Lads this is hilarious. You are killing me.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 26/09/2013 15:12:39
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 6944
1489936 ....then when she was in hospital Dublin fans turned off her life support machine and put pictures of it up on facebook!!
Snufalufagus....Laochra Gael _____________________ I heard they switched her saline drip with a can of Dutch Gold.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/09/2013 15:25:03
Snufalufagus Referring to the men and women ttat died in 1798 as joke is a most dissapointing comment.
Seeing as you are intent on giving us a history lesson let me point a few facts out. The Spanish landed at Kinsale they chose to land here because it was a location where they were assured of large irish support in the Rebel County it was also a point far way from the strong hold of Brittish Rule (Dublin). It was a long way from Dublin and it would be harder for British Forces to re-inforce enabling a Spanish Irish force to gain a foothold.
It was similar in Killala whn the French Aid arrived. You may remeber that one of the most famous victories for Irish / Frnch Forces was at the "Castlebar Races" where an Irish French forces annexed the Brittish Garrison and I fearsome Pike Men forced the Brittish Forces to run scampering east
Connauught was never fully annexed by Brittish Rule and thus during the Cromwellan Wars the majority of true irish took refuge in connaught leading to names from the North South and East such as Hogan O Reilly Gallagher Nolan Murphy & O'Donnel to be quiet common names in Mayo & Galway today.
belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/09/2013 15:55:29
Dear Snufalufagus Seeing as you comment was derogatory to Mayo people It is also worth noting that the Dublin City Council have retained the place names Mountjoy Square (Brittish General) Sackville Place (Brittish Name for O'Connel Street) Nassau Street ( Named after King William of Orange who hailed from the House of Nassau).
So before you refer to the Irishmen that died for Ireland in the west in the 1798 rebellion as "Joke Men" maybe you should reflect on your comments. Or perhaps the 1798 rebellion doesnt matter since there was little or no rebeelion in Dublin during that particular uprising. I think that most Irish People are well aware of the GPO 1916 Easter rising and the fact that the majority of the fighting took place on the streets of Dublin and that Dublin people sufered huge casualities and suffering
But too me your History lesson is another example of you believing that the country starts and ends in Dublin
There was widespread fighting throughout the contry at that time did you ever hear tell of the Burning of Cork
Have you ever heard of Michael Davitt? Michael Davitt was born in Straide, County Mayo, Ireland, at the height of the Great Famine. He was an Irish republican and nationalist agrarian agitator, an inspirer of Mahatma Gandhi, a social campaigner who founded the Irish National Land League.
Sam Maguire and Liam McCarthy who done so much in terms of intelligence gathering had Cork roots.
Michael Collins was a Cork Man, Eamon De Valera had his roots in Clare.
James Connolly was scottish
Joseph Plunkett was from Dublin
Padraig Pearse was from Dublin
Tom Clarke was born and raised in England
Thomas McDonagh was from Tipperrary
Sean McDermott was from Leitrim
Eamon Ceant was from Galway
As for Croker itself
HOGAN STAND It is named after Michael Hogan, a Gaelic Football player from Tipperary. He was shot in Croke Park while playing a match there on Sunday the 21st of November 1920. He was one of 13 people shot dead in Croke Park that day, but the only player to die. The day became known as Bloody Sunday.
DINEEN HILL 16 The rubble from the Easter Rising in 1916 was used to construct a grassy hill on the railway end of Croke Park Frank Dineen a Limerick man, borrowed much of the £3,250 asking price and bought the ground in 1908. He held it in trust for the GAA untill In 1913 the GAA came into exclusive ownership of the plot when they purchased it from Dineen for £3,500.
DAVIN STAND Named after Maurice Davin a Tipperary man and won of the founders of the GAA
CUSSACK STAND Named after Michael Cussack a Clare Man and one of the founders of the GAA.
NALLY STAND Named after PAT NALLY Pat Nally a Mayo man born in Balla Co. Mayo was one of the inspirations for the setting up of the GAA, he was imprisoned at the time of the first meeting. Pat Nally was a Patriot & Martyr. Born 13th March 1855 and done to death in Mountjoy Prison he died 9th Nov 1881 by the brutal jailers of England after 10 years of penal torture. He had no enemies except the enemies of Ireland and his life was a record of unselfish patriotism. He endured fatal imprisonment with the courage of an Irish soldier.
So as you can see the History of our great counry and our great GAA Games did not start and end in Dublin and does not start and end in Dublin.
belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/09/2013 15:59:39
Tell us more Belmay! We only ever learnt about the Kings and Queens of Empire in our history classes!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/09/2013 16:09:49
belmay,
You have just been rumbled!....I got a 'revisionist mayo history lesson' identical to yours just a few weks ago!....Funny that!....You have been rumbled lad with your new moniker lad!
Anyway, Im not slagging the men of 1798!....Im slaggin the way ye didnt do anything for Ireland until the French came to do it for ye first!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 16:10:05
.....and when she died and was cremated the Dubs fans threw all the mayo flags they could find onto the fire and then broke into the coroners court and signed the 'cause of death' on the death certificate as: "A BROKEN HEART DUE TO CLUCKO AND YIZZER DUBS 2013 - YEAHHHHH!"
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 16:14:55
belmay,
'If you walk like a duck, talk like a duck and luck like a duck, then you are....'beal'!!!!
Only a single day into your pathetic pseudo moniker you have been rumbled by none other than Ol Snuffy! I am cursed with a brain on this website!
belmay/beal....same person!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 16:59:06
Not me Snuf , Honestly.
beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 26/09/2013 17:11:51
Id have no problem taking the bit of slagging from snuf, if he didnt run away hiding for months on end when it was his turn to take it back. Thankfully, not all the dubs on the site are cowards.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/09/2013 17:28:02
Snuffy oul pal ... you ve been rumbled - No Sherlock you
"I am cursed with a brain on this website!"
To quote a famous Dublin Tune
"The gargle dims me brain" ...... oh to much celebrating snuffy
Enjoy it 2014 is just around the corner
belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/09/2013 17:33:46
TheMaster,
Yer clutching at straws having to come out with old porkys like that mate!.....Just take the slagging so, as you well know had the Green & Red been up there collecting SAM the craic inflicted on the Dubs here would be dire! Trying to 'tease me out' or 'get to me' with a biting word like 'coward' is laughable!....is that what you are reduced to!
Suck it up!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 17:35:32
Snuf....Not quite the sleuth you imagine!! Another in a long history of false accusations and unfounded premises. Snuf, pathetic as ever, and now, more than a little paranoid.
By the way Dev's roots are in Bruree Co Limerick and the back streets of Barcelona!! Oh and Snuf, keep on waving that union jack.
beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 26/09/2013 17:39:31
Let me just say, the Dublin supporters were fantastic on Sunday and very gracious winners. It was a very healthy atmosphere and the session with the jacks on Monday helped to ease the pain.
Banned member 51.
syferuseen (Roscommon) - Posts: 80 - 26/09/2013 19:18:53
with the jacks or in the jacks??
beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 26/09/2013 19:22:04
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 8242
1489967 Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 6944
1489936 ....then when she was in hospital Dublin fans turned off her life support machine and put pictures of it up on facebook!!
Snufalufagus....Laochra Gael _____________________ I heard they switched her saline drip with a can of Dutch Gold.
Now that is far fetched , We would never waste any Dutch gold.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/09/2013 21:32:36
Rule Dublinia!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 27/09/2013 10:34:36
Bleedin hell...
This thread went slightly off track
Either way... hard luck Mayo
Dublin finished with 12.5 men / missed a rake load of quality goal chances (AGAIN) / Played at best 70% of the standard they are capable of doing (Only in flashes)
And it was still good enough... to beat arguably the best Mayo team ever...
That shouldn't have happened... why did it happen...
It happened because Horan is not as good a manager as you make him out to be... he got some major calls wrong once again
You've a very good team, with a better manager you would have won at least 1 or the last two Sams...
The two Jim's have bested James Horan in the last two finals...
I can see Jim Gavin doing that again
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/09/2013 11:12:31
I agree, Horan is made to look good by the best mayo outfit in years! He deserves one more year though!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/09/2013 11:44:56
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 11026
1490407 Bleedin hell...
This thread went slightly off track ________________________
Yeh Jimbo, you wouldn't expect that to happen on Hoganstand now would you;o)
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/09/2013 12:04:42