Second Captains Live

after all the show is just there for a laugh

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 11/09/2013 11:48:58    1479836

Liam

Big global appeal to golf yeah. But nowhere near the amount of people playing it around the world as play soccer for example.

A lot of people take it up later in life too so they were hardly competition for Harrington to make it. Also it's a very moneyed game to a certain extent which makes it attractive to big business.

Not taking away from Harrington by the way. Great achievements from him!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 11/09/2013 11:57:58    1479856

11/09/2013 11:43:24
Liamwalkinstown
Ormond, until soccer cracks USA, Canada and Australia, it will never be the biggest
Golf has every market in the world, all of them
golf is the number 1
soccer is number 1. Golf hasn't exactly cracked most of Africa. It is also a very elitist sport while soccer due to its nature is ubiquitous

11/09/2013 11:46:27
slayer
It was a good show and the top 10 was just a bit of craic. Fair point about no footballers in the top 10 & I agree that there should be but on the whole the show is a good laugh?
I thought those lads were over-rated on newstalk but to give them credit live TV last night brought out their talents. They are good lads.
I don't think they were overrated on Newstalk. They were presenting something very unique in Ireland and did it well for the niche market that is sports journalism.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2013 12:02:19    1479865

Mes Amis, i would bet you that if Lionel Messi and TIger Woods walked into a bar in america, or Ronaldo and Rory McIlroy walked into a bar in Canada, or say Adam Scott or Gareth Bale walked into a bar in Sydney, in each case the golfer would be more recognised, and regardless of player numbers, until that is reversed, soccer will never be more global than golf

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2013 12:02:22    1479866

I like the lads but the format was too 'Top Gear' for me and I hate that programme, probably in the minority there but that's how it is

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 11/09/2013 12:10:38    1479874

Liam I normally would agree with your posts but its soccer and not Golf that is most popolur. US is just one country and all they want is there own "world" sports. Walk into a village in Africa, a slum in South America or anywhere in the vast country of Russia and you will find boys playing soccer. Golf while making strides is still an elite sport especially in many parts of Europe. I would compare Golf with Tennis not soccer.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 11/09/2013 13:15:45    1479939

11/09/2013 12:02:22
Liamwalkinstown
Mes Amis, i would bet you that if Lionel Messi and TIger Woods walked into a bar in america, or Ronaldo and Rory McIlroy walked into a bar in Canada, or say Adam Scott or Gareth Bale walked into a bar in Sydney, in each case the golfer would be more recognised, and regardless of player numbers, until that is reversed, soccer will never be more global than golf

Maybe true about Woods but Woods is the biggest sports star over the years in the world. first billion dollar sports-star.
A more appropriate figure would be somebody like beckham. You
Look at a lot of countries in Africa, Asia and how soccer players are revered. Golfers nowhere near as much. Golf with its big money background also hampers it. Soccer is way more global than golf

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2013 13:21:00    1479948

Liamwalkinstown

You'd be right with that however...

Middle/Upper class North America/Australia is not the world Liamo.

If Adam Scott (?) walked into my gaf I wouldn't know who he was. There's more places I could put those bars that if Messi, Bale and Ronaldo walked into they'd be recognised quicker than most golfers.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 11/09/2013 13:26:59    1479958

I only saw part of the programme last night, but found it a bit annoying. There was a really good discussion with Richard Sadlier, Oisin McConville and Dervla o'Rourke that got cut short to accommodate a nonsense piece about Know Your Sport. Also, I don't like the concept of the "audience" standing around the edge with bottles of beer in their hands. Too much blatant product placement for my liking.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 11/09/2013 13:28:58    1479960

What NO! Peter Canavan !!! I smell the fickle finger of Dick Dastardly at work here .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 11/09/2013 13:34:17    1479968

Cringe lads. Absoluet cringe. This show won't last too long. The new Off The Ball team is a lot better than the old one too. Everything used to be sentred around soccer teams from countires outside Ireland.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 11/09/2013 13:35:34    1479970

Ormond and MesAmis i see your points and i cant argue that soccer is more played, but in terms of commercial sponsors, these companies are no mugs, they know whats what and there is a reason that Tiger was for years the highest paid sports star in the world and Rory is now higher paid with all his endorsements etc etc than Messi
thats not an accident lads
You cant disregard USA Oz and Canada lads, look at the populations...........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2013 13:38:35    1479973

ROG looked like he knew nothing about Maurice Fitzgerald. i.e. he was put up to it. His interview was good though.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 523 - 11/09/2013 13:38:44    1479974

Culann

Cringe lads. Absoluet cringe. This show won't last too long. The new Off The Ball team is a lot better than the old one too. Everything used to be sentred around soccer teams from countires outside Ireland.

Couldnt agree more. Thought it was awful stuff last night. It wont get past a 1st series thats for sure

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 11/09/2013 13:39:01    1479976

it was a pilot show, Eoin looked nervous, fidgeting with his hands etc etc, Ken was very underused and ya at times it seemed forced, but i faith in these lads and to be honest as a former fan, i was glad to see them back. If u want a comnparison, look on youtube at the first ever apisode of Top Gear, it was AWFUL. It has gone onto become the biggest show the BBC has ever produced....ever.....and for the record, I love Top Gear!!!

Second Captains was like a mixture of Soccer AM, Top Gear and Miriam......Yes it ws raw, yes it was awkward, but the ROG interview was class.
Shame Eoin dint quiz Rog a little on his relationship with Stringer, i hazard that would have been a lot more surprising!

Give this show time lads, it will come good. Ken needs more air time tho and they need to drop the Kearney thing, its pretty lame and will give creedence to the one problem I always had with Eoin in particular, a very noticable bias to Leinster Rugby.

All in all a solid start and i would bet it will go on to great things

(anyone know what its regular time slot will be?)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2013 13:46:29    1479989

Yeah wasn't a very well managed show last night and the audience standing round drinking was very distracting but the guests were good and Ronan O'Gara interview was excellent. It was their first show though so should be given a break, it will get better.

Thought they would be hugely missed from Off the Ball but they haven't been. Eoin MacDevitt was a loss but the lads who took over have been better as a whole.

And soccer is way more popular worldwide than golf btw...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1145 - 11/09/2013 13:50:58    1480001

11/09/2013 13:28:58
football first
I only saw part of the programme last night, but found it a bit annoying. There was a really good discussion with Richard Sadlier, Oisin McConville and Dervla o'Rourke that got cut short to accommodate a nonsense piece about Know Your Sport. Also, I don't like the concept of the "audience" standing around the edge with bottles of beer in their hands. Too much blatant product placement for my liking.

Know your sport was good though.
Nothing wrong with the audience. Its a "show for the lads" and nothing wrong with that. The know your sport was good. it was light hearted and helped break up the show.

11/09/2013 13:35:34
Culann

Certainly wasn't cringe and it was episode 1 of a show never really tried before.
New OTB is different but better is very questionable. They centred(sic) on soccer teams outside Ireland as that's where majority of irish soccer fans support/follow.

11/09/2013 13:38:35
Liamwalkinstown
Ormond and MesAmis i see your points and i cant argue that soccer is more played, but in terms of commercial sponsors, these companies are no mugs, they know whats what and there is a reason that Tiger was for years the highest paid sports star in the world and Rory is now higher paid with all his endorsements etc etc than Messi
thats not an accident lads
You cant disregard USA Oz and Canada lads, look at the populations...........

Big populations but worldwide soccer has the global appeal. Easy way to play soccer and make it to the top. You have to have big bucks to do anything in golf. And due to numbers playing/supporting soccer the sponsors are huge in money making etc and soccer is bigger
11/09/2013 13:38:44
MarkMyWords
ROG looked like he knew nothing about Maurice Fitzgerald. i.e. he was put up to it. His interview was good though.
Don't think he was put up to it at all. Why would they? ROG is no mug he wouldn't do something for sake of it and look to put a name up because he was asked...

11/09/2013 13:39:01
whiterbannnas
Couldnt agree more. Thought it was awful stuff last night. It wont get past a 1st series thats for sure
really wasn't but that's your opinion. Ken should have been used more but show certainly wasn't poor. It was the first episode of something never tried before. No way at all to say that it will not get beyond series 1. I think it most certainly will

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2013 14:07:48    1480015

I thought it was a decent enough show, couple of cringey moments, they were clearly very nervous as well. Definitely potential for a good show there.

Don't usually have time to Sadlier as I find he's too negative for the sake of it, but he was pretty interesting talking about how he got over retiring due to injury and how that caption on RTE would've annoyed him years ago but then he was interrupted and they moved on to something else so that was a chance wasted. I think he was actually getting emotional and then they effectively went, "yeah right whatever Richie, Oisin what do you think of this that and the other"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 11/09/2013 14:14:17    1480022

there was definite emotion in his voice Breff and I'd say thats why they did a swift "move on"
I dont think they are going for that kinda thing, its more light hearted than serious by the looks of things
But i totally agree, Richie was struggling at that point which would make you wonder is he as over it as he might like to think

No better man to break the tension than Oisin and his foot in mouth!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2013 14:27:27    1480038

Liamo

Slipping and sliding away now Liamo. No one contended that golf wasn't commercially massive but you used golf's global popularity to augment Harrington's achievement. The greater the player numbers are, particularly amongst the young the greater the achievement is in reaching the absolute top of the game on a global scale.

Harrington's achievement was brilliant and fair play to him but I've always felt that it gets oversold.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 11/09/2013 14:28:15    1480042