If the Dubs think that they were harshly treated on Sunday - be warned they will get even less next season - as with any team that has been in the wilderness of success they have been the benificaries of the 50/50 calls in the past however with two AI wins in the past three year this will undoubtable mean that there won't get as many 50/50 calls - think its human nature that their opponents will be the underdog and get the rub of the green
The RTE love in with the Dubs will continue but refs will treated them more harshly imo
roast (Kildare) - Posts: 143 - 24/09/2013 13:48:41
Culann I know exactly why Philly McMahon has a cut under his eye I was in the lower hogan section 336 it's right down the hill end you see everything that happens in the full back/forward lines there.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/09/2013 13:59:49
Very few people on HS have begrudged Dublin their win and why would they; the Dubs were the best team on Sunday and have been all season. All that many posters are doing is pointing out the massive double standards and total hypocrisy this season and the disgraceful, shameful abuse that Sean Cavanagh and Tyrone received and to be fair some Dubs have acknowledged that. I have already stated that I don't blame or single out Dublin for their defensive, cynical tactics in order to close the game out because that's what streetwise teams do. It's the head in the sand attitude from some Dubs and especially the galling statements from Jim Gavin about the referee and 'playing the game the right way' which are hard to take. Jim has boasted all season of his teams not engaging in defensive, negative tactics or stopping the opposition playing but that's exactly what Dublin did in the last quarter so Jim's hypocrisy has been laid bare. I suspect Gavin knows that perfectly and his attack on the referee was a classic diversionary smokescree to deflect emphasis away from Dublin's pulling, dragging and hauling players down. Sorry Jim but people are just not that stupid or naive. Furthermore just on Tyrone the best most competetive games this season outside the Dublin/Kerry game have been the two Tyrone/Dublin League games which were very close and great entertainment. How then all of a sudden do Tyrone go from that to Southern Public Enemy No 1?
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 24/09/2013 14:11:22
unstoppable County: Mayo Posts: 23
1487793 There is no point even listening to that hill 16 chap. All he said on here are baseless claims without a shred of evidence to back them up. You complain that it was 31 counties against 1 yesterday. Maybe you should look a little closer to home and you'd find out why it was 31 v 1. It's fans like you that give the dubs there reputation down the country. Thinking you have a divine right to the hill and to more tickets. My god, this is the national sport played in a national stadium. It's not dublins, it's everyone's.
More importantly, well done to the Dubs. A fantastic football team. We'll see you again next year hopefully.
get back in your box and take your beating like a real man. your only on here 23 posts so dont try tell what type of poster i am,as i am in no way an unfair person. the clear point is mayo wanted tickets to deny dublin the hill not for the cheaper option at all,is it not cheaper for all games to hill16 then the stand? howcome for the quarter finals and semi finals mayo supporters didnt avail of the option to use hill16 a cheaper ticket. what about the facebook pages wanting to take over the hill set up and another telling supporters not to let dublin get any of their hill tickets . im not saying mayo shouldnt get a quot but a spade a spade getting more then dublin was abad form from the gaa and it backfired. also mayo broke gaa protocol and came out onto the pitch when they were not supposed to,dublin were ment to come out on the pitch at that time so it was all mind games from mayo
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 14:26:19
From a mayo point of view the best team won. No question. But if Dublin wonder why there was a 31county vs 1county feeling this week take a look at the behavior of some fans in the hill on Sunday.
As us Mayo fans left some dubs threw plastic bottles down at us from above, sprayed us with water, blocked the exits to refuse to let us leave, and one "fan" pulled my girlfriend around by the shoulder to push a banner in her face and sing "hill 16 is dublin only - go back to the bog".
As a mayo fan Iv been to my fair share of loosing AI finals, and I been in the Hill or Nally for 4, but Iv never experienced the lack of class that was displayed on Sunday.
90% of Dublin fans were/are gentlemen, and the Team were fantastic all year, but its the 10% ****bag fans that cause the rest of the country to dislike Dublin GAA so much
BigTim (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 24/09/2013 14:29:20
i dont get how rory o carroll shouldering a player can be classedas cynical. or darren daly playing the ball. is it simply because a foul is given in a teams defence in the closing stages of a match that people straight away lable it cynical? mcmannoman pulling the player to the ground yes that was no doubt but it seems people on here will jump at the chance to use this famous word for any free given against a team inside their own 45
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 14:31:02
I though the referee on Sunday was poor. The following crucial decisions all went against Mayo: A 45 given to Dublin in 1st half which hit MDMc last = 1 point. Eoghan O'Gara point just before half time hit with open hand as opposed to closed fist = 1 point. Dean Rock in 2nd hald threw the ball to Paul Flynn before he scored = 1 point Eoghan O'Gara dragged down mayo players 3 times before yellow card shown to him. Free given to Dublin no. 12 and lee Keegan booked when it was clear that the 2 of them were pulling each other? I am bitterly dissapointed with the overall performance of the referee and to top it all off i just read that pat McEnaney has just came out and defended him. Also how in the name of God could there have only been 4 minutes of injury time - there should have been at least 7 and then there were 2 stoppoages in the injury time which he should have allowed for. Frustrating.com
MayoFan2013 (Mayo) - Posts: 9 - 24/09/2013 14:36:00
Culann I know exactly why Philly McMahon has a cut under his eye I was in the lower hogan section 336 it's right down the hill end you see everything that happens in the full back/forward lines there.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/09/2013 14:41:43
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 6484
1488286 Very few people on HS have begrudged Dublin their win and why would they; the Dubs were the best team on Sunday and have been all season. All that many posters are doing is pointing out the massive double standards and total hypocrisy this season and the disgraceful, shameful abuse that Sean Cavanagh and Tyrone received and to be fair some Dubs have acknowledged that. I have already stated that I don't blame or single out Dublin for their defensive, cynical tactics in order to close the game out because that's what streetwise teams do. It's the head in the sand attitude from some Dubs and especially the galling statements from Jim Gavin about the referee and 'playing the game the right way' which are hard to take. Jim has boasted all season of his teams not engaging in defensive, negative tactics or stopping the opposition playing but that's exactly what Dublin did in the last quarter so Jim's hypocrisy has been laid bare. I suspect Gavin knows that perfectly and his attack on the referee was a classic diversionary smokescree to deflect emphasis away from Dublin's pulling, dragging and hauling players down. Sorry Jim but people are just not that stupid or naive. Furthermore just on Tyrone the best most competetive games this season outside the Dublin/Kerry game have been the two Tyrone/Dublin League games which were very close and great entertainment. How then all of a sudden do Tyrone go from that to Southern Public Enemy No 1?
Firstly, exaggerations do exist in the above. It was not the last quarter that Dublin started 'cynical' fouling. It was inside the last 10 minutes, and particularly the last 5 when we were defending a three point lead. Also if Dublin are to be criticized, and i do not like cynical fouling, then Mayo's midfield should be too for their constant attempts to stop the Dublin midfield from running forward. Gavin's comments are admittedly strange. I'm not entirely sure why he made them. There is a general feeing in Dublin that we got nothing from JMQ last year and that feeling is still prevalent after Sundays final. Personally, i'd prefer the Jimmy Barry Murphy's approach but not all managers are the same. In fairness to Gavin he held court until the season was finished which not all managers can be admired for.
Gavin essentially set himself up for an ambush when he declared that Dublin do not engage in cynical type fouling. We seen two instances this year when we did. Andrews against Kerry and the last 30 seconds of that match and the last 5 mins of the final in particular. Both games were close. Many teams have been far worse but Gavin in many ways did dig his own grave with earlier comments. It wasn't frustration it was simply doing anything to win and i make no apologies for that as Mayo would of done exactly the same. Most with a decent reading of the game realize its a rules issue rather than a player/team issue. The rules are antiquated and thats the harsh reality.
Regarding Tyrone. The Tyrone case is totally aligned to Brolly's outburst on premium viewing to a national audience. Hence, the outcry and the resulting coverage and damnation. Brolly was correct to highlight what he did yet most on here felt the personal nature of his comments were out of order and sensationalist in order to achieve personal recognition. He was wrong to personalize his issue but the point in general regarding cynical fouling remains. Some are worst than others but it needs to be eradicated. Hopefully the black card will be a start but as i've said many times before, no current proposal that the GAA have passed will address cynical fouling in the last few minutes of a big game when a team is chasing a deficit. It is something totally outside the remit of the black card.
seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 24/09/2013 14:46:44
Hill, your last two points have been spot on and itsw not opinion, it is factual. Maigh Eo for some reason are more concerned in antagonising the Dubs then the actual event itself. I don't know whats werong with this sort of thing that they feel they have to get oner over on us. Regarding the cynisism, tomy memory I can only recall one synical tackle from Kev Mc that I was ashamed of. The rest of the 'cynical' fouls Maigh Eo got were from desperate efforts under pressure from Dubs to play the ball. They actual try to get the ball. Again, i will stands corrected if people can show me oin real player where that is not the case.
Up the Dubs.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/09/2013 14:53:50
24/09/2013 14:29:20 BigTim County: Mayo Posts: 1
Big Tim
that 10% turn up every Summer. Not there at OB Cup, U21, League, away games. Every county has its morons and hanger-on so that can't be the only reason the rest of the country dislike Dublin GAA so much. I got a load of verbal from a gang of plastered Mayo lads under the Hill on my way in to watch Minor match, probably because I was by myself. No way were those eejits going to see much football. Lads were there for the party. I don't think they represent Mayo GAA nor do I think the rest of the country dislikes them for it.
So less of the generalisations.
And it's unfortunate you and your girl had to meet some of the planks that jump on the bandwagon every Summer.
Aido
Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 24/09/2013 15:10:41
Ye Clondalkin, what happened?
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/09/2013 15:11:34
Lads all I'll say is what happened to his face was no accident.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/09/2013 15:18:30
Good post ADIO69. I'm sure you speak for all of us there but I think that Mayo fella has other issues with us Dubs! I think its deeper than his experience on the Hill on Sunday!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/09/2013 15:18:58
BigTim,
Funny how a mayo mans first ever HS post after losing an AI Final is not even on his own page but on the main page to complain about a Dublin fan!!
I think we can all see that this is yet another sad and bitter mayo poster with deep running issues that need professional help!
Leave 'BigTim' off!....What a waste of setting up a username 'BigTim' to be so dumb as to be rumbled on your first post!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/09/2013 15:34:59
Hill, you say that Mayo deliberately went looking for hill 16 tickets to antagonise the dubs. Thats simply not true. The clubs down here were given a large portion of hill 16 tickets and people were livid that there was not a larger percentage of stand tickets. Also if you look at twitter and the various boards in the run up to the final. Mayo fans everywhere were looking to swap hill 16 tickets for stand tickets. Blame the Gaa for the large number of Mayo fans in the hill, Mayo took the tickets they were given.
This was an all ireland final, not a quarter final. People took whatever ticket they got unlike the previous matches where the stadium wasn't full and they could sit where they liked.
Also if you read my post properly, I have taken my beaten. I congratulated Dublin on their win, they were the better team and deserve all the praise they get.
One final point on the free count, I had a Cork man beside me who couldn't get over how poor Dublin's tackling was. He wasn't saying it was cynical just, over-zealous and poorly timed. I for one did feel that Mayo got a lot of frees and a number very soft but I also thought that the quality of the tackling from the Mayo backs was a step above, just a pity Bernard Brogan was a step above again.
unstoppable (Mayo) - Posts: 38 - 24/09/2013 15:40:22
Aido69 I dont think I was generalizing, to my knowledge, and in my experience people have come to expect this at Dublin matches. I agree that there are morons and hanger-ons with every team, esp. successful teams, but I do think that the percentage of these fans is much higher amongst the Dublin support.
Traveling to matches around the country I never expect such a level of abuse, and in general the atmosphere is friendly (unless there is a very controversial incident on the pitch) apart from when playing Dublin in Dublin.
You do make a very good point though when you said that they turn up every summer - Iv never had a problem with traveling Dublin support, but they are the genuine supporters.
Culann, I dont have issues with Dublin fans other than what I have said above, and I do think that it is these sunny day fans who give the rest a bad name. Most of those guys would suprise me if they could name a Dublin player other that Cluxton, the Brogans, and Dean Rock maybe because of his father
BigTim (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 24/09/2013 15:44:05
Aido, I would agree with all of what you say there. I know of all lot of Mayo fans that get the train up and by the time they pull in to Heuston, they have had their fill of drink. Unfortunately every county has them. They can be great craic but often go too far and i'd imagine there was plenty of eejits from both sides on sunday!
It wouldn't be a Mayo-Dublin match without both sides complaining about the others supports! Thats why i'm hoping the rivalry we have had over the past 7 years, keeps going. its great for us to have that with a county that isn;t Galway for once.
unstoppable (Mayo) - Posts: 38 - 24/09/2013 15:44:44
BigTim,
Funny how a mayo mans first ever HS post after losing an AI Final is not even on his own page but on the main page to complain about a Dublin fan!!
I think we can all see that this is yet another sad and bitter mayo poster with deep running issues that need professional help!
Leave 'BigTim' off!....What a waste of setting up a username 'BigTim' to be so dumb as to be rumbled on your first post!
Snufalufagus - is it relevant that this was my first post? I was reading articles on the web re: the AI final and happened accross this site and this thread, and felt compelled to post. Maybe if you actually read the post instead of just the post count you could make a worth while contribution instead of tripe you wrote. All your post was missing was a "yo mama" joke
BigTim (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 24/09/2013 15:51:47
Just wondering if any Mayo (or Sligo supporters) remember the last few minutes of last year's provincial final? Didn't a Mayo midfielder gladly pick up a second yellow card in order to stop a Sligo attack, by performing a rugby tackle just like McManaman's? I'm not justifying either action - only pointing out that levels of cynicism are practiced by all the leading counties.
football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 24/09/2013 15:59:46