I want Portumna to win but if they are going to lose to anyone I'd like it to be a team like MLR. Congrats to them. We need more like them to strengthen the worlds greatest sport in the "weaker" counties. WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 14/02/2014 22:01:34 1546305 Link 0 |
A team for Antrim won All Ireland junior club c ship today. Apparently half the team are under 21. What a fantastic achievement for any team but for a team geographically removed n terms of challenge games and prep work it is truly fantastic. Im sure true hurling men will join with me in sending our congrats up North and wish them success in the intermediate equivalent in the next few years. A sincere congrats lads from limerick disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 15/02/2014 21:17:50 1546617 Link 0 |
hard luck to MLR.Great year for the club.My god Barry Kelly gave everything to Joe Canning.Anything he went to ground he got a handy free. Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 17/03/2014 15:26:36 1560885 Link 0 |
Great achievement by a club that many thought were past it. Galway have some record in this competition, 6 of the last 9 finals have been won by clubs from there and 12 of the last 24. Six different clubs in them 12 successes as well. Makes the performance of their county team all the more mystifying. Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 17/03/2014 15:46:39 1560891 Link 0 |
Gael85 don't choke on those sour grapes! If you cared to look at the game, Port were playing in only second gear for the majority of it and yes MLR did make it physical and did foul a lot in my opinion. The Port forwards did not play as well as they usually can but they still won the game comfortably by 8 points with many of the forwards scoring a couple of points each and even though Joe was not at his best today he also chipped in with 10 points and a couple from play from midfield. The Port team of about 5 years ago would probably would have won that game by about 15 points. However MLR can feel proud of their achievements to reach a senior club final and there was great old banter between the Galway and Carlow people. That is 13 out of the last 22 AI club finals (including 6 out of the last 9) won by Galway teams which is some record alright. tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 17/03/2014 16:34:31 1560931 Link 0 |
No sour grapes here. Best team won. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 17/03/2014 16:50:24 1560935 Link 0 |
Potumna deserved that without having to work for it too hard. Delighted for Portumna, hard luck Mount Leinster. arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 17/03/2014 17:07:08 1560947 Link 0 |
Mount Leinster looked very nervous at times, alot of handling errors which resulted in soft scores for Portumna, who didn't really have to do much to win. Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/03/2014 17:14:13 1560961 Link 0 |
Tommy K.it great achievement for Portuma to win 4th title in 9 years but Kelly did give ye handy frees and bottled giving a couple Portuma lads a 2nd yellow.Portuma would of won regardless of the referee. Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 17/03/2014 17:17:09 1560967 Link 0 |
hi all new here great fourm ye no lot about hurling and foot herbie22 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 4 - 17/03/2014 17:43:54 1561012 Link 0 |
Gael85 if you take off the somewhat biased hat you're wearing and take a look at a replay of the game, you will find that MLR got a lot more soft frees than Port did that kept them in the game and made the final scoreline somewhat respectable from their point of view. tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 17/03/2014 17:44:41 1561013 Link 0 |
well anytime Canning jumped to the floor,he got his frees handy.Canning was lucky to be plying after his antics in the semi. Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 17/03/2014 17:52:34 1561021 Link 0 |
the football was a great game to day herbie22 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 4 - 17/03/2014 18:06:55 1561033 Link 0 |
Gael85 Joe Canning was fouled for those frees as many teams do knowing how dangerous he is. If you can't admit that you know nothing about hurling as it has been happening to Joe all through his career. MLR did make it a physical contest and they referee was very lenient not booking any of them for most of the game (except towards the end) but booking Port players for less serious challenges. Anyway Port won't be too worried about your biased viewpoint thankfully! tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 18/03/2014 08:55:00 1561269 Link 0 |
Some achievements by Portumna. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4246 - 18/03/2014 10:27:57 1561324 Link 0 |
Fair play to Portumna. Far better team and hardly moved out of 3rd gear all day. You have to wonder at the structure of the club championships though. Leinster and Munster teams slogging it out in Sept oct dec and jan to get to croke park. Antrim and Galway champs get Bye to AI semi in february and really only one match to play in all ireland. A national open draw among the 12-14 counties who are represented and 4 rounds to win the all ireland would be much fairer and get the whole thing played before christmas. jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 18/03/2014 10:49:18 1561336 Link 0 |
It was a poor game of hurling yesterday I though the football was far more entertaining, maybe the cold breeze made good hurling difficult but I was left feeling both teams were capable of much better.Surprised to hear people moaning about frees, the frees awarded were correct in my view . Regardless of frees Portumna were the better team.MLR didn't make the most of the wind in the first half, they were far too cautious. Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 18/03/2014 11:07:04 1561364 Link 0 |
pcampion martinprince (Tyrone) - Posts: 187 - 18/03/2014 11:29:59 1561387 Link 0 |
People saying the hurling wasn't great but there was some super defending & points scored from both sides. Portumna are worthy champions! keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/03/2014 12:34:53 1561445 Link 0 |
yeah JPCampion, what planet are you on? Also the Galway Champions arguably have THE toughest club Championship to get to the All Ireland Semi - Final so its not as if they are just playing one or 2 games in Galway. They are play a few matches, and if you ever seen a Galway club championship match you would know they are not a walk in the park. Also the Antrim Champions have a few games to play in their championship and every third year I believe get a bye into the final, with the other 2 years shared between the Down and Derry Champions. grandagrokepoke (Down) - Posts: 347 - 18/03/2014 13:09:01 1561479 Link 0 |