise he would walk and Monaghan with 10 men would surely be beaten.
This allowed Cavanagh enough space to influence the game, and boy did he influence it at the end up.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 20/02/2014 11:58:04    1549011

It's too early in the year to be making bold statements about anything. I'll keep my own councel until after the league has finished. At that point we'll have a better idea as to how each team is motoring and what injury worries they may or may not have.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9897 - 20/02/2014 13:13:22    1549081