Huge Credit to Mayo fans

You just count your blessings you got a ticket in the end Jackeen, never mind your flag. I was lighting candles for you at my nearest grotto, at least I think it was a grotto, it may have been some random rocky outcrop come flytipping site, but it obviously worked a treat!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/09/2013 12:00:59    1489769

MesAmis, but surely the noise level was part of the issue. I get what you are saying as regards atmosphere but the thing is that noise was totally partisan. It is fairer to have some noise from both sets of fans than all the noise from one set of fans. I think the reason behind what gave us that splitting of the hill was the fact that mayo were in the first semi while dublin were in the second. I think that in future, to make things a bit more even, if dublin make a semi they should always play second to give the other team a chance to get some tickets and make things more even.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/09/2013 12:05:04    1489771

Haha too true Brend. What actually happened was my uncle got a ticket so I just kept my own :)))). 'Twas all your prayers for sure. Cheersie!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/09/2013 12:13:07    1489779

It was only a matter of time before all the backslapping and sure aren't they great supporters from ......... (insert county here) stories turned into recriminations and tales of drunken rampages, torn flags, soccer style chants and the like. NORMAL SERVICE HAS BEEN RESUMED

Excellent post. That's very funny. I've a pain in me (insert body part here) reading some of the posts here. I must be one of the naughty 10%

Aido69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 26/09/2013 12:14:13    1489780

brend,

You say 'normal service has resumed' yet you quipped that Snufalufagus has no 'class' only two days ago because I didnt row in with the cringeworthy 'pat on the back plaumausing' taking place at the time and just told the truth instead!

You will now be manly enough to acknowledge that what is 'class' is being consistant and honest all the time no matter what other think, at least 'knowing where they stand with you' always, and not having 'A face for Sunday and a different one for Monday'!!

'Normal Service' was always, and is always in operation for Ol Snuffy!.....I dont do plaumausing!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 12:17:30    1489781

MesAmis, but surely the noise level was part of the issue. I get what you are saying as regards atmosphere but the thing is that noise was totally partisan. It is fairer to have some noise from both sets of fans than all the noise from one set of fans. I think the reason behind what gave us that splitting of the hill was the fact that mayo were in the first semi while dublin were in the second. I think that in future, to make things a bit more even, if dublin make a semi they should always play second to give the other team a chance to get some tickets and make things more even.

My post was in response to someone who had said that a split hill is noisier which I don't think it is. Wasn't making a statement which is better.

I don't care really either way if it is split or not.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/09/2013 12:24:38    1489784

brendtheredhand

....................and not a Tyrone fan to be mentioned amongst the carnage either, "oh happy days"!

If you want I could make something up about Tyrone supporters?

I mean it is what a lot of others are doing in anyways.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/09/2013 12:26:14    1489786

Its not what you say snuff, its how you go about saying it!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/09/2013 13:12:01    1489819

Every coubty that has played dublin has heard the soccer fan style chanting, derogratory chanting of Sections of the Dublin support I emphasise sections. I have relations that are from Dublin I joined them before and after the match a met there friends who were Dublin all were very fine folk. In the stand where I sat they were Dublin people they were nice people. I travelled on the train that morning and set beside a complete stranger who was wearing a Dublin jersey . He travelled alone in a carriage fullo of Mayo supporters we had great banter and no abuse. He said as he left the train that he enjoyed the craic on the way up and the banter he wished me well but stated he hoped Dublin would win the senior and Mayo the minor final. He was a Dub, a true gent and a true GAA man.

I empasised in my earlier post that the Dublin Supoporters I spoke of are in the minority and I expect you wont find many of them travelling to many away matches in the League. They join the Bandwagon when Dublin are successful and damage the good name of genuine Dublin supporters.

I do not rtract my comment they bay like English soccer fans at their worst. I give the example of 2004 when a DUBLIN FAN spit at Tommy Lyons the Dublin Manager as he made his way from the pitch after losing to Westmeath, is that the behaviour of a GAA fan.

I give you the name of the Hotel, Temple Bar Hotel I was in the bar I was a resident I was not invoved in the incident but Dublin fans Girls and Lads taunted a group of Mayo Girls having a drink there. A drink was thrown over a Mayo girl. To see Mayo Girls that were not bothering anyone crying over this incident is scandalous. Needless to say the Dublin supporters involved were removed.

I was walking down O'Connell strret earlier that evening with my 9 year old niece. We were walking along wearing Mayo colours not bothering anyone when we encountererd a group of Dublin supporters (Lads) who appeared to be going on there journey in a mannerly fashion.

When they reached us they proceed to form a circle around us chanting "Losers Losers" pointing and laughing at the Mayo Jersey

I am not a sore loser Mayo have lost many times to Donegal, Kerry, Meath , Cork and despite the dissapointment we proceeded to enjoy our night out in Dublin afterwards.

Last Sunday night we were enjoying ourselves as while we had lost the senior final we had seen Mayo win an All Ireland for the first time in 28 years at Croke Park

The incidents involving SOME Dublin supporters left a sour taste and damped our enjoyment of the All Ireland weekend.

AS one poster brilliantly said there is nothing worse than a sore loser than an ungracious winner.

That was the beauty about last year Donegal were such gracious winnners, There supporters were a credit to their county
Despite the dissapointment Mayo partied the night away with Donegal last year cause they were such Gracious Winners

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/09/2013 14:05:33    1489874

belmay,

....and at what point did they fly planes into the mayo fans, attack ye with sarin or crash LUAS's's's into ye?

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 14:11:13    1489879

go troll somewhere else belmay. Ironic your behaviour given the thread title. GAA has no place for the likes of you.

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 26/09/2013 14:11:23    1489880

Jesus wept! I shall bite my tongue on this one considering the newness of the above mayo poster.

+1 emmomc

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/09/2013 14:18:04    1489885

belmay

I was walking down O'Connell strret earlier that evening with my 9 year old niece. We were walking along wearing Mayo colours not bothering anyone when we encountererd a group of Dublin supporters (Lads) who appeared to be going on there journey in a mannerly fashion.

When they reached us they proceed to form a circle around us chanting "Losers Losers" pointing and laughing at the Mayo Jersey

I think that's my favourite one so far.

Keep em coming there like a good lad. We haven't heard about someone being mugged yet. That should defo be in your next story.

"I saw an 88 year old woman with a Mayo head band round her frail wrist have her handbag stolen by some soccer-chanting Dublin fans with Dutch Gold in their hands, twas awful so it was..."

Something like that.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/09/2013 14:24:10    1489896

belmay go dry your eyes,my heart bleeds for you.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 26/09/2013 14:30:39    1489906

@ belend

Moderators sitting somewhere ******** in there pants laughing at that one. Will this one

A69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 26/09/2013 14:37:12    1489915

MesAmis

belmay

I think that's my favourite one so far.

Keep em coming there like a good lad. We haven't heard about someone being mugged yet. That should defo be in your next story.

"I saw an 88 year old woman with a Mayo head band round her frail wrist have her handbag stolen by some soccer-chanting Dublin fans with Dutch Gold in their hands, twas awful so it was..."

Something like that.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/09/2013 14:44:05    1489926

He could throw these paragraphs into next years cringeworthy 'open letter to the mayo team'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 14:45:56    1489928

You'd be lucky to get in the door of the Temple Bar Hotel with a GAA jersey.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/09/2013 14:48:48    1489933

....then when she was in hospital Dublin fans turned off her life support machine and put pictures of it up on facebook!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 14:49:40    1489936

brendtheredhand

..........and when those nasty Dubs fans had done with her a crowd of equally unsavoury Tyrone fans came along and beat her up, so we did!

As the frail, poor old woman tried to get into a taxi to go to the Gardaí to report these heinous crimes Seán Cavanagh himself came along and rugby tackled her cynically stopping her from reporting them!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/09/2013 14:56:58    1489944