All Ireland Hurling Replay

What a way to end the senior intercounty year!!! Congratulations to Clare, delighted for Davy Fitz.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/09/2013 19:41:47    1491054

That was the greatest game of hurling I've ever watch , nothing will ever beat that game unbelievable stuff and well done Clare but Cork deserve massive praise for never giving up right to the end and being part of a classic. It was gas watching the Clare lads with there helmets off after the match some of them will be lucky to get into a Dublin nightclub tonight without I.D a team full of kids. jimmy Barry is a legend his interview after the game was class what a man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/09/2013 20:11:19    1491073

Dead right clondalkin.
JBM is a class act and will always be a Gaa legend.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/09/2013 20:23:29    1491079

Superb finale to what's been an amazing hurling season. If you didn't appreciate THAT you're not a REAL sports fan!!!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 28/09/2013 20:28:32    1491080

Super game - well done Clare.. Kind of sad the championship is over tho.. sniff..

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 28/09/2013 20:29:49    1491082

Fantastic final Clare were amazing and over the two games were deserving winners.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 28/09/2013 20:35:30    1491087

This is why we love the game of hurling.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 28/09/2013 20:38:41    1491094

Fantastic final Clare were amazing and over the two games were deserving winners.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 28/09/2013 20:38:58    1491095

Congrats to Clare. They are a team of underage superstars and have now got what they truly deserve.

I'm massively proud of Cork. Despite of Davey's 'litte Fishes' BS, we all knew that Cork's David was really facing Clare's Goliath here. They'd done it all, we'd done very little. They were used to winning finals, we were used to loosing them. They had all that experience and confidence, we had very little - but now we do. Next winter might be better to us. Paudie Sul will return, some of the footballers might throw their shoulders to the wheel, and we just might unearth a gem or two around the county.

Winners are forged, not by the way they fall down, but the way they get back up. Cork should start getting up this evening. They have achieved so much with so little, after a winter of knock backs, all they need now is the character to drive it on.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 28/09/2013 20:50:57    1491102

Congrats to the Banner and tough luck Cork. What a wonderful game!! Thats REAL sport. Nothing better anywhere else in the world!!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 28/09/2013 20:52:04    1491104

Hard luck to cork and congrats to Clare , what a game , the hurling championship this year was brilliant and even as a kerryman I'd have to say it eclipsed the football, ( maybe that's coz we didn't win it) ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/09/2013 21:04:54    1491115

brilliant game . you would have to be proud of both teams . and not a dirty stroke. class .

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 28/09/2013 21:13:39    1491121

Great final. Without a doubt hurling is the best gsme in the world when it's played like that. This game had everthing clare seven maybe eight points up at one stage and cork crawl back to level it and when the game looked done and dusted, clare being six points up in the last couple of minutes and cork come back with a tremendous goal to keep the pressure on before clare eventually sailed away. Ofcourse clare will get the plaudits but cork deserve huge admiration, a great never say die attitude but unfortunately for them today wasn't their day. They will lift themseves no doubt.

Congradualations clare and your supporters, well deserved and hope you enjoy it

arctic_monkeys (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 28/09/2013 21:20:32    1491126

Culchie,
Just like JBM, admirable dignity in the face of heartbreak.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 28/09/2013 21:29:35    1491132

This is why the hurling final should always be the finale of the gaa season, no matter what the football crowd say. What a game, well down to Clare but massive respect to cork, they will be back

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 28/09/2013 21:46:14    1491144

Donal Og on Saturday game tonight he described hurling as "..our song, our dance, our war" spot on. What a truly glorious game served up by Cork and Clare magnificent.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 28/09/2013 22:00:38    1491159

all i can say it was a privilege to have been there,

this was a million miles from the overly cynical game which was served up last week.......

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 29/09/2013 08:26:42    1491162

Firstly congratulations to clare well done,but by god did we give them a hand or defending for 4 poss all of the goals was dreadful,i have been a big critic of McDonald all year but he played really well I have said o neil and o Sullivan were awesome all year but what a nightmare those 2 guys had yesterday,the effort to get it back level twice was two much you cannot give away slack goals like this in championship hurling and handy 8 point leads way two much,also seen some comments on here about the ref been generous to Cronin and cork I think Cronin got 4 frees 2 I thought that were, two I thought were not, all were 50/50 Cronin was out to ball first each time so I understand why the ref gave them,so if the anti cork brigade would give it a rest for once PLEASE,as for the lads nearly but what a journey you took us on, and as for jbm one word CLASS,im disappointed but im proud of my team and I will wear my jersey today with pride,we will be back hopefully next year again well done clare

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 29/09/2013 09:09:54    1491170

class game.up there as the best game ever?best game in the world without a shadow of doubt.them young clare boys are unreal.fearless brave warriors.they won it without podge playing well but guess what the others come up trumps.jbm some gent in the face of adversity.a true legend of the gaa.

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 29/09/2013 09:58:49    1491178

Dreadful feeling in the pit of my stomach this morning, but I shook the hands of the Clare Supporters behind me in the Davin yesterday evening and I now offer a cyber handshake to the Hoganstand Clare Brigade on a brilliant deserved win. I agree with previous poster re the defending for the goals but I prefer not to dwell on that. Yesterday was an incredible occasion, it said so much about us as a people and as sportsmen. I was privileged to be there in what was a fitting end to the best ever hurling year. People were saying hurling was dead but I have no doubt that this year will have inspired thousands of young kids to play the game and from there we will get the stars of the future. To JBM and the Cork team, may I say thank you for a wonderful year, we are so proud of all of ye, we lost yesterday but we lost with pride and dignity and played the game as it should be played and fought to the last minute. No supporter can ask any more from his team.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 29/09/2013 10:02:51    1491180