Mayo have sent back their Hill allocation?

The sooner the GAA turn the hill in to a seated area the better IMO then there will be no more of this crap. Every year it's the same thing. :-/

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/09/2013 21:39:57    1484763

KeyserSoze

What a piece! Have a read!!
How can you equate the monetary value of people standing on a terrace with the same number of people sitting in seats? its an impossible mismatch different values and a different numbers. As for the solution of reserving the same amount of seats as stand on the Hill at the Davin end for the opposition fans at the same price as Hill LOL!!

They should stick to the game

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 18/09/2013 21:41:26    1484764

Club just gave out tickets. Hill tickets for all players it seems. Proper order.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 18/09/2013 21:43:34    1484766

I wonder how much it would hold if they knocked the hill down and built it all around like they were suppose to in the first place?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/09/2013 21:44:13    1484768

I hope there is a great Mayo support on the Hill, I doubt it somehow but think it could add to the occasion.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/09/2013 21:48:57    1484774

Obviously the dubs will massively outnumber us on the Hill. All I wanted was for out CB to do the right thing and take up our Hill allocation. They've done that so fair play. Any Mayo clubs swapping should be ashamed, money-grabbers. Hill 16 for all.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 18/09/2013 21:52:45    1484780

Sure...a good few of those Mayo fans wont know where Croke Park is....never mind the hill! First game in Croke Park is an All Ireland Final!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/09/2013 21:54:56    1484784

Athclaith there'll be a few up there but they'll be completely outnumbered by Dubs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/09/2013 21:55:12    1484785

killer_88_

14 Any Mayo clubs swapping should be ashamed, money-grabbers. Hill 16 for all.

..but not the Cusack, the Hogan srl...by the looks of things!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/09/2013 09:21:46    1484815

As I understand it, when Croke Park was being redeveloped there was indeed a debate about building the stands all the way around and getting rid of the hill. This was massively opposed by the Dubs at the time. I remember lads on the hill saying they would rip up the seats if it went through. The real reason was the grounds proximity to the housing and rail behind the hill who have been in opposition to Croke Parks expansion since day one. I think it would have been a huge challenge to complete the stand without buying up some of the houses. Similar to the Lansdowne Road situation.

Aside from that I think it would be a real shame to get rid of such an iconic part of the GAA. Most culchies agree it is indeed a sight to behold when it is in full song and it brings these occasions to the next level.

I would also point out, a bit like the French at Stade De France, that yes, the hill is an advantage when things are going well but it can also be a huge drag on players when things are going poorly. So it works both ways in terms of advantage.

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 19/09/2013 09:34:54    1484822

I have to say, there seems to be a big number of mayo fans with tickets for the hill. We will be outnumbered obviously, but if we all get in early and take up residence behind the goals then we will have played our part.

I hope the dubs can see from up the back.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/09/2013 10:03:29    1484836

emmomac, I disagree, they could probably get the capacity up to 100,000 if they got rid of the hill and built another stand. Another 20,000 odd people would more than make up the difference in atmosphere. It would also sort out much of the issues with the breeze that comes in over the hill and often seems to effect shots on the goals at the davin end. They should buy up the houses and build another stand. It makes sense for everyone.
Dubs might say they dont want it, but lads, you will need a better excuse than 'it will take away our advantage over everyone else' for that to fly...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/09/2013 10:23:44    1484866

Master,

agreed the breeze whipping oner that end is serious sometimes! I think a less severe solution to that could be achieved. I think buying up those houses is a lot easier said than done. I used to live on Summerhill and there is a very strong community lobby who are dead against Croker having been treated like they don't exist over the last 15/ 20 years. Any effort to expand would be met with huge resistance now and would mean forking out substantial moneys for that row of houses. It is also worth noting that the rail line is 2 storeys high so bridging over it a la the canal end would need some serious engineering. Again, more money. Not saying it is completely unfeasible but when you couple it with the genuine gra a lot of people have for the hill and its history you start to see why things are the way they are.

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 19/09/2013 10:33:12    1484873

Ah Moomoo how are you? Still not rating our Dublin team pal? I think your being a little bit harsh on us seen as we won the league and our now in the all Ireland final , pal if you don't rate us then who do you rate?

Still havent won the All Ireland have ye? I also see your still hyping up your heros. I see you've now changed from ROC to MDMC whys that?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 19/09/2013 10:34:30    1484879

Moomoo you've said earlier in the summer you do not rate this Dublin team even doh we've won the league and got to the all Ireland final, so even if we don't win surely you have to rate us by now?? If you don't rate us I won't be able to sleep for the next week so come on give us a bit of credit. The Roc is and will always be my favourite player, just ask Declan O Sullivan how good he is cause he's kept him to one point in there last two championship meetings.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2013 10:46:29    1484889

The Problems at the Hill end are not just houses and residents. But there is waste ground (Owned by Irish-rail) between the Hill terrace/rail track and a laneway at the end of very long back gardens at the back of the houses on Clonliffe road. It should be relatively easy to complete the stadium.
Building over the Rail track is easy enough but given the scale and the height requirement to complete the stadium this would plunge the houses on Clonliffe road into darkness. Purchasing the houses wouldn't be a cheap option either never mind the locals telling the GAA where to go.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 19/09/2013 10:48:17    1484891

Let me just put something to bed for you all!

I worked on the Croke Park redevelopment project. At no stage was there a plan or even an idea to build Croker the whole way around, in fact the thought never even aired even once!
The reason for this is becaise rational men and not 'Croke Park fantasists' were involved in the project and can see two things (for starters).
1. The railway line.
2. The 'Hill Stand' would stretch all the way back to the lane between Croker and Clonliffe Road and how would you like to be a resident on the Clonliffe Road houses to have a giant stand rising at the back wall of your garden that backs onto the lane? Noise, Shading, etc!
Houses would have cost €2m each to buy I would reckon!

PS: The houses on Clonliffe Rd were there long before a ball was ever kicked in Croker so......

Stop this rubbish about Croker ever being build all the way around.....it was never even a dream!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 19/09/2013 10:50:01    1484895

Snuff it was 100% suppose to go right the way round, the reason they didn't is cause it would have cost to much money for them to close the rail line and to knock down the houses behind the hill, so it was a great excuse for Croke Park when the Dubs start protesting to keep the hill as a terrace, ah sure the Dubs and the rest of Ireland want to keep it as a terrace so will give the people of Ireland what they want bs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2013 11:09:29    1484916

Moomoo you've said earlier in the summer you do not rate this Dublin team even doh we've won the league and got to the all Ireland final, so even if we don't win surely you have to rate us by now?? If you don't rate us I won't be able to sleep for the next week so come on give us a bit of credit. The Roc is and will always be my favourite player, just ask Declan O Sullivan how good he is cause he's kept him to one point in there last two championship meetings.

In 2011 the Dubs said losing the league final didnt matter and how that they have won it is does?

Why would i? All the talk you have about the great Dublin forward line yet the keeper is one of the top scorers, a full back line that have been under pressure all year (even your hero ROC has been cleaned out, you of course wont see that)

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 19/09/2013 11:14:47    1484922

moomoo

In 2011 the Dubs said losing the league final didnt matter and how that they have won it is does?

Why would i? All the talk you have about the great Dublin forward line yet the keeper is one of the top scorers, a full back line that have been under pressure all year (even your hero ROC has been cleaned out, you of course wont see that)

Jaysus if the Dubs are that bad then Kerry must of been truly awful this year. Like you said it's all talk about our forwards but they still managed to outscore Kerry's vaunted legends who were playing against a suspect full back line.

Bad times for Kerry if moo moo is too be believed.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 19/09/2013 11:20:16    1484926