Selling out to Sky Sports

You should stop whining so much foreverroyal, you sound like a big girls blouse. Brits are always slagging everyone in their own boring way,dont they have a derogatory name for every race on earth? we dont whine and cry like you do about their ****** oirish jokes.(well the vast majority dont, and i bet you dont). Everyone gets slagged at matches- too tanned, to pale, too ugly/too pretty, annoying accents(!!). i mean the crokes lads get awful stick for their posh voices, what do you expect for your "twang" as you call it

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 21/11/2013 11:19:13    1516011

brendtheredhand
There appears to be too many self-appointed moral guardians patrolling the threads on HS these days, and as you have rightly observed KingdomBoy1, there are plenty of hypocrites too.

Ha, Im pretty sure this post would place yourself in both camps brend

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/11/2013 11:32:16    1516016

brendtheredhand

Well said man. The level of ridiculousness on this thread from some defies belief.

The self appointed moral guardians have a lot to do on this forum in anyways. A decent thread about the broadcasting of GAA in Ireland and abroad turned into a petty argument about non-existantant racism.

It may be worth highlighting that the majority of English/British people are the same race as the majority of Irish people.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13817 - 21/11/2013 11:39:10    1516024

I agree with ye brend and flack, I give people from every county **** on here but 99% is banter, and I hope I can take the bit of a slagging too when it comes my way, but foreverroyal would wana grow a pair IMO and quit the whining .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2013 11:40:27    1516025

Mes
I tried to make the same point as your self last night but I mustn't have worded right as it didn't get posted.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2013 11:49:35    1516030

I'm with the master on this one. First for everything
Forever were you born in Ireland? Not that it matters one bit nor should it. But it might be showing up the ignorance of some. Unfortunately the Irish as a whole can be a very peculiar crowd in particular to our own, you say your ma is English the ohailpianns mother is fillopino. Will any cork lad not describe them as their own? Lot of double standards going on here by some, brand is the very one who was touchy about been described as a nordie , and many of the dubs complaining just one question do you think that jayo should have not whined about what was directed at him? . Honestly I'd like to know is that exception? Or should he not be such a big girls blouse? Same for Lee chin.
Now I hold no high ground on this I'm as guilty as anyone of having the craic as we like to describe it and I don't pretend to be a moral guardian. Far from it. But perhaps these incidents should make us look differently

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/11/2013 13:15:39    1516092

Now I'm as guilty as anyone of the occasionally stupid foot in mouth and mistake . But flack where do we draw the line ? Is Lee chin or Jason Sherlock been big girls blouses?
I often agree with hill on things but the premise of his argument was that sky was a British company so in fairness to forever it was not him that brought this up. I and many others had a go at hill as that should not be even debated as it was irrelevant.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/11/2013 13:51:53    1516116

royaldunne

I'm with the master on this one. First for everything
Forever were you born in Ireland? Not that it matters one bit nor should it. But it might be showing up the ignorance of some. Unfortunately the Irish as a whole can be a very peculiar crowd in particular to our own, you say your ma is English the ohailpianns mother is fillopino. Will any cork lad not describe them as their own? Lot of double standards going on here by some, brand is the very one who was touchy about been described as a nordie , and many of the dubs complaining just one question do you think that jayo should have not whined about what was directed at him? . Honestly I'd like to know is that exception? Or should he not be such a big girls blouse? Same for Lee chin.
Now I hold no high ground on this I'm as guilty as anyone of having the craic as we like to describe it and I don't pretend to be a moral guardian. Far from it. But perhaps these incidents should make us look differently

Lee Chin and Jayo were subjected to serious racist abuse.

To try and a make a connection between those issues and this thread is pretty astonishing. Very poor RD. Don't trivialise serious racist incidents by equating them with something that may or may not actually have been mildly xenophobic.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13817 - 21/11/2013 14:44:36    1516137

Mes again I'm totally with you on this and I couldn't agree more.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2013 15:06:58    1516141

Look lads this thread is about Peter McKenna looking at ways in which he can get our games given decent exposure in Britain, or even possibly all over the world if Sky are on board…. When I was young and I used to be very anti British and then I grew up and moved on…It dose seem that a few have managed to move on TheMaster, Htaem and a few others sorry I have only named the 2 but lads catch a gripe you have to move on some time. You know bitterness just eats you up and you end up with twisted thoughts and often a warped sense of looking at things, Where Britain is concerned unfortunately I think this is to often the case in Ireland with some. While I know and understand the reasons from the past that is what it is the PAST!!! Some people just can not let go….

I must say also if you can find me any media group across the world that has not got a bias or political leaning in someway and has not been caught up in some sort of scandal somewhere I will be amazed. Anyone who tries to use this as an excuse to block the games being exported to England is just scaremongering and looking for any reason to block it happening….

The Irish in Britain have long been asking for decent coverage of our games and I am sure will support and watch the games if we are at last given them in our homes, especially if it is a quality product. There is a massive Irish population here be it 1st generation or second like my self or even third like my own lads who all love GAA games. I ask the negative people to the idea on this thread to search there souls and explain to me why they believe My Irish parents, I and my kids are not worthy….. But never mind us what is wrong with an English kid watching the games and thinking o that looks good I might have a go at that…..:)

Now back to the actual reason of the thread…. There is nothing stopping RTE or any other Irish TV company for that mater from exporting the games around the world. Or even their TV channels in general for that matter. A door to over 60million viewers and a large chunk of them Irish wow what fool would turn that down??? The games are already filmed by RTE and the set up is already in place in all the major grounds around the Country, why can't RTE expand there horizons also…. I know the coverage is not always the best but why can't they go out and employee staff who will improve and market the games to a higher standard and add to the general programs. You know if I watched another company doing something and I did a similar job to them and they were doing it better than me I would copy them and maybe add my own little twist on it, you do not have to reinvent the wheel…:)

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 21/11/2013 15:13:45    1516145

seen as do my username was allowed to be branded and labelled on this thread I will state exactly where i stand on them issues.
I have a complete dislike for the British monarchy,the British army,the British governament and the British media.
them four instituations have seen them become the biggest terrorist organistaion the world has ever seen.
this article as recent as today and to be aired tonight shows that they have not been brought to justice still for their actions and as a legitimate goverament and army to be taken serious in a civilised world they must be held accountable for the atrocities they committed.
http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1121/488078-undercover-army-unit-shot-civilians-in-belfast/

the other 90% of the british population I HVAE ABSOOLUTLY NO PORBLEM WITH AT ALL.they are not to blame and should not be held liable for the actions of others.

Now onto the sky sports issue,yes I started this thread in referances to mckenna selling the rights of gaa matches in ireland as his article left the door open for that.
I AM NOT AGAINST THE RIGHTS FOR BRITIAN BELONGING TO SKY SPORTS!!!
i said in relation to sky sports buying irish rights out it would be a massive step backwards for the association if anything.
we the irish public are able to watch gaa live on free to air stations,if sky sports get the full rights we will have to pay a monthly package to a non irish company to see our national sport,how people see this as progress is beyond me its actually regress!!
take into account the stuff people seem to think hear that if sky sports get the full rights it would be way better run then rte for analysis and stuff,well can I just ask the question how can you possibly know this? and think for one second will there presenters be english guys who know little about gaa ? or will they be irish guys just like rte or tv3?
either way how do you figure it will create better run events seen as the english guys knowledge of the games would be very little and the irish guys they get would more then likely be guys that were not deemed good enough by our own stations!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/11/2013 15:31:50    1516153

Lee Chin and Jayo were subjected to serious racist abuse.

That's the thing, was it serious abuse, or should they just do what kingdomboy instructed foreverroyal to do and 'grow a pair'? Why is abusing someone on the basis of their race any more serious than abusing someone on the basis of their perceived nationality?

Also mesamis, you are correct, it isnt actually racism, it is prejudice, but they are borne from exactly the same thing. You are trying to tone it down to xenophobia, barely existant xenophobia no less, that isnt accurate though. Xenophobia is a fear of something foreign, the irish dont fear the english, they dislike/hate them, simply because they are english, that is prejudice, not xenophobic. In our minds we tend to think it is justified by their actions in the past, but it actually doesnt. Maybe we have been a little conditioned to view the english in a certain light and this is a side effect. Look at the response to foreverroyal for instance, substitute the word english with the word black and there would be uproar. So it begs the question, why is disliking people because of their nationality fair game while disliking people because of their race isnt?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/11/2013 15:45:11    1516162

Mancirish
I'm probably coming across as anti English but there is a saying that those who don't learn from history are doomed to repeat it, by inviting sky into our games are we not actually doing what mcmorrow did back in 1160?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2013 16:07:32    1516173

your dead right hill16no1man -
any gaa man who flogs off the rights to free-to-air champo games to a pay-per-view company is a traitor to his country and his organisation.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 21/11/2013 16:14:16    1516177

For gods sake, there is simply no viable way that sky will buy the exclusive rights to the gaa. Why would they hill? That is the scaremongering people are talking about. It makes no sense in the world for that to happen, there is no evidence in the world that it is going to happen, so why is it such a bone of contention for you? Why do you keep going on about what that would mean and how that would effect us? It is just some arbitrary situation that isnt going to occur. It is like saying what if england invaded again, wouldnt it be terrible etc etc, it isnt going to happen man.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/11/2013 16:18:31    1516179

The point I'm trying to make. Finally.

Never said that xenophobia or prejudice was okay. Correct me if I am wrong please. I was merely pointing out that anti-British sentiment is not racism. Also, as Hill has pointed out, he has made clear his misgivings and opposition to some British institutions not to the entire nation or peoples of Britain.

You can agree or disagree with his sentiment about those institutions if you so wish, but disagree with them on their merits not by blithely saying they are racist sentiments when we both no they are not.

I'd have a problem with GAA rights for Ireland being given to Sky Sports as I believe that they should not be given to a broadcaster that will charge people extra to view the games. If the rights were sold in Britain or elsewhere to Sky then maybe that would work as people (going on this thread in anyways) seem willing to pay a subscription to watch the games. Probably because it is better than the current situation. I have lived abroad myself and understand the frustration in trying to watch the Championship.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13817 - 21/11/2013 16:33:00    1516190

We cant on one hand moan that the GAA dont promote the games enough abroad and then when Sky come along moan that they might be getting the coverage.

Sky have Ireland soccer games but theres a deal in place that terrestrial tv in Ireland is allowed show the games. Id be shocked if a similar deal wasnt in place if this comes to pass.

Anyway in regard to RTE they havent a patch on TG4!!

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 21/11/2013 16:34:35    1516191

hill16no1man

seen as do my username was allowed to be branded and labelled on this thread I will state exactly where i stand on them issues.
I have a complete dislike for the British monarchy,the British army,the British governament and the British media.
them four instituations have seen them become the biggest terrorist organistaion the world has ever seen.

In your opinion, and what an incredibly sweeping statement to make, how are the British any different to say the Spain Monarchy, the French Army, the Belgian Government or the Portuguese media etc etc. They were all once colonial powers who conquered and enslaved in the past the same way the British did.......so why aren't they all equally as big a terrorist organisations as the British? What you're saying just doesn't make any logical or objective sense.

I AM NOT AGAINST THE RIGHTS FOR BRITIAN BELONGING TO SKY SPORTS!!!

I think you're implying there that you're not against Skysports getting the rights to Gaelic games simply on the grounds that they area British company, but let me remind you once again what you said earlier in the thread

hill16no1man:

relevance of them being british is one of the reasons the gaa was founded was to keep irish traditions alive while the british were terrorising ireland,this our national sport something uniquely irish handing over the reigns to a british company would be a shame.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/11/2013 16:35:19    1516193

Also, marlon, you say declaring someone a racist is over the top, but if having a set against someone purely because of their nationality isnt prejudiced, then what is it? We have normalised this behaviour in ireland because of what happened in the past, but if a guy from mars came and viewed our behaviour objectively, he would declare the irish to be bigoted, no question.

Actually, what I said(well, attempted to quip) was "Selling out to melodrama'. That was the entirety of my contribution. I could have been referring to any number of posts on this thread, you inferred it to be about forreverroyals thread, which might say more about which poster you think is being melodramatic ;)

As for the fellow from Mars, well, we don't take kindly to his type around here (boom, tish, I'm here all week). But if he did conclude we were bigoted against the British, then he'd have to conclude we're masochists as well. I mean, if all Irish people hate British stuff so much, then being surrounded by British chain stores on our high streets, having British programming or sports on in most of our public places, having British media publications grow over more prominent on our paper/magazine racks, British advertising almost ubiquitous, spending so much money on British goods that we're the 5th biggest contributor to the British economy in the world (recession anyone?) etc, etc, etc, well surely that would be pretty uncomfortable, no? For people who are so filled with hatred for all things British, surely that would be unbearable, hmmm? That would make us some pretty sick little puppies.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 21/11/2013 16:43:15    1516194

MesAmis

I'd have a problem with GAA rights for Ireland being given to Sky Sports as I believe that they should not be given to a broadcaster that will charge people extra to view the games.

That's a very fair and legitimate counter argument against Skysports MesAmis but I can't understand your defence of hill when he comes out with things like:

I mean how can you defend those comments? They're so blind and biased it's hard to do anything but laugh.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/11/2013 16:44:45    1516198