Htaem County: Meath Posts: 4509
1514363 hill16no1man
Here look I didn't say Sky would be a rip roaring success for the Gaa but having thought about it there may be a small market for it in the Uk, don't forget that about 20 million British people have Irish ancestry so it's not a totally a complete punt. What the Gaa has to consider is what percentage of British market would actually buy into Gaelic games (my guess would be quite a small amount) but we'll never know if the Gaa doesn't take a punt. this is where i got the opinion of you thinking its worth giving the rights to sky to try promote abroad a the expense of people in ireland. you suggest the gaa should take a punt on it,this would mean thousands of people in ireland without sky sports as a luxury will not get to view their national sport
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 19:30:20
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 5057
1514155 Firstly sky also is a huge employer in this country, what is problem with it been a British company? I have many a fond memories of my time in Britain, lovely people, fantastic country and still have very close contact with them. It could be worse they could be given it tnag
Jaysus Royaldunne you should get a job with the UK tourist board.
OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2013 19:32:41
htaem
how is pointing out the facts of life living in the past. it happened some people seem to think just because we didnt live through those days that sure who cares we have moved on but we should never forget.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 19:32:48
foreveroyal
haha how can you seriously try to flatter the kid wayno haha if he listens he is worse influenced by you then he is by sky sports haha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 19:34:49
Damothedub County: Dublin Posts: 1150
1514442 Forget the british stuff and answer the accesabilty issue , or is it not an issue for some because they can afford it ? Well isnt that just wonderfull the Celtic tiger Im all right kids are alive and well , as previously said of course alot of this is hypothetical , and if its in addition to national station fine , but Sky over time would not settle for an equal partner role , but Sky are intrested in one thing and one thing only the pound . As one poster put and its true theyd probably only want to show the Dubs and might I add hurling with an even smaller audience wouldnt get a look in . The comparisons with " what they did for soccer are hilarious " they tapped into something that was allready there , across the world exisited fan clubs of soccer clubs many of whom routinely made the prilgrimage home , they saw an opportunity and in fairness exploited it , they brought a much sought product home to millions that were allready sold on it , does that sound like the GAA give me a break .Move on some say , its 2013 , that means exactly what ? Its the phrase used when someone hasnt a clue how to put across a resaonable argument and comes up with the move on chestnut , more exposure on TV is funny from some that wouldnt step inside a club house in a year suppose as its the only way they will get to see a game , no supprise why they argue that way . excellent post damo
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 19:46:09
mike03 County: Limerick Posts: 302
The coverage sky are bidding for would be the UK contract currently held by Premier Sports. It has nothing to do with RTE and won't affect the coverage on Irish tv. And for what it's worth, premier sports don't do a great job so Sky would be a huge addition
You are correct.
I'm certain there is also a broadcast law (as far as I know its still there anyway) that says that sporting events that cover national sides and sporting events that are of national interest (of which the GAA sports are considered, under cultural aspects) that mean that teams like the Irish soccer sides, the Rugby side, the Athletics squads, the Boxing squads etc as well as Hurling and Football have to made available to terrestrial TV as it is in the national interest so long as the games are competitive. That's why the soccer lads friendly games are on Sky, the soccer guys sold off the rights for the friendlies to Sky because friendly games aren't covered under the law, and because Sky offered them a nice bit of money whereas RTE offered nothing.
As far as I'm aware, Sky would be perfectly entitled to bid for the rights to hurling and football games, but if they did, they would have to provide viewing access to the games to terrestrial TV and not through satellite/cable only, which is why they can't really buy the TV right for hurling and football in this country as they would have to setup a new free-to-air terrestrial channel to do so.
dblackandamber (Kilkenny) - Posts: 92 - 17/11/2013 19:46:20
RebelCork County: Cork Posts: 140
1514456 Hopefully it might give RTE the reason to start showing a few league games. Sick of watching deffered games on tg4. Would even prefer sky got the rights to the league. You see the job they do advertising games like crystal palace vs wigan, they'd have croker sold out every week. that makes no sense at all haha if there showing the games live they would be incouraging you to stay at home and watch not sell out croker
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 19:47:25
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 5057
1514459 Marlon just a few things you may want to answer. Is it solely British citizens that work in these high Street stores? Does all the wages paid to the employees of these companies go directly back to the UK economy? Has boots, the let's be honest pharmacy that brought Sunday opening ( cause traditional pharmaceutical shops thought no Irish person needed a prescription or got sick on a Sunday , too busy at mass). And just one thing what country is Ireland's no 1 exporter of goods too? Would it be those pesky Brits? I mean how dare Witherspoon's come in here and create jobs for us , the cheek of them. Boycott I say let's be honest not one of the over 13% of population currently unemployed would dare take up a job with a British company. Now lets all get together and say in one loud voice begone with ye heathans back to the queen and fire the over half a million people you employ here they can check that the praties aren't getting the blight after been contaminated by them black and tans.
And sure when your at it throw the yanks out too with their Google Microsoft Intel etc corrupting poor paddys eyes that he has to go to mass twice a day and confessions every Saturday. How dare they bring employment and wealth to this country. The cheek.
thats exactly the reason why ireland is in economic trouble and will always be at the mercy of other countrys because the governement are for more interested in attracting these companies then trying to create our own companys that would be much more reliable and not leave at the drop of a corporation tax rate like dell for instance,who were amajor player in employing in limerick city and because it was cheaper in poland moved alot of what they do their costing so many people their jobs,they are only one example of this its happened nearly every week in ireland over the last 3 years
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 19:51:06
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 4509
1514467 Damothedub
I partially agree with you, certainly I don't think Sky should get exclusive rights straight away, in any case there's little or no chance of that happening so I wouldn't worry too much. But if the Gaa allowed Sky to show some championship games exclusively and a few along with RTE/TV3 at least then the Gaa could assess whether or not Sky have done any good for Gaelic Games.
If the numbers weren't adding up and Gaelic Games didn't take off in the slightest in the UK then the Gaa would have little to consider because Sky wouldn't be interested in obtaining exclusive rights anyway. On the other hand if they did take off then the Gaa would have an excellent opportunity to grow our games abroad, all I'm saying is don't knock the idea without considering it's potential merits.
whats there to gain from the gaa growing in the uk? all that would happen is more viewers for sky sports,if they have the access to it on tv over there they are not going to fly over here to watch the games and pay in like we do.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 19:54:24
hill16no1man
this is where i got the opinion of you thinking its worth giving the rights to sky to try promote abroad a the expense of people in ireland. you suggest the gaa should take a punt on it,this would mean thousands of people in ireland without sky sports as a luxury will not get to view their national sport
That is indeed a draw back that I have acknowledged, however I didn't say it was more important to show our games in Britain than in Ireland and also I'm talking about a few exclusive games just to test the water. I'm not talking about giving Sky exclusive rights to all-Ireland semi-finals or finals etc, that would be unfair on Irish people without Sky, the Sky experiment would have to be a massive success before that sort of exclusivity should ever be considered.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/11/2013 20:18:06
hill16no1man
how is pointing out the facts of life living in the past. it happened some people seem to think just because we didnt live through those days that sure who cares we have moved on but we should never forget.
What are you even talking about? This is a debate about whether Skysports should have right to Gaelic Games, what on earth do 'the facts of life' have to do with any of this?
If you want to talk ad nauseam about why the Gaa was started and the "700 years of british terror on this island" then start a thread about it, but that stuff has no relevance here.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/11/2013 20:18:12
hill16no1man
whats there to gain from the gaa growing in the uk? all that would happen is more viewers for sky sports,if they have the access to it on tv over there they are not going to fly over here to watch the games and pay in like we do.
Well hill the Gaa is a business above all else, if it wasn't then it would cease to exist, you may think that it's no.1 objective is to promote Irish heritage and sport etc but infact it's no.1 aim is to make money. Money which allows the Gaa to operate and hence to promote Irish sports and language etc etc.
So what does it have to gain?....potentially more money and hence more Gaelic Games, it's pretty simple stuff.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/11/2013 20:24:32
At last Mr McKenna has seen the light, i wonder if he was reading our recent thread on here re promoting our games across the world and Britain especially. I think it is a great idea to promote the game wherever you can. Spread the GAA word boys spread the word. Quite interesting to read some of the responses and the fear that is generated by god for bid Gaelic football or Hurling being played or watched in that terrible tyrant of a country hold on now wait for it England. Some people just can not move on and will always live in the past, well I have news for those poor souls who still live in 1916. You're not fighting them any more....
I would love to see the games get decent exposure over here and English kids seeing our great games and god forbid even giving them a go... Maybe its a fear of 1 day getting beaten by a team from England I don't know but lads its time to get out of your little bubble... Gaelic Football and Hurling are 2 of the finest sports on this plant export them to all corners boys and girls and lets see where it may lead. You know man used to live in a cave you know....:)
We don't even know what Peter's ideas are, Sky may just get a highlights package or a joint venture may happen all this jumping to conclusions is crazy. The man is just putting it out there and why not. If it promotes our great games and brings in much needed extra cash it has to be a winner!!!
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 17/11/2013 20:34:22
dblackandamber cheers for clearing that up
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 21:24:20
htaem
i cannot see sky sports wanting a first round connaught match between leitrim and sligo or offaly v carlow in leinster hurling it would be the big games they would be looking for surely and if people dont bother attending or watching them smaller matches here how would it be suppose to be big over there if that was the case?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 21:26:27
htaem
dont agree its a business first and foremost as you are putting it. i could not see any other organisation its size offering half the price for replay finals when they are going to lose 3million euro or so on it. it obviously needs money to run like any organisation no denying that but the gaa is way depper in irish heritage and culture then any other sporting body in this country
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/11/2013 21:29:16
hill16no1man
Without a doubt Sky will want bigger games, the Gaa would probably have to give them a 2 or 3 provincial finals (2 football and 1 hurling) or something to that effect (I'm only guessing here) to get them interested. This is where I acknowledge that it's a bit unfair on Irish people without Sky but it's something that I think the Gaa could benefit from so it should be tried at least, if it doesn't work it work but again we won't know unless it's tried out.
dont agree its a business first and foremost as you are putting it.
It is a business first and foremost, again if it wasn't then it wouldn't exist, no money = no business = no Gaa.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/11/2013 21:42:09
The deal that is on offer to sky or rather the bit that McKennawwas eluding to was the one held by premier sports. That is all. Yes if it is a success why not sell the league's to sky? What difference would it make? None. I have said I wouldn't be in favour of exclusive rights but the government could draft a law saying that semi and all ire finals must be on free to air channels a return to what I was brought up on. Increase gate receipts , increased interest in the league and early matches and provincial finals all available on sky. I've done a bit of looking and with sky dishes and UPC over 70% of the 26 counties have access to sky. Also the terrestrial thing is gone its all digital now, so a computer software programming to add sky sports on saor view is all that's needed that's if its not already on it. Hill nonsense about foreign multi nationals here, are we going to tell Guinness they can only sell in Ireland? The world is a small place and Ireland is punching way above itself attracting multi nationals, majority from USA and UK. That is something we should encourage not complain about. Marlon your wrong our biggest buyer of Irish goods/ faming is the UK market. My post was simply to point out that buying Irish is not always supportingi
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/11/2013 21:50:36
1514499 mike03 County: Limerick Posts: 302
The coverage sky are bidding for would be the UK contract currently held by Premier Sports. It has nothing to do with RTE and won't affect the coverage on Irish tv. And for what it's worth, premier sports don't do a great job so Sky would be a huge addition
How do you mean Premier sports don't do a great job.. all they do is transmit the matches straight from RTE/TV3/TG4 . its the Sunday game live or whatever show is on in Ireland. sometimes you might have 2 or 3 games on in a row with one deferred as they are both on at the same time. also if a game is only on rte.ie they may also transmit that. Premier sports don't really have their own commentators or studio panel. (apart from when the games are broadcast As Gaeilge.. then they have some sort of a studio commentary which is absolute rubbish as the commentatot hasn't a clue). This is a subscription package , so I assume Sky would do the same and put Premier out of business, In fact they might just buy the rights and not show half of it.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 18/11/2013 10:02:30
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 5058
1514397 Hill very few don't have sky dishes these days.
Plenty of people don't, this is a real issue with Sky coming in.
waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 8088
1514425 Hill, People in Ireland don't get to watch the games on Irish TV for free that point is factually incorrect, As far as i'm aware you have to pay 160 euro a year for a TV licence and any household who doesn't hold an up to date TV licence is breaking the law. So don't give me that guff that its free to watch it on RTE, It isn't.
And for Sky Sports you must pay your €160 TV licence fee and then pay for Sky Sports on top of that.
Hill raises an excellent point about pricing people out of watching GAA on TV if Sky Sports were to take over. It is a very real issue. Just like soccer in England has become more and more a middle class thing since Sky Sports came in and the pricing of the traditional working class following out of the game.
The GAA already leans a little too much to the middle classes in terms of support/membership in anyways without doing more to tip it further.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13817 - 18/11/2013 10:03:29