Huge Credit to Mayo fans

As a young lad who's did everything i could to get to all te games this year since January,heartbroken not to have been there yesterday..I do blame myself for not having a season ticket but sure a young lad doesn't have the moo-la for that..can yas tell me when the season tickets are issued for 2014..it's a must this year

Captaindubs (Dublin) - Posts: 17 - 23/09/2013 12:07:16    1487307

For me All Ireland Final day belongs to everyone involved in GAA not just the two counties competing in the final. I think its great to see the crowd blended and mingled on AI Final Day - so no gripes from me about the ticket allocations.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 23/09/2013 12:07:25    1487308

I don't see how Dublin fans can justify having a section of the ground to themselves. No other county is granted such a privilege.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 23/09/2013 12:12:29    1487317

For me they get carried away before a final and put way to much pressure on there team. They do hype like no other county I've ever seen.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/09/2013 12:16:47    1487323

yes brend his number is up, up to 63 in fact )

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 23/09/2013 12:33:27    1487342

Brend poor owl 51 tipped us to lose every championship game this summer, I knew we'd win once he told us all that Mayo would win the final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2013 12:38:38    1487350

Yeah some of the more "noisy" contingent of the Mayo support are very much M.I.A

Perhaps they are still trying to find their way out of Hill 16... it can be confusing for newbies ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 12:47:00    1487354

Mayo fans really are a unique bunch. Everyone of them I spoke to before the match was confident that this was their year. Their record in finals is horrendous so where was that confidence coming from?
As regards their 'occupation' of the hill I honestly don't think that was an attempt to wind us up as someone said, it's just a reflection of their ( misguided) confidence.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 23/09/2013 12:49:01    1487357

Condorman

Ah come on Hil16no1man! It's an All Ireland final, you can't expect the GAA to give us the hill, it's in our city but its not our home venue.Mayo also had a team in the minor, so they would have got an allocation for that.

every person in ireland knows dublin go there all year.
in 1995 or 2011 they didnt give the other countys more hill tickets then dublin.
last year semi final against mayo was a full house too yet mayo didnt have any on the hill.
no problem with them getting an allocation but getting more tickets then dublin who are the only county who fill it all year was bad form from the gaa

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 12:51:51    1487360

AthCliath

hill16no1man

1487225 dont agree with this at all.
i thaught was disgrace to see them have more on the hill then us.
all the mayo around me had either never been to croker or never been to hill 16 before.
yet 3 guys i go with all year couldnt get a ticket and have stood in that spot hail rain and snow.
one mayo player got 25 tickets for the match while majority of dublin clubs got 40 tickets.
29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo .
real proves the 31 v 1 county.

For me it ended the myth that Dublin get all the hill tickets. more counties might follow suit now on go on the hill which they are entitled to do, so any Dub going all year don't leave anything to chance and get a PP or season ticket , then ye wont have to worry.
I agree that a lot of fans lost out yesterday and the way the system is designed people are gonna have to stop going the ticket master and gaa.ie
route next year if they want to get to see a final, because really they are tickets that get you to a semi final and then you don't exist, which I think is wrong but until something better comes out its PP or season ticket. Dublin fans have no excuse with the spring series being free with the passes.

i agree im on the parnell pass myself and its brilliant.
but i felt for the thousands who go all year even club members and couldnt get a ticket come the final.
one mayo player had 25 tickets for the game while most dublin clubs recieved a total of 40 tickets for the game.
gaa.ie and supervalu are where most of the tickets are bought all year and its unfair that come a final that way of buying tickets is then done away with just because they know the ground will be full without them.
it should not be restriceted for finals the fairest system should be if you can show your tickets from games all year you should be rewarded with a ticket.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 12:56:37    1487369

Bit rich Dublin fans complaining about not getting to own "The Hill", ye have already enough cards stacked in your favour so I wouldn't be complaining.Fair play for the Mayo fans for occupying the "home end"

AthboyGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 23/09/2013 12:58:22    1487371

Condorman
Mayo fans really are a unique bunch. Everyone of them I spoke to before the match was confident that this was their year. Their record in finals is horrendous so where was that confidence coming from?

Well, they'd racked up huge scores throughout the year, knocked out the AI champions and in the end only lost by 1 point so hardly was misguided confidence. Dublin were the better team but Mayo had the chances to win that game.

hill16no1man

dont agree with this at all.
all the mayo around me had either never been to croker or never been to hill 16 before.
yet 3 guys i go with all year couldnt get a ticket and have stood in that spot hail rain and snow.
one mayo player got 25 tickets for the match while majority of dublin clubs got 40 tickets.
29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo .

Absolute crap, the lot of it.

1. No county has a divine right to certain sections of the ground. It was alright in the old days when you had the railway end and each county occupied a terrace. Now, with only 1 terrace, there's no reason why Mayo fans shouldn't have been there.

2. Your mates should have bought season tickets if they go so often.

3. Any sources on how this one Mayo player got 25 tickets? Do you not think the other Mayo players would have been annoyed with him getting preferential treatment.

4. Also, you've sources in every county board that confirmed they gave tickets to Mayo? Every club in the country gets tickets (2 usually I think) and a lot of them use these as prizes in fundraiser draws so I really doubt they were giving over their allocation to Mayo just to rub it in the face of the jackeens or whatever agenda you think is going on.

5. If Roscommon didn't hand over their allocation it would be 30v2, not 31v1 then wouldn't it ;)

iluvspuds (Longford) - Posts: 160 - 23/09/2013 13:09:28    1487386

iluvspuds
County: Longford

1487386 Condorman

Well, they'd racked up huge scores throughout the year, knocked out the AI champions and in the end only lost by 1 point so hardly was misguided confidence. Dublin were the better team but Mayo had the chances to win that game.

hill16no1man

dont agree with this at all.

Absolute crap, the lot of it.

1. No county has a divine right to certain sections of the ground. It was alright in the old days when you had the railway end and each county occupied a terrace. Now, with only 1 terrace, there's no reason why Mayo fans shouldn't have been there.

2. Your mates should have bought season tickets if they go so often.

3. Any sources on how this one Mayo player got 25 tickets? Do you not think the other Mayo players would have been annoyed with him getting preferential treatment.

4. Also, you've sources in every county board that confirmed they gave tickets to Mayo? Every club in the country gets tickets (2 usually I think) and a lot of them use these as prizes in fundraiser draws so I really doubt they were giving over their allocation to Mayo just to rub it in the face of the jackeens or whatever agenda you think is going on.

5. If Roscommon didn't hand over their allocation it would be 30v2, not 31v1 then wouldn't it ;)

I couldn't agree with you more. Why can't they just enjoy the day instead of coming on here having a good moan. Croke Park belongs to the GAA and not Dublin.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 23/09/2013 13:14:32    1487396

iluvspuds

no county has a right but we are the only ones who use hill16 all year and i didnt see mayo for a full house last year use hill16 for the all ireland semi final against us.
i didnt see the gaa give kerry more tickets then dublin in 2011 for the all ireland final for hill16.
i didnt see mayo use hill16 for this years all ireland semi final against tyrone when only 1500 tickets were used that day between both counties.
dublin fans always use hill16 it was petty from the gaa nothing what so ever to do with offering cheaper tickets.
so now you need to be a season ticket member to be a real gaa supporter?
what about being a memeber of a gaa club and getting your tickets all year and supporting your club?
i expect the other mayo players got simliar where as dublin clubs only recieved 40 tickets in total.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 13:40:06    1487436

sedico

we are enjoying it and it makes it all the sweeter when the gaa and other countys went on with that carry on
that dublin came out and won the national league,leinster and all ireland in one year
up the dubs
sam is home

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 13:41:32    1487440

It seems slightly strange that after an all Ireland win, some Dublin supporters are still complaining...whats the point? Victory achieved, enjoy it.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 23/09/2013 13:47:48    1487450

I dont feel sorry for any bunch of supporters when they lose, or supporters complaining about not being able to get tickets for the final. This is what a season ticket is for. . That is part of the game. Some supporters handle winning and losing better than others. At least Mayo won the minors, that is a huge thing is it not?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 23/09/2013 13:51:24    1487455

getoverthebar

am enjoying it believe us
national league ,leinster and all ireland what more could you want in one year.
just felt sorry for alot of people who missed out on the occasion because of bad form from the gaa yesterday.
nice to see the dublin players acknowledge this to by breaking early from the parade before hill 16.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 13:57:21    1487467

GetOverTheBar

1487450 It seems slightly strange that after an all Ireland win, some Dublin supporters are still complaining...whats the point? Victory achieved, enjoy it.

Its ok its only HILL :) the rest of us are grand. Special feeling and privileged to see my county win SAM.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/09/2013 14:09:58    1487483

Did the Dubs really not parade in front of the Hill just because a lot of Mayo fans had tickets for there??

Serious amount of arrogance by them if so. All fans should have access to the Hill despite the Dubs feeling they have some God given right to it. Particularly when it is the cheapest section of the stadium.

Blue.Steel (Longford) - Posts: 138 - 23/09/2013 14:28:11    1487506