TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 8900
"Also, arock. You say it makes no difference. I read an article last week that had worked out the exact effects of taking frees into the hill. When shooting into the hill, dublin's free takers success rate improved. Everyone else decreases. So yes, it does make a difference."
But the main point is surely it didn't work Mayo lost. Post-match celebrations are far better than pre-match hype. The facts are Mayo allowed themselves to get it into their heads this was the year, but they never believed it, they said it, convinced themselves. But then went out on the pitch and their legs where laden with "lets occupy the Hill", "lets exorcise the curse", "lets write a few songs". Well how how about just getting the job done?
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 24/09/2013 08:23:06
pdempsey County: Mayo Posts: 428
1487107 MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1941
1487073 And with that little pat on the head, Mayo folk can go home happy.
Very impressive comment Muckross.
You must be a well educated man.
Up Mayo.
It would seem that Muckross is more educated than you Pdempsey (judging by that silly comment lol)
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 24/09/2013 09:02:09
the point is it had nothing at all to do with hill tickets being cheaper then stand tickets. this applies for all all ireland quarter finals and semi finals and finals yet last year dublin played mayo in the semi final and mayo had no support on the hill.was it not cheaper then too? also was it not cheaper for mayo supporters to have hill tickets for the semi final against tyrone this year? yet there was only 1500 people availed of the hill option that day and was half of that was tyrone supporters.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 12:59:25
Give it a rest Hill. We were in the Hill because our clubs were allocated Hill tickets.
killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 24/09/2013 14:21:33
killer
when i had two mayo women ask me where croke park was and they at the bottom of clonliffe road with tickets for the hill . then the entire mayo people on the bar ahead of me had never been on the hill before in their lives. its not as if mayo have not been reaching the all ireland stages over the last decade like a county such as cavan or monaghan you would understand. it was bad form from the gaa in doing this specificaly when they know full well it had nothing to do with cheaper tickets
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 14:47:46
I cannot get over some of the Dublin lads on this. I like a lot of "culchies" like to see Dublin win but can understand why some people dont like to see them win. All you have to do is read a few ungracious comments from them here. The best one has to be that 30 counties gave their allocation of tickets to Mayo!!!!! Absolutely hilarious!!!!!
Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 24/09/2013 15:15:58
Note to Hillman, Ye won the All Ireland! Stop moaning and be happy.The GAA own Croke Park, not the Dubs.
Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 24/09/2013 15:18:38
Joe_Bloggs,
You are obviously new to HS! Try being on here over the years when 'nobody shouted stop' among your 'culchie' comrades when Dublin were on the end of another bad defeat!.....The craic was 90 among your 'culchie' comrades in putting the boot in!
Why now do you expect us to be the 'goodie two shoes' when the tables have turned!
Ya see, what goes around comes around!.....and its has now 'come around'!! Thats life!!!
'KARMA'!!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/09/2013 15:28:14
Hill enjoy the fact you are All-Ireland champions rather than desperately trying to invent convoluted reasons to hate culchies
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 24/09/2013 15:29:11
I'm not going to get into whether or not they should've been there or not(personally didn't bother me how many tickets they got for the hill but can see both sides point of views) but I personally had some great craic and banter with the Mayo fans around me. They shook my hand as they left and wished up well done.....even hugged a few that were inconsolable. If we meet again in next years decider then I would look forward to the excellent banter again.
Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/09/2013 15:30:18
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5876
1488201 the point is it had nothing at all to do with hill tickets being cheaper then stand tickets. this applies for all all ireland quarter finals and semi finals and finals yet last year dublin played mayo in the semi final and mayo had no support on the hill.was it not cheaper then too? also was it not cheaper for mayo supporters to have hill tickets for the semi final against tyrone this year? yet there was only 1500 people availed of the hill option that day and was half of that was tyrone supporters.
You undertand that the ticket allocation process is a lot different for the final yeah? You're making yourself sound very bitter and foolish here hill, you can't have jam on both sides of your bread
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 24/09/2013 15:38:12
Yes, I'm really enjoying all those Mayoforsam youtube videos!!
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 24/09/2013 15:40:47
I would also like to give huge credit to the Dublin fans had great craic in the Hill with them and a few pints before and after the game. Few lads shouting 'Mayo are *****' etc but them lads obviously haven't played much football in their time we have that sort here also I have seen it in action on many occasions. Heard a lot of my friends complain about the dubs but some people only see who they what they want to see. The genuine Dublin football fan similar to most county's is the salt of the earth in my opinion. Its very upsetting for all mayo people, it is a unique sporting story after all. But the club championship games are coming up so at least that can take our minds off the whole situation for those of us with teams involved.
lobbitin (Mayo) - Posts: 20 - 24/09/2013 15:51:29
Simple answer to this dilema,
Buy a season ticket. Get a ticket to the final if your county is fortunate enough to get there.
People that dont deserve tickets will get tickets. That is the unfortunate reality of this life. I am sure it happens in the irfu and fai too. But the more of us who have season tickets, the less of the band wagon type support, or worse, totally clueless ones will get tickets as there will be fewer left for them.
I would not want to begrudge any true supporter a hill ticket, so go out and buy yourself that ticket for the full year, and then there will b no excuses come match day.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 24/09/2013 17:50:14
Lads, if ye paid heed to any amadáns on here saying ye won a 'lucky' All Ireland back in 2011 or rubbish like that ye know those lads are best ignored. I read some of those comments, completely laughable seeing as ye just downed the best team of all time. Ye were well worth yer win on Sunday too.
On a side note, it's easier to get slagged when you're half-cut. Some of the posting here is only craic but in the cold light of day that result hurts.I was drinking in O'Gara's in Stoneybatter, Ryan's in Smithfield and The Palace, Brogans and Bruxelles and had the best of banter and craic with the Dubs supporters. Had to head off at 2 when her indoors gave me the shout but it looked like most places would be open all night and why not !
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8120 - 24/09/2013 18:54:08
Breffni39
what makes you think im not enjoying it haha i have been out for the last 24 hours celebrating ,dont worry about me on that score pal. just because i have an opinion on a topic like anybody else here you think that makes me not enjoy the success of what we achieved this year.should i just not post for the few weeks or are dubs not aloud post any accounts of the experiance of being on the hill on sunday incase it offends non dubs?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 19:15:07
Donegalman County: All Posts: 991
1488603 Simple answer to this dilema,
Buy a season ticket. Get a ticket to the final if your county is fortunate enough to get there.
People that dont deserve tickets will get tickets. That is the unfortunate reality of this life. I am sure it happens in the irfu and fai too. But the more of us who have season tickets, the less of the band wagon type support, or worse, totally clueless ones will get tickets as there will be fewer left for them.
I would not want to begrudge any true supporter a hill ticket, so go out and buy yourself that ticket for the full year, and then there will b no excuses come match day.
yes i have parnell pass myself which entitles me to ticket for all games. but i dont think its fair to say everybody should have to buy one of them or a season ticket to be entitled to go to the final. what about people who get their tickets off their club all year and attend matches there every bit as deserving as people on season tickets,the same goes for people who purchase their ticket through the gaas ticket website. the gaa are quite prominent in prmoting that avenue of ticket sale all year looking for people to use it but then come the final say thanks for that but hard luck your not going to have the oppurtunity to go to the final.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 19:20:25
Well, the thing is arock. Maybe it did work. Maybe dublin would have won by more if they werent in there. I think it is the right way to go about things. It reduces this thing were people feel that dublin get special treatment. At least mayo have shown that the hill really is for everyone and maybe more fans can follow their lead in the future.
Also, to the guy saying people just went in there to annoy the dubs. They went in their because that was the ticket that was available. Plus they probably wanted to make things as even as possible for their team as regards shooting into a partisan crowd. I dont see how you can fault people for that. They deserve credit in my opinion.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/09/2013 19:42:30
the master
you didnt go there last year against us does this finally now put to bed your arguement that the crowd helps win matches for dublin. as clearly the team were not affected in the slightest when the ball was thrown in
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 20:41:05
Try being on here over the years when 'nobody shouted stop' among your 'culchie' comrades when Dublin were on the end of another bad defeat!.....The craic was 90 among your 'culchie' comrades in putting the boot in!
Why now do you expect us to be the 'goodie two shoes' when the tables have turned!
Ya see, what goes around comes around!.....and its has now 'come around'!! Thats life!!!
SNUF.......vindictive, spiteful and peevish spokesman for gurrier element.........I honestly expected more from you, a little magnanimity and graciousness would go a long way, another missed opportunity for a shot of redemption. You really are showing your true colours and it's disappointing. Enjoy the great and deserved victory and don't allow yourself to be eaten up inside by bitterness. It's not good for one's well being to be constantly negative and narrow-minded. Let it go and it will free yourself. You don't always have to respond to sore losers, in fact it's more productive to just ignore them.
beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 24/09/2013 21:13:08