Athacliath. Indeed you could do that and very few Meath posters would argue with you. But I think the point that rich was making is that Croke park is not your ground, it is as much meaths Westmeath Kildare's Wexford's Kerry's Cork's etc etc ground as it is Dublin's. Do you see what I'm getting at? Familiarity breeds contempt. Croke park is been pimped out , and recently we had a thread on here about selling out to sky sports but we seem perfectly happy to sell out to this let's be honest tacky spring series . How many posts have you seen with people saying Dublin play all games at home? Croke park is not Dublin's home ground, .but it is been treated as such by DCB and gaa. Play your home games at home, and leave the national stadium to hold the major games. Again no one in Meath will disagreement on our ground but your own cb can hang their heads in shame that Dublin have to squat in every other counties grounds cause their own is a dump.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/12/2013 20:55:03
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 6681
moomoo
losing out on money from renting thats all I said.the gaa were extrtemly keen to have dublin go into croke park in 2014 again because it would cause them alot of hassle with the season ticket scheme sold out and the parnell park pass sold out meaning thats more then what parnell can hold so what would happen then?
Yes if they're losing money why are they still doing it? Surely if you were doing something that was costing you money you would stop would you not?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/12/2013 21:03:02
Ah here RoyaD
Seriously man... You think our CB should hang their heads in shame? AIG
Tayto
That's the difference lad
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/12/2013 21:10:02
The GAA were keen alright Hill... interesting point regarding PP holders/ Season Tickets
How many PP tickets are available each year?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/12/2013 21:17:24
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 5118
1520668 Athacliath. Indeed you could do that and very few Meath posters would argue with you. But I think the point that rich was making is that Croke park is not your ground, it is as much meaths Westmeath Kildare's Wexford's Kerry's Cork's etc etc ground as it is Dublin's. Do you see what I'm getting at? Familiarity breeds contempt. Croke park is been pimped out , and recently we had a thread on here about selling out to sky sports but we seem perfectly happy to sell out to this let's be honest tacky spring series . How many posts have you seen with people saying Dublin play all games at home? Croke park is not Dublin's home ground, .but it is been treated as such by DCB and gaa. Play your home games at home, and leave the national stadium to hold the major games. Again no one in Meath will disagreement on our ground but your own cb can hang their heads in shame that Dublin have to squat in every other counties grounds cause their own is a dump.
ok so its not our ground, but every other counties ground, makes sense alright. Royaldunne I cant nor any other Dub do anything about our matches in the league, personally a few more away matches in the league and id be happy, first round of leinster away and id also be happy, its one area I feel I personally lose out as I love the craic at away matches, which at the moment only happens in obc and maybe twice or three times in the league,I agree Croke park is being used too much for us , plus with us winning league and SAM in same year I can understand people being annoyed at us getting this amount of matches in croker, but I don't think our DCB should hang their heads in shame after the year we had last year in football and hurling and I don't think youd think like that if your county had a year like last year. there is a lot of county boards doing nothing and hiding behing the ,we cant compete with Dublin mantra. Truth is when we werent winning no one cared about THE DUBS IN CROKER ,now everyone is screaming that something has to be done . Maybe it will ,maybe it wont. but sure if plans came out tomorrow that we were building a new 40 stadium for us and not going to use Croker everyone would be on screaming about that . The truth is certain people in the Dcb decided on a new approach to our underage systems and minor.a lot of work was done in the background in coaching and putting in place continuity of coaches through different levels and fortunetly for us we are reaping the benefits now. Off course croker helps and facilities can be of an advantage, but only if all the other things are right first.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/12/2013 21:30:15
Royaller
Why on earth would we waste a load of money and build a white elephant stadium? No point, imo, of building some vanity project when there is no need.
Parnell Park is far from a dump btw, don't know where you got that from, it just isn't big enough to host big Dublin games. Your point will always fall down when you resort to making things up unfortunately.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13812 - 05/12/2013 10:14:57
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 6668
1520737 Royaller
Why on earth would we waste a load of money and build a white elephant stadium? No point, imo, of building some vanity project when there is no need.
Parnell Park is far from a dump btw, don't know where you got that from, it just isn't big enough to host big Dublin games. Your point will always fall down when you resort to making things up unfortunately.
No it's not a dump it's a very clean tidy ground but the issue in all of this is capacity, even when it was redeveloped Parnell Park's capacity wasn't much more than it is now, I just don't understand why Dublin over the years didn't enhance an exiting club ground or college facility to hold a 20'000 to 25'000 crowd , that's what's needed not a "white elephant stadium" or anything like it. Dublin have become too comfortable in Croke Park and I'm totally against it being regularly used for rounds of the Leagues by anyone. Parnell Park realistically now only has the capacity for club matches unless they can stretch it out someway, which looks unlikely, so Dublin should look elsewhere. If counties like Leitrim, Carlow, Longford etc (all of whom would be considered well behind the Dubs in terms of money, population and success) can raise money and develop county grounds to a capacity of 15'000 to 20'000 then I don't understand why Dublin can't either. Surely a suitable modestly sized "home" stadium is something Dublin should be striving for instead of having their supporters and others blowing around a sparsely populated Croker like tumbleweed.
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 05/12/2013 12:28:36
1520628 The fact that Dublin have such a sub standard county ground is a source of amazement to me, and they have no intention of doing anything about that situation as long as the GAA give them a free run at Croker. Croke Park is not a county ground and should not, in my opinion, be used as such for league games. Once off situations like the GAA 125 fine or a big launch to the National League but after that each county should play their own games in their own grounds. If Parnell Park is good enough for the Dublin hurlers it should be good enough for the footballers, I don't care about Spring Series, February Fever, March Madness or April Antics, the damn thing didn't work last year and won't this year, its a needless opening of our main GAA stadium and is giving the Dublin footballers an unfair advantage on having such familiarity with the ground, some of the players even admitted that themselves. This isn't to be perceived as a dig at the Dubs, it's just my personal opinion on how Croke Park should be utilised and the Spring Series in a vastly empty quiet Croker with Jedward bouncing off the goalposts is not such a good utilisation
Fair enough your entitled to your opinion, but the spring series was something new and brought a lot of kids to games with their parents,at least the DCB are trying different things and not sitting on their laurels.i wouldn't be bothered but I could easily do a page on my amazement at the meath county boards lack of ambition over the years and how they let the underage set up get so poor, and the state of the ground
I'm on record as having slated our "old" county board many times for their lack of ambition and development and yet leaving their positions with the county in debt, thankfully after only 12 months of a "new" county board we are back in the black and have plans for a total redevelopment of all four sides of Pairc Tailteann and the completion of a centre of excellence at Dunganny as well as our progress on the field looking much more positive so we do now have a county board that is not resting on its laurels, I could suggest that by using Croke Park as a fallback and not developing a modest stadium like I've mentioned elsewhere here that it is Dublin that are resting on their laurels, I'm delighted children and families can be accommodated at games but they are accommodated at county grounds all around the country, the spring series wasn't a trend setter in that regard and personally I don't see it as an acceptable substitute for developing a suitable home ground for Dublin players and supporters
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 05/12/2013 12:38:19
Thats a perfectly good post.
Dublin GAA will only get stronger and bigger. Why not plan for that future with all the sponsorhip monies and grants from the GAA? It could be argued that since Dublin GAA do not need to worry about their county grounds they can then pump even more money into the developments on the playing side.
Is it co-incidental that since Dublin have started playing the majority of their games in Croker that their juvenile teams are starting to produce the goods?
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 05/12/2013 12:51:02
As 'county' grounds go, Dublin have a perfectly functional county ground. Its quite obvious that Parnell Park is not a provincial ground in the same light as Semple, Salthill etc are, but relative to most county grounds around the country Parnell Park is about standard.
seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 05/12/2013 13:13:29
Exactly right sedico. It is unbelievable short-sightedness on the part of the gaa and if they keep going down this path it will come to a point where far more drastic action will be required to remedy the situation, not to mention the backward step the all ireland series will have taken in the meantime. Now I dont believe that the dublin lads cannot see what is going on, it is occuring all around them every day, but the ones that can see it choose to turn a blind eye. More fool them.
Action now and we get a better gaa for everyone. Action down the line, and we more than likely will have a stagnate all ireland series, with 2 dublin teams being introduced. So really the question is do dublin want the money or their identity?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/12/2013 14:01:39
royaldunne
how can you compare selling the rights of our national sport to an outside company who will charge you a pay per view subscription to watch the sport with a marketing strategy to boost the profile of the sport in dublin which has also led to promoting the national league far better. its amazing people are all on for promoting gaa abroad and it seems quite happy to have the national league get no promotion at all
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/12/2013 14:15:41
moomoo
they are doing it as stated to allow more people support dublin. it may cost money but it also promotes dublin gaa by being on tv and playing in front of bigger crowds.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/12/2013 14:16:56
I think its 5 thousand on the parnell pass
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/12/2013 14:17:40
sedico County: Kildare Posts: 1564
Is it co-incidental that since Dublin have started playing the majority of their games in Croker that their juvenile teams are starting to produce the goods?
answer simply no!!! we played all our home games in croke park for years before parnell park was done up and our uvenile teams were not succesful. anyway they dont get to train or play there any more then other countys so how does it benifit them?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/12/2013 14:21:48
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 6686
1520926 sedico County: Kildare Posts: 1564
answer simply no!!! we played all our home games in croke park for years before parnell park was done up and our uvenile teams were not succesful. anyway they dont get to train or play there any more then other countys so how does it benifit them?
Those were different times and well you know that. There wasn't the money then as there is now. However I don't expect you to agree with that either.
So you choose to simply ignore the rest of my post because you'd be afraid you might have to agree with some of it? Is that it?
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 05/12/2013 14:27:19
anyway they dont get to train or play there any more then other countys so how does it benifit them?
You realise there are other grounds in the country right? Every team doesnt play all their games in croke park...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/12/2013 14:28:36
OMG make your minds up...
One minute ye want a share of Dublin's Sponsorship kitty and the next ye want to stop us playing League games in Croker, even though the money from the bigger gate receipts that brings, is split amongst all counties...
I would gladly play our games in Parnell Park and give ye none of our money and in fact only a few hundred match tickets for those games too. Our Season Tickets & Parnell Park Passes already exceed the capacity of The Neller.
But sure then ye would want a guaranteed number of tickets as well.. lol
Get that enormous chip of your shoulders lads for heavens sake...
Nothing stopping Kildare or Meath asking to play their games in Croker too you know...
Funny the counties whose posters are moaning about it the most though I have to say...
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4281 - 05/12/2013 15:08:09
Fionn County: Dublin Posts: 536
1520958 OMG make your minds up...
One minute ye want a share of Dublin's Sponsorship kitty and the next ye want to stop us playing League games in Croker, even though the money from the bigger gate receipts that brings, is split amongst all counties...
I would gladly play our games in Parnell Park and give ye none of our money and in fact only a few hundred match tickets for those games too. Our Season Tickets & Parnell Park Passes already exceed the capacity of The Neller.
But sure then ye would want a guaranteed number of tickets as well.. lol
Get that enormous chip of your shoulders lads for heavens sake...
Nothing stopping Kildare or Meath asking to play their games in Croker too you know...
Funny the counties whose posters are moaning about it the most though I have to say...
OMG lets get all dramatic about this. OMGGGGGGGGGGG.
'Ye' don't want any share of Dublins sponsorship at all. If you read the thread you might have noticed I've said that way back.
This is exactly what I'm talking about when I say ridiculed. I'm attempting to have a reasoned debate here and yet again the usual 'moaning' and chip on the shoulder' stuff is trotted out. I don't believe I'm making any accusations against Dublin but yet again someone throws a strop.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 05/12/2013 15:34:59
sedico
differant times what are you on about? you said is it just a coincidence that dublin playing in croker is helping their underage well I gave you a clear indication that we have done for years before and yes it is just a coincidence. you seem to want to find reasons for everything other then look quite clearly at it and realise we just have got a group of very good players thats why they are achieveing success.or maybe you just dont want to admit thats why.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/12/2013 15:35:40