A Dublin GAA President.. will it ever happen again

Considering our population advantages...... ;)

It's odd that there's only ever been one Dublin man to become president and that was back in the 1920's!!

In fact it was 93 years ago... will we go 100 years without a Dublin man in the top seat??

At this rate I reckon Garth (Bush voting) Brooks stands a better chance....

The last and ONLY Dublin president was...

Daniel McCarthy from 1921 - 1924

It's got to the stage where you'd just expect the GAA President to be a culchie

It would certainly be a novelty to have a Dublin man wearing the gold badge...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/02/2014 13:51:42    1545585

I know, you are awfully badly treated. I mean, you only have most of the GAA finance, coaches, on and off field disciplinary decision, media, pundits and home advantage in every game. I think I will start a collection for ye, poor souls.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 13/02/2014 14:00:49    1545599

Id swear some Dub posters are having a competition to see who can open the most Dublin related posts. Thread like this should be in the Dublin forum.
Everyone outside Dublin would struggle to name one Dublin County Board official who could be put forward for the job including most Dub supporters.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 13/02/2014 14:02:50    1545601

Give it to Snuff.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/02/2014 14:21:20    1545619

'GAA President'.....who cares???!!!

The job of 'GAA President' is to come up with one controversial item during your tenure so as to give yourself something to be remembered by!!

If I was 'GAA President' I would introduce a rule whereby 'Every county stands on its own two feet'......and this way, 31 counties would be exposed for having to rely on the Dubs every year to survive no matter how much they whinge about us!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 13/02/2014 15:57:45    1545672

Highly unlikely.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2850 - 13/02/2014 15:59:10    1545674

I for one hope not, we would never see the Dubs out of Croke Park if such was the case with their players most likely getting married, having christenings, communions & confirmations for their kids in the place, bring their dogs for walks around the pitch, drink a few cans around the Hill, go cruising with a few birds in their wheels under the Hogan and flood the place with old pallets and tyres for bonfires at Halloween!!!!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 13/02/2014 16:03:15    1545679

You Dubs and your sense of entitlement, where will it end?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/02/2014 16:07:38    1545684

It would be some fun and would sicken all the culchie begrudgers...

We could even charge extra for the fans of some counties, who shall remian nameless, to come visit our home of Croke Park...

Put a tax on certain counties and give this money to the Dubs and make the financial gap even wider..
Just like they did in Spain with Real Madrid all those years ago...

Sounds like a great plan to me...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4461 - 13/02/2014 16:35:13    1545706

Fionn

We could even charge extra for the fans of some counties, who shall remian nameless, to come visit our home of Croke Park...

Put a tax on certain counties and give this money to the Dubs and make the financial gap even wider..

________

Exactly man... sure look at how well we fair when the culchies are in charge... imagine a Dub in there! :) x 10

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/02/2014 17:28:58    1545741

Fionn

Both of the above are happening already...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 13/02/2014 18:59:30    1545778

Why did you mention Garth Brooks voting record Jimbo?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/02/2014 19:29:18    1545787

Couldn't care less where he comes from as long as he can do the job.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/02/2014 19:38:32    1545794

Snuffy...... that's pretty much hit the nail on the head there!

Sure you have to give it to the culchies. They need someone at the helm to direct the wealth we generate to 31 other counties.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 13/02/2014 19:41:05    1545795

Yeah jimbo, what's it got to do with anything?

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 13/02/2014 20:00:46    1545800

JUMBO......It would certainly be a novelty to have a Dublin man wearing the gold badge...
Gold badge??

pcworld (Mayo) - Posts: 549 - 13/02/2014 20:15:51    1545806

What about a president from the 6 counties. There hasn't been 1 of them in the last 20 years.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 13/02/2014 20:32:48    1545823

Surely this thread should be on the dublin forum!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 13/02/2014 20:46:24    1545832

Jaysus you boys are something else... Haha :)

Fair play

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/02/2014 21:27:27    1545852

Wasn't Dr JJ Stewart, President from 1958-1961, also a Dub?

Prof Honeydew (Limerick) - Posts: 1110 - 14/02/2014 10:21:03    1545926