FL Division 2

hardcore
County: Monaghan

Whats the general expectation amongst fans for Monaghan this year? Is retaining the Ulster Championship the goal, or do you think Malachy O'Rourke and the team might be looking a bit further to a bigger prize?

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 08/03/2014 19:51:33    1556666

Royaldunne,

You are welcome to Donegal & if you are staying in Jackson's don't tell Barry or Margaret Jackson that you are a friend of mine.

Clondalkin mentioned me to them when he stayed last year & I got a bill for towels, knives & forks!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/03/2014 19:51:38    1556667

GaryMc,This year is about find new players and building on Last years unreal championship in both Minor and Senior.

Talking to a few people last week in Letterkenny,we would be hoping to push on now and win our last 4 games (3 at home) to gain promotion.

We have a few brilliant Minor footballers to come through from last years team,it would be great to be in Division 1 when the start coming into the panel.

Love to get promotion,and to finally beat Tyrone in a senior championship match since 1988.

Above all, get back to Croke Park on the August bank holiday weekend.........AND WIN.

What about Derry,you's are going well in Division 1,Could yous take Donegal in the summer?

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 08/03/2014 20:08:36    1556672

Armagh v Laois - Armagh by 1

Donegal v Meath - Donegal by 5+

Galway v down - down by 2

Monaghan v louth - Monaghan by 5+

offtheground1 (Down) - Posts: 128 - 08/03/2014 20:11:17    1556674

I think meath can beat donegal tomorro if things are improved

loyalroyal15 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 08/03/2014 20:15:48    1556677

GaryMc82

The lads look tired, some in the know are saying they're over training.

Shane Lennon is a big loss, our top marksman last year by a long way.

The loss of top young forward Ciaran Byrne to the NFL is also a factor.

The big thing though is that management are adopting a new defensive approach to things this year and frankly it's not working to Louth's benefit I have to say.

I really don't expect Louth get anything from Monaghan or Donegal, the 2 remaining home games against Galway & Meath will be do or die affairs with two teams of the 3 teams being relegated I now feel.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 08/03/2014 20:22:37    1556679

The Louth result may not have been a true reflection of how good Down are. If anything, our win over Armagh at the Athletic Grounds does reflect well on us. I left scratching my head as to whether they had just upped it for the Down game or whether they were an improving side. It appears they are improving, and fair play to them as they have been written off all year. Impressive result for them tonight.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 08/03/2014 20:56:34    1556704

08/03/2014 20:08:36
hardcore

GaryMc,This year is about find new players and building on Last years unreal championship in both Minor and Senior.

Talking to a few people last week in Letterkenny,we would be hoping to push on now and win our last 4 games (3 at home) to gain promotion.

We have a few brilliant Minor footballers to come through from last years team,it would be great to be in Division 1 when the start coming into the panel.

Love to get promotion,and to finally beat Tyrone in a senior championship match since 1988.

Above all, get back to Croke Park on the August bank holiday weekend.........AND WIN.

What about Derry,you's are going well in Division 1,Could yous take Donegal in the summer?

Derry are my dark horses for the All-Ireland. Forget about Tyrone, Derry and Donegal will be the last two Ulster teams left in the championship this year regardless who wins the game at Celtic Park.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 08/03/2014 20:59:28    1556707

Alright muck I won't say a word. :). Knowing clondalkin they probably didn't charge him enough. :). Great to be in Donegal again. Its been too long.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2014 21:05:08    1556711

Hugely impressive win for Armagh this evening.

Div 2 never ceases to amaze.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/03/2014 21:20:41    1556721

MuckrossHead

You could be amazed tomorrow aswell Muckross ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/03/2014 21:25:10    1556724

Me tipping Armagh for relegation and they could be dark horses for promation. A big game next weekend for the Orchard County. Home one against neighbours Monaghan.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 08/03/2014 21:44:33    1556741

08/03/2014 21:25:10
Htaem

MuckrossHead

You could be amazed tomorrow aswell Muckross ;-)

+1 :). Although we might be more amased htaem

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2014 21:53:03    1556748

Royaldunne why are trying to convince posters that you are up in Donegal ?

No offence to you but I have my doubts that you are in Donegal.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 08/03/2014 21:55:23    1556752

royaldunne

+1 :). Although we might be more amased htaem

Well by jaysus I will be amazed if we come home with anything RD!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/03/2014 21:56:46    1556754

hardcore

I felt had Monaghan met anybody else other than Tyrone last August, they could have won. Not that I think Tyrone are superior footballers, simply they have been around the block and are a bit cuter tactically than most other Ulster teams.
And they have a knack at curbing opponents.

Derry are not only winning matches in Division 1, they are playing with a real dominant attacking style. I say this, as sometimes a team can win matches, but never really get into top gear. Last years run was a spark needed to Ignite a giant of Ulster football, and beating Donegal is a realistic goal now.

However Donegal are fresh and they have Improved big time on last season, and almost all of their players have experience of contesting and winning the biggest matches possible. If they recapture their 2012 energy or improve on it, they are a very dangerous foe.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 09/03/2014 11:09:53    1556796

Looks like there a bit of the old royal pride on show in Ballbofey today, fair play to Meath, lets see if they can seal the deal!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8768 - 09/03/2014 15:31:01    1556920

Well done to Meath, and to Galway today!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8768 - 09/03/2014 15:39:59    1556930

Nope this is new Meath, blew it with the last kick of the game, f'in furious with that, should have been 2 points in the bag and now we're heading home with 1, ffs!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/03/2014 15:40:44    1556931

Great performance by meath today. Fair play. Some improvement.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4279 - 09/03/2014 15:45:29    1556942