Mancirish County: UK Good man Htaem, and fair play brend, but I think the term I'm all right Jack fits in perfectly with Hill…. So the 20 million people in Britain with Irish links don't count. And I thought the GAA was all one big happy family, O how naive I was….
To be fair, I think hill just clarified it was the Irish market he was against Sky getting GAA rights to, not the British market. I don't think anyone would have a problem with that.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 22/11/2013 15:57:35
Mancirish
I think Sky would do a good job once they got genuine Gaa people to host, analyse and commentate on their coverage of Gaa, they shouldn't really do any worse than RTE and certainly no worse than TV3 anyway and as far as promotion goes I'd expect them to be a lot better. Only problem is I'd imagine that a lot of people would have preconceived notions that their coverage would be useless and it's hard to combat that.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2013 16:10:40
I am not sure what Sky would do if they get UK rights, I would expect they would just repackage RTE's coverage much as Setanta and Premier have done.
Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 22/11/2013 17:00:29
Mancirish
did you read my post at all? i have no problem with them getting the rights in britian,I said getting irish rights for games is the problem. you talk about me not caring about people abroad in all honesty your the one who seems to only care about whats good for your so called 20 million who left ireland ahead of the people who live in ireland where 99% of the matches take place, if it means the people who follow these countys all over ireland were to suffer just so that people who dont can get to see the games do you think thats fair?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/11/2013 12:41:57
Foreverwhining Your the one who mentioned racism, you said it in your first post and I only asked was your comment about Kerry not racist then? Read your first post.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/11/2013 14:22:56
Yes Hill I did read your post and I repeat it stinks of as long as I am alright Jack I couldn't give a t*** about the rest of the Irish Community in the World…
And your second paragraph backs up my thoughts perfectly. Do you know why my parents left Ireland and moved to England and probably well over 90% of the people who left Ireland from the areas they were born and raised?
Well you being Jack probley wouldn't care but I'll tell you anyway. They had no choice they both came from large families with little or no chance of making a go of life in the small holdings they were born in. They were not fortunate enough to be born into a rich family and had to leave just to have half a chance of a decent life. They hit the boat for England with nothing in there pockets just to try and find some work. They would even send home cash and presents to the younger ones still at home just to keep the family alive… Times were tough back in the 50's, you haven't got a clue mate and you think it is bad in Ireland now….
Posters have tried to explain to you all the way through this thread that no-one knows what TV packages are being looked at but all you are bothered about is YOU keeping YOUR free viewing of OUR games get that OUR games. You don't own them they are the games of Irish people and they should be shared across the world as unfortunately so many have had to move due circumstances totally out of there control. Unfortunately I have met numerous Irish people who have never lived anywhere other than Ireland which I am betting is probley you who are so narrow minded it frightening.
Here's the best bit you have Croker in your back yard you can visit every day if you like, unfortunately it is a flight for me so who do you think needs to see the games on TV more??????
And just a little foot note for you, England hasn't really got a national sport but I would say football is the closet to it and the most supported. Guess what the majority of the live games are not free to view they are on Sky, I pay to watch them if I choose, I think I should have a similar choice with GAA games and I WILL PAY for them because they mean that much to me….. It would seem they don't to you….
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 23/11/2013 15:19:12
Mancirish
I'm with Jack and Hill on this one. I just can't see why I would want to pay for my GAA on TV? Not even if it was my patriotic duty. I pay through the nose just to get into certain juvenile finals never mind the Inter-county matches.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 23/11/2013 17:12:42
To listen to some people here, its like the last 5 years never happened. Surely we should be looking to ease the financial strains on Irish households, not increase them. I can only think of 2 people I know at home who have Sky Sports, both single men in their early 30's who suffered no (or very little) adverse effects during the recession. Most other people I know are making do with the free to air channels, and a broadband connection. My friends with kids have especially struggled, alot of them giving up previous cable/satelite TV subscriptions because it was just a luxury they could no longer afford. Every elderly person I know at home seems to only watch the News, Winning Streak (I know), and GAA matches on the Irish channels, and listen to the radio (aka the wireless) for everything else.
I'm really taken aback by how open people are to having to pay for a new TV package, then pay for sports channels on top of that, just to watch GAA matches in Ireland, regardless of who's charging or where their from. We should be looking for the opposite, we should be looking to have more things on free to air TV, not less. Lets make things better, not worse.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 23/11/2013 17:58:00
I would love if there was a law or something passed at congress that the big wigs in the GAA can't sell off our heritage not just the highest bidder but the only bidder.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/11/2013 18:02:40
Lads , I think we would have no complaints if sky were to pay a dividend to the gaa, like what happened to the English F.A , where there grass roots received a windfall of 102 million over three year period .What would this do for our clubs , county stadiums , coaching staff , understand it wouldn't be next or near the amount they received ,but tesco moto, every little helps!
cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 23/11/2013 18:38:32
Mancirish
your the one who doesnt care about the people in ireland having to fork out money to watch championship matches as long as it suits the exiles and means they get better coverage so I dont see where your getting off accusing me of that. its the irish national sport played in ireland surely you can understand they should put irish people first ahead of exiles living abroad.you say you werent born into rich family as if you are saying I am? im out of work as we speak,I dont have much money to my name I have a wife,I dont own my own house so yeah I am finding it tough but I never once mention it hear or whinge or moan as there are far worse then me in the world,im happy living in ireland regardless and would never want to emigrate as i value living in ireland ahead of earning more money abroad.
no i have stated numerous times till im blue in the face that there would have to be a guarantee that if sky came on board it would be for uk rights only,I have no problem with them having the uk rights and allowing exiles to see the games who would?but obviously it would not be right that they would be allowed get irish rights for irelands national sport and charge us money to see it,that would be going backwards not progression. I pay alot of money to play the sport,attend club matches,follow dublin up and down the country so why should i LIKE THOUSANDS OF OTHERS HAVE TO FORK OUT MONEY AT THE EXPENSE OF PEOPLE LIVING ABROAD. SKY has made soccer in england become a pay per view sport you think that is right that just shows they are a money men only not about the promotion of the games,they have forced the sport to become middle to upper class, your being a hypocrite as you play the poor mouth about your family having to leave ireland and not having the money to stay yet you turn around and accuse me of not caring about the sport because I dont have the money to pay to watch it and tell me you care more about it because you are willing to pay what they want you too,thats very much snobbery
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/11/2013 18:42:56
Manc
Seriously man Hill has clearly stated that he has no problem with Sky acquiring the rights to show games in the UK or elsewhere. He has stated it a few times now.
I don't know what him being a Jack has to do with the history lesson either. I suppose we're immune to poverty and emigration here........
Hill, like others, has entirely justifiable qualms with people in Ireland having to pay extra to watch the Championship. You may well think that if the rights for the UK as well as Ireland are bundled together that those of us here should pay up to ensure that exiles can watch the games. Others may disagree and are entitled to their viewpoint. However I would be very surprised if the rights were bundled.
That leaves me to ask why do you feel that people in Ireland should have to pay extra to watch the GAA Championships at a time when many people are struggling financially?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13817 - 23/11/2013 20:06:31
Mancirish 100% agree. Is there that few people around tipp with no sky dishes. Honestly I could count how many people around athlone and Mullingar that don't have UPC or sky. Is it really that rare in tipp? Same my elderly mother has sky the full package (likes the movies and loves the darts :). But all that aside I would have no qualms with sky taking over, the best solution if they were to show matches in Ireland is rte remains broadcasting of semis and finals sky can also show them pay per view. I'd give sky exclusive rights to all other matches in particular the leagiue . Start with league and see how it goes. It'd be a welcomed additionto the god aawful stuff by TV 3 and particularly tnag honestly a kid with a cam on mobile phone would do better than that lot
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/11/2013 20:06:48
royaldunne
nobody can still answer my question of how you can be so sure sky will have a super analysis and coverage of gaa? sky will either have english guys who know very little about gaa or irish guys who our own stations deemed not good enough to use. just look at setanta its a pay per view station but their analysts dont do any better,so I dont see where people can be 100% sure that sky will be brilliant at covering gaa when you dont know who will be presenting or analysizing for them.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/11/2013 20:37:12
Ha ha kingdomboy! Foreverwhining! I take my hat off to you man
flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 23/11/2013 20:38:01
In order to watch the hurling in the Glens we need to buy a Sky subscription already as it's the only way to get RTE & TG4 (TV3 isn't available on it so can't watch their matches unless I download them). Saorview not here yet but on the way, once it is Sky will be cancelled as the one-off cost for Saorview is cheaper than just one year's subscription to Sky.
As for helping expats watch the games, if the GAA were genuinely interested in them they would have made the RTE coverage available years ago for free, either through satellite, streamed them online via youtube/vimeo, or downloadable via bittorrent (as several websites have for 6 years now). As it is we can see clearly what Croke Park's priorities are (that's if having club championships in November isn't enough evidence already, or inventing new forms of hurling to send abroad rather than helping the real sport).
Benandonner (Antrim) - Posts: 459 - 23/11/2013 21:02:50
royaldunne County: Meath Is there that few people around tipp with no sky dishes. Honestly I could count how many people around athlone and Mullingar that don't have UPC or sky. Is it really that rare in tipp?
I can't speak for all Tipp people, just people I know (who are scattered throughout the country). And even if someone has a Sky dish, that doesn't mean they have Sky Sports, does it? I know a number of people who've had Sky/UPC subscriptions, and have given them up in the past 2 years. I think maybe we've experienced different realities of living in Ireland, but they're still seems to be a head-in-the-sand Celtic Tiger attitude of assuming everyone has money, and money's no object to anything. But we're probably both old enough to know that's a damaging attitude to have as a prevalent one in society. Utlimately, for me, this isn't about a particular company or where its from. I just don't want GAA on TV restricted to just those who can afford it. The more things free to air, the better. The less families have to shell out on, or they cheaper they can live and have a decent standard of living, the better.
What exactly are people looking for in presentation? As long as you get to see the game, are the bell and whistles really that important? Ok, football punditry leaves alot to be desired, but I've never had any issue when it comes to RTE's hurling presentation or analysis. If anything it seems to be getting better. Does something have to be on Sky to have merit?
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 23/11/2013 21:25:48
I can see it now, jeff stelling hosting Gillette Gaelic Saturday.
Now we go straight to Oisin MC Conville their has just been a goal in the crossmaglen game. Roar in the corner from dara o ceinnide ,"has there been a score Dara", yes jeff an ghaeltacht have just got an equalising point .
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/11/2013 21:27:09
Marlon I wasn't trying to be a smart ass, I just know very few people that don't have a sky dish or UPC . But is anything free to air anymore? Again I'm curious on this one. , since they turned off the analogue transmitter don't you have to have paid for a saor view box or TV? Or added sky or UPC? I mean the old aerials that I grew up with and probably you too were known as the BBC aerial, the massive ones in the garden or on the roof. Can you still get a signal from them? Look your right not everyone has the full sky package even I upgrade and downgrade during the year. . But times are changing we were only country in western Europe without property tax, and also water charges are immanent. Some times for something to keep going there has to be a charge, as I've said start off with the league and then we can discusstthe championship 5 years down the line , as well as giving sky the overseas rights. Surely that would be acceptable to all. Its not a service that majority can enjoy at present , I haven't a word of Irish like majority of population, so they odd games that tnag show are alien to me unless I turn off sound and put on radio. . Not only would the millions sky would pay for it that would do huge good for the likes of Louth Meath Kildare Wicklow in building new and fit for purpose grounds. But they may just make the leagues relevant and on a par with championship. Surely that is worth it in itself.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/11/2013 09:52:44
Athcliath Jeff stelling is fecking gas, I love watching him on sky sports news on a Saturday evening.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2013 16:23:40