Selling out to Sky Sports

hill16no1man

nobody can still answer my question of how you can be so sure sky will have a super analysis and coverage of gaa?

Sorry hill I didn't realise nobody answered that question for you

answer: We can't be sure, but none of us will ever know if it isn't tried.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/11/2013 16:37:29    1517111

The title of this thread is really anoying. its not selling out. its thinking outside the box. on your coat hill16. think progressivley for once

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 24/11/2013 16:38:50    1517113

Fishermantom
County: Limerick

The title of this thread is really anoying. its not selling out. its thinking outside the box. on your coat hill16. think progressivley for once

thinking outside the box? what like the irish governement,thinking of more ways to make people pay more money.
its regression if you have the matches on free to air stations and then place them on pay per view stations from a foreign company,
thats basically closing the box not thinking outside at all

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/11/2013 16:51:19    1517117

htaem

then why the persistent theme that because sky doen wonders for darts or soccer that they will automatically do brilliant for gaa?
if you get guys who know very little about gaa who are english or get guys who were deemed not good enough by our own stations the odds would be in my book that you would be more likely to have worse analysis not better coverage

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/11/2013 16:52:54    1517118

Fishermantom
County: Limerick

"The title of this thread is really annoying. its not selling out. its thinking outside the box. on your coat hill16. think progressivley for once"

LOL only in Ireland would someone suggest paying more for even less is progressive or thinking outside the box.

Lads it won't happen dream on, speculate away.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 24/11/2013 16:55:57    1517121

hill16no1man

then why the persistent theme that because sky doen wonders for darts or soccer that they will automatically do brilliant for gaa?

You pretty much answered your own question there, you've just given two excellent examples of where Sky does provide great coverage. But anyway as I've said before, we don't know for sure so we can't say for sure.

But let me just ask you a quick question, do you honestly believe that just because you don't know if something will be good or not then you shouldn't try it?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/11/2013 17:11:05    1517126

Htaem

hill16no1man

You pretty much answered your own question there, you've just given two excellent examples of where Sky does provide great coverage. But anyway as I've said before, we don't know for sure so we can't say for sure.

But let me just ask you a quick question, do you honestly believe that just because you don't know if something will be good or not then you shouldn't try it?

i didnt answer it at all,darts and premier league soccer are both realistically english,therefore they will have all the knowledge and guys at their disposal,they can reach out to the british public as they already are fully aware of both of them sports,where as the gaa may as well be alien to the majority of the british public,therefore they will more then likely look for irish guys to come over and present and analyse on their programmes meaning you would be getting guys who were deemed not good enough by our own stations.
to answer your question I do know it will be not good for me or the majority of gaa supporters as it will force us to have to pay a subscription package to watch something which we currently dont need to pay for.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/11/2013 17:23:55    1517130

hill16no1man

to answer your question I do know it will be not good for me or the majority of gaa supporters as it will force us to have to pay a subscription package to watch something which we currently dont need to pay for.

I didn't ask you that, I asked you very simply, do you believe that just because you don't know if something will be good or not then you shouldn't try it? That's a general question.

ie hill = should you or should you not try new things?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/11/2013 17:30:26    1517132

Hill I can think of at least 12 people who would be head and shoulders above what's on offer at present on both rte and tv3.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/11/2013 17:30:42    1517133

Htaem

try new things that will cost you more money for the same thing haha you can turn it into whatever question you like htaem but simply put thats what will happen if sky get the rights,I fail to see how you find this progression?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/11/2013 17:36:45    1517136

royaldunne

Hill I can think of at least 12 people who would be head and shoulders above what's on offer at present on both rte and tv3.

is jamie redknapp one?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/11/2013 17:37:17    1517137

KingdomBoy1

1517103 Athcliath
Jeff stelling is fecking gas, I love watching him on sky sports news on a Saturday evening.

He's very good alright. Id find it hard to watch a full game of premiership soccer , but if ive done a few bets in different divisions , he good craic to watch giving out the results.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/11/2013 17:47:43    1517142

hill16no1man

try new things that will cost you more money for the same thing haha you can turn it into whatever question you like htaem but simply put thats what will happen if sky get the rights,I fail to see how you find this progression?

You would be playing a higher price for the same thing IF Sky gets exclusive rights but quite honestly I see that as very unlikely as do a lot of other posters on here. But anyway it's not what I'm talking about in this instance.

You asked the question: "how you can be so sure sky will have a super analysis and coverage of gaa?" and I answered you honestly that nobody can be sure.

Things like that can't be known without trying, that goes for most new thing in life, you never know how things will go till you've tried, would you agree with that?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/11/2013 17:48:46    1517143

Not one of them hill but here is a few. Graham geraghty great unbiased pieces that he does in the sun, Thomas ose ,:sean boylan, Jason Sherlock,: teddy McCarthy, Larry Tompkins, cian ward (if not returning to Meath) on championship matters once and was brilliant. Nudie Hughes, if they had any sense they should poach lyster as he is only one capable of presenting fire Morrissey and Cahill as quickly as possibleget evanne ni chuiligh not only easy on tthe eye but knows the games inside and out, also the way she put Eddie O'Sullivan in his place at world cup shows she will ask the hard questions . That's just a few . Plenty of others .. and only a idiot would say sky wouldn't do it better than what it is at moment, those that have invested nothing don't need to try hard

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/11/2013 18:04:04    1517153

Athcliath
I'm the same can't watch a full game but I'd watch Jeff and then match of the day then.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2013 18:06:42    1517157

royaldunne
Marlon I wasn't trying to be a smart ass, I just know very few people that don't have a sky dish or UPC . But is anything free to air anymore? Again I'm curious on this one. , since they turned off the analogue transmitter don't you have to have paid for a saor view box or TV? Or added sky or UPC? I mean the old aerials that I grew up with and probably you too were known as the BBC aerial, the massive ones in the garden or on the roof. Can you still get a signal from them?
Look your right not everyone has the full sky package even I upgrade and downgrade during the year. . But times are changing we were only country in western Europe without property tax, and also water charges are immanent. Some times for something to keep going there has to be a charge, as I've said start off with the league and then we can discusstthe championship 5 years down the line , as well as giving sky the overseas rights. Surely that would be acceptable to all. Its not a service that majority can enjoy at present , I haven't a word of Irish like majority of population, so they odd games that tnag show are alien to me unless I turn off sound and put on radio. . Not only would the millions sky would pay for it that would do huge good for the likes of Louth Meath Kildare Wicklow in building new and fit for purpose grounds. But they may just make the leagues relevant and on a par with championship. Surely that is worth it in itself.

I believe there is an intial cost for the equipment (set top box), but after that your set, there's no subscription costs, it is free to air. I guess I can only speak for myself, but I don't want to spend money on something I don't need to. I live abroad at the moment, but when I'm back home, I'd much prefer to watch league games on TG4 for free, rather than have to pay to watch them on Sky. My Irish comprehension isn't the best (I really wish it was better), I find it hard to follow the commentary, but the main thing is I get to see the game, which is really all I want. For free. Money saved for more important things i.e.like impending taxes, charges, and other fun stuff (boo, down with that sort of thing).

I guess I'm looking at this from the general Irish populations view, rather than the view of the GAA coffers. But even at that, whatever they pay for the Irish rights, it couldn't be that much more than what RTE/TV3 are paying for now (could it?), so I don't think it'd mean that much extra money for the association.

And I still fail to see what more Sky would do for hurling and football in the Irish market. Is there a demographic in Ireland that Sky will reach that that free-to-air channels couldn't? I can't see it, I don't think it needs the hype, its not really needed for the Irish market, we already know what we've got. If they can do it in the British market, if there willing to invest in GAA coverage just for the British TV rights, then more power to them. I live in the US myself and would love to see the games on regional affiliates over here (a morning timeslot can't be that hard to get). But for the Irish market, paying for something when you can get it for free, it just doesn't make sense, not to me anyway.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 24/11/2013 18:31:41    1517170

Marlon_JD

And I still fail to see what more Sky would do for hurling and football in the Irish market. Is there a demographic in Ireland that Sky will reach that that free-to-air channels couldn't?

That's a pretty fair point, quite frankly they couldn't do anymore for the Irish market, non-subscription channels will always have more viewers than subscription channels for obvious reasons. My hope for Gaelic games on Sky is that they can tap into the British or even wider markets, it would be great to see our games doing well outside Ireland and Sky could provide an opportunity for that to happen.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/11/2013 18:51:33    1517182

royaldunne

come on man you dont know if any of them guys could be good at all,most are opinionated that you named but remind of colm parkinson on newstalk funny and good at asking questions but there his opinions when asked well lets just say make little sense.
if any of those guys were up for tv work wouldnt setanta have snapped them up ?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/11/2013 19:32:53    1517214

They best two writers of football are o'se and gg. By a long long way, rte are tied into contracts and tv3 went for names, they had sean before he became Ill and after recovery they were too tied into contracts. Sky wouldn't be as armature as them mickey mouse efforts that get worse year on year, its all crap at this stage and I for one would gladly pay for better, it can't be much worse unless they hired the lads from tnag and that's unlikely.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/11/2013 19:58:04    1517247

geraghty is good but tomas o se hasnt done much,if you ment darragh o se well then i cannot agree as hes brutal in the papers and on tv3,to be fair senan connell is the most natural and comfotable on tv out of all the gaa guys,not saying his opinions are 100% but he looks relaxed talking and not nervous.
No way would I rather pay money to hear more people trying to influence your opinions,I genrally watch the match and turn off when commentary or half time break as I turn on rte to watch the match I dont need other to tell me what im watching,
I wish one of the stations doing it would have the option to turn off the commentary and just hear the atmosphere like you were at the match,wouldnt have to listen to anybody then.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/11/2013 20:39:49    1517275