Selling out to Sky Sports

hill

Ok I'm going to be terse here because this is all way off topic and going nowhere fast.

how is it nonsense did they or did they not invade them countires and causing terror on inncoent people?

They did invade and conquer but so did many other countries, you can't just choose the one which suits you and label them the worst.

the idea of monarchys in general in the 21st century is astonishing and a testament to how strong their media is at keeping people from understanding or indeed caring.

I don't personally see the point in monarchies myself either other than maybe they bring in tourists but it's not the media which keeps people from caring it's the fact that people have lives to live which keeps them from caring.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/11/2013 21:19:40    1516354

Just saw this article, spells out why Sky might be interested in the rights to show GAA matches in the Irish market, as well as the problems that might present to alot of people. It may not be as far fetched as we thought...

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/paddy-heaney/money-talks-loudest-as-skys-the-limit-for-gaa-250313.html

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 21/11/2013 21:31:37    1516360

Htaem your posts are both articulate and indeed very acurate. But you are wasting your time trying to reason with these sorts. They are either too blind or uneducated to understand.

Rd indeed I was born for my sins in the rotunda moved back to uk when I was 2 as my gran had become ill.
Moved back here 4 years ago permantly. But these lads tha say to be all iris probably can't speak a word of their native language, whereas I am fluent in it, spent my summers in raithcairn, of course it is the same hurt as what those players went true, racism xenophobia or whatever is all about targetting people who they perceive to be different the same applies to homophobia. Many peolple of difeerent race have spoken to me about this and pointed it out that it is exact same and mesamis is either deluded or another one with head in sand to say otherwise

The master again excellent post and spot on actually jayo himself said racism is just one form of abuse that xenaphobia and homophobia is just as bad. This from the darling of the hill, how disapointed would he be if he saw his fans try to defend the very thing that he has tried to fight against all his life.
Hill , I'm that poster? Why didn't you put in the brit? Eh
You were one that mentioned british, that was your problem and to be honest with you I have been dealing with your kind since I moved back home, and not one have got the better of me, I'm 24 6ft 2 and very athletic so like the tyrone boys that tried to start their ignorant taunts in croke park towards me and my friends when we stood up and went over to them they shut up mighty quick, like all racists and xenophobics they nothing more than brainless cowards.
And the kerry lad that wants kerry treated as a race? Brilliant honestly ignorance and stupidity is alive and well in the kingdom.
So to clarify I was born in this country my birthcert says county of birth ireland, I hold a irish passport , I speak the language fluently (unlike 80% of population) I've played football and hurling since I could walk , I have flown into dublin for matches with my dad and flown out same day.
As for monachy? That's scraping the barrell I have no view on them armies and goverments are they same all across the world but that's life, I mean this country elected the same goverment 3 times running that nearly destroyed the country forever , by way did you complain about the chancellor giving 2 billion to ireland at the time?
I seen my father get this same crap in uk from idiots I didn't stand for it then and I won't stand for it now just cause they are now irish idiots giving the crap.
Great to see so many enlightened posters from many different counties even the odd one from dublin, there's hope for you yet.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 21/11/2013 21:51:48    1516382

Foreverroyal, for someone so thin-skinned, your very quick to throw out insults. If you go to any match you'll hear people mocked over where theyre from, sheepsh**er, jackeen, culchie, etc. If your playing, you'll get much worse off your marker if the going gets tough. I've never met jayo or chin, but ive never met an intercounty player who couldn't dish it out. As you say, your not even English, so why do you let it get to you? (if your not just pretending, which I suspect). Ive heard every kind of abuse thrown during matches, most of which would earn a dig if it weren't on the pitch, but I've never heard a grown man crying about it afterwards. Yiz must be made of different stuff up in Meath.

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/11/2013 09:10:29    1516402

The original thread was about Sky having rights (unspecified) to show GAA games. There is no scaremongering in saying Sky will look for exclusitivety in any TV deals its the way they operate. Sky specifically need the GAA summer championship coverage to pick up their own figures as once soccer stops their subscriptions nosedive in Ireland. The Setanta deal covers the league Sky don't want the league they want the big ticket item end off. This hits their advertising revenue, they need the GAA championship.
There are huge problems in this as recognised by this commentary, "....... it makes a lot of commercial sense for the GAA to do business with Sky. However, what Croke Park executives like Peter McKenna must always remember is this - the GAA is not a commercial organisation. "

Opposition to this "deal" has nothing to do with Strongbow, Henry II, Cromwell or indeed the famine. Nor has it anything to with Lee Chin or Jayo either. Some people need to get a grip.

McKenna and Co will have to thread very warily. Simply turning around and saying this will bring more money into the GAA won't wash ultimately with the people who have the final say. Not least our Dail TDs who certainly won't allow GAA summer championship games move off live free-to-air TV.

As for others critising TG4's coverage they do a very fine service in presenting the FULL range of GAA sports unlike our so-called national broadcaster. Club championshiops, schools championships, league, ladies football and soon to be added camogie. They more than anyone are enhancing actual real participation in the games. The likes of Sky promote themselves and well good luck to them and all who sail in their boat.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 22/11/2013 09:17:34    1516406

foreverroyal

I am deluded? hhhhmmm

I just don't think your comparison of anti-British sentiment in the Republic of Ireland to the real racism and xenophobia that exists in this country is a fair one. It is melodramatic to say the least. I work with minorities that are victimised in this country for where they or their parents come from all the time and to see you putting the suffering of the British in Ireland on an equal footing as that is frankly disgusting.

You'd wanna step outside into the real world for awhile.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13817 - 22/11/2013 09:25:36    1516409

For what it's worth, I don't see any problem with sky having the rights outside Ireland, it's a mess the way it is now anyway, I'm sure they'd make a better stab at it. But it'd want to be more than 1.5 million, for those peanuts I'd prefer they made them free to view on line, as someone said it's impossible to watch a match abroad unless your lucky enough to find a genuine Irish bar. Now's a chance to make a real stab at globalising the games a bit, what with interest popping up everywhere

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/11/2013 10:16:17    1516429

Right then I think we are all agreed that the promotion of GAA sports away from Ireland is/will be a good thing. If Sky do it and it dose not effect games being shown in Ireland everyone will be happy yes?

I love Gaelic football and I hope a package is sorted out for us to watch OUR games at long last. Keep it up Peter and spread the GAA word, we are trying our best over here for you and top level games on national TV will only help us promote the games and let them grow ….:)

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 22/11/2013 13:25:57    1516542

Mancirish
County: UK

Right then I think we are all agreed that the promotion of GAA sports away from Ireland is/will be a good thing. If Sky do it and it dose not effect games being shown in Ireland everyone will be happy yes?

I love Gaelic football and I hope a package is sorted out for us to watch OUR games at long last. Keep it up Peter and spread the GAA word, we are trying our best over here for you and top level games on national TV will only help us promote the games and let them grow ….:)

Can anyone confirm whether or the BBC once showed an AI final nationally on BBC2 in the early 80's? It could well have been the Dublin V Galway final, I have this cloudy image in my mind of Barry Davies, yes that Barry Davies, reporting pitch side pre match and struggling to pronounce Connacht. Did this really happen or did the sheer tedium of life in the North in the 80's addle my brain?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/11/2013 13:56:43    1516554

yes mancirish but the problem is sky taking over the irish rights for games

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/11/2013 14:25:41    1516574

W

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/11/2013 14:27:23    1516576

Well said hill, that's the jist of it alright.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/11/2013 14:28:18    1516579

Mancirish

I think most people would be happy with that, some people will panic as soon as they hear Sky being mentioned but I think that's a bit premature. Let's wait and see what the plans are first, I'm lucky enough to have Sky so it won't effect me either way but I can understand people's fears about a certain amount of exclusive games on Sky, although I don't see that happening.

Personally having thought about I'd love to see how Gaelic games would get on if they were on Sky. Sky does a great of promoting sports and it would be no harm to let them have a few Gaa matches to see how things go, could be a great opportunity to grow our games but we won't know if we don't try.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2013 14:54:46    1516591

Anyone that can make darts sound like its hunger games has got to be good at sports promotion Htaem!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/11/2013 15:04:15    1516597

You're dead right brend.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2013 15:10:01    1516603

Good man Htaem, and fair play brend, but I think the term I'm all right Jack fits in perfectly with Hill…. So the 20 million people in Britain with Irish links don't count. And I thought the GAA was all one big happy family, O how naive I was….

But your right Htaem lets just see where this goes before jumping to conclusions, nobody knows what the plans are and who may be interested in the matches, but I'm with you guys you would expect Sky to do a decent job as they have done with all the sports they show. A very well run Sports Channel is how I see them anyway. I'm sure they would poach staff from RTE etc if they did start to show some games.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 22/11/2013 15:20:32    1516611

a shame Sid Wadell has passed away would have loved to hear he commentate on hurling!

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 22/11/2013 15:23:25    1516616

Roy Keane and Martin O'Neill might have a go in there spare time. Both very entertaining on the TV and Martin being a former Derry player I bet he'd be great...:)

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 22/11/2013 15:32:20    1516622

Brend you may be right there, it was refereed by John Gough (Or John Off as he was known in Antrim) and that was his nickname before he did this match. Im not sure if im correct but was he the first referee from the north to do an all ireland final, may or may not explain why they showed it.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 22/11/2013 15:37:01    1516628

Thanks bumpernut, I thought I was going mad.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/11/2013 15:47:44    1516634