Sam 2014

MuckrossHead

Point taken MesAmis but it wasn't the tactics that failed us on the day. Just poor execution

I think Dublin had a lot to do with your failures that day to be honest. Gilroy called Jimmy's bluff and used your tactics to our advantage by taking off a defender and putting on a forward and going for the game with only 14 men.

Gilroy and Dublin got everything spot on that day when faced with Donegal's excellent performance.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/02/2014 17:49:44    1547601

Also of course Dublin are beatable. It's nothing but guff to suggest that Dublin are out in front. We showed great character to get the wins versus both Kerry and Mayo last year in games that could have well gone against us.

There's not a lot between the top teams in my opinion and when coupled with the fact that it is very difficult to win back to back points to a Dublin defeat at some stage this year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 17/02/2014 17:54:20    1547604

must say i like the look of donegal
injured players back plus some good young players too

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 17/02/2014 18:01:06    1547612

Everyone puts forward the previous years champions as the team to beat but over the last 25 years only Cork and Kerry have managed to do this. Dublin are a very good team winning two of the last three but the lack of a good challenge in Leinster may not help come the last eight.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 17/02/2014 18:05:44    1547614

Why come on here and list all your winnings? Anyone can make claims like that whether true or not. My point is I doubt anyone believes you - I certainly don't. Maybe if you start posting these crazy bets in advance of the event, I might take you serious. I notice you make a prediction about the Champion Hurdle but carefully decided not to post how much you lose should he fail to win. I would have expected as much.

How come you aren't so slow to list the stakes and profits of your previous bets? My experience is anyone backing those kind of amounts, yet has the time to be posting on a forum like this is either a liar or someone with a gambling problem. From a personal point of view, if I was in a position to be making bets in multiples of 200, I wouldn't be on here bragging to a forum of anonymous people.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 17/02/2014 18:05:51    1547615

Ahh the dubs trying the cute hoorism tactics. Come on the world and his brother knows dibs are out in front of everyone else and to say otherwise is just waffle. Now that does not mean they can't be beat , but it will take a team in top form and complacency on their part. If they perform they are unbeatable. Also parking the bus won't beat them IMO. Shoot out is the only way and that means scoring at least 2 goals and 15+ points and hope their players have a off day in front of posts.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/02/2014 18:29:38    1547627

A shootout against Dublin is guaranteed to fail, they simply have too much firepower.

It will take something like parking the bus or what Donegal did against Cluxton's kick outs in 2011 to unsettle them. I hope JMcG it plotting away as we speak!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/02/2014 18:59:06    1547639

A shootout against Dublin is guaranteed to fail, they simply have too much firepower.

It will take something like parking the bus or what Donegal did against Cluxton's kick outs in 2011 to unsettle them. I hope JMcG it plotting away as we speak!!!

------
That's very true. We've struggled twice against Westmeath this year already when they parked the bus. We created several goal chances but didn't take them and we then had some very poor shot selection from distance when faced with a wall of defenders. No doubt that the 'system' can beat any team. Jimmy will have done his homework. A disciplined team with half decent forwards to pick-off the limited scoring chances that comes with a blanket strategy can go a long way. The trick for Dublin is to get in front. The system then falls down as teams are forced to come at you. You then pick them off on the counter. Mayo did this to Donegal last year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 17/02/2014 19:19:56    1547648

MuckrossHead

Don't think jmcg has time right now as he is been consulted along with chuck Norris to go on a secret mission to the centre of the earth to have a word with the lumbricus terrestris people to stop making sink holes all over the place.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 17/02/2014 19:40:43    1547660

The Tyrone v Donegal stuff in this topic is making me cringe.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 17/02/2014 19:42:08    1547661

It would be interesting to see the current Dublin against a peak Donegal side. A side that loves attacking and pushing numbers forward against a (once upon a time) rock solid defence who counter attack in numbers. They were the team I feared most last season, I ended up being wrong but injuries really took their toll on Donegal last season.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 17/02/2014 19:55:00    1547666

16/02/2014 09:37:27
Donegalman

millybeau
County: Monaghan

[DONEGALMAN] you say monaghan havent got the footballing skills...could you tell us all who on the mon team [panel] hasnt got the skill level to challenge for top honours in 2014..

There are 14 teams that are going to compete for top honors this year, 6 in ulster for ulster. 2 in Connaught for connaught, 2 in munster and 2 or 3 max in leinster. This does not mean all will challenge for the all ireland, that would include monaghan in my opinion.

We could go thru any team in the country and pick out its top players, and then ask the question why do they fail to win the all ireland, not just in a given year, but consistently.

Mayo have the footballing skills, but not the mentality. Kildare likewise. Not yet anyway.

I would say that monaghan have the mentality, but not the footballing skills. There is no other reason why they have falied to win an all ireland as the desire is there for sure. Maybe you can add to the reasons. I cant think of any other. I know that monaghan will cause most teams a lot of trouble this year, not from their footballing skills, but their intensity on the pitch. But ultimately, come the end of the summer, a kerry, tyrone, mayo, cork, dublin or perhaps kildare will put them out.

I disagree big time with that statement about us.I acutally take offence to it,Firstly could you define Footballing Skills?........What are you looking for?

I think you will find we have plenty of skill's to go with the intensity and passion we bring to our game,did you forget the Ulster Final?? did you forget Omagh 2007 or Ballybofey 2008??

Your system won you's an All Ireland.

Dont tell me Donegal have any better footballers than these men.

Rory Beggan,Colin Walshe,Drew Whylie,Dessie Mone,Darren Hughes,Vinny Corey,Eoin Lennon,Dermot Malone,Conor McManus,Kieran Hughes,All these men destroyed Donegal last year.

Throw in Paul Finlay,Pauric Donaghy,Stephen Golloghy,along with the new kids Ryan Whylie,Paudie McKenna,Conor Boyle,Daniel McKenna,Pauric Keenan,and the highly SKILLFULL Jack McCarron......We have plenty of Skill to beat any of the so called big teams who i will name as Dublin and Cork,everyone eles i wouldnt fear,that includes Tyrone,who we all know got very lucky against us last August.

I Predict we will make it to the All Ireland quarter finals,if we get there,injury free and inform,we could go all the way.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 17/02/2014 20:05:11    1547675

Jaysus ,Wheres all this Ulster brotherly love gone lads, Ulsterman must be pulling his hair out. Personally I blame the southern MEDJIA.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/02/2014 20:34:10    1547692

Yes AthCliath, local rivalry, gives our games it's edge, boo Meath :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 17/02/2014 20:55:55    1547711

Former poster
I would like to ask you what's your experience of having a bet ?? Have you ever had a horse in training ?? Have you ever been in a yard and they were going for a gamble ?? I have. Go to Cheltenham every year Most of the Irish contractors from around London,Birmingham, Manchester and other big cities here in Britain go to Cheltenham it's not unusual for some of those fellows to have up to 10 grand on a horse. Like everything else you win some and you loose some Saw different men won lots at Cheltenham over the years.It all depends on your financial circumstances and what you can afford to loose All I posted was what I won on Donegal ,Iwas not afraid to back them at 25/1 ( I can get Boylesport to prove to the Hogan stand if you want)and when I saw how they were going around the time of the Ulster final I lumped on them again Seeing you are so nossey I can tell you my sole Cheltenham bet £1000 ew@ 7/1 (The new one) put on way before Xmas. Plus I'll let you I on a secret:::will have at least a grand (if not more))on DONEGAL to win the All Ireland I wonder will you take the hint and go back Donegal.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 17/02/2014 21:47:10    1547758

millybeau
County: Monaghan

[DONEGALMAN] you say monaghan havent got the footballing skills...could you tell us all who on the mon team [panel] hasnt got the skill level to challenge for top honours in 2014..

I disagree big time with that statement about us.I acutally take offence to it,Firstly could you define Footballing Skills?........What are you looking for?

I think you will find we have plenty of skill's to go with the intensity and passion we bring to our game,did you forget the Ulster Final?? did you forget Omagh 2007 or Ballybofey 2008??

Your system won you's an All Ireland.

Dont tell me Donegal have any better footballers than these men.

Rory Beggan,Colin Walshe,Drew Whylie,Dessie Mone,Darren Hughes,Vinny Corey,Eoin Lennon,Dermot Malone,Conor McManus,Kieran Hughes,All these men destroyed Donegal last year.

Throw in Paul Finlay,Pauric Donaghy,Stephen Golloghy,along with the new kids Ryan Whylie,Paudie McKenna,Conor Boyle,Daniel McKenna,Pauric Keenan,and the highly SKILLFULL Jack McCarron......We have plenty of Skill to beat any of the so called big teams who i will name as Dublin and Cork,everyone eles i wouldnt fear,that includes Tyrone,who we all know got very lucky against us last August.

I Predict we will make it to the All Ireland quarter finals,if we get there,injury free and inform,we could go all the way.

Firstly I would define footballing skills as the ability to use them under pressure, which includes scoring, and tackling without fouling. Basically, attack and defense.

Monaghan had a very tight ship in terms of a defense that was working but could not match it at the other end with scores. I dont recall a monaghan team ever getting a consistant run of games clocking up big scores.

Your comment about our system winning us an all ireland is true, but there were big big scores clocked up as well as the system you are referring to. There is no way a county can win an all ireland system or no system without having very talented players in the ranks. (Perhaps your system last year is a work in progress and we can expect the same trend with monaghan, reflected on the scoreboard)?

Monaghan have skillful footballers individually but have they the skill as a team to go all the way? We will see, they will have to start putting the ball over the black spot this year if they are going to win the all ireland.

You say that u fancy monaghan to make the quarter finals, and then who knows....Any team in the country worth their salt will make the last 8, and fancy their chances after that.

Regarding the Tyrone match last year, there was always going to be only one winner of the game, It was close, but even when Tyrone had 14 men on the pitch, they controlled things.

You dont get too many chances to win an all ireland, so if monaghan are going to do it this year, they will have to tick every single box, and then be lucky.

I

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 17/02/2014 22:02:59    1547775

Tyrone were never going to lose against Monaghan last year, they were always in control.

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 18/02/2014 08:38:55    1547786

Back to the topic at hand, there will be a few surprises this summer.

Hand on heart I can see our boys reaching the final. Everything seems to be coming together, players are coming back from injury, the new boys are now settled regular players and the dry wood has been let go.

Kerry with all the retirements and now the injury to the Gooch are out of contention, Dublin may well be the team no one wants to play. I seen Galway play Cork last year and they were very unlucky not to win that day albeit a late surge from the rebels. Galway looked very impressive and may out shine Mayo this year. Here's hopin we see a new representative from Connaught going forward.

Ulster is minefield as usual for any sound predictions, Cavan and Monaghan are definately on the way up and so is Tyrone. Down are still living in the Micky Linden Era, and Donegal are a bit of a dark horse so they are difficult to predict.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 18/02/2014 08:48:39    1547788

Its Maigh Eo's to lose.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 18/02/2014 10:37:11    1547825

cacsmckilly

Back to the topic at hand, there will be a few surprises this summer.

Hand on heart I can see our boys reaching the final. Everything seems to be coming together, players are coming back from injury, the new boys are now settled regular players and the dry wood has been let go.

Kerry with all the retirements and now the injury to the Gooch are out of contention, Dublin may well be the team no one wants to play. I seen Galway play Cork last year and they were very unlucky not to win that day albeit a late surge from the rebels. Galway looked very impressive and may out shine Mayo this year. Here's hopin we see a new representative from Connaught going forward.

Ulster is minefield as usual for any sound predictions, Cavan and Monaghan are definately on the way up and so is Tyrone. Down are still living in the Micky Linden Era, and Donegal are a bit of a dark horse so they are difficult to predict.

I saw Galway in Salthill this year, and dont look like all ireland contenders. They will need another year at least.
Gooch and his injury has virtually ended the kerry challenge. I read the kerry gaa forum last night, and they are treating it like the death of an emperor down there.
Tyrone are peaking. They were on the way up last year, and now look like a worthy contender. With Sean Kavanagh as captain, and younger players coming thru, it looks like they will seriously push. But you just cant tell in ulster. They could go out in the first round against monaghan, although i think that will be very unlikely indeed.
And yes u are right, the dubs are the benchmark.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 18/02/2014 11:12:01    1547846