Kildare secretary wants sponsorship shared

Surprised that there has been no thread on this

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=205460

I started a thread on this a few months back and to save the Dubs the trouble, I will give the replies they gave then and will give again

1/ Why should only Dublin do this?.......they shouldn't, all counties should put their sponsorship in the pool
2/ It's communism..........yeah, right
3/ Dublin have soccer and rugby to compete with..................the rest don't?
4/ Dublin has more clubs. players etc........and they'll get a bigger share of the pool then, nobody said it should be split evenly
5/ Dublin raised al the money themselves...................what about the Bertie Ahern money from the taxpayer via the Irish Sports Council, lads?
6/ Inevitable attacks on the county on the suggestor........ Kathleen O'Neill's Kildare(Seanie Johnston, Kieran McGeeney, can't look after their own money- leave it out lads) or my Cork ( Cork's sponsorship money should go in the pool too, just like everybody else, away with ye on Frank Murphy or whatever other deflections you want to make)

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 28/11/2013 14:22:07    1518750

Plenty of comment elsewhere.

It is rubbish like this that makes most GAA folk laugh at Kildare. They are bankrupt and want Dublin and the rest of the GAA to bail them out even more!!!

The funny thing is that they want the money distributed 'pro -rata'. Pro-rata to what. if based on population then Dublin would obtain an even bigger slice of the pie!!!..

Kildare would have been better using their 'Supporter's club' funds to build up under age teams / infrastructure!!!

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 28/11/2013 14:38:37    1518754

Did Kildare share the money they got from horse owners and others when they were trying to buy an All Ireland?

No.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/11/2013 14:39:50    1518755

Forgot the other common replies

7/ The Dubs finance the GAA..........Do they really? Only 2 Dublim matches sold out this year, and how many of the people at them were from Mayo and KerrY? Even if we assumed that all the people at those 2 matches were from Dublin, which they certainly weren't, and at all other Dublin matches during the year, what proportion of the income does this really make considering the number of matches up and down the country there are throughout the year? And there is a hurling championship too. The Dubs hardly bother with that, and didn't bother at all until 2 years ago
8/ The culchies hate us and are jealous.............the 'failsafe' defence, try and create a siege mentality of imagined persecution.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 28/11/2013 14:40:27    1518757

I take issue with number 6. That isnt a fair representation.

You forget mayo spending money on the upkeep of their home ground...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/11/2013 14:40:56    1518758

Ah sure let them have it, AIG are small fish, Kettle is just about to secure a deal with the Illuminati for 2015 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8773 - 28/11/2013 14:42:17    1518759

we already lose out when it comes to the national league as we are the only county who has to rent croke park to play our home matches and bring in big crowds only for the money to be placed in a pot and shared among all counties,not happy with that it seems now some want the hard work done by the county board at negotiating good sponsorship deals to be aken and shared for others because they cannot attract their own sponsors or clear their own debts.come on would you,thats penalising one for the short comings of others

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/11/2013 14:46:46    1518760

KeyserSoze

Forgot the other common replies

7/ The Dubs finance the GAA..........Do they really? Only 2 Dublim matches sold out this year, and how many of the people at them were from Mayo and KerrY? Even if we assumed that all the people at those 2 matches were from Dublin, which they certainly weren't, and at all other Dublin matches during the year, what proportion of the income does this really make considering the number of matches up and down the country there are throughout the year? And there is a hurling championship too. The Dubs hardly bother with that, and didn't bother at all until 2 years ago

What other games in Croke Park were sold out so?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13812 - 28/11/2013 14:50:24    1518762

Do yizzer own work? No? Fair enough.

Easier to piggyback off the hard work of others I suppose.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13812 - 28/11/2013 14:51:33    1518764

@Mes Amis: There is a hurling championship too in case you were not aware of it. Two All Ireland finals sold out. 70,000 people in Croke Park at Clare v Limerick hurling semu final. The crowd at Cork v Dublin hurling semi final was 2:1 in favour of Cork (who weren't playing on their own doorstep either). Full houses at the Munster hurling final and Munster football final, near enough to it at Ulster football final. In football, there were big crowds at Mayo v Tyrone and Mayo v Donegal, or will you try to tell me they were Fubs? How many other games up and down the country in championship and league were played? How many big club matches up and down the country? This 'Dubs bankroll the GGAA' is a complete red herring and fallacy that only the Dubs believe and is a non-argument.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 28/11/2013 15:05:57    1518781

Say please and then thank you...

Thank you Dublin for being successful

Thank you Dublin for being of such worth to the GAA

Thank you Dublin for being such a leading brand

Thank you Dublin for your passion and commitment that has put you in such a prominent position

Thank you Dublin for funding our county teams

Thank you Dublin for allowing us to be in the position of growing our games within our county

But unfortunately we wont get a word of thanks for our contribution

Just bitter demands...

It's such a rural attitude.

You think everybody owes you something...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/11/2013 15:09:30    1518785

fingalman

1518754 Plenty of comment elsewhere.

It is rubbish like this that makes most GAA folk laugh at Kildare. They are bankrupt and want Dublin and the rest of the GAA to bail them out even more!!!

The funny thing is that they want the money distributed 'pro -rata'. Pro-rata to what. if based on population then Dublin would obtain an even bigger slice of the pie!!!..

Kildare would have been better using their 'Supporter's club' funds to build up under age teams / infrastructure!!!

I'd say most are laughing at your post for making the 'bankrupt' comment. Comments like that are best left to the other website you use.

And then moving on to your last sentence. Kildare are currently Under 21 & Minor Leinster Champions so our underage structures are in a healthy enough state thank you very much.

Look before you leap.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 28/11/2013 15:22:42    1518788

Keyser, the crowd at the hurling semi-final was not 2:1 Cork! Are you blind?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/11/2013 15:23:20    1518789

Had to read it twice , as the bile and hatred in initial post was stinging my eyes , sad sad sad attempt at wind up .by a very laughable character .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/11/2013 15:25:57    1518790

Not one reply yet from the Dublin contingent that does not fall into one of the 8 categories I predicted, and there won't be one solitary reply that will be forthcoming that doesn't fall into one of the eight catgories either.

As Kathleen O'Neill has said, there is a superpower danger looming that could have a catastrophic effect on the entire GAA. This superpower status hinges on money more than anything else. One of the canrds of the Dubs is that this is any suggestion to pool and distribute sponsosrship money is sporting "communism". Well in that red lefty hotbed of communism that is known as the USA, they have seen fit to employ salary caps and draft systems across their professional sports. The GAA is supposedly an amateur organisation. But it allows one superpower to have a massive advantage over all other counties by virtue of a massive cash pool. Dublin have professional county teams in all but name.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 28/11/2013 15:36:47    1518799

Damothedub

1518790 Had to read it twice , as the bile and hatred in initial post was stinging my eyes , sad sad sad attempt at wind up .by a very laughable character .

Honestly you are a very sensitive soul if you call that bile and hatred.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 28/11/2013 15:39:09    1518805

wait till wee Jamie Bryson and his buddies start door stepping AIG, then the Dublin county board are banjaxed!!!

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 28/11/2013 15:39:21    1518806

A Cork man would never start a thread like this

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/11/2013 15:45:55    1518808

KayerSoze

In Croke Park I said.

The 2 hurling finals sold out alright I'll give you that. You'd hope they would in fairness.

We don't bankroll the GAA in that you are correct. We contribute quite a lot though.

You want us to bankroll the GAA obviously.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13812 - 28/11/2013 15:46:28    1518809

Yes did you see him comments.
Disgraceful.

Let him try that outside Hill 16 next Summer and see how far he gets....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4279 - 28/11/2013 15:46:36    1518810