24/09/2013 15:44:44 unstoppable County: Mayo Posts: 25
that wasn't a complaint. Just an observation. It's part of the day out. Love the crack between opposition supporters and had a right day of it on Sunday. Plenty of Mayo lads around me on Sunday and there was no bother. One of the reasons so many Dubs are thrilled with last Sundays win is because of the rivalry between the two counties. I love it. You have rubbed are noses in it in 2006 (still smarts) and 2012x2 :-). Sunday was payback. I expect to see yous there or thereabouts next year no matter what the doom-mongers say now. And what better motivation for the lads than perhaps a chance to stick it to The Jacks once again.
A.
Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 24/09/2013 16:27:07
BigTim County: Mayo Posts: 3
1488314 From a mayo point of view the best team won. No question. But if Dublin wonder why there was a 31county vs 1county feeling this week take a look at the behavior of some fans in the hill on Sunday.
As us Mayo fans left some dubs threw plastic bottles down at us from above, sprayed us with water, blocked the exits to refuse to let us leave, and one "fan" pulled my girlfriend around by the shoulder to push a banner in her face and sing "hill 16 is dublin only - go back to the bog".
As a mayo fan Iv been to my fair share of loosing AI finals, and I been in the Hill or Nally for 4, but Iv never experienced the lack of class that was displayed on Sunday.
90% of Dublin fans were/are gentlemen, and the Team were fantastic all year, but its the 10% ****bag fans that cause the rest of the country to dislike Dublin GAA so much
If this happened (which I take your word for) I'm disgusted, but not totally surprised, With a large contingent of young drunk lads from any county its a recipe for disaster. A huge percentage of the hill is oul and young lads who go to league and championship , really know their gaa and wouldn't let that type of behaviour happen. unfortunately in packed hill with young lads showing off this can happen impossible to stop. On behalf of True Dubs im sorry this had to happen to you and your girlfriend.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/09/2013 16:29:07
I have to back big Tim up here. There was taunting and plastic bottles being thrown indiscriminately. But I must also point out that most of the crowd around me from mayo were so drunk that the stewards took two away to the medical area. They were taunting us too in particular about 2006 because we were in the minority & I had my flag taken from my hand and ripped up. They also threw water at us when they were leaving. I was in area B2 big Tim not sure where you were but sorry that happened to your girlfriend. In particular there was 4 or 5 lunatic dubs that were incensed that they couldn't get in to their usual spot and they caused trouble with a mayo man up the back. Complete fools!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/09/2013 16:44:05
football first County: All Posts: 686
1488454 Just wondering if any Mayo (or Sligo supporters) remember the last few minutes of last year's provincial final? Didn't a Mayo midfielder gladly pick up a second yellow card in order to stop a Sligo attack, by performing a rugby tackle just like McManaman's? I'm not justifying either action - only pointing out that levels of cynicism are practiced by all the leading counties.
It's amazing how few people will accept this. It's like a mass delusion.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 24/09/2013 16:51:53
unstoppable County: Mayo Posts: 25
1488431 Hill, you say that Mayo deliberately went looking for hill 16 tickets to antagonise the dubs. Thats simply not true. The clubs down here were given a large portion of hill 16 tickets and people were livid that there was not a larger percentage of stand tickets. Also if you look at twitter and the various boards in the run up to the final. Mayo fans everywhere were looking to swap hill 16 tickets for stand tickets. Blame the Gaa for the large number of Mayo fans in the hill, Mayo took the tickets they were given.
This was an all ireland final, not a quarter final. People took whatever ticket they got unlike the previous matches where the stadium wasn't full and they could sit where they liked.
Also if you read my post properly, I have taken my beaten. I congratulated Dublin on their win, they were the better team and deserve all the praise they get.
One final point on the free count, I had a Cork man beside me who couldn't get over how poor Dublin's tackling was. He wasn't saying it was cynical just, over-zealous and poorly timed. I for one did feel that Mayo got a lot of frees and a number very soft but I also thought that the quality of the tackling from the Mayo backs was a step above, just a pity Bernard Brogan was a step above again.
well howcome mayo set up facebook pages regarding wanting to take over the hill for the final? yes i do blame the gaa first, 15 minutes before the minor match started i got in and the entire hill looked to be mayo,i couldnt see where dublin fans where actualy going to go as there looked to be no room but somehow it ended up nearer half and half but with the nally terrace almost entirely mayo.to me it really looked like the gaa wanted mayo to win by doing this and tryed to dilute the experiance for dublin supporters. the stadium was full last year in the all ireland semi final and mayo didnt take hill tickets! the excuse being used was cheaper option but its half the price for your last two matches in the quarter and semi finals yet mayo never looked for tickets for them matches. yes but you came out having a go at me as a poster and after 23 posts your hardly in a place to judge. i cannot agree i thaught both sides were cmmiting the same tackles or same fouls yet only one side was being punished to me thats a clear lack of consitency in how the game is being reffed. like one instance alone in the first half james mccarthy burst through the mayo defence and had the ball dragged out of his hands with no free given 3 seconds later dublin done the exact same thing and a free was given to mayo. like come on fair is fair now
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 17:03:29
Best team lost
KingOfJacks (Kildare) - Posts: 361 - 24/09/2013 17:04:51
BigTim
you say dublin have higher percentage of hanger ons haha thats laughable as 90% of mayo on hill 16 had never been on the terrace before in their lives so how on earth could they possibly know anything about what happens there on a match day involving dublin or any other county for that matter. two mayo women at the bottom of clonliffe road even had to ask me how you get to croke park. so i think mayo are in no place to be making assertions on hanger ons
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 17:11:10
At least this will be the last year of it. There will be none of it once the black card rule comes into play.
It is not surprising that this happens, the players are under so much pressure to win that they resort to anything within the rules to do it.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 24/09/2013 17:14:13
King of Jacks. We handed you your ass's twice this year. Pulling up as well. It'll be a while B4 we have the same problem with u boys. O B cup finals don't make it to Croke Park. Now back in yer Box.
Aido
Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 24/09/2013 17:27:51
Best team lost KingOfJacks -------------------
That will continue to be the case for many a long year so! Meanwhile Dublin will just keep on racking up the SAMS!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/09/2013 17:34:08
It's amazing how few people will accept this. It's like a mass delusion.
Yeah exactly. It's baffling really. At times even the dastardly Tyrone has been the victim of games being 'closed out' too, like last year's match against Kerry (not trying to pick a row with Kerry fans, we were hammered anyway and I've no beef with ye). It's probably just a flaw with the entire rules - that it's easy enough to stop a team getting back into the game in the last 5 or 10 minutes. All I'd like is a fair critique of matches - it's not just Brolly who has a bit of an agenda, I'm not gonna link to the article cos it's not even worth reading but Gavin Cummiskey of the Irish Times wrote a seriously critical article about the Tyrone minors on Monday, and the minor match wasn't even that cynical in my view. It was about the Tyrone/Mayo minor match in general but the whole article was bashing Tyrone, criticising Mickey Harte, bringing up the Cavanagh incident, bringing up the 2004 minor team, acting if using a sweeper was the worst thing ever. Was the sorest article I've ever seen on a minor team.
MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/09/2013 17:49:26
Yeah read that and you're right not to link it. Shameful.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 24/09/2013 17:51:53
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 4138
1488397 Lads all I'll say is what happened to his face was no accident.
So you have nothing to back your claim up like always? Also where was the super Dublin forward line Sunday? Still depending on BB it looked to me. Where was ''King Kilkenny''? The man you assured us all just had to pick up the Young Player of the Year award
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/09/2013 19:17:34
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 3287
1488694 clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 4138
So you have nothing to back your claim up like always? Also where was the super Dublin forward line Sunday? Still depending on BB it looked to me. Where was ''King Kilkenny''? The man you assured us all just had to pick up the Young Player of the Year award
the grapes must be really sour today pal
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 19:38:36
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5891
1488546 BigTim
you say dublin have higher percentage of hanger ons haha thats laughable as 90% of mayo on hill 16 had never been on the terrace before in their lives so how on earth could they possibly know anything about what happens there on a match day involving dublin or any other county for that matter. two mayo women at the bottom of clonliffe road even had to ask me how you get to croke park. so i think mayo are in no place to be making assertions on hanger ons
Hillman16 So if you got off the train in Castlebar could you walk straight to McHale park? How about from the bus station in Sligo to Markievicz park? Ireland extends beyond the pale
BigTim (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 24/09/2013 19:49:37
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 3287
-------- Every Dublin forward scored on Sunday except Mannion but his replacement did. Where was the Kerry team on Sunday?
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 24/09/2013 19:54:51
football first Just wondering if any Mayo (or Sligo supporters) remember the last few minutes of last year's provincial final? Didn't a Mayo midfielder gladly pick up a second yellow card in order to stop a Sligo attack, by performing a rugby tackle just like McManaman's? I'm not justifying either action - only pointing out that levels of cynicism are practiced by all the leading counties.
Id agree with that. However, it is also only fair to point out that some teams dont do it as much as others. My only issue with the the final was jim gavin's response to the question of cynicism. James horan rightly pointed out that gavin had stated in the past that if his team were cynical he would pack in the job. I thought it was a bit holier than thou at the time, but with what has since transpired in both the semi final and the final, it is a bit rich in fairness.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/09/2013 19:55:52
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5895
1488721 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 3287
the grapes must be really sour today pal
I asked a simple question for him to back his claims up whats wrong with that? Are you going to comment on this subject or ignore it? If i recall you were one of many Dubs outraged by other teams doing this, why are you not now? Would you agree that Jim Gavin should step down? Seeing as he said he would if Dublin ever played like this?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/09/2013 19:58:36
Hahaha League and All Ireland Champions 2013 Moomoo that's all that matters pal , not bad for a team you don't rate.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/09/2013 20:00:47
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 4142
1488750 Hahaha League and All Ireland Champions 2013 Moomoo that's all that matters pal , not bad for a team you don't rate.
So your not going to answer the question so? You told everyone Kilkenny was a sure thing for Young Player of the Year did you not? What did he do all year? You told everyone Dublin dont rely on BB anymore did you not? Who did there scoring Sunday?
Also nothing to back up your latest claim?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/09/2013 20:11:54