Former_Poster County: Meath Posts: 55
Horan is a top manager and you'd to be very silly to want rid of him.
Is that what a top GAA manager does on All-Ireland final day, make disastrous calls.
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/11/2013 13:41:58
@Mayostar
Are all those ages correct? can add another year onto each now for 2014 anyway its not the age profile thats the problem but mileage. All Ireland semi final and two finals in the last three years the legs/minds will be even more weary when you don't bring home Sam.
Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 02/11/2013 16:55:06
What are you on about Africangael? Every manager makes mistakes, every manager, without exception. Horan has done a hell of a job.
joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/11/2013 16:55:15
02/11/2013 11:13:27 Mayostar County: Mayo Posts: 28
As for next season, well it would be a brave man who would bet against Mayo being in an all Ireland Semi again next August. Maybe Gaa Lover would, but then again he's been telling us mayo will lose every game they played for the last 3 or 4 years, so Id safely say the sight of a Paddy Power office would probably give him nightmares at this stage!
I'm honored that you brought me up in your rant, now lets let see what i really said.
2011 i said Kerry would win the semi final well against Mayo - correct 2012 i said the winner of Donegal v Cork would win the All Ireland - correct 2013 i said the winner of Dublin v Kerry would win the All Ireland - correct
James Horan can bring Mayo to as many semi/finals as he wants but its clear Mayo aren't good enough to win the All Ireland just look at the starting six forwards
Kevin Mc Loughlin - a forward that thinks hes a defender Keith Higgins - a defender that thinks hes forward Alan Dillon - well past his peak Cillian O Connor - more often than not most of his scores will come from frees Andy Moran - see Alan Dillon Alan Freeman - fall out with Horan will he be around in 2014?
Replacements Conroy,Varley,Coen etc won't bring much improvement if any.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 02/11/2013 18:01:16
Kevin Mc Loughlin - a forward that thinks hes a defender A bit like mark mchugh. And we all know he never won anything. Also, destroyed dublin single-handed last year. Lost a bit of form last year. On his day he is one of the best players in the country.
Keith Higgins - a defender that thinks hes forward A bit like karl lacey, and we all know he didnt win anything either...
Alan Dillon - well past his peak Carrying an injury all year. Another who led dublin on a merry dance last year.
Cillian O Connor - more often than not most of his scores will come from frees Like most top class free-takers...
Andy Moran - see Alan Dillon Injured all year. Pretty standard that he will need recovery time from the injury he got. Give the guy a chance.
Alan Freeman - fall out with Horan will he be around in 2014? Didnt fall out with anyone, as has since been confirmed in local media. (Surprise surprise, we dont hear about that on internet forums). Back next year just as good.
Replacements Conroy,Varley,Coen etc won't bring much improvement if any. Conroy is another who gave dublin a tough time of it. 1 bad game and all of a sudden he is written off. Coen is only a young lad.
Fair enough give lads fair criticism when it is deserved. e.g. mcloughlin produced poor form last year. But the above is just nonsense.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/11/2013 11:04:57
Think it's AO'S who needs replacing. After one great performance against a tired Donegal he was poor against Tyrone, awful against Dublin, awful in the International Rules and completely marked out of it by Barry Moran in the County Final. Maybe a while on the bench would do him some good.
opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 532 - 04/11/2013 11:34:59
Am delighted he decided to give it another go. Mayo under his stewardship have exceed my expectations given the debacle under the previous manager. I think he his getting the best out of the raw material at his disposal, that is all anyone can reasonably ask for. Mayo simply needs a few class forwards.
mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 04/11/2013 11:45:00
Great analysis by the master? "Mclaughlin destroying Dublin on his own" in 2012 has to be the pick of your insightful and knowledgeable remarks. Give us all a break please!
pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 04/11/2013 11:50:21
I suppose the win was down to richie feeney, barry moran and tom cunniffe (who wasnt on the field) dempsey? Change the record man.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/11/2013 12:05:40
What are you talking about Master? It was a team win. It's irrelevant now anyway. Move on
pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 04/11/2013 12:21:49
It's irrelevant now anyway. Move on
Best of luck with that.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/11/2013 12:25:38
04/11/2013 11:04:57 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 9347
1508944 Kevin Mc Loughlin - A bit like mark mchugh. And we all know he never won anything. Also, destroyed dublin single-handed last year. Lost a bit of form last year. On his day he is one of the best players in the country.
It showed this summer how much of loss McHugh was to Donegal, to claim a bit like is exaggerating. Dublin 2012 and Dublin 2013 was like chalk and cheese sure Wexford,Laois almost beat them in 2012!
Keith Higgins - A bit like karl lacey, and we all know he didnt win anything either... Karl Lacey doesn't start in the half forward line to help out average forward line!
Alan Dillon - Carrying an injury all year. Another who led dublin on a merry dance last year. OMG That Dublin example again... Horan wouldn't have started Dillon if he thought he was right also failed to score in last year final and in fairness he was a decent player before he reached his peak.
Cillian O Connor - Like most top class free-takers... Top class free taker that takes them from his hands and takes forever to shoot? seriously Mayo could have done with a few points from play in the final from him.
Andy Moran - Pretty standard that he will need recovery time from the injury he got. Give the guy a chance. Looked fairly fit in the final and scored more than he normally does.
Alan Freeman - Didnt fall out with anyone, as has since been confirmed in local media. (Surprise surprise, we dont hear about that on internet forums). Back next year just as good.
I beg to differ and he'll see if hes back next year and regardless of what keep repeating or read Horan and himself will have to clear the air first
Replacements Conroy is another who gave dublin a tough time of it. 1 bad game and all of a sudden he is written off. Coen is only a young lad.
LOL Dublin example again... check Conroy stats he isn't a free scoring forward Coen is only young, what like young O'Connor or the free scoring minor forwards than won Mayo All Ireland?? --------------
Fair enough give lads fair criticism when it is deserved. e.g. mcloughlin produced poor form last year. But the above is just nonsense.
Criticism? i gave a fair assessment and most knowledgeable neutrals (like myself) would agree with the above. The only nonsense i see is your deluded nonsense.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 04/11/2013 18:45:17
opa01 County: Cavan Posts: 251
1508954 Think it's AO'S who needs replacing. After one great performance against a tired Donegal he was poor against Tyrone, awful against Dublin, awful in the International Rules and completely marked out of it by Barry Moran in the County Final. Maybe a while on the bench would do him some good.
Ingenious analysis of the All Ireland Final and Semi-Final there. O'Shea was s***e. Someone call Montrose, we've fresh blood for the GAA panel. Did you watch either match? Mayo wouldn't have beaten Tyrone as comfortably without O'Shea's presence in the middle of the pitch, he bossed the middle third, did the hard yards. Same story v Dublin though he suffered for having to chase Macauley all day.
The International Rules is a waste of time. To judge a player based on it is laughable. Moran got one up on him the county final but anyone who's watched Mayo at all would know how good Moran can be when fit. On his last competitive start for the county he destroyed the same Donegal midfield that O'Shea deconstructed in August so he's a fine player in his own right.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 04/11/2013 21:57:55
Lads I'm not a Mayo fan and although I'd deeply have loved you to win all ire it was mostly cause yous were playing Dublin. But gaa lovers exaggerated bull should not be listened to or paid any heed to. Never have respect for anyone who hasn't the balls to put a county of preference beside their name, now no doubt he'll come back with I was brought up in USA bull, (personally don't think he ever left his country parish) but that is another story. He has a serious anti Meath bias and it appears same would apply to mayo. Ignore it. We all do in Meath.
Good luck next year, I think mayos chance may have passed but who knows?
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/11/2013 08:14:56
royaldunne, yes you are correct. I dont take anything he says seriously. I just enjoy pointing out the bull in his posts. For instance:
It showed this summer how much of loss McHugh was to Donegal, to claim a bit like is exaggerating. Dublin 2012 and Dublin 2013 was like chalk and cheese sure Wexford,Laois almost beat them in 2012!
Well hang on, he is a 'forward who thinks he is a defender'. You made that point about mcloughlin, now you are saying that isnt an issue when it is mchugh. I pointed out how 'important mcloughlin was to mayo' when he beat dublin on his own last year - much the same line up that got the upper hand on them this year. Obviously - like mchugh - that is how much of a loss mcloughlin is to mayo. That is some double standard you have built up there, must have taken a serious amount of bias to put together.
Keith Higgins - A bit like karl lacey, and we all know he didnt win anything either... Karl Lacey doesn't start in the half forward line to help out average forward line!
Again, you never mentioned anything about positions, you simply said 'a defender who thinks he is a forward'. Lacey, McGlynn, T O'Se, de Paor - they all fit the profile. I suppose they are rubbish too.
Alan Dillon - Carrying an injury all year. Another who led dublin on a merry dance last year. OMG That Dublin example again... Horan wouldn't have started Dillon if he thought he was right also failed to score in last year final and in fairness he was a decent player before he reached his peak.
Yes the all ireland semi final win over dublin where this player, contrary to your claims, was outstanding. I dont see why you think it doesnt count. How does that make sense? Did you miss that match over in 'the states'?
Cillian O Connor - Like most top class free-takers... Top class free taker that takes them from his hands and takes forever to shoot? seriously Mayo could have done with a few points from play in the final from him.
They could have done with him being fit also. I suppose that is his fault too?
Im not going to bother with the rest. Its all garbage. The reality is that a fully fit and on form dillon, moran, conroy, mcloughlin or o'connor is good for 1 point on their own. We lost by a point. Cant be that far away can we...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/11/2013 10:46:30
You don't take anything i say seriously yet go on another rant? and reading those replies you really shouldn't have bothered at all if that is the best you can come up with. Deep down you know i'm right but i can understand why you won't admit it on here.
Oh look its royaldunne the man that thinks mid 90s Meath are about to return! very sensitive when poster tell you Meath aren't as good as you think? i don't have a county deal with that and the fact that Meath are average at best.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 05/11/2013 19:26:35
I see this thread is still going and everyone is repeating themselves over and over again with the same stuff from other threads, let it die lads.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 05/11/2013 19:39:40
To put this topic to bed, I will say this. Any guy who thinks mayo cant come back next year is only showing what they dont know about football. Look at cork for example. They lost a final, lost a semi final, lost another final and then won sam in 2010. So much for those hard fast rules...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/11/2013 11:04:15
I said the only way is down for Mayo now and they won't reach the AI final next year if you disagree with that Master then fair enough. As for the Cork example well they always had the panel to win All Ireland and probably should have won more than they did TBH i can't say the same about Mayo....
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 06/11/2013 13:40:32
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/in-the-name-of-the-father-lights-way-for-feeney-29774784.html
Great piece in Indo today with Richie.
"It was being said that I drove to the All-Ireland final on my own," says Feeney. "There was talk of a big bust-up in the camp. All of those rumours were completely untrue."
I don't think the defeat is going to have that much of an effect on us," says Feeney. "This group of players are just so driven that we are not going to give up until we get there. I don't see any reason why we can't win next year's All-Ireland.
Great attitude and stories that he would never play for Mayo again seem to be unfounded.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11676 - 22/11/2013 14:54:54