Sam 2014

Donegalman:
You say that u fancy monaghan to make the quarter finals, and then who knows....Any team in the country worth their salt will make the last 8, and fancy their chances after that.

Yes i said if we get there,Fit,and inform, we could go all the way,alot of teams get to the Quarter Finals and the have emptied there tanks getting there,and have all there football played.

Regarding the Tyrone match last year, there was always going to be only one winner of the game, It was close, but even when Tyrone had 14 men on the pitch, they controlled things.

Wrong again,Tyrone got very very lucky,We defended to deep,had spare man and still sat back,missed a 1 on 1 and got robbed of a certain goal by a rugby tackle,plus every 50/50 free went to Tyrone (IE Darren Hughes first half knocking the ball out of Cavanagh's hands).We Blew it that night.

You dont get too many chances to win an all ireland, so if monaghan are going to do it this year, they will have to tick every single box, and then be lucky.

I

18/02/2014 08:38:55
geoff

Tyrone were never going to lose against Monaghan last year, they were always in control.

Yeah Sean Cavanagh looked in TOTAL CONTROL as he rugby tackled Conor McManus to the ground.

Yeah Paschal McConnell looked in TOTAL CONTROL as he short kicked out to a Monaghan man only for him to miss a certain goal.

We sat back when we should of pushed up and went for it early in the second half,those two missed goal chances finished our hopes along with playing 2 extra backs.......madness.Again we blew it.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 18/02/2014 20:30:36    1548244

Tyrone had 15 men on the field so had we. the match was played for 73mins I think. we had our chances. They were willing to take a red card to win that game. I honestly think that if we had played as a team we would have had a better chance but its over and gone and they won it. its a game of football lets move on,

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 921 - 18/02/2014 20:53:51    1548256

hardcore
County: Monaghan

1548244 Regarding the Tyrone match last year, there was always going to be only one winner of the game, It was close, but even when Tyrone had 14 men on the pitch, they controlled things.

Wrong again,Tyrone got very very lucky,We defended to deep,had spare man and still sat back,missed a 1 on 1 and got robbed of a certain goal by a rugby tackle,plus every 50/50 free went to Tyrone (IE Darren Hughes first half knocking the ball out of Cavanagh's hands).We Blew it that night.

In truth I felt Monaghan were the stronger team in that All Ireland QF against Tyrone last August. However Tyrone are a much cuter team, and they outfoxed Monaghan in that game.

Darren Hughes is one of the best midfielders in the whole country, and right from the start Monaghan looked the part. Sean Cavanagh's influence was seriously curtailed right up until Hughes got booked, from that moment onwards Darren Hughes had to mind himself and his effectiveness drastically receded.

Monaghan could well push on this year, they carry a serious physical presence backed up with some technically brilliant players. However I don't know how they would deal with a team like Dublin, might be a bridge too far.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 18/02/2014 21:02:39    1548265

jAYp
Where did you get this from that I said Donegal beat Dublin ,Donegal did not beat Dublin and I know that. Never said they beat Dublin. But am giving them a chance this year IF we meet don't forget iIF we do meet there will be more to it than football, do you not think it will be a real tactical game ?? Off course it will be Jim might even take the mobile phones of the players. One thing I will say is if we do meet Dublin I think we will be in a better position to win the game than we were in 2011. Let's face it Dublin have improved massive and have won their two All Ireland's but Donegal are by no means a spent force or an old team Been at three Donegal v Dublin games ( u21 ;final which we could have won :::missed penalty in the last seconds)Semi final2011 ,BEST GAME EVER in CROKE park HAHAHA. And was in Ballybofey last year at the leauge game Donegal did not win any of them games,lost u 21 by a point ,lost best game ever by 2 points and drew last year. Before 1992 Dublin were never beaten by an Ulster team in an All Ireland final Donegal broke that trend and paved the way for a host of Ulster teams to beat Dublin after Down -ArmaghDerry and Tyrone. So I think Donegal enjoy playing Dublin and quite often play well against them. So I for one hope we do meet Dublin and it would be something I would really look forward to Could be back to Jimmy's Winning Matches again We would have to update it as Dublin was not mentioned in it the last time.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 21:21:00    1548273

have to agree with you Gerry. Once Darren Hughes got booked Sean Cavanagh ran riot. the black card is going to favour good forwards. Mickie Harte fought against it but his team have benefited most from it so far. its going to be interesting to see what happens when the race for Sam begins.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 921 - 18/02/2014 21:23:07    1548275

18/02/2014 21:02:39
GaryMc82
County: Derry

hardcore

1548244 Regarding the Tyrone match last year, there was always going to be only one winner of the game, It was close, but even when Tyrone had 14 men on the pitch, they controlled things.

In truth I felt Monaghan were the stronger team in that All Ireland QF against Tyrone last August. However Tyrone are a much cuter team, and they outfoxed Monaghan in that game.

Darren Hughes is one of the best midfielders in the whole country, and right from the start Monaghan looked the part. Sean Cavanagh's influence was seriously curtailed right up until Hughes got booked, from that moment onwards Darren Hughes had to mind himself and his effectiveness drastically receded.

Monaghan could well push on this year, they carry a serious physical presence backed up with some technically brilliant players. However I don't know how they would deal with a team like Dublin, might be a bridge too far

Agree with you Gary,If Darren hadnt been wrongly booked and we didnt sit back we would of won,Tyrone done what they have done all summer when a team got the run on them,they pulled and dragged and stopped the game from flowing,cuter,yes,can they do it this season NO.they will be found out.

As for meeting a team like Dublin,i dont know,they are class,i rate them and Cork as the top two.Dublin might not have the hunger as the did last year,id love to meet them in a Quarter Final/Semi Final this summer,it would be a classic.

As i said if we get to August and are fit & inform,who knows what could happen,Dublin will be there,but will they be inform/hungry for the battle,only time will tell.We are the one team who on our day will turn you over if we are up for it.IE Ulster Final 2013 ;)

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 18/02/2014 21:32:06    1548279

Unfortunately I dont see any big changes this year except the pecking order has slightly changed.
DUBLIN are still the leaders of the pack.
MAYO are still up there but they havent changed their ways and the black cards not going to help them,
CORK cant be written off but cant see them doing big things this year.
KERRY its not going to happen for them this year.
DONEGAL black card is going to constrict their backs. good forwards but their backs are too dependent on fouling.
TYRONE they are back again. new look and will give loads of trouble this year.
MONAGHAN new players will help their case. this will have to be their year. now or never.
KILDARE look good and can give any team a good run for it.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 921 - 18/02/2014 21:41:03    1548286

border Gael

have to agree with you Gerry. Once Darren Hughes got booked Sean Cavanagh ran riot. the black card is going to favour good forwards. Mickie Harte fought against it but his team have benefited most from it so far. its going to be interesting to see what happens when the race for Sam begins.

So far the black card has strongly favoured the forwards, and also teams with strong running games.
Looking at Tyrone's style of play last season, I could see why Mickey Harte was against the black card.

How will it influence the race for Sam this year? I think black card will really benefit Donegal, as they are very comfortable at running in waves and defending in numbers. 2013 seen them continuously having their runners blocked, and that seemed to be the only effective way of stopping them after their 2012 run.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 18/02/2014 21:44:14    1548287

hardcore
Yeah Sean Cavanagh looked in TOTAL CONTROL as he rugby tackled Conor McManus to the ground.

Yeah Paschal McConnell looked in TOTAL CONTROL as he short kicked out to a Monaghan man only for him to miss a certain goal.

We sat back when we should of pushed up and went for it early in the second half,those two missed goal chances finished our hopes along with playing 2 extra backs.......madness.Again we blew it.

18/02/2014 20:53:51
border Gael

Tyrone had 15 men on the field so had we. the match was played for 73mins I think. we had our chances. They were willing to take a red card to win that game. I honestly think that if we had played as a team we would have had a better chance but its over and gone and they won it. its a game of football lets move on,

Yawn... coulda, woulda, shoulda lads!
If Monaghan were good enough they would have won that day,
truth is they played exceptionally well against a tired Donegal,
and once more were found wanting by Tyrone! Its a psychological
thing with you Monaghan lads; the sight of the white and red
strikes the fear of God in yis!
Total Control
Total Faith
Tir Eoghain abu ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 18/02/2014 21:47:09    1548291

Hardcore that's the problem with Monaghan ::: inconsistent Lets face it there was an awful difference between How Monaghan played v Cavan and how they played v Donegal also I don't think ye played very well against Antrim in the first Round as regards your chances of winning Ulster this year you are in the tough end of the draw. Not alone could Down/Tyrone beat ye but either Cavan/Armagh could beat ye. Armagh might seem to be struggling but look how Galway ended their year last game against Cork. The other side Derry/Donegal ,whichever wins should reach Ulster final and no disrespect to Antrim/Fermanagh. Hope ye get to the Ulster final as there was a great build up to it last year ,result did not go our way but Donegal can put that right this July and retain Sam again

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 21:48:43    1548292

hardcore

1548279 As for meeting a team like Dublin,i dont know,they are class,i rate them and Cork as the top two.Dublin might not have the hunger as the did last year,id love to meet them in a Quarter Final/Semi Final this summer,it would be a classic.

I was hoping before last summers All Ireland QF draw that Monaghan would get non Ulster opposition in the QF. Just out of curiosity to see how yous would do. Nothing more sickening if you have just won the Ulster Championship than to find your playing TYRONE!!!

But with 4 x Ulster teams in the All Ireland QF there was little chance of avoiding Ulster opposition.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 18/02/2014 21:51:50    1548296

I have a feeling Mayo this season are going to suffer in a similar way to which Donegal did last season. Injuries seriously hampering their campaign. They have just had 3 long tough seasons back to back, which included runs to 2 x All Ireland finals and an All Ireland SF in 2011. Mentally they have taken a bashing, losing 2 x All Ireland's back to back. I could see them exit at QF stage.

Not convinced by Kildare yet, although they will likely improve from last season.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 18/02/2014 21:57:44    1548304

Border Gael
Have you been watching Monaghan over the last five years or so I think you are the team who should be worrying about the black card The Monaghan backs with their no nonsense tackling and their midfield also not afraid to let people know they are about (aka Dara oShea) would In my book want to be a bit more disciplined or I can see a host of Black cards for them Donegals system is based on a swarm defence and for one JMcG will have it all sused out plus our running game as Gary Mac said and what about marking Murphy and McFadden without fouling them

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 21:59:02    1548308

Agree that Monaghan should have put Tyrone away last year - largely overshadowed at that stage by Mr.Brollys sililoquy at the end, which in fairness was pretty accurate too. But like JmcGuiness said, they didn't get across the line, why did they not get across the line? Maybe that little bit of composure, Monaghan certainly have the tools to defeat anyone in the country at present if they keep up the level they achieved last year - I wonder if they could do it back to back though, can they beat a Mayo then go on to Dublin? I doubt that, but that's what is asked of the A.I Champions this year.

Although I do really think Monaghan can kick on now - especially with their forwards, I think unlike most they have the least work to do in defence but how they transfer their physical nature with respect of the new black card rule might go a long way in judging their season.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 19/02/2014 08:22:43    1548318

I still laugh at people who say Sean Cavanagh only got the better of Darren Hughes last summer because Hughes got a yellow card. Every game over the past 40 years has had cards dished out and in its very rare that a yellow seriously curtails a player in the way that Monaghan fans seem to suggest it did to Hughes. I'm sure there were Tyrone players carded too in that game and I've never heard that used as an excuse for them allowing their opposite number to get the better of them. The simple fact is that Sean Cavanagh when he catches fire is unlikely to be curtailed by Darren Hughes or anybody else.

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 19/02/2014 08:40:31    1548323

The gatekeeper don't talk to us like that Hardcore,total control,total faith. As regards this Monaghan team it's hard to know where they are at The draw has not done them any favours in the coming championship::I fancy Tyrone to beat them that's if Tyrone beats Down Also Monaghan have not been consistent enough for my liking, true they can beat a big team any given day but then they can play terrible against a lesser team You can talk away about beating Donegal and about Omagh/Ballybofey but don't forget WE beat Tyrone In 2004 and them AllIreland champions. We got hammered by Armagh in that years Ulster final by I think 13 points
Monaghan had a great chance ,was it 2007 should have beat Kerry,a forward again being selfish going for his own goal instead of laying off to a better placed team mate. The black card is going to be a massive issue for teams this year and how teams are going to adopt will be very interesting. I said all along and I mean Donegal too ,players will have to get the tackle right I missed the first half of Monaghan v Tyrone but what I saw in the second I thought Tyrone were the better team I thought on the few times Monaghan broke up field their pass or some of the options they took was poor enough As regards defending in depth ,well JMcG knew after 2001 Donegal would have to change and so will Monaghan and also so will Cavan,I thought Cavan in the first. Half were awful afraid to venture up field against Kerry. For me Donegal ,Tyrone and to a lesser extent Derry are best equipped teams to challenge for SAM

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/02/2014 08:43:19    1548326

Sorry lads, no offence intended atall, but there isnt a hope in hell that Monaghan will win the All Ireland this year. Not a chance.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 19/02/2014 09:00:05    1548330

I can't understand where this notion of Donegal's backs struggling with the black card because of fouling comes from.

The Donegal backs try not to give away scoreable frees & have instead gone for the "half foul" where they do just enough to slow someone down & then they pull away. They realised a long time ago that you do not have to take the legs out from under someone to curb their influence. Donegal's signature, if they have one, is the swarm defence which relies on numbers. Not alone is that not a black card, it isn't even a foul. We think the black card will suit us down to the ground with our counter attacking style.

Truth be told most teams will adapt & I don't think we will see all that may black cards. Any manager with a brain, & I count JMCG in that group, will have their troops ready.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/02/2014 09:56:54    1548358

I don't even fancy Monaghan to retain Ulster,never mind win Sam I think the draw the got will be their undoing , they have to beat either Tyrone or Down (if Down beats Tyrone ,Monaghan would have to go to Down. Then if they were to play Cavan they would be no dead certs to beat Cavan. I think Derry /Donegal got the best of the draw in Ulster. The only way I can see a shock result in the Race for Sam is that the black card will have a massive. I think it will definitely favour skillful teams. If you look back at games over the last five years the amount of pulling down players, the jersey pulling and hand tripping was unreal. I think fitness will be a big factor this year and I can bet the team that wins it will have at least two top class forwards Lots of teams will have their defence right but scoring at the other end will win matches. For me the Ulster title is between Derry and Donegal.
As regards the Black card,if a player receives one and in a latter game gets one he then serves a one match ban. So two Black cards and you miss a game ::right or wrong ???

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/02/2014 10:04:46    1548360

Liamwalkinstown

Sorry lads, no offence intended atall, but there isnt a hope in hell that Monaghan will win the All Ireland this year. Not a chance

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Liam is right, as he was in his previous post when he said that the Dubs were well out in front of a fairly small group of challengers. Dublin should retain the AI and, if they don't, the winner will come from Tyrone, Kerry, Donegal, Mayo or Cork, all of whom appeal to a certain degree, but all still have major question marks against them.

As for Monaghan, Derry, Meath, Galway, Kildare and Cavan, well, probability would suggest that one or two of these are likely to have a decent run, but none of them are serious challengers for Sam.

What sets Dublin apart is their strength in depth, particularly in attack. Last year, Meath, Cork, Kerry and Mayo all started well against them, and a couple of those sides were very much in the game with 10 minutes to go. However, Dublin's ability to bring on fast, dangerous forwards to feast on tiring defences was crucial, and that will be further evident this year with a 6th sub allowed due to the black card. Any side who beats Dublin will need not only to be able to score heavily for 70+ minutes, but also have plenty of quality midfield/forward replacements to see out the last 10-15 minutes.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 19/02/2014 10:26:48    1548368