Huge Credit to Mayo fans

Snufalufagus

1488410 Joe_Bloggs,

You are obviously new to HS!
Try being on here over the years when 'nobody shouted stop' among your 'culchie' comrades when Dublin were on the end of another bad defeat!.....The craic was 90 among your 'culchie' comrades in putting the boot in!

Why now do you expect us to be the 'goodie two shoes' when the tables have turned!

Ya see, what goes around comes around!.....and its has now 'come around'!! Thats life!!!

'KARMA'!!!

All ye're doing is giving "culchies" more of a reason to stick the boot in the next time ye lose, with ye're bitterness.
The only thing worse than a sore loser is an ungracious winner.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 25/09/2013 12:55:18    1489142

Personally I thought the hill looked unreal on tv with both sets of supporters.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/09/2013 15:53:57    1489301

Stood in the hill for the first time on Sunday with the wife. It was a good atmosphere, not as special as many make out.

Going forward segregating the hill in my opinion would definitely improve the atmosphere, dividing the colour would look better but the major improvement would be the noise that is generated, its logical.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 25/09/2013 16:07:20    1489317

It wasn't the usual atmosphere on the hill.....because there was 6000 Mayo fans on there!

Ticket allocation was a joke to be honest. Mayo got far too many. Hope Dublin don't play national league in Croke park ...... Line GAA's pockets all year and then get urinated on for final tickets.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 25/09/2013 17:18:43    1489386

I was sad to see the hand behind the ears showboating like that to the hill after the mayo goal though! It was a but silly seeing as half of it was his own fans and the score only drew them level.
It also seemed 'planned' like as if he was expecting to be doing it at some stage, which means he must have expected mayo to be running away with the game and it would be a great 'talking point' for mayo for years to come or like it would become a 'characteristic gesture' of their win towards the Dubs for years to come or something!
I was sad to see it anyway!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/09/2013 19:11:20    1489475

JayP

It wasn't the usual atmosphere on the hill.....because there was 6000 Mayo fans on there!

Ticket allocation was a joke to be honest. Mayo got far too many. Hope Dublin don't play national league in Croke park ...... Line GAA's pockets all year and then get urinated on for final tickets.

Season ticket holders would be ensured a ticket for the final.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 25/09/2013 19:31:25    1489490

dont agree with this at all.
i thaught was disgrace to see them have more on the hill then us.
all the mayo around me had either never been to croker or never been to hill 16 before.
yet 3 guys i go with all year couldnt get a ticket and have stood in that spot hail rain and snow.
one mayo player got 25 tickets for the match while majority of dublin clubs got 40 tickets.
29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo .
real proves the 31 v 1 county.

I was at the All Ireland and have been at every final Mayo contested since 89. I have to say that 90% of the Dublin support was wonderful. Great Banter and true GAA spirit mingling with the Mayo support. I seen many Dubs and Mayo standing together having a pint before hand having a chat etc. It was lovely to see.

Hill 16 man or what ever you call yourself you are completely out of order. Your mates may well have stood on the Hill all year but that is because Dublin get all their games in their own back yard. Its 5 years since ye played a championship game outside Croke Park. Dublin had 7 out of 9 league games at home. They had their 5 championship games up to the All Ireland final at home. Now if Mayo had 12 out of their 14 games in Croke Park we would all be saying we stood on that spot all year. Get this straight Dublin dont own Croke Park. This nonesense you are rambling on about other county boards is Tripe. Are you saying Tyrone wiyh a minor team in the All Ireland Final gave their tickets to the opposition Mayo. In future POst when you have something sensible to say. Tickets were as hard got in Mayo as Dublin. Mayo people have huge connections in many other counties through emmigration for work to other counties Dublin included and those people trawled these counties for tickets for themselves and their families back in Mayo that is how Mayo got the majority of Tickets.

Now for the minority of Dublin supporters and I emphasise the MINORITY they should hang their heads in shame. They did not have the spirit of the GAA. Mayo people payed for their tickets and are entitled to go where ever their ticket permits in Croke Park. Mayo people travel some in excess of 200 miles to support their team at huge expense Trains / Busses / Car (Petrol / Diesel) Taxis / Busses in Dublin Hotels etc. On average it would cost an Adult Mayo supporter in excess of 100 euro (Not including Match Ticket) to attend a Mayo Match in Croke Park if they stay over night its closer to 200 euro. Mayo had huge support at 3 games in Croke Park this year. I have been at all irelands minor and senior where may have played and were beaten Counties involving Cork Kerry Tyrone Meath Armagh Down. And there was also the bit of banter but no ill feeling.
Last Sunday a small percentage of Dublin supporters abused Mayo I have never heard the likes of it at a GAA match before.
That night in the city centre there was more of the same from a minority. In the Bar of the Hotel where I was staying a group of Dubs entered with the sole intention of abusing Mayo residents staying there and enjoying a drink there. Genuine dublin people sitting at the bar said they were embarrased that these people were wearing the Dublin colours.

This element of Dublin support I would compare to the hooligan element in English soccer support. They bear many similarities they have derogatory chants and songs about the opposition. Another similarity is they turn on their own team when losing.

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/09/2013 10:06:27    1489684

JayP

1489386 It wasn't the usual atmosphere on the hill.....because there was 6000 Mayo fans on there!

Four days after being crowned All Ireland champions some of the Dubs still manage a good oul moan.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 26/09/2013 10:55:28    1489716

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

belmay
Mayo
26/09/2013
10:08

Mayo suppoerters you are a credit

I would like to respond to this poster dont agree with this at all. i thaught was disgrace to see them have more on the hill then us. all the mayo around me had either never been to croker or never been to hill 16 before. yet 3 guys i go with all year couldnt get a ticket and have stood in that spot hail rain and snow. one mayo player got 25 tickets for the match while majority of dublin clubs got 40 tickets. 29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo . real proves the 31 v 1 county.

I was at the All Ireland and have been at every final Mayo contested since 89. I have to say that 90% of the Dublin support was wonderful. Great Banter and true GAA spirit mingling with the Mayo support. I seen many Dubs and Mayo standing together having a pint before hand having a chat etc. It was lovely to see.

Hill 16 man or what ever you call yourself you are completely out of order. Your mates may well have stood on the Hill all year but that is because Dublin get all their games in their own back yard. Its 5 years since ye played a championship game outside Croke Park. Dublin had 7 out of 9 league games at home. They had their 5 championship games up to the All Ireland final at home. Now if Mayo had 12 out of their 14 games in Croke Park we would all be saying we stood on that spot all year. Get this straight Dublin dont own Croke Park. This nonesense you are rambling on about other county boards is Tripe.

Are you saying Tyrone wiyh a minor team in the All Ireland Final gave their tickets to the opposition Mayo. In future POst when you have something sensible to say. Tickets were as hard got in Mayo as Dublin. Mayo people have huge connections in many other counties through emmigration for work to other counties Dublin included and those people trawled these counties for tickets for themselves and their families back in Mayo that is how Mayo got the majority of Tickets.

Now for the minority of Dublin supporters and I emphasise the MINORITY they should hang their heads in shame. They did not have the spirit of the GAA. Mayo people payed for their tickets and are entitled to go where ever their ticket permits in Croke Park. Mayo people travel some in excess of 200 miles to support their team at huge expense Trains / Busses / Car (Petrol / Diesel) Taxis / Busses in Dublin Hotels etc. On average it would cost an Adult Mayo supporter in excess of 100 euro (Not including Match Ticket) to attend a Mayo Match in Croke Park if they stay over night its closer to 200 euro. Mayo had huge support at 3 games in Croke Park this year. I have been at all irelands minor and senior where may have played and were beaten Counties involving Cork Kerry Tyrone Meath Armagh Down. And there was also the bit of banter but no ill feeling.

Last Sunday a small percentage of Dublin supporters abused Mayo I have never heard the likes of it at a GAA match before. That night in the city centre there was more of the same from a minority. In the Bar of the Hotel where I was staying a group of Dubs entered with the sole intention of abusing Mayo residents staying there and enjoying a drink there. Genuine dublin people sitting at the bar said they were embarrased that these people were wearing the Dublin colours. This element of Dublin support I would compare to the hooligan element in English soccer support. They bear many similarities they have derogatory chants and songs about the opposition. Another similarity is they turn on their own team when losing. Perhaps these Dublin supporters are throw back to Dublin been the Epicentre of Brittish Rule in Ireland. The similarities are uncanny.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 26/09/2013 10:56:52    1489718

I would like to respond to this poster dont agree with this at all. i thaught was disgrace to see them have more on the hill then us. all the mayo around me had either never been to croker or never been to hill 16 before. yet 3 guys i go with all year couldnt get a ticket and have stood in that spot hail rain and snow. one mayo player got 25 tickets for the match while majority of dublin clubs got 40 tickets. 29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo . real proves the 31 v 1 county.

Maybe it was one of the dublin sunshin supporters that took your mate's seats?
I dont recall papa smurf being at many dublin games before...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/09/2013 11:12:13    1489726

Right. That's it. Enough is enough!! I am so sick of this rubbish at this stage. There was two sets of supporters on the hill on Sunday. About 50/50 I would guess. As I've already stated the abuse was flowing both ways. Mayo are no angell. When Bernos goal went in plastic bottles and water were thrown across the section at us and obscene gestures too. 90% of mayo supporters, grand people. 10% like the minority of all counties are s**m and only there to get their fill of drink and cause trouble. I have NEVER heard so many taunts about 2006 and 2012 citing reasons from bottling ***** to too strung out on heroin as reasons we lost. Whoopdidooo! Who cares. Let them at it!! The amount of drunken mayomen (boys) was astounding. As I've said already I did see a group of Dublin men (boys) abuse a drunk mayo fan after which the mayo lad was removed by the medics. Getting on your high horse saying these supporters are a throwback to Dublin being the epicentre of British rule.....well, suffice to say I am embarrassed for you!

P.s. I want my torn flag back Declan from breaffy!! Ddzzope!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/09/2013 11:19:29    1489731

.....and yet a mayo supporter I spoke to who said he was the only one in a mayo shirt who walked into a pub full of Dubs to meet friends syas to me "Had great craic in there, but had to get out cos was getting sick of having the same post mortem on the match with every Dublin fan I spoke to"!!

Funny how other sources on here seem to have 'fantastic stories' of marauding gangs of Dubs intent on trouble eh!!!

Hmmmm!!!.....same old story from a disgruntld opposition supporter with a tayto on his shoulder trying to discredit our fans and our victorious county!

Macbeth: "The false face doth hide what the false heart doth know"!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 11:24:33    1489739

excellent post belmay.. well said. It's time Dublin built their own proper home ground and stop this squatting in Croke Park nonsence.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 26/09/2013 11:30:44    1489748

"The epicentre of British rule."

Grow up Belmay. When it came to ending British rule in this part of the country there is no debate regarding which of our counties played the biggest part....

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/09/2013 11:37:30    1489754

TheWestIsAwake
County: UK

Stood in the hill for the first time on Sunday with the wife. It was a good atmosphere, not as special as many make out.

Going forward segregating the hill in my opinion would definitely improve the atmosphere, dividing the colour would look better but the major improvement would be the noise that is generated, its logical

It's grand segregating the Hill but it was certainly less noisy on Sunday than most days. The Hill looked fantastic but it sounded far more subdued than normal. No problem with any set of supporters utilising the hill btw but disagree totally about the noise levels.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/09/2013 11:39:21    1489758

Belay

You were doing okay in that post til you betrayed your true feelings with your "epicentre of British rule" musings.

You no better than those you castigate in that post.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 26/09/2013 11:47:53    1489760

It was only a matter of time before all the backslapping and sure aren't they great supporters from ......... (insert county here) stories turned into recriminations and tales of drunken rampages, torn flags, soccer style chants and the like. NORMAL SERVICE HAS BEEN RESUMED.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/09/2013 11:48:21    1489761

I loved that flag Brend :( *sob

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/09/2013 11:53:36    1489764

....................and not a Tyrone fan to be mentioned amongst the carnage either, "oh happy days"!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/09/2013 11:54:51    1489765

belmay,

If mayo and the joke 'men of the west' learned how to fight for themselves in 1798 rather than waiting for the French to hide behind then ye might not have the deserved 'bottlers' tag ye have worn with pride ever since!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/09/2013 12:00:57    1489768