Dublin, rugby tackles and hypocrisy

hill16no1man

come on you boys in blue
national league,leinster and all ireland champions
all the sour heads hear are unreal.
i dont hear ye mention the amount of one sided decisions joe mcquilan gave to mayo yesterday.
he kept there scoreboard ticking over and the same time giving dublin nothing when there were clear frees.
best team all year and all ye can do is try make excuses get over it lads just like yer county boards giving mayo all the tickets theres nothing ye can do to stop the dubs we have sam

-----------------

Are you still drunk? Loads of people here have criticised McQuillan, and aren't all decisions one-sided by their very nature??

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 23/09/2013 18:14:45    1487735

Ridiculous to compare Cavanagh's and McMeniman's tackle. Kev tackled in his own half - not when a player was through on goal.

That's a pretty tenuous way of looking at it. It wasn't one tackle versus another, it was sustained cynicism to close out the match. As I said in my last post, at least be honest.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 23/09/2013 19:30:44    1487781

There is no point even listening to that hill 16 chap. All he said on here are baseless claims without a shred of evidence to back them up. You complain that it was 31 counties against 1 yesterday. Maybe you should look a little closer to home and you'd find out why it was 31 v 1. It's fans like you that give the dubs there reputation down the country. Thinking you have a divine right to the hill and to more tickets. My god, this is the national sport played in a national stadium. It's not dublins, it's everyone's.

More importantly, well done to the Dubs. A fantastic football team. We'll see you again next year hopefully.

unstoppable (Mayo) - Posts: 38 - 23/09/2013 19:42:12    1487793

I for one am happy to see Dublin win. They were the best team by far. In particular Brogan and Cluxton were superb.

My issue with the coverage is solely about RTE not Dublin or Mayo. RTE have continually selectively picked out any incidents involving Tyrone and ignored similar incidents involving other counties such as we seen with Dublin, Mayo, Kerry etc.

- They lambasted Tyrone for a rugby tackle but when the same thing happened yesterday it was to be ignored.
- They brought in a fouls today graphic which was only ever used for Sean Cavanagh.
- They picked only 1 player from the 6 counties on their team of the championship and introduced that player by saying this was a controversial decision. 1/4 of Division 1 players are from the 6 counties.
- The only clip from a northern team that made their 2013 highlights was the oft repeated Sean Cavanagh tackle.
- One of the pundits last night in a throw away comment said he wouldnt say anything too bad about a Dublin player because he'd be talking to him later that night. But Tyrone on the other hand aren't talking to RTE and maybe that's part of the problem.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 23/09/2013 19:50:55    1487798

Jesus I'm sick of all the women on Hoganstand giving out about Cynical fouling. Mayo were dead right to cynical foul yesterday fair play to them and for being physical aswell, that's what all Ireland winning teams do. I'm cheering for Mayo in the final cause they play the game in the right way unlike Donegal who are going to ruin the game I love. Hard luck to Dublin yesterday Bernard Brogans miss will haunt him for years to come. Our underage teams are hammering teams out the gate it's only a matter of time before we dominate. Again well done Mayo the best team won and I hope you beat Donegal. Just in case anyone missed my post from earlier this is what I said last year after our semi final defeat by Mayo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2013 20:09:19    1487813

I can see why some Dubs are getting annoyed here, but the Tyrone fans are not criticising Dublin. They did what they had too, just saying that Tyrone should have been treated the same and did not deserve to be singled out they way they were. That's not Dublin's fault though.

tra (Tyrone) - Posts: 43 - 23/09/2013 20:11:34    1487820

Ref gave dublin nothing yesterday as far as I could read it. but specific to the point, dublin did exactly to mayo in the last 10 minutes what mayo did to dublin for the last 20 in last years semi. Swings and roundabouts.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 23/09/2013 20:20:20    1487825

The usual anti Dublin sour grapes brigade!!!
Suck it up lads the Dubs are All Ireland champions and you better get used to it, this team is only starting!!!

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 23/09/2013 20:23:08    1487826

But the Tyrone fans need to realise Joe Brolly's opinion isn't the whole of Ireland's opinion, the minute he attacked Cavanagh Spillane and O Rourke basically told him to shut up that he was wrong and out of line , so Tyrone fans chill out. You'd swear were going around cynical fouling teams all year Ffs

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2013 20:25:56    1487830

But the Tyrone fans need to realise Joe Brolly's opinion isn't the whole of Ireland's opinion, the minute he attacked Cavanagh Spillane and O Rourke basically told him to shut up that he was wrong and out of line , so Tyrone fans chill out. You'd swear were going around cynical fouling teams all year Ffs

Yeah in fairness it's not as if the Dublin fouling was ignored in the media and also Brolly's complained about it too. If it were completely ignored it would've been a bit galling to be honest. Anyway don't take the topic to heart, I don't think most people here feel any malice towards the Dublin team itself - I don't anyway.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 23/09/2013 20:39:22    1487841

Ulsterman

1487722 What do people, especially the Dubs, have to say about Joe Brolly's opinion that Dublin were guilty of "appalling cyncism" in the last quarter? Now this is NOT an anti-Dublin thread because they have been the best team in the country this year BUT there has to be consistency after Tyrone and Sean Cavanagh received a lot of criticism and abuse this season. If we are not fair and equal in this the game, the GAA and the media all lose any integrity they have left. The Dubs deserve their victory but they should be mature and engage in these points instead of burying their heads and just pretending it didn't happen.

What do you want us to engage in Ulsterman, do you want us to be annoyed at what Brolly said or ignore him, because its him who leading the crusade not the whole of Ireland. I don't care what he said , he is now just trying to even us the balance because of his rant at Cavanagh .I think you should write a letter to joe ,as your Tyrones representative seemingly.
we fouled at the end of the match yesterday to get over the line with 13 players nobody is pretending it didn't happen, just not interested in entering a blame game of who is the most wronged, am I annoyed we resorted to this with a couple of minutes to go , not one bit . this team has been brilliant all year and now we are champions.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/09/2013 20:43:03    1487846

Dublin were the best team from January to now, BEST team , winners and fully deserved,

but

it wasn't a good game, it was negative from both sides with some awful tackling, we had trips, pull-downs, holding, trips, etc
I was there half cheering Dublin and half cheering Mayo - i wanted a good game - but it wasn't - should Dublin care no,

I would love Armagh win another All-Ireland and wouldn't care how they win it, negative or not, and all supporters would be in agreement - but most ' fans of the game' are annoyed by the double standards in the commentating and analysis of some games and yesterday was the same ----2 yrs ago Donegal played Antrim in a very poor game and both teams were lambasted by the media ( RTE , irish indo etc) but yesterday should have been called as it was a 'puke' all-ireland,

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 23/09/2013 21:12:10    1487878

Dublin were cynical at the end of the game, but not all that bad in those stakes to be honest. We have seen worse. I dont hold it against them. The only thing that makes this an issue is the few holier than thou posters that after losing the semi in similar circumstances last year stated things like they would rather not win an All Ireland than to do it playing this way (Culann where are you?). Im sure they booed the team off the pitch yesterday,

Also, Jim Gavin's response was pretty ridiculous

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/09/2013 21:13:15    1487880

Cynical fouling was evident in yesterdays game by Mayo's midfield and Dublin at the end. However its very hard to see what can actually be done do combat this bar serious change. We are not a cynical side, we play open football and attempt to tackle legitimately but when faced with an All Ireland title in the last 5 minutes or so there is no doubt we pulled players down and attempted to disrupt in any way possible. The problem is any other side would of done the same, and many have done in close games and its exactly what Mayo did to us last year.

Its a feature of the sport until the rules are adjusted to combat it. Is is right? No, in the true sense of the sport its not and it is a form of cheating but its a harsh reality that is nothing new. I do not accept we use cynical fouling as a tactic. Other sides do. There is no evidence or means of argument to suggest we do. But faced with effectively 13 men in the last few mins of a final we did what we had to do to win. I'm not complaining and would of expected and foreseen Mayo would of done the exact same thing. The problem is the rules but in reality i see little that can be done to sort out cynical fouls at the end of games. Not unless the 21 yard free is introduced but Mayo needed a goal yesterday so we were happy to conceed two frees.

Agrieved Mayo fans and those alike somewhere along the line have to take responsibly for the fact they were three points down in the extra time in an All Ireland Final. I felt the exact same way in last years semi after our first half performance! The black card will attempt to address cynical fouls in all parts of a game bar the end. It won't sort out what happened at the end yesterday!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 23/09/2013 21:15:45    1487887

1487880 Dublin were cynical at the end of the game, but not all that bad in those stakes to be honest. We have seen worse. I dont hold it against them. The only thing that makes this an issue is the few holier than thou posters that after losing the semi in similar circumstances last year stated things like they would rather not win an All Ireland than to do it playing this way (Culann where are you?). Im sure they booed the team off the pitch yesterday,

Also, Jim Gavin's response was pretty ridiculous

Sorry Master, I've been celebrating the Dubs and am preparing myself for a huge personal event in my life at the moment. I havn't been on here much lately. Regarding the cynisism, I was embarassed by Kevin McMenimum's rugby tackle. Thats been honest. I don't really know what else I can say. However, I didn't have a problem with anyother Dub tackle. In the other frees Maigh Eo won towards the end of the game I felt there was a genuine effort from us to play the ball. I'll stand corrected if people want to reference realplayer. Regardless, you know the old seanfhocal, filleann an feall ar an bhfeallaire. Google it if you don't.

I'd love to know, also, why two of our players have black eyes at the moment. Regarding Jim Gavin, fair play. I'm happy he came out with this after a win rather than after a deafeat.

People on here know what I think of Maigh Eo. Not much has changed since the match other than that i would no longer begrudge them an All Ireland. I thought they played some great football this year and I genuinely feel for decent Maigh Eo supporters like yew_tree.

In the meantime. Up the Dubs. The best team by a bit won SAM this year.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/09/2013 09:27:54    1487980

Here is this word "Cynical" again. A better more accurate description is "deliberate/intentional tactical fouling" there is nothing cynical about that at all. If the rules allow it no one can moan about. If a sport and its fans are serious and want to rid the game of it, then send the player off, penalise the offending team and the player very hard and it will just fade away.

And Brolly is right in highlighting this type of play. But what was so unfair and must really rankle with Tyrone fans was the besmerching of Cavanaghs character which was totally uncalled for.

The game on Sunday was physically very hard and demanding, I watched the Dubs limp onto their open top bus last night, black eyes, limping, some in very obvious pain they (and Mayo) players but their bodies on the line. MacQuillan did those players no favours at all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 24/09/2013 11:37:50    1488112

'KARMA' for 2012 semi-final!!
Mayo can have no complaints, it was their own 'tactic' last year!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/09/2013 12:28:03    1488172

Royalio

hill16no1man

1487419 royalio

32 v 12 frees given to mayo
you blatently ignore this.
frees giving for no such fouls to mayo.
balls dragged out of dublin players hands and play let go no free given.
if your going to analyze something you have to do it for both teams.
thats why its pure petty sour grapes from people on here.
mayo won a free over by the hoganstand sideline,then o shea upended a dublin player right in front of linesman cormac reilly yet the ball was not thrown up instead they still let mayo have the free.
if this consistently happens you in a match theres only so much you can take.
so theres two team playing analzye it fair!!

--------------

Fair point. I thought the ref was very poor yesterday, he gave bad decisions against both team and quite a few more bad decisions aginst Dublin than Mayo as the free count would show. Disagree about when O'Shea upended the Dublin player, he had just fouled a Mayo player (and it was a foul) and was preventing the Mayo man from getting off the ground to take the free therefore wasting time so O'Shea had good reason to get him out of the way. He could have easily have brought the free forward as thrown the ball up. For the record, I don't think Mayo can have any complaints, they wasted chances, made too many mistakes and only for some outstanding goalkeeping could have shipped easily two more goals.

Now in the interest of fairness, I will direct the same question to you as i did to hurlingdub? Opinion on the cynicism?

no your wrong as o shea upeneded dublin player behind where the player taking the free was standing,hence why the ref didnt see it but linesman cormac reilly was staring straight at it.so therefore should have thrown the ball up.
there was also a clear line ball for dublin near the end which it looked like reilly was giving to dublin yet a mayo man took it.
your talk on cynicism il answer clear as day for you.
kevin mcmannoman and o gara definatly committed cynical fouls no doubt there and thus were given yellow cards.
but darren daly played the ball at the end and a free was given against him,is that cynicsm just because you concede a free 21 yards out in the last few minutes? rory o carroll went clear as day to shoulder the mayo player and ended up as you seen concused
i dont know how people can call it cynical again just because it happened late in the match in that area of the pitch.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/09/2013 12:48:32    1488188

Here is this word "Cynical" again. A better more accurate description is "deliberate/intentional tactical fouling" there is nothing cynical about that at all. If the rules allow it no one can moan about. If a sport and its fans are serious and want to rid the game of it, then send the player off, penalise the offending team and the player very hard and it will just fade away.

Spot on.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/09/2013 12:51:35    1488195

slayer
County: Limerick

Spot on.

Hang on. The rules don't allow it. Where in the rules does it say it's OK. IT IS NOT IN THE RULES. will people stop repeating that mantra. deliberate fouling is not in the rules. never has been. one of worst examples which I don't believe was mentioned on here was Bernard Brogan's fould near the end when he compunded it by diving full length to stop Mayo taking the free . that should have been 2 yellows.. therefore no All-Star (or is that rule still in place) Anyway Brogan is far from the worst offender but it just goes to show how endemic it is when you see a true sportsman like Bernard do something like that.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 24/09/2013 13:32:16    1488243