County Finals

Mannion or Rock ahead of Diarmo. Classic lads, I'm very glad it's Jim Gavin that picks the team wha!

He's a hot head at times but that's the price the Dubs and Vinnies pay. He's paid Dublin back for any on field indiscretions in the past in my opinion with some sublime and workmanlike performances.

As for Vinnies, they are Champions largely because of him this year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 07/11/2013 20:06:09    1510577

Mesamis Vins are champions because Ballymun failed to put them out of their misery both days

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/11/2013 20:20:35    1510585

hill16no1man

1510585 Mesamis Vins are champions because Ballymun failed to put them out of their misery both days

Fair point Hill man but I think Connolly was a huge factor in the title going to Vinnies too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 07/11/2013 20:31:14    1510593

Why do you say that hill?, I would never condone what he did, but I would still play him while he is playing as well as he is. I'm a neutral as far as last night is concerned, something tells me you're not!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 07/11/2013 20:54:37    1510617

Hill, whats your opinion of Dublin legend and hero of the 70's team, John McCarthy?
Would you look up to him? See his as a Dublin legend like ther rest of us do?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/11/2013 09:10:57    1510685

And what about Ciaran Duff Hill? See him as a Dubs hero?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/11/2013 09:43:10    1510702

I agree with JayP in relation to Connolly wouldn't have him near a county shirt. I don't care how many "occasionally great" scores he gets. He gets as many cards as scores.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 08/11/2013 09:53:40    1510707

Liam the point is Diarmo did it to a County Team mate who was lying face down on the ground.
Great player but believe me he will do it in a big Dubs game and it will cost us.
Will you all be defending him then..? I doubt it.
He needs to stop. For his own good, the good of his club and for the Dubs.
He is a moving target but needs to ignore it and play as good as we all know he can.
He is a class act but if he keeps this nonsense up he will be remembered for all the wrong reasons.
Why taint a great talent.
Look at the abuse Gooch gets and he takes his revenge on the score board.
Stop defending the indefensible lads.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4264 - 08/11/2013 09:54:13    1510708

Fionn, so its ok to kick a culchie on the gound but not a Dub is it????? ala Ciaran Duff....??

And When Barr and Heery pucked the head off each other...?? Team mates...????

Should we have got rid of them all?

Its cos its Connolly, people in Dublin just dont like him. Prob cos he is a Vinnys man, but I guarantee you this, without him we would have no All Irelands in the last 3 years

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/11/2013 10:02:04    1510711

I never said get rid of him. I said suspend him so he will learn... He needs to learn. He will cost us...

Duff was wrong. I would never defend him for what he did and neither should you.

Barr and Heary did it face to face. Not when one was face down on the ground...

Connolly hid behind about 10 Vinnies people when called out...

How you can defend his actions is beyond me... Disappointed to say the least...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4264 - 08/11/2013 10:13:15    1510714

Not defending him, but i see massive double standards at play here from some people
(not you fionn)

ps, Hill said Vaughan was as naturally talented as Connolly.........Jesus H Christ like!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/11/2013 10:16:32    1510716

Connolly is a very talented player although he is somewhat inconsistent. Dublin are better with him but he has big discipline issues. Was the stamp like McGee's stamp on Freeman in all ireland quarter final (ie not really a stamp at all) or was there intent to seriously injure McMahon? If he went in to seriously injure McMahon then I think Dublin management have a big decision to make regarding Connollys future.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 08/11/2013 11:00:43    1510747

Liamo
I was not alive when either of them guys were playing so can not give my own opinion on either player

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/11/2013 11:06:39    1510752

Liamo
Most things you mentioned were manly squaring up to each other and having it out but stamping on a guys head while he is already lying on the ground injured it takes a big man to do that and then hide in the stand after..
Nobody is questioning his ability but he should get a long suspension for what he did

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/11/2013 11:11:28    1510754

Liamo
Vaughan is naturally talented like connolly its obvious to all that your in limerick and don't follow club football in Dublin and making an argument without seeing the incident and now about two players both of which you probably only watched play for Dublin and at that on television most of the time, nobody can doubt Vaughan's ability anybody who has seen him play for Crokes would tell you some of the things he has done in games but its his discipline just like connolly that has cost him ,the only difference been connolly has been given plenty of chances

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/11/2013 11:19:44    1510758

Pdempsey
MacMahon was already injured lying face down in the ground and he walked over and stamped in his head you can't get more intentionally than that.
He is just blessed this was a club game and not a Dublin game as it would be all over the media but just shows how much newspapers rely on TV cameras to do their work as not one newspaper report has indicated what happened

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/11/2013 11:24:51    1510764

hill16no1man

1510758 Liamo
Vaughan is naturally talented like connolly its obvious to all that your in limerick and don't follow club football in Dublin and making an argument without seeing the incident and now about two players both of which you probably only watched play for Dublin and at that on television most of the time, nobody can doubt Vaughan's ability anybody who has seen him play for Crokes would tell you some of the things he has done in games but its his discipline just like connolly that has cost him ,the only difference been connolly has been given plenty of chances

You want to question my credentials as a Dubs fan cos i live "abroad" is it
U want to be condescending to me about being a Dubs fan do you.......you think cos you still live in Dublin that gives you superiority over me do you!!!! Johnny come f**kin lately!!! I'd say you never heard of John McCarthy and prob wouldnt know Ciaran Duff if you passed him in the street!!
Dont you come over all high and mighty to me just cos your parents didnt have to move when you were younger

I have forgotten more than you will ever know about Dublin football you cheeky git and I guarantee you i have spent 100 times more in my life supporting the Dubs than you ever will!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/11/2013 11:32:10    1510771

Lads it is time to move on.

Let's agree to disagree..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4264 - 08/11/2013 11:41:44    1510780

I will in me hole Fionn
I wont be lectured on being a "true" Dubs fan by some teenage tart who thinks Jason Sherlock invented Dublin Football and the English were responsible for Hurricanm Katrina !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/11/2013 11:47:25    1510785

Ok I will leave youse to it so.

Diarmuid, fancy being a ref here...???

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4264 - 08/11/2013 11:55:38    1510796