hill16no1man - so each Mayo player got 25 tickets? I presume the Dublin players got the same allocation then too? iluvspuds (Longford) - Posts: 160 - 23/09/2013 14:43:05 1487522 Link 0 |
Blue.Steel arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 23/09/2013 15:45:40 1487585 Link 0 |
The Mayo cars were bumper to bumper going through Longford yesterday morning at 8.45am.I was buying the Sunday paper and had to wait at least five minutes to get served as the fans topped up with food and snacks. I think they are great fans but the one think I will ask is what about the recession all these people were driving good cars and tickets cost 70/80 euro where do they get the money? bullring (Longford) - Posts: 204 - 23/09/2013 16:08:49 1487606 Link 0 |
It was great to see Mayo fans on the Hill yesterday in big numbers. A fantastic step forward & long may it continue. MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/09/2013 16:24:20 1487623 Link 0 |
MuckrossHead jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 16:34:13 1487631 Link 0 |
Maybe not Jimbo but it seemed to have spooked more than a few of your fellow Dubs supporters on here. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/09/2013 16:35:56 1487632 Link 0 |
Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 23/09/2013 16:49:50 1487643 Link 0 |
brendtheredhand jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 16:50:00 1487644 Link 0 |
Now I would be a Hill 16 die hard and of course would always prefer an all blue Hill but by no means do I think we have a god given right to be the only county supporters on there. I had no problem at all with it, it was just very very strange. It was like that scene in Anchorman when Veronica Corningstone reads the news for the first time and the rest of the guys are staring at her and say "You're not Ron". Thats what it was like. I was just looking at these green and red jerseys with their odd accents thinking "You're not from Dublin...." It was odd. DNS1916 (Dublin) - Posts: 64 - 23/09/2013 16:54:58 1487655 Link 0 |
In fairness Jimbo, for an opposition team there is nothing like silencing the hill. I'd cut Moran a bit of slack. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 23/09/2013 17:00:13 1487662 Link 0 |
slayer jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 17:20:54 1487671 Link 0 |
One thing though about yesterday is that on TV at least the atmosphere seemed muted. I can only imagine that winning your second All-Ireland in three years after a 16 year gap, the second time around might not be as sweet but it just seemed very muted. Maybe it was different inside the stadium. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 17:22:06 1487673 Link 0 |
Feel for the genuine Mayo fans really do can't imagine the pain of losing all them finals. The future is bright celebrate your minor success them lads deserve their moment in the spot light. As for the ABD's on here all year giving their "expert opinion" on Dublin every minute of the day go beep beep beep beepppppppppp :) Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 23/09/2013 17:38:03 1487693 Link 0 |
I think the last thing Mayo supporters need is sympathy or patronising posts. I know full well that jimbodub means well and so do I when I say that my heart bleeds for them. However winning Sam is the only thing that will salve all the hurt. They have a great panel, they won the minor All Ireland, most Counties will look with envy at the resources Mayo have at their disposal. Its time now to forget about football for a few months but then its dusting down the green & red flags again and getting behind the team. I can see nothing in Connaught to touch them, so it should be quarterfinal time again and just 3 matches to win, I hope to God they do not end up playing Cork in next year's final. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 23/09/2013 17:38:56 1487695 Link 0 |
The Mayo lads were fantastic. You brought huge support and were great craic, you were passionate but fair throughout and accepted defeat very fairly. Hopefully your day will come because those lads and the fans deserve an AI champ. CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 23/09/2013 19:37:57 1487789 Link 0 |
Ah jesus lads giving out about Mayo fans in the hill that's cat, it's an all ireland final at the end of the day and clubs are going to get issued hill tickets, ps fair play to dublin and hard luck to Mayo yous will be back next year as always!! LillyLad (Kildare) - Posts: 65 - 23/09/2013 21:18:24 1487890 Link 0 |
slayer AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/09/2013 21:30:19 1487905 Link 0 |
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF150/795558.jpg jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 21:37:36 1487912 Link 0 |
Jimbo, I was scratching my head at that one. What was he at there? I seen no point to it. As regards the hill, I think it was a great thing. Someone said that mayo fairweather fans were in there and thus took his friends places. Im sure there were some dublin fairweather fans in there also. Maybe they took your friends places? TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/09/2013 21:49:53 1487926 Link 0 |
Spoke this evening to a young mayo lady who works in Dublin....said she feels like a widow with all the sympathy she's getting at work...... beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 23/09/2013 21:56:56 1487940 Link 0 |