All Ireland Hurling Replay

Superb finale to an amazing hurling year! Best game in the world!!!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 29/09/2013 10:23:33    1491186

Well holy God.

What a game. Simply stunning.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 29/09/2013 10:27:12    1491187

Fantastic, delighted for Clare and the 'Jim Gavin' like Davy Fitz :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8748 - 29/09/2013 10:50:30    1491195

I would like to thank all the Cork posters for their genuine support here. It is no coincindence that Cork always seem to be part of the majority of 'epic' hurling matches, yesterday included. The attitude to hurling in Cork is what I have always aspired to as a hurling man...ie:play the skills of the game. However Clare have seldom been able to match Cork in the skills department, until this year I believe and that for me is the reason we got 2 fantastic open games. Hurling is alive and well in Clare but I do hope it is not in decline in Cork?

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 708 - 29/09/2013 11:11:41    1491205

What a hurling year...what a final! Firstly, congratulations to a superb Clare team who showed what it
takes to win a final, not just yesterday, but over both games. Youthful exuberance is almost an
understatement as one must to acknowledge the skill as well. Davey Fitz, what can you say, like him or
otherwise, his passion was visible throughout this Clare side. Well done Mr Fitz. For Cork, after an awesome
championship its back to the drawing board. The commitment and never-say-die attitude over both games showed
the sense of pride there is in the Cork jersey. Basic errors were evident again yesterday, but nothing that
cant be rectified. Who would have bet at start of year we would have reached the ultimate September business....
would have been over the moon with a Munster title this year as a good sign we were going in the right direction.
Jimmy Barry-Murphy still the right man to carry Cork forward and thanks to him for the roller-coaster that
was 2013. Cliche's like "hurling won the day" don't ease the day after gut-wrenching feeling but that cliche
is very true when you look at the overall championship on 2013.....just to mention won....the pitch invasion
when Limerick won Munster...the unbridled joy of Limerick supporters after a long wait. Yes, without a doubt,
the most skilled field sport ever! But 2013 is Clare's year....enjoy the ride!

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 29/09/2013 11:41:27    1491216

'Jim Gavin' like Davy Fitz
chalk and cheese

pcworld (Mayo) - Posts: 549 - 29/09/2013 11:48:49    1491219

Two great Clare men!

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 29/09/2013 11:54:12    1491222

Fantastic game huge amount of credit due to both teams. Clare deserving winners but Cork lost nothing in defeat. Supporters of both counties should be proud of them. It was a privilege to be there.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/09/2013 12:10:35    1491227

Feel very sorry for the likes of Kenny. Hopefully he'll keep going for another year or two. From a Cork point of view i'd say Harnedy for HOTY. Has carried alot of the Cork forwards at the start of most games. Lehane and McDonnell really answered their critics.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 29/09/2013 12:13:07    1491229

No matter how many great games you might win, it is no consolation to finish second in a game like that. However, we were second best and the better team deserved to win. I would like to congratulate Clare on an outstanding victory. You have a great team and you deserve to be champions. Enjoy your celebrations and your year.

I am also very proud to be from Cork and to support our great team. We lost a team before we even pucked a ball this year (with injuries, players choosing other sports, players taking time off, players retiring etc) and to be there right at the end fighting shows what tremendous character these lads have. Hopefully the lads will pick themselves up. We can learn from this and come back stronger.

For now though, it is all about Clare-All-Ireland hurling champions 2013. Well done again.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/09/2013 13:09:43    1491251

JBM has this Cork team playing the way he played himself. This was a great game with Clare showing they will be a force for years to come.Hurling looks to be competitive for the next few years, which makes me wonder if Aidan Walsh and/or Ciaran Sheehan will transfer to hurling.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 29/09/2013 13:29:23    1491257

After watching one of the greatest games I'm ever likely to see. What a privilege it was to be there. Woke up this morning with a smile just thinking about it. Clare were absolutely savage for the most part but Cork also showed huge character when 8 points down. These men from both teams are the absolute embodiment of pride, honour, skill and bravery. Oh how I wish that the gaels of Tyrone would embrace this wonderful game

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 29/09/2013 14:16:37    1491273

Firstly, hats off to Clare. They were fantastic yesterday and deserved the win. Well done and to lohansredhelmet, etc who I would call the decent Clare posters on here, I hope you enjoy the celebrations.
To Cork, hard luck. You contributed to 2 wonderful games of hurling and a wonderful year of hurling. You knocked Kilkenny off their perch and can take great credit and heart from that. No doubt you will be back.
Regarding the game, I thought some of the defending on both sides but particularly in the Cork full back line, was Junior B stuff at times. If the Cork full back had stayed with his man for the first goal I think it was rather than ball-watching, O'Donnell wouldnt have got that goal.
But its always great to see new champions, it gives Wexford and all the other middle of the road counties a belief that anything is possible. But be warned, the Cats will be back next year!

So that's it from me for another year, and what a year it was. A long, lonely winter awaits for my hurling drug to come back on the market in January! A few club matches may do in the interim. God help me, I might have to watch a few soccer matches!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/09/2013 14:20:47    1491279

Lads, I'm too emotional to say too much but all I'll say is:

It's simply unreal. We had won one c'ship match in 4 years before this season commenced. In one year we've won Liam. Get your ahead around that for a minute. Fair play to cork too. They were hundreds of them in the big tree last night singing "My lovely rose of Clare" along with the clare lads.

All Ireland Champions - it still hasn't sunk in.

Off to Ennis to meet the heroes again now - good luck.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 29/09/2013 15:07:40    1491314

pcworld

'Jim Gavin' like Davy Fitz
chalk and cheese

Eh ok, that was lost on you...

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8748 - 29/09/2013 15:09:51    1491316

Well done Clare, thoroughly deserved.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/09/2013 15:14:32    1491320

Was a decent game too may I just say ;-)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/09/2013 15:14:53    1491321

Speechless and emotional, off to Ennis now to celebrate with the lads. Croke Park was rocking yesterday, I'm glad NOW we didn't win the first day because that replay was incredible. Last night in the pub after the game and surrounded by Clare supporters everywhere, it was emotional and ill never forget it as long as I live. Was there in 95 and again in 1997 but this was special. In 95 I just amazing, 97 out of this world to beat Tip.....but to deservedly beat Cork and JBM in an All Ireland Final was phenomenal really.

Once again I would like to praise Davy Fitz...the man is like marmite in other counties and maybe even in our own but he has given so much to Clare hurling and hurling in general that he deserves respect and admiration. He would die for Clare and he would die for his team.

When we talk about the game of hurling like it was played yesterday it's almost poetry. Well Davy is a warrior poet. One of the best of them.

To those who wished us well from all over Ireland...... Thank you

To those who wanted us to lose and ran us down....... Thank you also

While talk of domination is very very very premature I have never been so happy with Clare hurling ever!!!!! We know well Cork will be back. I mean who can doubt Cork. For 140 minutes (both matches) against us they held a lead over us for a period of 30 seconds. They went behind time and time against 4,5,6,7 even 8 points and they kept coming back........fair play and credit to Cork. But for that reason it makes it all the more special and sweeter. Tip, Kilkenny will also be back and Galway and Limerick have great players. The future of hurling is brilliant.

To BennyBunny and Richie two genuine posters hard luck lads and good luck to ye. Decent lads on here, not at all full of it or condescending.

Had many Cork lads sharing craic last night and it was lovely to see what genuine hurling people you are lads.

Fair play to JBM the man is a class act I must say also

Finally I just want to say it again Clare are the 2013 Senior All Ireland Hurling Champions

To say that is to be living a dream

Hon The Banner

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 29/09/2013 16:04:26    1491348

Fantastic game. Well done to Clare great All Ireland champions and hard luck Cork.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 29/09/2013 16:47:09    1491372

real dub..........Eh ok, that was lost on you..

with Davy, what you see is what you get........

pcworld (Mayo) - Posts: 549 - 29/09/2013 16:57:28    1491373