Sam 2014

I'm surprised that 'the usual suspects' haven't
started the annual 'Are Kerry finished' thread yet!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 18/02/2014 11:58:51    1547877

Up to date odds from Paddy Power are surprising in that they have the race for Sam down to a 6 horse race this early in the year

Dublin 6/4
Mayo 4/1
Cork 8/1
Tyrone 9/1
Donegal 9/1
Kerry 9/1

Derry Kildare & Meath come in next at 33/1.

Dublin wouldn't tempt me at 6/4 or Mayo at 4/1 but an each way on Derry at 33/1 or Monaghan at 40/1 look good value.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/02/2014 12:28:52    1547897

Tyrone at 9/1 look good value imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 18/02/2014 12:34:21    1547904

Donegal are a huge price at 9/1. They could be worth a small bet.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 668 - 18/02/2014 12:41:04    1547908

18/02/2014 11:58:51
TheGateKeeper

I'm surprised that 'the usual suspects' haven't
started the annual 'Are Kerry finished' thread yet

That's just out of respect for the Gooch, it will come, don't worry!

Also, sad to see his name disappear off the Player of the Year betting, where he WAS favourite!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 18/02/2014 12:45:06    1547912

Donegal/Tyrone are Dublin's biggest threats this year but I'd still be very confident of doing back to back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/02/2014 12:48:57    1547915

My bet will be on Donegal but I will hold fire to see what happens in the Derry v Donegal game If Derry win Donegal go out in the betting and if Donegal win they won't come in much. Dublin will keep the betting a bit lopsided as they will remain favourites and they could go to Evens. Also it would be advisable to wait to get a couple of games out of the way and see how the black card is working and as a Cork post I saw said ::defenders will be afraid to tackle. I can't see that happening so roll on Tyrone vDown/ Derry vDonegal. We'll see what sparks fly and will the games be as high scoring as we have saw over the last few weeks in the league. Wishing COLM COPPER all the best,saw him play here in London in 2012 and a good few times in CROKE Park

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 14:12:28    1547967

I'd still be very confident of doing back to back.

Now where did I hear that before!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/02/2014 14:18:57    1547971

I'm half temped to have a really good bet on Derry to won Ulster. The big stumbling block is my own county Donegal. I'm not sure can Derry beat them. But if Derry do then I can't see them loosing Ulster I think odds of 5/1 are available on Derry to win Ulster and Donegal the only danger in my opinion. If Donegal get beat I can see them going further than Derry in the race for Sam , but Derry could ruffle a few feathers along the way Plus the have the man who led us to our first National league Title ,B McIvers. He would know Donegal football fairly well and He also introduced a few of the present Donegal team to county football

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 14:54:37    1547997

I will cut through all the the BS, leave out the nicey nicey and the humility and using cold hard facts, I will call it as i see it.

I think right now, in the light of Gooch's injury that Dublin are far and away the best team in Ireland and I think it will take a self implosion for them to not win Sam again this year.
Who are our main rivals?
Ok, Cork - too many imponderables. Can a new man get it all right with a hugely new panel? Cant see it. Now I dont know enough about the younger Cork lads to make an educated guess at their qualities, but so many retirements, plus 2 of their bigger names now playing hurling also on a team that could make the Liam McCarthy final....thats not gonna help them atall
Kerry, Sorry lads as much as it almost hurts me to think it, not to mind say it, I think with Gooch out, Kerry are out of the running. I just dont see where the scores will come from to beat Dublin. Kerry might beat a Tyrone or a Mayo but to beat Dublin you need to shut us out and out score us, I cant see the Kerry of 2014 doing that.
Tyrone - I still think Tyrone are 2 forwards short of winning an All Ireland. Sean Cav is a year older, SON is a year older, Gormely gone, CM gone from the defence, Peter Harte still not looking like a match winner, no, Tyrone will do well, but cant see them having enough to win an All Ireland, yet
Mayo - Dangerous, but, still dont have the forwards and like with Kerry, without the forwards, Mayo wont beat Dublin. The final last year was no where near a one point game and at no point in the second half atall did Dublin look to be in trouble, Even when Andy was too busy cupping his ears to watch the game go by him, we still always looked comfortable and had that game gone on for another 20 mins, injuries aside we would have still won. Until Mayo find a man to score 5 points a game every day, Mayo wont beat this Dublin team.
Donegal- Everything has to go right for them. Everything. The hunger has to return, McFadden and Murphy have to stay injury free. Lacey likewise. McGees also. Donegal more than anyone cannot absorb an injury to a top player. Plus, the loss of Rory, you would wonder whats going on behind the scenes up there. Is it like Cloughie losing Taylor? Donegal definitely have the potential to upset us and if they are on form, they are the team I fear the most, but, it all has to go right for them, and even at that, I still dont think they would beat an on form Dublin. They didnt 2 years ago and they wont in 2014 in my opinion.

on a side note, and they wont win Sam, but, of the teams I named there, I could see Meath beat any of them on a one off. Meath are coming. Watch this space.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 18/02/2014 14:54:43    1547998

Look its obvious dubs to loss, but for a little outside bet I'd be tempted by cork at 9s , apart from that Donegal are there too but outside bet ew Monaghan are a crazy price at 40/1 and would give them as good a chance as Tyrone who are 9 and better chance than Meath or Kildare at 33.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2014 15:06:08    1548009

Yes whoever wins the Derry/Donegal match "should" progres to Ulster Final but who will they meet there?
5/1 is short enough considering Derry would have to beat Donegal and possibly Tyrone/Monaghan.
Obviosuly other teams could be there but these are the 4 teams I expect to make it.

Ulster is a mine field though

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 18/02/2014 15:14:43    1548015

Liamwalkinstown you have done a very good summing up on the OTHER teams. I do think you can narrow it down to a few teams now If I were you I would be weary of a game against Tyrone I would not write them off as I think they play well against Dublin from the start my choices have been Donegal ,Mayo and Dublin,out of that 3 I expect the winner of Sam to come. Not being cocky but I did not fancy Kerry this year and I think that Iv named them as one of the teams to get relegated this year. Now at that time C Cooper was fully fit (I wish the man all the best and I hope he recovers and wins more honours) but I think Kerry held on to some of the older players too long. Cork would do well to get to the All Ireland with all the new players. The back door will be very interesting from the start as you will have either Derry or Donegal,,two from either Tyrone/Down/Monaghan going in from the start So whatever happens the remaining four back door teams who will meet the four Provincial losers will be fairly strong IMO. Donegal really have to win Ulster and that could set them up for a tilt at Dublin providing they win their back door game. A fully fit well coached Donegal team,of similar lines to the way they beat Kerry and Cork in 2012 would really put it up to Dublin By the way Liam can you see any weakness in any area of the Dublin team Also what if Cork met Mayo in the other semi final who would you predict to win ??? Also I can't see Dublin coming through the back door, can you see anybody beating them in Leinster?? From a betting point of view I might have a small bet on Kildare @ 7/1::8/1 but it would be asking a lot.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 15:47:52    1548044

Sam,
Dublin have a weakness at corner back and we maybe could do with another out and out midfielder. I think COS will start at 6 this year and we might see James McCarthy moved into MF making way for Kevin Nolan to resume his wing back position. JM moving to MF would work as he plays there for his club and would be as good as COS at the surging runs at the opposition defence. I am sure COS will play 6 this year.

Corner back is a problem, but we have many many lads to try there and they are all fine footballers so it doesnt overly concern me.

Regarding who would i rather meet in a final Cork or Mayo, I dont know enough about Cork 2014 to say. They may shock me and gel as a unit and with a new man in, season one is often the year a team can do it, but I dont see it. Too many things have to go for them.
Re Mayo, I dont fear them this year atall.
Sorry, I know i sound arrogant, but i may as well be honest. I dont.
The only team I fear this year, and its something i have said already on the thread is Donegal, and at that so many things have to go right for ye I think to beat Dublin, but for me they are the team i would liek to avoid more than any other.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 18/02/2014 16:06:09    1548058

Sam the only team that could beat Dublin are Meath. Also I'll give it to you regarding optimism for Donegal, but for me I just can't see it, apart from Monaghan and Cavan I think the Ulster championship is not going to provide many star teams, Tyrone are no where near a top team, and hate to burst your bubble but IMO Donegal are a spent force. Down may get a run, hard to tell, but only county that could get to final is Monahan.
My reasons for stating Meath might beat Dublin is purely based on that particular game always takes on a life of its own and genuinely can go either way on the day, not trying to Meath as good as or even near it as dubs, but the history etc leaves that open to anything can happen.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2014 16:28:07    1548087

Thanks for you opinion Liam Myself I'm banking on Donegal to get back to 2012 levels and even better. What we have in our favour is plenty of big time experience in C P I would also like to think that we might manage to get a couple of new players on board, I mean lads that are up to top class county level It would be hard to judge Mayo at present,I think they need to win their game against Kerry,if Kerry beat them they are staring into Div 2. I still would rate them as a dangerous outfit if they are still there in August and I would rate them an even more dangerous outfit if they arrive back at headquarters in the end of September. Funny thing about the quarter finals but you usually get a shock result in one of the four games,I think last year all the favs won but the quarter finals can have a big bearing on the destination of Sam just think of Mayo beating Cork,Down beating Kerry and then Donegal beating Kerry Just hope all the players in all the counties stay injury free

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/02/2014 16:40:27    1548097

SamOnErrigal

Thanks for you opinion Liam Myself I'm banking on Donegal to get back to 2012 levels and even better. What we have in our favour is plenty of big time experience in C P I would also like to think that we might manage to get a couple of new players on board, I mean lads that are up to top class county level It would be hard to judge Mayo at present,I think they need to win their game against Kerry,if Kerry beat them they are staring into Div 2. I still would rate them as a dangerous outfit if they are still there in August and I would rate them an even more dangerous outfit if they arrive back at headquarters in the end of September. Funny thing about the quarter finals but you usually get a shock result in one of the four games,I think last year all the favs won but the quarter finals can have a big bearing on the destination of Sam just think of Mayo beating Cork,Down beating Kerry and then Donegal beating Kerry Just hope all the players in all the counties stay injury free

Donegal beating Kerry in 2012 wasn't a shock to anyone my friend.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 18/02/2014 16:57:35    1548109

Sam.....Donegal didn't beat Dublin in 2011 or 2012.

Dublin aren't any worse. Hunger and motivations aside....I cant see Dublin struggling as they are without the Vinnies and Ballymun crews so far this year....as Well as Bernard and Paddy Andrews..... and are blooding lots of youth.

So....returning to 2012 levels might not be good enough for Donegal.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/02/2014 17:02:59    1548117

Liamwalkinstown

They didnt 2 years ago and they wont in 2014 in my opinion.

Liam, it was all going so well until you through this gem in.

The reason Donegal didn't beat Dublin in 2011 was because Dublin weren't good enough to face them. Count your lucky stars Dublin went out as Donegal 2012 would have killed Dublin 2012 in the same way as Dublin 2013 would have killed Donegal 2013.

I agree that injuries to key players is our biggest problem but as things stand everyone is fit, hungry & playing well. As for Rory Gallagher, Rory who?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/02/2014 17:42:43    1548156

RD; Tyrone are more of top tier team than Meath- evidentially based (All Ireland Semi finalists 2013 (beat Meath en route, Div 1 League Finslists 2013), and were the only team to beat Dublin in 2013; and came close to catching them in League final too, I'm sure Dublin would fear Tyrone more than Meath. Get over the Tyrone Issue, seriously!!!!!

Gael01 (Tyrone) - Posts: 74 - 18/02/2014 20:20:20    1548240