Kildare secretary wants sponsorship shared

This topic has been done to death here and else where. All this year, same ill-informed comments about Dublin GAA come up. The latest one is on Cuala who somehow have to apologise (because even with 95 teams they don't own a blade of grass) they have entered into a joint venture with Blackrock College to develop a multi-sports facility! And where are they getting this money from?

"Cuala are not in a position to enter this arrangement without funds generated via GAA grant aid, national lottery, local authority grants and internal fundraising." Before you scream "GAA Grant Aid" this is Dublin GAA. The fact is clubs like Cuala have huge numbers but no facilites, ditto Na Fianna, Vincents etc. They have to do this to survive as a playing entity some posters here really haven't got a clue how clubs or the GAA operate at all.

Posters can access publically on Hill16 this years Dublin GAA accounts, on the GAA main site are the GAA accounts, these posters do have no wish to inform. It must be pointed out how difficult it is to get your hands on other counties accounts. These posters argue about tax payers money via the Irish Sports council and yet they do not read the Irish Sports Council own website with a detailed itemised listing of every sports social grant aid.

For every "super club" like Na Fianna they are surrounded by 3 or 4 clubs nearby struggling for numbers. But nearly all Dublin clubs are struggling to even keep their lights on. These are not businesses they are NOT for Profit organisations, a point which has still eluded so many posters here its kinda scary. If Cuala don't do this they may as well give up!! They need winter training facilites end off.

Just think what instigated this thread an article by Kildare secretary Kathleen O'Neill. Now bear the following in mind, Kildare are one of the most indebted counties in Ireland. At the centre of their problems is the Hawkfield centre of excellence the centre described on Kathleen O'Neills Kildare website as "Hawkfield is Kildare G.A.A.'s new €3.5 Million Centre of Excellence / Training Centre, situated on the outskirts of Newbridge that will be the engine to drive our organisation in the coming decades."

Look at the appalling disgraceful state of their county ground? Simple Junior cert business studies would dictate you build the statium to generate revenue to pay for a centre like Hawkfield. But somehow Dublin or the GAA will bail them out, shocking brass neck. This is the argument being advanced as maybe Dublins to solve!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 01/12/2013 20:34:00    1519630

We do indeed have the best players

But you ain't seen nothing yet

You can smell the fear off this thread
We won it all playing a new system while introducing a bunch of young lads
You could see that the team is still only getting use to playing fooball under Gavin
Only 10 months into his reign and we won it all playing only in bits and pieces
The team didn't come close to peeking... so so performances
Not surprising considering they only had 10 months together
The best is yet to come from this team
Yet it was still good enough
We have several young lads Lowndes, Costello, Hudson, O'Connaighle to name just a select few
Which will strengthen an already excellent panel
Wait until you see Costello / Hudson on the same pitch :)
We have players like McCaffrey, Mannion, Kilkenny, Rock, Cooper, O'Brien... Young lads who have already learned so much and have no doubt - they'll all get better and have the best manager in the country to bring them on.
Then we mix in Flynn, Connolly, MD Mc, Kev Mc, Brennan, Andrews, EOG all entering their prime
Them we mix in the statesmen... A Brogan, B Brogan, Cluxton, Bastic, Cullen
To bring calmess and leadership
All on the back of having a fantastic sponsor, a magnifient Couny Board who are hugely committed to growing our games and expanding playing participation in Dublin
Playing all our games in Croker because we're the big show... Giving our lads the game time in Croker and allowing us to introduce new players onto the big pitch

I could go on...

Sure is it any wonder why certain culchies can't stop whinging

They are scared and so they fecking should be

Fear us

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/12/2013 22:01:36    1519668

Well said arock. Sums it all up, and I far from being with a "super club". You would think we are all getting paid listening to some of the nonsense here.

My club is kept going by people who give up probably more time than they spend in work or at home keeping our little club alive - 2 adult and 2 kids teams. Multiply that by whatever in Cuala.

One thing ourselves and Cuala and Boden and Crokes do share is that there is only one jersey when it comes to county.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/12/2013 10:34:17    1519696

Very well said Arock , Jimbo I know your only dishing it out as retaliation but we should note that the majority of lads on here from the other counties are backing us and distancing themselves from the predictable sound bite clowns that latch onto these type of stories , I mean come on master and Moooo the M and Ms of the site , not sure which one of them is the yellow one .for every choclotae head theres three decent heads that are happy as things are and just want to put us back in our box , and theres nothing wrong with that .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 02/12/2013 11:26:53    1519719

There should be a cap put on what a county should earn from sponsorship each year. 1 million the max.

cilldara13 (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 02/12/2013 15:54:03    1519840

What about a cap on the amount of money managers and players are paid cill dara? Or a cap on the amount of footballers allowed to be brought on as subs in senior club hurling championship matches so that they can pretend to be from whoever is paying them at the time?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/12/2013 16:52:15    1519878

We do indeed have the best players

But you ain't seen nothing yet

You can smell the fear off this thread
We won it all playing a new system while introducing a bunch of young lads
You could see that the team is still only getting use to playing fooball under Gavin
Only 10 months into his reign and we won it all playing only in bits and pieces
The team didn't come close to peeking... so so performances
Not surprising considering they only had 10 months together
The best is yet to come from this team
Yet it was still good enough
We have several young lads Lowndes, Costello, Hudson, O'Connaighle to name just a select few
Which will strengthen an already excellent panel
Wait until you see Costello / Hudson on the same pitch :)
We have players like McCaffrey, Mannion, Kilkenny, Rock, Cooper, O'Brien... Young lads who have already learned so much and have no doubt - they'll all get better and have the best manager in the country to bring them on.
Then we mix in Flynn, Connolly, MD Mc, Kev Mc, Brennan, Andrews, EOG all entering their prime
Them we mix in the statesmen... A Brogan, B Brogan, Cluxton, Bastic, Cullen
To bring calmess and leadership
All on the back of having a fantastic sponsor, a magnifient Couny Board who are hugely committed to growing our games and expanding playing participation in Dublin
Playing all our games in Croker because we're the big show... Giving our lads the game time in Croker and allowing us to introduce new players onto the big pitch

I could go on...

Sure is it any wonder why certain culchies can't stop whinging

They are scared and so they fecking should be

Fear us

Mmm, believe me horse there is one county to your western side that will never fear ye irregardless if his many superstars, cash or underage success you have although I doubt you would expect anything less from us, on the main topic if the thread I have little or no sympathy for Kildare they have made their bed by outlandish spending , none of which went where it should have like at Newbridge for example. Our county board last year ran us into a substantial 6 figure debt but this years board were able to turn that into a small but important surplus through proper and prudent financial management, I can see Kildare selling themselves out by going to Croker again in the League seeing as there are no opportunities for the Dublin hurlers to join up with their counterparts, more dilution of the importance and speciality of our premier ground, I'm grinding my teeth as I type

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 02/12/2013 20:47:48    1519970

hill16no1man

we already lose out when it comes to the national league as we are the only county who has to rent croke park to play our home matches and bring in big crowds only for the money to be placed in a pot and shared among all counties,not happy with that it seems now some want the hard work done by the county board at negotiating good sponsorship deals to be aken and shared for others because they cannot attract their own sponsors or clear their own debts.come on would you,thats penalising one for the short comings of others

Dublin don't HAVE TO rent Croke Park. Do ye not have county grounds like all the other counties?

donkeyford (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 04/12/2013 10:23:20    1520373

sedico

1519375 seany16

What the Kildare official is trying to do is place the proximate cause of her counties failings outside their own realm of control. Its a case of us weaker counties have no chance in the face of Dublin-esque sponsorship deals. Yet why should counties like Tyrone and Donegal, counties of similar size to Kildare win All Irelands, yet Kildare cannot? From the outset, there is no obvious reason why Kildare cannot be successful! Why can Kildare's neighbours Meath, win All Irelands yet Kildare cannot? What i suggest is that the official concentrates on improving and building on the recent success they have had at provincial level at underage! I suggest they try bring that success to national level and draw off the experience of Tyrone and Dublin in football and recently Clare in Hurling.

I'd be far more willing to listen to counties like Carlow, Leitrim, Fermanagh and Longford etc who have obvious demographic inhibitions rather than listen to a county that needs to get its own house in order before complaining that their proximate cause of failure resides in exterior influences!

I could have sworn we won four All Irelands

lol.... 1905, 1919, 1927, 1928

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2843 - 04/12/2013 11:24:10    1520399

havent really read into this too much but I presume the idea wouldnt be to take sponsorship and devide it 32 way. I presume it would work on a club team amount so Dublin would still get most of their cut but that the crappy club in the middle of nowhere would also get some more money than they normally get.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 04/12/2013 12:23:00    1520422

" lol.... 1905, 1919, 1927, 1928 "

You can laugh out loud at those dates but there is a historical singnificance to those years. The country was deeply divided after the civil war and the AI finals between Kildare and Kerry between 1926 and 1929 are credited with helping to distract people from the many differences that existed at that time.
So we may not have been successful since but we did play our part in making Kerry great!

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 04/12/2013 12:32:05    1520428

Interesting article from GAA President

Counties teaming together to attract larger sponsors under the one package

He also went some way to make it loud and clear that Dublins revenue would not be shared.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/12/2013 13:27:11    1520459

cilldara13

at that rate why not have a cap on the amount of money the gaa can make from tickets and give the left over to the governement or maybe soccer or rugby haha seriously you want to refuse money in this day and age its madness

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 13:34:50    1520463

donkeyford

technically we do have to rent croker.
parnell park holds 9 thousand capacity.
the gaa season ticket didnt even go on sale this year in dublin as its allocation was taken by renewals from last year which sold out.
the parnell pass scheme is also sold out for this year.
the hill 16 season ticket scheme still has a few tickets remaining but add all them who have already paid for admission to league matches and it comes to more then 9 thousand meaning no tickets would even go on public sale and no away supporters would be given tickets, they would be turning away people on ticket schemes at the turnstiles on a first come first served basis parnell park cannot be used and the gaa would be loosing out on money.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 13:42:20    1520465

I understand that ye technically have to rent Croke Park. My point was ye don't have to use Croke Park. If ye find that yer county ground isn't big enough ye could always redevelop it to accommodate the large support base. I was making the point that ye don't lose out by having yer home league games in Croke Park. Why should Dublin get an advantage over other counties by using Croke Park for their home games? It comes down to money again.

donkeyford (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 04/12/2013 15:48:32    1520551

donkeyford
County: Limerick

I understand that ye technically have to rent Croke Park. My point was ye don't have to use Croke Park. If ye find that yer county ground isn't big enough ye could always redevelop it to accommodate the large support base. I was making the point that ye don't lose out by having yer home league games in Croke Park. Why should Dublin get an advantage over other counties by using Croke Park for their home games? It comes down to money again.

but we do lose out as we have to pay the gaa to play our home matches there and the money made from them games goes into a pot dividing it out among countys.no other county brings in the same size crowds for league games so therefore we are sharing the money with them but paying at the same time.theres no room to redevelop parnell park.there is a golf course,a school and a church surrounding the entire ground so no space in fact its miracle they even squeezed the ground they did into that small of a space.
any county can go to croke park with proposal to play league games there,but the fact its based in dublin we are the only ones who would tend to use it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 16:06:53    1520559

The fact that Dublin have such a sub standard county ground is a source of amazement to me, and they have no intention of doing anything about that situation as long as the GAA give them a free run at Croker. Croke Park is not a county ground and should not, in my opinion, be used as such for league games. Once off situations like the GAA 125 fine or a big launch to the National League but after that each county should play their own games in their own grounds. If Parnell Park is good enough for the Dublin hurlers it should be good enough for the footballers, I don't care about Spring Series, February Fever, March Madness or April Antics, the damn thing didn't work last year and won't this year, its a needless opening of our main GAA stadium and is giving the Dublin footballers an unfair advantage on having such familiarity with the ground, some of the players even admitted that themselves. This isn't to be perceived as a dig at the Dubs, it's just my personal opinion on how Croke Park should be utilised and the Spring Series in a vastly empty quiet Croker with Jedward bouncing off the goalposts is not such a good utilisation

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 04/12/2013 18:37:20    1520628

Richieq

1520628 The fact that Dublin have such a sub standard county ground is a source of amazement to me, and they have no intention of doing anything about that situation as long as the GAA give them a free run at Croker. Croke Park is not a county ground and should not, in my opinion, be used as such for league games. Once off situations like the GAA 125 fine or a big launch to the National League but after that each county should play their own games in their own grounds. If Parnell Park is good enough for the Dublin hurlers it should be good enough for the footballers, I don't care about Spring Series, February Fever, March Madness or April Antics, the damn thing didn't work last year and won't this year, its a needless opening of our main GAA stadium and is giving the Dublin footballers an unfair advantage on having such familiarity with the ground, some of the players even admitted that themselves. This isn't to be perceived as a dig at the Dubs, it's just my personal opinion on how Croke Park should be utilised and the Spring Series in a vastly empty quiet Croker with Jedward bouncing off the goalposts is not such a good utilisation

Fair enough your entitled to your opinion, but the spring series was something new and brought a lot of kids to games with their parents,at least the DCB are trying different things and not sitting on their laurels.i wouldn't be bothered but I could easily do a page on my amazement at the meath county boards lack of ambition over the years and how they let the underage set up get so poor, and the state of the ground

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/12/2013 20:19:56    1520657

richieq

it amazes you dublin have substandard but your own county had a 30 thousand ground and by lack of care it fell to 10 thousand capacity that is worse in my book.
Parnell is definatly too small nobody disagrees but whats the option build another ground in dublin,where?
how do we have a free run of croke park when we have to pay money to play matches there?
nobody complained before parnell park was revamped when dublin played all their home league games there for years.
parnell park is big enough for the crowd going to dublin hurling matches thats why its acceptable.
I personally would rather see them playing in croke park too as I feel parnell park pitch dimensions are too small for inter county hurling but thats another matter.
It didnt work for one match so the whole thing should be scrapped is what you are saying.
For the down match on the coldest night of the year playing the bottom of the league team was hardly going to be a massive crowd puller and was the one match everybody stated could be played in parnell park.
the rest of the matches brought in at least double what would have been allowed into parnell park to see the games.
If dublin county board get 20-30 thousand for the four home matches I dont see how thats a bad thing.
It promotes the league and brings in more money for all countys.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 20:46:26    1520662

moomoo

losing out on money from renting thats all I said.the gaa were extrtemly keen to have dublin go into croke park in 2014 again because it would cause them alot of hassle with the season ticket scheme sold out and the parnell park pass sold out meaning thats more then what parnell can hold so what would happen then?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2013 20:48:46    1520663