All Star half back line 2013

McCaffrey Vaughan McCarthy

what ye think lads?

Cant see Keegan getting it ahead of Jack unless he gets a MOTM in 2 weeks and Jack gets the line!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 09/09/2013 14:04:26    1478272

Lee Keegan has been Mayos most consistent player this year. What ever about the credentials of any other Mayo player, Keegan will collect his second allstar in 2 seasons in November, that much is certain. You've arguably picked the weakest of Mayo's 3 half backs, and that's not a criticism of Vaughan who has had a very good season, just that Keegan and Boyle have been outstanding this year. McCaffrey will need a massive performance in the final to win one IMO, he was poor the last day, and rightly or wrongly, the awards will be picked based on the semi-final and final performances.

Mayostar (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 09/09/2013 14:18:45    1478300

Interesting debating point but the final always has a massive bearing on the All-Stars. A really good or really bad game could determine your fate.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6526 - 09/09/2013 14:47:27    1478357

Keegan and McCarthy play the same position, not Keegan and McCaffrey. Anyway, I'd probably have Keegan in there, but it would be tough to leave either out. Really it should be all three of Keegan, Jack and James in the halfbackline because they've been the best half backs. It has been a year for wing backs rather than centre backs so I'd prefer they chose the best 3 rather than leave one out to accommodate for Vaughan who plays the position but hasn't been as good.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 09/09/2013 14:52:55    1478364

Colm Boyle is nailed on for me regardless of the final.

AnOptimist (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 09/09/2013 14:53:07    1478365

Will depend on the final really. None of them are nailed on and all of them are in the running. Brennan could have a stormer and mcloughlin could take mccaffrey for 1-4. Too early to predict...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/09/2013 14:58:36    1478373

For me it will be Keegan Boyle Mccaffrey who will get the all stars. Vaughan ,Thomas O Se and McCarty unlucky to lose out but no one could argue with the 3 winners.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/09/2013 15:03:23    1478387

Vaughan i think is goin to be the classic hero or villain depending on the result the next day. If Mayo were to beat Dublin by 8 or 10 points he will get his all star, and would have a good chance of being nominated for player of the year, (he wont win it do off course, its already reserved for AOS) it will be said how his runs up the field where devastating to opposition.
If Mayo get beaten by Dublin than he will be the villain and it will said that he was not defensive enough as a center back, went wandering up the field to much, and left the defense to vulnerable.
No matter what the result the next day if Boyle doesnt win an all star this year it will be as bad as all star decision as Kevin McLaughlin omission last year. Then we have Keegan the other side. Its hard to believe the quality of our half back, a line that is usually a line of unsung heroes, if it wasnt for Jack Mccaffery I would be hopeful they could all win one

Mayofc (Mayo) - Posts: 95 - 09/09/2013 15:16:26    1478411

Mayofc - u think AOS has player of the year wrapped up already..????
i would venture that a Dublin win and a good performance in the final from Jack McAff, MDMA, Paul Flynn or Diarmuid Connolly might have something to say about that....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 09/09/2013 15:27:15    1478436

Aidan O Shea player of the year for one good game against a shambles of a Donegal team are you having a laugh? You've had the handiest run in to an all Ireland final since Kerry in '97 I think you's are in for a big fright in two weeks time.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/09/2013 15:29:34    1478442

Lad I've been a fan of McCaffery all year but after the semi Final against Kerry I have my doubts about his defensive qualities. Walsh got the better of him IMO.

And lads any chance we keep this forum about half backs, not AOS and potential POTY candidates

tic_for_tac (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 09/09/2013 15:43:59    1478472

Its been the year for wing backs rather than centre backs, McCaffrey, McCarthy, Boyle, Keegan, Mone and Tomás have all been fantastic this year and if you threw each of them into a different season they would probably all win all stars. At #6 Vaughan is the only one who really comes to mind and hes been Mayo's worst half back, Brennan has been inconsistent, Lacey injured, Harte and Young haven't been very good either.

I'd have Boyle, McCaffrey, Keegan and McCarthy all neck and neck coming into the final, really 3 of the 4 should get all stars but I won't begrudge Vaughan an all star if he has a good final.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 09/09/2013 16:10:46    1478518

clondalkindub, AOS has in fact been good in every game bar 20 minutes in the semi final, where he was average. He was immense against donegal, galway and london. Nobody left in the championship has put in 3 utterly dominant performances like that - bar rory o'carroll of course!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/09/2013 16:30:21    1478542

Liamwalkinstown clondalkindub I find it amazing two people with over 4000 posts each would take a bit of confidence/joke in one of my countys player so bad, he is 4/7 favourite, with the next favourite MD Maculey 7/1, I think its justifiable for Mayo fans to be confident in him winning POTY. If you think he has had only one good game this year abit of simple maths would indicate you have only watched one mayo match, perhaps two depending on your opinion on the Tyrone match, but most people in general considered it a solid performance. His biggest risk imo opinion of him not winning Poty would actually be hoping hes fit COC scores another Hat trick in the final. And since when is Galway Tyrone and defending all ireland and plus champions plus two other teams been considered an easy route to the final?

Mayofc (Mayo) - Posts: 95 - 09/09/2013 17:56:51    1478641

Have to say I'd have mcauley before Oshea anyday, what a player!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 09/09/2013 18:09:22    1478644

McCaffery was carrying that thumb injury in the semi-final, and all injuries sit at the back of the mind. Unless he implodes in the Final think he will get one as he has been putting in performance right through the League as well.

Or they may give him YPOTY as consolation

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 09/09/2013 18:14:27    1478646

Colm Boyle is a cert for me. Funnily enough I think the one guy who may lose out is in fact Jack McCaffrey. This is because he is a shoo-in for the Young Player award. It has often happened that the winner of that award is seen to have gotten their All Star already by virtue of that, and so it frees up a space for somebody else.

Not really a big fan of Vaughan or Brennan, neither of them are truly outstanding at centre back. For me I think it will be Keega, McCarthy & Boyle who will be awarded the All Stars in November/December.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 09/09/2013 18:16:38    1478648

On any other year Dessie Mone would've had a great chance of an all-star as he's been brilliant all year, but unfortunately he hasn't a look in due to the high competition for places, it's a very competitive year for the HB line.

McCaffrey, Vaughan and one of the other Mayo boys for me, the final will determine which.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 09/09/2013 20:39:20    1478778

The odds

GAA All Stars Half Backs:
Donal Vaughan 1/6
Lee Keegan 1/6
Jack McCaffrey 2/7
Colm Boyle 4/7
Dessie Mone 2/1
James McCarthy 9/4
Tomas O'Se 9/4
Ger Brennan 6/1
Peter Harte 6/1

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4133 - 09/09/2013 21:00:17    1478807

I realy cannot see McCarthy getting an all star, McCaffrey has a real shout for young player so its between himself and boyle. It's abit like McGlouclin last year, the one man that deserved it and went home with nothing!

SamMaguire3 (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 09/09/2013 21:14:17    1478829