County Finals

Nephews of Ger, mmmm.

They didn't lick it off the ground anyway.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/11/2013 15:40:40    1510433

He's an outstanding kicker once he has the time and space at club level, or intercounty if he's allowed a la Tír Eoghain 2011 (or our TÓS this year, it must be said). In tight games at the highest level he is often anonymous. Even in non-tight games his decision making can be shocking, like this year's qf. As a non-Dub, he and Ger Brennan had always confused me- but then the latter proved his worth several times over in his outstanding final performance.

It's just an opinion, but Dean Rock would be way ahead of him if I was selecting...but it's only an opinion!

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 07/11/2013 15:40:51    1510434

Look up what Philly did to Paul Kerrigan before ye go throwing stones lads! Tis hardly Mother Theresa he stamped on! I am sure there was loads going on we dont know about! I didnt hear any Tyrone lads calling for Riceys head after the Armagh Ulster final in Croker all thone years ago when he kneeled on AOR's throat......

I wouldnt drop Connolly for anyone on the panel except Berno
He is a sublime footballer and streets ahead of anyone we have in the forwards bar the Brogans.

I dont give a toss what he does for Vinnys to be honest and I couldnt care less how Vinnys do, never liked em. Northside Mafia.

But once he puts on a Dubs jersey, then I care.........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/11/2013 15:42:56    1510435

He is far better player than Dean Rock Seabhac. I would agree with liam that he is Dublin's best forward apart from Bernie. Was difference between beating Kerry and losing this year.

On the other hand, he does have a mean streak!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/11/2013 15:55:34    1510448

Connolly with ball in hand is a force of nature. He never ever gives it away or takes a bad option. He is superb. I always say it to anyone who doubts him, when the chips were down, when we needed him more than we ever needed him, when it had to be done, have a look at the last 3 mins V Kerry in the 2011 final and watch a master at work

Connolly would walk on every single team in the country. He is sheer class

But he is a pup alright.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/11/2013 16:07:18    1510456

Lets call a spade a spade here....Philly McMahaon is like Ger Brennan....they play on the edge but play the game as men.

Diarmuid Connolly had an altercation with Mick Foley from Kildare in a nothing incident in a Dublin 21's game. Has seen the line for the Seniors for discipline issues and has also not showed up for a county game. Hes a great footballer.......

But in my opinion hes a coward. To stamp, and lets get this straight, STAMP, on a fellow county panelists is digraceful, and the Dublin county board should make an example out of him.

Im not from Ballymun.....but what I saw sickened me.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/11/2013 16:09:15    1510458

Either way I'd still play him while he's in his prime, far superior player to Vaughan by the way!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 07/11/2013 16:20:39    1510463

Was outstanding when the **** hit the fan V Kerry in '11 and was MOTM against them in the semi this year, enough said!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 07/11/2013 16:25:07    1510467

Was outstanding when the **** hit the fan V Kerry in '11 and was MOTM against them in the semi this year, enough said!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 07/11/2013 16:26:22    1510469

Look lads no one is disputing his football class but a Stamp on the back of someone who is face down on the pitch is as low as it get imo.
And to do it to a fellow county team mate. OMG. No class in that at all.

Give him a 3-month ban and let's move on. He needs to learn the hard way before next season starts or he will do something silly for the Dubs.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4264 - 07/11/2013 16:31:48    1510474

JayP as i said, what he does for Vinnys I couldnt care less
What he does for Dublin has been outstanding for 3 years now
thats all i care about

JayP there is a certain member of the Dubs panel whose Dad was on the great 70's team, no names, but that man did somethings in his day that make Connolly look like an Angel, but by Christ he also did the business for Dublin and all these years later, thats all anyone remembers!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/11/2013 16:32:44    1510476

A player is down injured.....lying face down and a 14 stone fella stamps on him......I dont care if McMahon is or isnt Mother Teresa......Diarmuid Connolly is a coward in my opinion and you cannot brush it off with hes a good player. What he done is assault.....if two guys had a fight in town and one was lying face down and someone stamped on him he would be up in court.

McMahons a mans man....he got up, got booked for god knows what, and when he went looking for Big Bad Diarmuid he was confronted with the Vinnies subs and set-up while Diarmuid hid in the dugout and only came out when the coast was clear!

How can these guys function in the same team now? McMahon changed the Kerry game when coming on and was solid in the final. Connolly is a match winner with his talent.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/11/2013 16:35:21    1510480

I dont see the attraction with connolly myself, I think he isnt the player he is made out to be. Id agree with the kerry poster, he has a habit of going missing in big games. Of course people will point to one off big games where he done well, but look he is supposed to be doing that in all the games is he not? He was in keegan's pocket in the final, and I wouldnt have had him motm for the semi either. He can be good, of course he can, but he doesnt deserve the praise he gets. His decision making lets him down a lot. I dont like knocking players but his biggest contribution this year was the ball in for mannion's goal, and that was a mis-hit shot. I would have brogan, flynn and kilkenny ahead of him. Even mannion on his day looks a more dangerous threat.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/11/2013 16:47:29    1510489

Liamwalkinstown
JayP as i said, what he does for Vinnys I couldnt care less
What he does for Dublin has been outstanding for 3 years now

You do realise that mcmahon plays for dublin too right? Doesnt that kinda undermine this club level see no evil hear no evil speel?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/11/2013 16:50:09    1510491

Connolly has committed similar acts in a Dubs jersey Liam!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12365 - 07/11/2013 16:55:49    1510497

Feckin iPhone, anyway Master, thank god you're not our manager, ever consider the Mayo job ? Go on go for it :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 07/11/2013 16:59:29    1510502

What he done last night was disgraceful, sends out a bad message to kids, and has no place in any sport. What he done last night is as bad as it gets. A lad down injured.....and stamps on him. Its a low as Ive seen on a sports pitch anywhere. Everybody in Parnell Park seen what he done.... McMahon got up....there wont be a court case so Hoganstand need not worry. The big Vincents crowd had been jeering McMahon all night, but when Connolly stamped on him while he was already lying injured, you sensed the Vincents crowd, who know their football and appreciate a tough fella as much as the next club.....were visably embarrassed.

As I said, Im neutral....I went to see two good teams play football. But left feeling a bit sick......those guys won an All Ireland together six weeks ago.....to stamp on an injured team mate while hes lying prone on the ground.

Its just wrong.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/11/2013 17:50:21    1510517

An tseabhac
No way is dean rock ahead of him.
You must not know connolly that well as he had fone far more for Dublin then Brennan.
He has natural ability that makes him that good.
He didn't get any time and space in either game against Ballymun and still kicked some of the best points I have seen this year

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/11/2013 19:35:06    1510559

Liamo
Were u at the match ?
I don't care how good he is or what he had done for Dublin
In the past his actions last night were a disgrace and don't give me that stupid line about Philly as we all know Philly plays on the edge but he was in no way at fault last night as he was already down on the ground injured when connolly walked over and did it
No player is indispensable or bigger than the Dublin team itself and if he doesn't learn quick he will find that out the hard way

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/11/2013 19:45:02    1510563

Real dub
What has his contributions to Dublin in the past got to do with the cowardly act he done last night
You seem to feel just because he's talented its acceptable for him to do it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/11/2013 19:52:36    1510571