Players that never fullfilled their potential

fair point about the commitment anchorman, those fellas put in a huge effort for a long time to play for their and seem to get abused from every angle for doing so, my superstars comment might have a bit OTT...hopefully some of the lads mentioned above can do the same

tubbertom (Offaly) - Posts: 2 - 05/09/2008 17:01:10    94026

in reply to everhopeful, Niall spain came through the Edenderry age structure not Rhode, he went to primary school in rhode. Bobby McDonnell also came through Edenderry before getting injured and moving to Australia. Ciaran Reilly also had his career cut short due to injury

Daithi08 (Offaly) - Posts: 53 - 05/09/2008 21:04:57    94121

Daiti08,
yeah nice players the lot of them, Reilly in particular was a very promising underage player, never quite made the transition to senior. There was a few players from the town around that age that never quite made it for one reason or another. Mark O'Connor, Ciaran Murphy, Colm Mc's younger brother cant think of his name.

That being said the step up from underage to senior is a serious one and players really need to want it to be able to do it. Any thoughts on who's going to take over or any rumours floating around the county? I hear from sources close to Dublin football that Paul Bealin is interested as is Tommy Carr and Luke Dempsey. If the county board have a good look we could end up with a quality manager.

The Anchorman (Offaly) - Posts: 122 - 08/09/2008 10:46:45    94836

anchorman- kenny mac is his name i think?

yea,if they get on to it quickly they will get someone decent. luke is in line for the laois job,i would like to see him with offaly.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 08/09/2008 12:04:33    94985

I heard that Richie Connor & Seamus Darby together have expressed interest in the Offaly job. How do ye think they would do ?

Luke Dempsey or Steven Darby would get my vote.

OffalyGaa (Offaly) - Posts: 57 - 08/09/2008 13:31:46    95166

I heard that Richie Connor & Seamus Darby together have expressed interest in the Offaly job. How do ye think they would do ?

Luke Dempsey or Steven Darby would get my vote.
----------------------------------------------

Seamus Darby? doubt that very very much

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 08/09/2008 14:26:32    95232

Why is that ??

OffalyGaa (Offaly) - Posts: 57 - 08/09/2008 15:13:44    95292

Seamus Darby and Richie Connor? Interesting proposal .. would like to see the boys do well if they get the chance but would also like to see someone with a bit more intercounty experience in there. Thats the same reason i'm not sure Stephen Darby would be right for the job. That being said, I dont care who takes over if they get the best out of the players! I just want to see Offaly back competeing in Leinster, at least running Dublin to the pin of their collar. Beating the Laois/Westmeath and Wicklows of this world.

The Anchorman (Offaly) - Posts: 122 - 08/09/2008 15:46:21    95332

seamus has had nothing to do with football in a long time,as far as i know. you would need some one who has been around a succesful team or at least has been challenging for top spot and i dont think ritchie has that.either has seamus. stephan would have that after his exploits with the village but would other players from around the country look up to him?
you have to remember a lot of rhodes success was built on captain alan and ecerybody had respect for stephan as he would have trained everybody at a lower grade.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 08/09/2008 16:31:19    95390

Rhodejim, Stephen Darby is one of the few Offaly men to have an All-Ireland medal and if players dont have respect for him then they have no right going anywhere near an offaly team. Stephen did a fantastic job with the Rhode lads but that being said they were/still are a seriously talented team. I hear he is managing a team in Kildare now, hows that going?

I think Intercounty is a different sort of management style because you have to go out there and pick the best players in the county/from the county. I would like to see Stephen get a go I think he's got a great passion for the game and for Offaly football in particular. Can anyone tell me is Mark Cassidy still playing ball and is he playing with UCD?

The Anchorman (Offaly) - Posts: 122 - 09/09/2008 10:49:00    95854

As far as i know he is in spain. big loss to rhode.

burgandy1 (Offaly) - Posts: 213 - 09/09/2008 12:07:25    95951

stephan is managing johnstownbridge,intermediate team in kildare. they won at the weekend,pretty sure they are in a 1/4 final now.
mark cassidy is studying and working in spain at the moment.well i think they he is studying anyway.rumors of him coming home are unfounded at the moment.i doubt there is much football in spain but he had a great head for the game and a lack of match pratice wouldnt trouble him too much. I would think that he might be home for next years championship but you wouldn't know with the man.would be a great addition to the set-up.

anyone the referees for the weekends games? big weekend of football coming up.all four teams are kind of on the same level.rhode have mac,tullamore have o'grady and ballycumber have rory guinan.whereas gracefield have the best midfielder in niall smith.with the bad weather thats been forecast,scores will be low and probably the teams that want it most will be in the final.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 09/09/2008 12:23:37    95980

Regarding comments made by Daithi Regan he has some cheek to be critical of Davy Fitzgerald, if he is so passionate about hurling let him go and train Offaly hurlers. Davy Fitzgerald is one of the greatest goalie we have seen in our lifetime and I do not think its fair to be critical of him. I think that Daithi Regan has some cheek,

_exile1949 (None) - Posts: 36 - 09/09/2008 15:51:20    96365

As I said 3 days ago Richie Connor & Seamus Darby look set to become the new management team for Offaly. (Listen to me the next time RhodeJim ha ha!!)

I think both will put a lot of effort in and can see them getting Offaly back on the road to success!

How do others think these lads would do if they get the job???

OffalyGaa (Offaly) - Posts: 57 - 11/09/2008 13:43:24    98034

alright offalygaa. I just couldnt/cannot see seamus darby in a managerial post. anyway,ritchie has tried to get the job a couple of times with other people with him. in my humble (and irrevelant opinion) i cannot see this working.guys there a long time,ie-shaper,niall,thommo,alan,shane,maccy,paudge kelly,paschal etc. will not be 100% commited,gaurentee it.they need a guy like luke or micky moran. just an opinion.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 11/09/2008 15:27:13    98164

So is Seamus Darby and Ritchi a defo then?

Rhodejim I wouldnt worry about some of them lads not being 100% as far as I have heard so far Paschal is retiring either way. I would imagine the break will do Niall and Alan and Shane the world of good. On top of that McManus give's 100% no matter what. If the lads do come in do you think they should go for open trials again or would it be a better idea to let them call in everyone they've seen in the championship? Other questions spring to mind maybe we should start a new thread for discussing it?

The Anchorman (Offaly) - Posts: 122 - 16/09/2008 10:51:49    100627

start it up anchorman.
i think it would be better to call in players as the management sees fit. i wouldnt rule out watching players in league games and adding players who are playing well for there club.look at tyrone calling back stevie o'neill.i do not like the idea of a closed panel for january till championship.
as regards my own clubs players-it seems super,niall,david egan and shane (i think) are taking a long break and travelling in november and by all accounts paschal has no intention of going back.the two darbys would be on board but i dont think anyone else. but i suppose some posters here will say offaly are better off without the rhode lads....
in my opinion,and from talking to county panelists at the weekend, playing county football seems to be a chore for a lot of lads and they dont really want to do it.how are we expected to compete when no1 really wants to play?there just isn't enough competition for places.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/09/2008 11:44:28    100670

RhodeJim... How can you say that no1 wants to play for Offaly. I for one bursted my **** at the open trails last year, I was one of the fittest in there, stayed well hydrated as instructed unlike others, met Pat Roes flexibility standards and every thing else he said he was looking for and then was dropped around January. I even cancelled a weeks holiday around the time so I wouldn't miss three pre-season trainings. And then for Roe to turn around weild the axe and keep lads that weren't bothered and in my opinion didn't push themselves in pre season and as you say didn have the desire to be there sickens me and leaves the foulest taste in my mouth. This is exactly why we need a manager who will recognise the players who are hungry to represent their county. Rant over...

OffalyGaa (Offaly) - Posts: 57 - 16/09/2008 14:05:42    100836

Rhode jim how long is a long break.
i dont think anyone would like to see us without niall and how reliable is that info

everHOPEFUL1 (Offaly) - Posts: 3 - 16/09/2008 15:33:38    100932

well thats just it mate-you hit the nail on the head there. lads who wer'nt bothered.them lads still aren't bothered.
i wasnt having a go at guys like yourself,in fact i wasn't having a go at anyone realy.its just a pity that the really talented players are certain of there place so they get complacent.
look at your story and compare it to this. a regular for rhode for the last 4 years and in my opinion one of our best defenders hates been called into to play for offaly,so much so that he dropped himself two years ago and was still called back in later.he just doesnt have the appetite to play for offaly.at the end of the day thats his choice.
in all fairness we cant make lads be interested in football for offaly.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/09/2008 15:54:54    100972