Game2Halves County: Tyrone Posts: 97
1546415 GaryMc82, your heart is ruling your head. Forget about Donegal this year, the black card will almost certainly see off Donegal as a potential threat to any of the top sides. Even the neighbours dog knows how Donegal won their second All Ireland. They won it by a heavily defensive approach with a serious cynical element. Donegal backs would have in their glory year, happily fouled any attacking player by nook or by crook, each maybe sharing a yellow card between them. Im afraid to say those days are over, the half backs of most of the decent sides will be attacking in waves and the Donegal boys wont be able to lay a finger on them, and if they do , they'll be watching the rest of the game from the sideline. If Donegal attempt an open game they will get hammered.
I disagree on this line of thought, as Donegal's strong point in 2012 was actually their running game. Once opposition teams were cynical enough to effectively block the Donegal runners and then counter, Donegal were beaten and essentially kept out of it.
Watching higlights of Donegal against Laois and Galway this season, They actually always tackle near-hand and in a very disciplined manner. Once the ball is turned over, off they go up the pitch again.
I actually think the black card will benefit Donegal, as their short handpassing game combined with multiple runners, makes it very difficult to stop their attacks without fouling. Add to this the fact they can defend and absorb opposition attacks fairly well, I would say they will be a formidable outfit.
Likewise I think Monaghan could also be a formidable outfit this year, if they have the will.
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 15/02/2014 17:36:21
Thomas Clarke County: Tyrone Posts: 593
1546329 mayotyroneman County: Tyrone Posts: 1096
outside bets are Donegal, Kildare and Down. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Down have virtually no chance of winning the AI. I really can't understand what anyone sees in them. They have a far weaker squad than they did in 2010, and have shown little or no form in league or championship over the last couple of years. As well as the top 6, I'd put them behind Monaghan, Derry, Kildare, Meath and Galway, and perhaps a couple of others. They won't be winning anything.
+1
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 15/02/2014 20:00:41
Game2halves your a funny man. The most cynical act committed by a player in the last few years was none other than a fellow county man of your own.. teams will actually get more cynical this year IMO. Watching Tyrone you press high up the field and constantly foul around the opposition 45 or do the half foul. This slows the game down just enough and will not produce any black cards. As for Sam its Dubs, Mayo, and maybe Donegal or Cork. Would love to meet Tyrone this year again sometime in chsmpionship, just to put Ye back in yer box for the forth year running.
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 15/02/2014 20:28:57
Wishful thinking if Tyrone fans think Donegal are gone. They have the best defence and the best full forward line in Ireland. However they need to keep their squad fit, they don't have the depth of some of the other squads. Dublin are obviously favourites but for all the talk of how strong their squad is, if Bernard Brogan got injured they would be in big trouble. Cork will be strong but in transition so it will be beyond them. Kerry have a chance, they have som great forwards and only have to peak for about 3 games. Mayo in a similar boat but it will be interesting to see how the 2all Ireland final defeats will affect their hunger. Ulster is an absolute minefield this year, you could up an argument for Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan, Cavan or Derry winning Ulster and that doesn't include Down or Armagh who are both division 2 teams. Donegal are the most likely to mount a serious all Ireland challenge, however if Tyrone can tighten up at the back then we may not be far away. I have a feeling that the second year syndrome will affect the Dubs and Mayo will end their long wait.
MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 15/02/2014 21:23:22
The fact is that none of us have a clue what is going to happen in 2014.
It is amusing in the extreme watching people making pronouncements from on high like Moses about teams who haven't a chance & others including their own team without any evidence to support it.
Dublin, because of the size of their squad, are out in front with any of about eight others in the running.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/02/2014 21:23:46
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2080
The fact is that none of us have a clue what is going to happen in 2014.
It is amusing in the extreme watching people making pronouncements from on high like Moses about teams who haven't a chance & others including their own team without any evidence to support it.
Dublin, because of the size of their squad, are out in front with any of about eight others in the running. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- So you start with a little rant about finding Moses-esque pronouncements 'amusing in the extreme', before identifying a favourite and eliminating three-quarters of the rest.
Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 15/02/2014 21:39:39
Too early lads, you have to wait until the league is finished up. You can see what injuries are there and what a team's general demeanor is. Also your team may have unearthed a gem in the process and that could influence your summer bigtime!
Early doors but the same ol' faces will be there or thereabouts, with Kildare possibly being the dark horse (with white jerseys) :)
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 15/02/2014 21:44:23
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2080
1546627 The fact is that none of us have a clue what is going to happen in 2014.
Dublin, because of the size of their squad, are out in front with any of about eight others in the running.
Size or quality? :D
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 15/02/2014 21:46:24
We have got Both.... ;o)
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4467 - 15/02/2014 21:53:31
You miss the point Thomas.
I gave an opinion as to how I see things at this moment in time, an opinion which may change as things develop.
My criticism was aimed at those who speak with certainty, in Feb as to what will happen during the summer. If the cap fit then wear it.
As to my post being a "rant" then all I can say is that you must lead a very protected & sheltered life if you think that was a rant.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/02/2014 21:53:52
realdub County: Dublin Posts: 2828
1546649 MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2080
1546627 The fact is that none of us have a clue what is going to happen in 2014.
Size or quality? :D
No doubt there is great quality in the Dublin setup but it is the ability to spring really classy operators from the bench that sets them apart. Most other counties can't afford injuries to key players, Dublin can.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/02/2014 21:58:38
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2081
You'd be interested to know that we used less players in the 2014 championship , than Mayo, Kerry or Tyrone, Check it out its true.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/02/2014 22:00:04
I don't doubt you for a minute Ath Cliath.
It's the quality of the replacements that sets Dublin apart, especially in the forwards. If, for example, we lose Murphy or McFadden then we are in big trouble. Not so Dublin, who have match winners ready to come in for an injured colleague
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/02/2014 09:36:14
millybeau County: Monaghan Posts: 3
1546367 [DONEGALMAN] you say monaghan havent got the footballing skills...could you tell us all who on the mon team [panel] hasnt got the skill level to challenge for top honours in 2014..
There are 14 teams that are going to compete for top honors this year, 6 in ulster for ulster. 2 in Connaught for connaught, 2 in munster and 2 or 3 max in leinster. This does not mean all will challenge for the all ireland, that would include monaghan in my opinion.
We could go thru any team in the country and pick out its top players, and then ask the question why do they fail to win the all ireland, not just in a given year, but consistently.
Mayo have the footballing skills, but not the mentality. Kildare likewise. Not yet anyway.
I would say that monaghan have the mentality, but not the footballing skills. There is no other reason why they have falied to win an all ireland as the desire is there for sure. Maybe you can add to the reasons. I cant think of any other. I know that monaghan will cause most teams a lot of trouble this year, not from their footballing skills, but their intensity on the pitch. But ultimately, come the end of the summer, a kerry, tyrone, mayo, cork, dublin or perhaps kildare will put them out.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 16/02/2014 09:37:27
Game2Halves County: Tyrone Posts: 97
1546415 GaryMc82, your heart is ruling your head. Forget about Donegal this year, the black card will almost certainly see off Donegal as a potential threat to any of the top sides. Even the neighbours dog knows how Donegal won their second All Ireland. They won it by a heavily defensive approach with a serious cynical element. Donegal backs would have in their glory year, happily fouled any attacking player by nook or by crook, each maybe sharing a yellow card between them. Im afraid to say those days are over, the half backs of most of the decent sides will be attacking in waves and the Donegal boys wont be able to lay a finger on them, and if they do , they'll be watching the rest of the game from the sideline. If Donegal attempt an open game they will get hammered.
Just what we need, a Tyrone man with a chip on his shoulder about how his county are no longer top dogs in Ulster.
As an analysis of Donegal football this post manages the enviable achievement of being wrong in just about every every respect. Donegal won Sam in 2012 by being by far the best team in the competition. The only time I felt remotely nervous that year was when we got an attack of the jitters against Kerry in the last 5 minutes, apart from that it was plain sailing all the way with some big scores tacked on for good measure, 2-18 against Down & 16 points against Cork.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/02/2014 09:44:47
Muckross, I got your point, and remarked that you criticised those making predictive statements, immediately before making one yourself.
Anyway, the hypocrisy of your post wasn't really the issue. The point is that this is a discussion forum, and nailing your colours to the mast is part of it. Personally, I'd much rather read a post where someone makes and defends a firm opinion, as opposed to being told that any of 9 unnamed counties are in the running for the AI. Could that fence get any bigger?
Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 16/02/2014 10:06:23
Ulster is between Tyrone and Derry Muckross; you know it lad! Donegal are yesterdays news! The system was found out, the black card will be Donegal's bane! Tir Eoghain abu! ;)
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/02/2014 11:54:06
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2086
1546678 I don't doubt you for a minute Ath Cliath.
It's the quality of the replacements that sets Dublin apart, especially in the forwards. If, for example, we lose Murphy or McFadden then we are in big trouble. Not so Dublin, who have match winners ready to come in for an injured colleague
I take your point, but whats interesting for all the talk of Dublin having this huge squad ,something commentators and pundits feel the need to keep mentioning after we have won a game (im not moaning by the way) ,A look through the teams last year would show Gavin stuck with the same players most of the time,It was his movement of players in matches Cian O Sullivan against Kerry for example that allowed substitutions work. I agree in the forwards we have great options coming off the bench, but like any team one or two injuries in midfield or defence and all of a sudden we are very vunerable. Its very early days , but there is no doubt Donegal will be a big threat this year , Kerry I feel will also have the bit between their teeth and ye cant right off Mayo .Tyrone , Cork could be the dark horses also. Ah well I better go and get all those splinters removed now.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/02/2014 12:00:14
Gameoftwohalfs You have some cheek to describe Donegal as playing Rugby league football Fastback to 2003 and tell me how Tyrone won that years AllIreland semi final Was that not the first time that we started to hear about puke football ??? As regards Nedstormcrow and Donegals midfield , we might have a few options more this year. Martin McElhinney might become the player I thought He would be when I saw him play Minor and under21 for Donegal. Also Hugh McFadden could blossom into a midfielder but He was a minor last year so it's early days If Donegal get back to their running game and defensive set up of 2012 ( and there's no saying they won't) I think they will be hard to beat. The Derry game is a big one and I think it will decide this years Ulster title. I think there will be a shock or so in Ulster,I take Armagh to beat Cavan and Down could easily beat Tyrone I thought watching Cavan last year against Kerry that they had a lot of work to do to get up to the level of the top teams plus playing in Div 3 don't help them. I also think Gary Mac has this black card and Donegal nailed on. I really think it will suit us ,especially our runners. What I said before Donegal just have to get the tackle right, this team understands one another on the field of play,they can execute the defensive side of the game,they interchange with their running game and they communicate well with one another Plus on the day we have as good as full forward line as is in the country. For me Sam lies between Donegal,Mayo and Dublin.
SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 16/02/2014 12:11:46
TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 2494
1546720 Ulster is between Tyrone and Derry Muckross; you know it lad! Donegal are yesterdays news! The system was found out, the black card will be Donegal's bane! Tir Eoghain abu! ;)
Gatekeeper my old friend, I hope you wintered well!!!!
I have to say that it is remarkable how all you Tyrone lads are writing Donegal off in February. The truth of it is that we can nearly smell the fear coming from Tir Eoghain, which is hilarious.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/02/2014 13:20:33