All-Ireland club hurling championship

To easy to foul full-forwards at edge of square(especially under high ball), or just playing a sweeper like Clare did. The easiest position to counter him if you do it right.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 09/02/2014 11:35:55    1543371

Of course he should have walked. He "picked up" downes for a first half free n lets just say queens bury rules did not apply. Would rebel " be ok with" Downes taking law into his own hands. The big differences last night were joe canning and ports experience or sideline ( maybe both). As everyone else says joe should have walked so NA P have a right to feel aggrieved . Better team won in end though.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 09/02/2014 11:36:04    1543372

Yes i would, what's the point of sport if there isn't some sort of law being applied to protect you from cheating? Why in the name of god would i be biased towards Portumna? The fact that if you're being fouled than you have some right to be protected either by the law or yourself has nothing to do with my view of Portumana.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 09/02/2014 11:56:34    1543384

Your dead right westisbest, Ollie canning won some very sneaky frees, while himself was doing the fouling,as did one portumna player at the end of the first half. the commentater on tg4 (fleury i think) was admiring his cunningness instead of calling him out. Pretty bad, and nearly always commited by the player in posession. Then theycomplain aboutcheating in soccer!!
Na Piarsaigh completely lost their shape in the second half, they looked a bit short on leadership, pity for them because the match was there for the taking. Well done Portumna all the same, they took their chances.
Did anyone notice when Andy smith was about through on goal, he circled all the way around to strike off his right, losing the goal opportunity? Is he very one-sided? i wouldnt have thought so

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 09/02/2014 11:56:59    1543385

Bias comment was directed at Galway man talking bout soft frees only going to NA p . What u r talking about is nonsense. If Downes had taken law into his own hands he woulda been sent off. No one who played the game doesn't have to mix it from time to time.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 09/02/2014 12:32:34    1543405

Bias comment was directed at Galway man talking bout soft frees only going to NA p . What u r talking about is nonsense. If Downes had taken law into his own hands he woulda been sent off. No one who played the game doesn't have to mix it from time to time.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 09/02/2014 12:32:59    1543406

I don't think anyone can deny the fact Portumna were the better team last night re canning it was a red card no doubt about it,the reason for me Nap lost was that too many players were not at the races last night.Cannings class was there for all to see,i wouldn't despond if i were a Nap man though its still a very young side and they have a few more v good young players coming through and i would be surprised if they didn't get another chance to win the all irl.

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 09/02/2014 13:33:00    1543424

Delighted for MLR & for Carlow hurling folk.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 09/02/2014 14:58:47    1543449

Very well done to MLR and Carlow hurling people. The truth is the scoreline didn't reflect the game; it was at least a 5/6 point game in MLR's favour and only one team wanted to win it throughout. The Antrim side looked as if they just had to turn up and win and showed very little heart, fight or desire at all. MLR had all the passion and threw themeselves into every tackle as if their lives depended on it. Antrim hurling and football teams are very, very weak physically and mentally on the bigger stages.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 09/02/2014 16:41:22    1543565

Great day for carlow hurling yesterday in newry.

Hard to believe we've made it to croke park but mlr are a serious outfit.

I see the bookies have us heavy underdogs again but what's new.

Also a big thank you to our friends in Antrim who were very gracious yesterday and wished us well in the final.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1537 - 09/02/2014 19:30:53    1543753

carlovia

1543753 Great day for carlow hurling yesterday in newry.

Hard to believe we've made it to croke park but mlr are a serious outfit.

I see the bookies have us heavy underdogs again but what's new.

Also a big thank you to our friends in Antrim who were very gracious yesterday and wished us well in the final

Carlovia

i wouldn't worry too much what the bookies think i genuinely think Mlr are in with a great shot and its 50/50 for me.Best of luck to the Carlow men in the final

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 09/02/2014 19:43:33    1543773

MLR played very well yesterday in Newry. Right from the start, they got stuck in and all played their part. All the forwards worked their socks off and made it difficult for the Loughgiel men to have little time on the ball. The game itself had everyone on the edge of their seats right up to the final whistle.

The pitch was in excellent condition considering the amount of rain we have had. Well done too to the stewards and all in Newry who made it a lovely experience going into and inside the stadium. Loughgiel are a fine team and a few balls either side of the post was the difference. I don't think they lack bottle or skill and they played good open long ball hurling in the traditional style with great defenders striking the ball way up the field with great style and panache.

Loughgiel had huge support and there is no doubt that hurling is in their lifeblood.

As for MLR- great scenes after the match on the field with men and women from all over Carlow there to congratulate the team and their mentors. It was well deserved as they came back strongly
after conceding 2 really well taken goals.

As the game entered extra time the most contentious decision was given when a soft looking free was awarded and then the ball was thrown in after a Loughgiel player was sent off. It was a crucial decision and it basically denied Loughgiel a shot at goals to draw the game. Very contentious!

However I feel that MLR were the better team all through and deserved their place in the final.
This is incredible for hurling clubs in Carlow to have one of our own in Croke Park on All iraland club final day. Amazing. It shows what can be achieved when a club has the right structures and mentors working hard over a long time. Great win for you lads and best wishes in the final.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 09/02/2014 20:25:46    1543818

Great to see Mount Leinster winning, definitely the better team and fully deserved the victory. The dive to get the Loughgiel player sent off was a bit distasteful, though

befair (Down) - Posts: 238 - 09/02/2014 21:02:28    1543865

Very well done to MLR and Carlow hurling people. The truth is the scoreline didn't reflect the game; it was at least a 5/6 point game in MLR's favour and only one team wanted to win it throughout. The Antrim side looked as if they just had to turn up and win and showed very little heart, fight or desire at all. MLR had all the passion and threw themeselves into every tackle as if their lives depended on it. Antrim hurling and football teams are very, very weak physically and mentally on the bigger stages.

Gonna have to pull you on that one Ulsterman. If you had seen the heart, desire and determination of the creggan team yesterday to pull back an 11 point deficit and bring the munster champions to a replay you would change your tune. The Ballysaggert full forward (an all Ireland minor winner last year) even took to twitter today to say that this was the hardest game he had EVER played in. Not all hurling is about the top sides and people have to realise there is talent below senior levels in every county.

In terms of l'ghiel not having the belief in terms of mentality, you have to remember that this MLR team beat some big guns down in Leinster before yesterdays match, are those teams also mentally and physically weak??? If MLR win the all Ireland does that mean all othe rteams are physically and mentally weak??

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 09/02/2014 21:13:36    1543885

It was a contentious decision Carlowman BUT it wasn't the reason Loughgiel lost. It would have been a travesty if MLR had lost that game; they outmuscled, totally outfought and physically intimidated Loughgiel to the extent that many of the Glensmen dropped the heads and didn't want to know.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 09/02/2014 21:15:59    1543889

Frank,

Creggan are the exception rather than the rule within Antrim and fair play to them for coming back. You are correct, there are decent players in Antrim at all levels but some clubs hold a lot of power and say as to who gets a chance at county level. I know for a fact that some players have been told that no matter how good they are if they are not at certain clubs they won't get a chance or look in with the county. You could understand that if Antrim were regularly competing as a county but it's failure after failure.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 09/02/2014 21:37:55    1543911

Amazing achievement by these lads from Carlow, well done MLR, and good luck in the final!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 09/02/2014 21:43:58    1543919

Ulsterman,

I would have to agree with a lot of what you are saying as I witnessed it in my time playing in Antrim hurling and football leagues, bbut over the past few years teams like creggan, ahoghill, st galls have made a good fist of things outside of antrim in hurling and indeed in all Irelands at junior and intermediate level. I read a lot of rubbish on here in recent years about certain players from certain clubs having no right being part of an antrim squad let alone team. The big clubs have a lot of sway in both codes and until that is sorted out Antrim at intercounty level will never change.

I must also point out that I was part of a Junior Hurling all Ireland squad with antrim in 02 and it was like being part of a club team.......all from less well known hurling clubs I might add

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 09/02/2014 22:00:15    1543946

Congrats to Mount Leinster Rangers. Great achievement on reaching an All Ireland Club Final.
Gonna be extremely tough against a formidable Portumna side but I am sure the Carlow champions will do themselves proud on the day and could even win it out.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4246 - 10/02/2014 09:15:30    1543960

I have a feeling MLR will do Portumna

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 10/02/2014 13:31:06    1544160