Huge Credit to Mayo fans

Even from afar you could see the Mayo colour in Croke Park

And from chatting with the brothers who were on the Hill they said the Mayo crowd were everywhere

The night before in town I was told was a sight with thousands Mayo fans already in Dublin

Even a couple of weeks before the game the Mayo colour all around Dublin city was clear to see.. on cars, hanging from apartment blocks, bunting on houses

You were dead right to celebrate the fact that your county were once again in a final

Hats off to you... and no one doubts that you'll be back and have many more huge days to look forward too

You're a credit to your county and to the game but we fecking owed you one... so chin up and best of luck in the future

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 09:19:18    1487051

And with that little pat on the head, Mayo folk can go home happy.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/09/2013 09:43:27    1487073

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/09/2013 09:48:11    1487080

MuckrossHead

_______

No pat on the head, simple admiration for what was a spirited and down right impressive campaign all year by the Mayo support

If they were playing anyone else I would have wanted them to win

They'll be back

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 09:53:54    1487089

Mayo had their tactics spot on for the first half but just couldn't shake the Dub's off if they had went in with a 4 or 5 point lead that their dominance of the 1st 35 minutes they would have SAM resting in the West but the Dub's clung on got the goals that ultimately decided the game I feel this Mayo team has an AI in them next year the Dub's weren't great yesterday BB was the difference Kilkennny and Jack the lad seemed to freeze but their young lads with a Senior AI Medal in the sky rocket and will learn a lot from yesterday. To the Mayo fans you brought a lot of colour to what would nave been a very grey/blue hill yesterday and for most of the game your voice was the loudest .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 23/09/2013 10:00:13    1487099

MuckrossHead

1487073 And with that little pat on the head, Mayo folk can go home happy.

Very impressive comment Muckross.

You must be a well educated man.

Up Mayo.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 23/09/2013 10:05:20    1487107

pdempsey

MuckrossHead

1487073 And with that little pat on the head, Mayo folk can go home happy.

Very impressive comment Muckross.

You must be a well educated man.

Up Mayo.

Irony is obviously wasted on you pdempsey

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/09/2013 10:36:21    1487163

Muck...

You can take any sort of cynical slant you want...

The thread is well intended and you should stop the moo-poo...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 10:48:31    1487180

dont agree with this at all.
i thaught was disgrace to see them have more on the hill then us.
all the mayo around me had either never been to croker or never been to hill 16 before.
yet 3 guys i go with all year couldnt get a ticket and have stood in that spot hail rain and snow.
one mayo player got 25 tickets for the match while majority of dublin clubs got 40 tickets.
29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo .
real proves the 31 v 1 county.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 11:25:27    1487225

Some of them near me wouldn't even shake hands at the end and were calling Dublin supporters knackers. Didn't seem to know any Mayo players names other than O'Connor! Not really in sympathetic mode I have to say.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/09/2013 11:28:48    1487233

For me they get carried away before a final and put way to much pressure on there team. They do hype like no other county I've ever seen.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2013 11:32:54    1487244

Well you'll always get the plonkers on both sides

My 3 brothers were at the game near the back close enough to the mad Blue lad

They said they had great time for the Mayo support around them

Wished them the best before the game/ chatting during the game, shook hands and congrats all around

Guess you may have got unlucky Hurling-D

I think there's something impressive to take as much on the chin as they have done... and keep coming back with such passionate, loyal, vocal, colourful support

Don't get me wrong we def owed Mayo big big time and we have got our revenge in epic proportions... and I'm delighted but I can only report on what I seen in the build up to the game and from first hand accounts

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 11:36:45    1487250

Hill16no1man "29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo"
Not true.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 23/09/2013 11:39:35    1487256

hill16no1man

1487225 dont agree with this at all.
all the mayo around me had either never been to croker or never been to hill 16 before.
yet 3 guys i go with all year couldnt get a ticket and have stood in that spot hail rain and snow.
one mayo player got 25 tickets for the match while majority of dublin clubs got 40 tickets.
29 of the 30 other county boards with roscommon apart gave their tickets to mayo .
real proves the 31 v 1 county. [/I]

Why didn't your friends just get a season ticket at the start of the year? probably would have made more financial sense and they would have been guaranteed a final ticket if I'm not mistaken, and there is always a decent chance of Dublin getting to the final.

I agree with you about the sunshine supports though, that is unfortunately part and parcel of the game. But I don't agree with you suggesting that Dublin should have more fans on the hill, if anything it should be divided equally for finals so that everyone has a fair shot at getting a €40 ticket

irishstew (Sligo) - Posts: 172 - 23/09/2013 11:39:37    1487257

irishstew

dublin played mayo in all ireland semi final last year with a full house yet mayo didnt want hill tickets.
same crowd yesterday and yet they get more hill tickets then dublin.
dublin go to hill all year and mayo played tyrone in semi final and only 1500 hill tickets were used between both countys.
so i dont buy the cheaper ticket suggestions they are cheaper all year not just for the final yet nobody from other countys wants to go there.
there was facebook pages started and all last week to not let dubs get hold of hill tickets.
dublin fans go to the hill all year and then the gaa turn around and slap them in the face by saying thanks for filling it all year now we dont need you

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 11:45:50    1487264

Ah come on Hil16no1man! It's an All Ireland final, you can't expect the GAA to give us the hill, it's in our city but its not our home venue.Mayo also had a team in the minor, so they would have got an allocation for that.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 23/09/2013 11:54:36    1487285

hill16no1man

1487225 dont agree with this at all.
real proves the 31 v 1 county.

For me it ended the myth that Dublin get all the hill tickets. more counties might follow suit now on go on the hill which they are entitled to do, so any Dub going all year don't leave anything to chance and get a PP or season ticket , then ye wont have to worry.
I agree that a lot of fans lost out yesterday and the way the system is designed people are gonna have to stop going the ticket master and gaa.ie
route next year if they want to get to see a final, because really they are tickets that get you to a semi final and then you don't exist, which I think is wrong but until something better comes out its PP or season ticket. Dublin fans have no excuse with the spring series being free with the passes.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/09/2013 11:56:10    1487287

Hard luck Mayo. Was really hoping you would come through yesterday.
Have to say that I had chats with many lovely friendly mayo people in Dublin yesterday.
Hope you are back to win Sam next year.( if my own county don't).

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/09/2013 11:59:15    1487294

It was pure gamesmanship on a grande collective scale. Lets get up the noses of the dubs right? As if 50% of the Hill being occupied by Mayo fans could make the slightest bit of difference to the onfield performence, talk about immaturty on a colossal scale its sad really.
Now if the motivation was for a fair crack of the whip for cheap tickets, fine I can understand and justify that. But this was not about that at all was it? Go on be honest, it was about playing a silly stupid game, well just look were it got you?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 23/09/2013 12:06:17    1487304

As a young lad who's did everything i could to get to all te games this year since January,heartbroken not to have been there yesterday..I do blame myself for not having a season ticket but sure a young lad doesn't have the moo-la for that..can yas tell me when the season tickets are issued for 2014..it's a must this year

Captaindubs (Dublin) - Posts: 17 - 23/09/2013 12:07:10    1487306