The dubs won fair and square this year,I for one didn't give them credit in 2011, but this year they were fantastic. Roll on 2014 kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 22/09/2013 21:50:48 1487001 Link 0 |
Pointing out media hypocrisy in regards to cynical play does not equal dour grapes. Cilldara_2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 57 - 22/09/2013 21:57:19 1487012 Link 0 |
Dublin did a lot of cynical fouling at the end but I think any team would if they were within a sniff of Sam/Liam. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/09/2013 21:57:57 1487014 Link 0 |
KeyserSoze. ...have you any links or quotes to back up what you said there? Nah....didnt think so! JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 23/09/2013 09:21:13 1487052 Link 0 |
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=201418 JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 23/09/2013 09:53:11 1487087 Link 0 |
32 frees to Mayo - 12 to Dublin tells the story I think. many of the Dublin players guilty of cynical/over aggressive tackling. As an example I coudn't believe the number of bad tackles O'Gara put in before he got a card. blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 23/09/2013 09:53:59 1487091 Link 0 |
Well...you can look at it two ways.....Dublin were dirty or Mayo got lots of frees. At one stage Mayo got a free when no hit occurred. Bizarre! JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 23/09/2013 10:00:06 1487098 Link 0 |
This should not be deemed as an attack on Dublin football, far from it, they are most deserving AI champions and I applaud their tenancity and skill mix. This cynical foul nonsense has been done to death as far as I'm concerned, I simply couldn't care what the boys on the Sunday game think and say on the subject, Dublin closed out a tight game in the time honoured fashion, its not new and it hasn't suddenly appeared in gaelic football in 2013. Yesterday was Dublin's day, I say let them soak it up without giving a platform for the anti-dublin elements to spew their usual bile. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/09/2013 10:04:58 1487104 Link 0 |
For the first time ever cynical play if any would be justified where a team has to play the ref this Ai is worth two UP THE DUBS Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 23/09/2013 10:05:46 1487108 Link 0 |
I don't care we won and that's all that matters and I was the first to congratulate Mayo for doing the exact same thing to us last year. 32-12 free is shocking we can't buy a free anymore. Kev Mac and O Gara were the stand out cynical fouls other than that it wasn't that bad , no one can argue the best team won on the day. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2013 10:06:37 1487109 Link 0 |
Dublin fully deserved AI Champs .Comfortably the best team in the country. Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 23/09/2013 10:12:36 1487118 Link 0 |
The cynical fouls Dublin threw in yesterday were blatant and for all to see. No question. It is a win at all cost game nowadays and I'm begrudgingly beginning to accept that. BUT... I open hoganstand this morning only to read Jim giving out about the free count going against them yesterday and blaming the referee and talking about the morals and values that his angelic team have. Mother of the divine mercy that kind of carry on would sicken you. Monday mornings are hard enough but I'm fit to puke into my coffee reading it. Unlimited_LK (Limerick) - Posts: 128 - 23/09/2013 10:12:44 1487119 Link 0 |
one way to sort out clinical fouling is to ref game a bit like basketball and bring in team fouls and when a team commits a certain number of fouls, the opposing team should get an easy tap over free so matter where the foul is committed. kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 23/09/2013 10:22:37 1487132 Link 0 |
Dublin best team all year and the best team yesterday also. tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 23/09/2013 10:23:27 1487135 Link 0 |
brendtheredhand Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 23/09/2013 10:28:12 1487143 Link 0 |
brendtheredhand AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/09/2013 11:01:06 1487193 Link 0 |
Jesus I'm sick of all the women on Hoganstand giving out about Cynical fouling. Mayo were dead right to cynical foul yesterday fair play to them and for being physical aswell, that's what all Ireland winning teams do. I'm cheering for Mayo in the final cause they play the game in the right way unlike Donegal who are going to ruin the game I love. Hard luck to Dublin yesterday Bernard Brogans miss will haunt him for years to come. Our underage teams are hammering teams out the gate it's only a matter of time before we dominate. Again well done Mayo the best team won and I hope you beat Donegal. This was my post on last years semi final on cynical fouling, plus I was Pretty spot on apart from it will only take Berno a year to get over his miss. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2013 11:14:18 1487208 Link 0 |
come on you boys in blue hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2013 11:21:13 1487219 Link 0 |
just like yer county boards giving mayo all the tickets theres nothing ye can do to stop the dubs we have sam jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/09/2013 11:25:43 1487227 Link 0 |
Yes indeed Hillman :-) hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/09/2013 11:26:20 1487229 Link 0 |